The Perfect Stranger

The Perfect Stranger

by Megan Miranda

Hardcover

$22.50 $25.00 Save 10% Current price is $22.5, Original price is $25. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, March 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Perfect Stranger 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of characters that keep you guessing until the end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed reading this one. Well written with good, likeable characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book; try the sample!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Weird, pointless and depressing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A main character who needs to start over. A friend who wants to do the same. Mixed in are other characters in a similar situation. A morsel at a time, the author reveals why or allows the main character to figure out why. A little romance with a detective finding it hard to both follow his heart & the rules of his job. Some unexpected surprises. I really liked the style and plan to read "The Missing Girl."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Teally enjoyed this. Kept you guessing throughout.
Samantha1020 More than 1 year ago
When I think of this book the first word that comes to mind is page-turner! I started reading this book and was finished it with it in a matter of days which doesn't always happen (even though I would like it to). I just couldn't stop reading as I always felt compelled to see what was going to happen next. My favorite thing about this book was that feeling that I never knew quite what was going on. As I was reading I wasn't sure who Leah could trust and who she couldn't. There were just constant questions and I was never sure of any of the character's motivations which it made it that much more interesting. It also made it that much harder to put down! It almost felt like there were two mysteries within this book. The mystery of what was happening in the present and also the mystery of what had happened in Leah's past. I enjoyed how we were given parts of Leah's past in pieces throughout the book. It added to the suspense and had me questioning Leah's motivations as well. I hit a point in this book where I just knew that I wasn't going to stop reading as I had to see how it would all end. I will say that it was a pretty satisfying conclusion even though I had started guessing pieces of it. It ended up being a really solid read for me - an easy four stars! This is now the second book that I've read and enjoyed by this author. The first book I read of hers was a young adult novel and I enjoyed that one just as much as this one. I'm excited that I have other books of hers to look forward to! This was a really great standalone thriller which is a type of book that I just don't read enough of. I'm a series girl for the majority of the books I choose but books like this make me want to stretch and read more standalones! I love a book that keeps me reading late into the night and this one definitely did! I think that fans of both suspense and thrillers should give this book a try! I can easily recommend it and am looking forward to reading more by this author because of it! Bottom Line: A suspenseful read that I couldn't put down! Disclosure: I received a copy of this book thanks to NetGalley and the publisher. Thoughts on it are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The novel The Perfect Stranger, by Megan Miranda is a thrilling and mysterious fiction book. The novel is from the main character, Leah Steven’s point of view. Leah Stevens is a girl who is trying to get away from her past and start a new life in Western Pennsylvania. She moves in with an old roommate named Emmy Grey, and one day her roommate disappears. As Leah struggles to find out what happened to her roommate, she soon realizes she doesn’t really know her roommate at all. Soon she figures out that the little information she thought she knew about Emmy was all a lie, and that there is a girl who looks just like her and is trying to steal her identity. This novel was well paced, with Leah Stevens being the protagonist and Emmy Grey being the antagonist. Leah Stevens was the protagonist because she was the main character through out the novel, and Emmy Grey was the antagonist because she was the opposing force against Leah. The major conflict between Leah and Emmy was that Emmy had set Leah up and was planning on stealing her identity. My favorite character in this novel would be Leah Stevens. I admire the bravery and courage she had when she sought out to seek the truth about her roommate. Another reason I have come to love this character is because of the way she sees others. In the novel Leah thinks that seeing the good in others can be a weakness, but I feel that it is not. If I had the opportunity, I would change minor details in this novel, such as they way they describe the death of their characters. Overall, I enjoyed this novel a lot and more than I had expected to. I would most definitely recommend my novel to readers who love thrillers, mysteries, and suspense. I would even recommend this novel to people who don’t like to read, to young adults, and teen just so they can have the same reading experience that I had.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very nice way of writing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SmithFamilyInEngland More than 1 year ago
Having never read any books by the popular author Megan Miranda previously or the highly successful "All The Missing Girls" I was looking forward to trying out this author by reading her latest offering "The Perfect Stranger". Leah is a determined journalist who always strives for the truth. When something goes wrong with an article she writes - having got a little too close to the possible truth in a series of suicides - she ends up leaving Boston under a cloud. Moving to western Pennsylvania with her old friend Emmy to work as a teacher, she makes what she believes is a fresh start in an idyllic town, leaving her past behind. However, after not seeing Emmy for five days, Leah becomes concerned for her safety after an attack on another young girl occurs. Leah is helped by a handsome detective to help find out where Emmy is and after realising she really knows nothing about her and that all the documents relating to the move and the house are all in her own name she begins to suspect if Emmy actually existed at all. I wasn't blown away by the plot in the story but that could just be me, it was a decent enough read that I wanted to see through to the end and for a lazy afternoon reading this fits the bill perfectly. I did doubt the fact slightly that Leah knew so little about Emmy, it's common practice that you learn things about someone the more you spend time with them and she had lived with her twice. I'm happy I've read "The Perfect Stranger" and I would read more by this author, I am planning on hopefully reading "All The Missing Girls" someday and I would happily recommend this book to readers with the caution that if you have read her previous books this may not quite be up to the standards you are expecting. 3 stars
Valerian70 More than 1 year ago
The biggest problem with this book is that the author is trying so desperately hard to make it an edge-of-your-seat ride that it all becomes rather confused. There are red herrings aplenty but I lost faith when we are trying to trace the true identity of Emmy Grey and it starts to look as though Bethany Jarvitz could be her real identity - in the opening scenes our heroine, Leah, is shown a photograph of the battered girl so she clearly knows it isn't Emmy. The writing style is not clear leading to the narrative becoming muddled and contradictory. Multiple pages are given over to overwrought emotional meanderings of the "poor me" variety as Leah tries to ratify her previous work as a Journalist in Boston and it's rather epic demise with her new role as High School teacher in a sleepy Pennsylvania town. The characterisation is rather flat and I never felt that we had a good idea of who anyone was. This is an intrinsic part of the plot where Emmy Grey is concerned but Kyle Donovan and Leah herself are major player sin the book and yet they are no more than words on a page. Early attempts at tension are related to what caused Leah to lose her journalism post but by the time it is revealed I really couldn't have cared less. To be honest I wouldn't have been surprised if it had been her incessant whining that caused it; instead it appears that it was her overarching ego and determination that she was right gosh-darnit that caused the loss of that job. How she leapt from that to a teaching job is blurry but just about believable. What isn't is her complete gullibility. With a poorly executed plot, barely there characterisation and rambling, muddy narrative this has to very much go on the "could do better" pile. I RECEIVED A FREE COPY OF THIS BOOK FROM READERS FIRST IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW.
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
I’ve been a fan of Megan’s from the beginning and after being mildly obsessed with All the Missing Girls, I was excited to get to her next adult story. Somehow, I just never actually got around to it. I really liked Leah. She’s smart and savvy and tenacious. I enjoyed how she got a thread of a story in her head and ran with it. There are a few other characters, but it felt like we only got the surface of them. And that was highly effective for the story. Plot wise, I’ll admit to expecting something a bit more murdery. The reveals were deliciously slow, but by the time we got to the last chapters, the partial reveal wasn’t as satisfying as I expected. There were answers of course and a resolution of sorts, but there weren’t full answers and that was mildly disappointing. Overall, it was a great story with so much fantastic tension and it kept me guessing until almost the very end. I can’t wait to see what Megan writes next. **Huge thanks to Simon and Schuster for providing the arc free of charge**
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Hard to put down!
Rebecca Petruck More than 1 year ago
Stayed up late to finish this book which, in retrospect, was not a good idea. I have a little too much in common with Leah: alone in the woods, a recent transplant to a new town where I don't know many people and wouldn't be missed for some time. I woke up in the night several times, creeped out, and ended up sleeping with the big Mag-Lite in case I needed to temporarily blind someone and bonk them on the head. In other words, A VERY GOOD READ! The plot and character twists were unexpected and compelling. The writing is sharp. And the ending spot on. If you like a tense thriller with complications, that's not TOO creepy (unless you also live alone in the woods), then this book is The Perfect Read for you, too.
AReadingRedSox More than 1 year ago
I loved these books so much. Megan Miranda's writing is spectacular, and the stories she weaves are fantastic and suspenseful. I couldn't put this one down. See more reviews at my blog! http://areadingredsox.blogspot.com
MysM More than 1 year ago
Taut Psychological Thriller A new author to me, Megan Miranda, has created an intense psychological thriller here. The Perfect Stranger is the first person narrator, Leah Stevens, who reconnects with her friend and former roommate Emmy at a turning point in her life. Leah has royally ruined her career in journalism by refusing to name a source and, in the hope that rumours of a civil suit will disappear, agrees to quit her job on the Boston Post. Looking to reinvent herself, an accidental meeting with Emmy, who is running from a violent ex-fiancé, finds the pair off to a small town in rural Pennsylvania where Leah will teach high school English and Emmy will work part-time night shift at a motel and do some daytime cleaning assignments. Life slowly comes off the rails when first, the basketball coach from the high school (married) tries to put the moves on Leah. Then, she starts to get phone calls late at night with suggestive messages and heavy breathing. A neighbourhood woman — a Leah look alike — is found by the lake with her head bashed in. When Leah realizes she hasn't seen Emmy for several days and none of the sticky messages she's left for her have been picked up, she alerts the police to her disappearance. As Leah tries to piece together information about Emmy for police detective Kyle Donovan, it begins to dawn on her that she hasn't a lot of hard information on her roommate — Emmy has left no paper trail: no name on a lease, no vehicle registration, no participation in the Peace Corps, no credit cards, nothing. Then, Emmy's battered up station wagon is pulled from the lake with her current boyfriend in it — his throat cut. As Leah starts to connect the bits she remembers, the new pieces she's discovering, and the parts she overlooked along the way, she begins to have a new perspective on her relationship with Emmy and who she really is. When Leah looks at it from the police perspective, she realizes it appears as if Emmy is a figment of Leah's own imagination and that she herself is the prime suspect in two murder investigations. She becomes more resourceful and confident as she starts following a vague trail Emmy has left for her and soon realizes how she had been the perfect stranger for Emmy. She learns more about herself, her family, and how her own openness made her incredibly vulnerable in so many ways, and how, despite the terrifying events that have marred her first semester, her fresh start will be even better than she had first hoped. This story is fraught with tension from the very first page and builds slowly and carefully, as the author fills in Leah's personal past and what little she knows of Emmy. It is further complicated by a budding relationship with the handsome, young Detective Donovan, the mysterious attitudes of some of her students, the story of the campus suicides that she's convinced were murders, and the tenuous thread between Emmy and an arson/manslaughter charge the first murder victim had spent 8 years in prison for committing. I'll definitely be reading more of this author.
LacrYmosa_Wolford More than 1 year ago
Megan Miranda does it again. I loved All the missing girls, and this book was pretty damn good. I enjoy Leah Stevens even though half the time I kept screaming "I know you're not this stupid!" Lol. Aside from that I enjoyed her need to find the truth maybe next time she could stop jumping to conclusions and be more aware of her surroundings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book
Heather7220 More than 1 year ago
sandrabrazier More than 1 year ago
Leah Stevens is running. She really needs to leave Boston, so when she learns that her old college friend, Emmy Grey, needs a roommate, she is eager to live with her in her isolated cabin near the woods. Emmy, too, wishes to start a new life, having just left a troubled relationship. The women decide to start over together, Leah as a high school teacher, and Emmy as an employee in a hotel. When a stranger who looks like Leah is found murdered and Emmy’s new boyfriend is found at the bottom of the lake, Emmy goes missing, Leah reports her missing roommate to the police, but they can find no record of an Emmy Grey. It’s as if she had never existed. This is when Leah’s investigative skills kick in, and she begins her own investigation. This book is filled with twists and turns! Along with the realistic characters, they make this a book that is nearly impossible to put down. I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
I loved "All the Missing Girls" and could not wait to reading this book. It has been sitting on my TBR pile since the beginning of the year. And, like her other book, this one did not fail to disappoint. This one had me going crazy. I was starting to wonder if there was an Emmy or not. I read the pages, Leah and Emmy had conversations. Were they her dreams or not? This was such a great suspenseful thriller. So many things stacked up against Leah. The author did an excellent job and I absolutely loved the ending. I am definitely looking forward to Megan Miranda's next offering and will hungrily grab it up and make it mine. Thanks to Simon & Schuster and Net Galley for approving and allowing me to read and review this thriller!
wvteddy More than 1 year ago
A quote in the book from the main character Leah Stevens sums up this book. "I had believed everyone was something other than they were."I was still slightly confused as to who everyone was even after I finished the book. Leah Stevens was a reporter for the Boston Post who was forced to resign by something she reported that the paper thought was a lie. Was it?? We know some of the details but we don't really know exactly why she had to leave until later on in the book. She needs to leave Boston. She meets an old friend and roommate Emmy who convinces her by a toss of a dart to move to western Pennsylvania to start over. Leah gets a teaching certificate and takes a teaching job at a new high school. She and Emmy rent a rustic house by the lake. Sounds idyllic, right? A woman is attacked by the lake but who did it? Emmy disappears and so does a man she had been seeing. Leah thinks at first she just took off with him so she doesn't report it. Then when she does report it no trace of Emmy can be found and everything starts to point to Leah. How will Leah clear herself? Will her reporter's instincts help her? Who is Emmy? What is really going on?! I asked myself that last question several times, but everything comes together in the end. I think. This book is filled with twists and turns and makes you keep compulsively reading to try to figure it out.
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
What a ride your about to begin as you turn the first page of this suspenseful book, from the first to almost the last you will wonder what is going on. Your long lost friend shows up just when you need her, and an offer to begin anew, and you accept, but before this book is finished I had to wonder if there was such a friend. Even when we travel in the shoes of Leah Stevens, Journalist turned teacher, and when she reports her roommate missing, there is no one there, or is there. As we find out what brought her to rural Pennsylvania from Boston, and all that happened there, and now what, no record exists, no fingerprint trail, what is going on, and just when you think you know the answers, don’t be to sure. I loved that there is a bit of romance for this tormented soul, but even this you have to wonder if it is really real. A don’t miss journey that once you crack the first page your hooked on finding the answers, full of surprises. I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Simon and Schuster, and was not required to give a positive review
SheTreadsSoftly More than 1 year ago
The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda is a very highly recommended page-turner and I relished every one of those pages in this complex tale of suspense. Leah Stevens was a journalist in Boston, but needed to resign from her job due to a story she wrote. Now she needs to find something new to do - in a hurry. By coincidence she runs into a roommate she had years ago during a time in her life when she also needed help in a hurry. Emmy was there eight years ago when they first met and helped Leah out before Emmy went overseas with the Peace Corp. It is a shocking surprise for Leah to run into Emmy now. The two immediately bond and take up where they left off. They decide to move together to a small town in Western Pennsylvania on a whim. Leah can get a position teaching at the high school and Emmy can find a job doing something. Then a woman who closely resembles Leah is found seriously injured and Emmy has gone missing. Leah works with the police to try and help them while at the same time she tries to get them to look into the whereabouts of her missing friend. As both investigations continue it becomes increasingly clear that Leah really never knew Emmy well at all and the police are beginning to look at her as a suspect. Leah realizes that she needs to use her journalistic skills to uncover the truth about what happened and who Emmy really is. Leah is a well-developed character and I began to like her more and more as the novel progressed and doubts began to develop. She becomes more spunky and begins to show more and more of her intelligence and intuition as she begins her own investigation while the police are more focused on investigating her. The revelation of new information is wonderfully timed. It begs the question: How well do you really know other people? As Leah is desperately trying to find out what happened to her friend, you will begin to wonder if Emmy is even real and doubts about Leah's sanity will creep in. You only know Emmy through Leah, and Leah doesn't even reveal everything about her own life right away. The plot of The Perfect Stranger moves along at a gallop and never lets up. I enjoyed the fast-paced ride and twisty plot immensely. The writing is pitch-perfect in the suspenseful narrative. I really enjoyed uncovering the twisty-layers of this swift-paced, agile novel of psychological suspense. It was a pleasure to read. Disclosure: My review copy was courtesy of Simon & Schuster.