The Promise

The Promise

by Teresa Driscoll

Paperback

$14.36 $15.95 Save 10% Current price is $14.36, Original price is $15.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Promise 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Meemo_B 3 months ago
I was drawn to this book because it's one of my favorite genres, a psychological thriller. And that element is there. Three girls at boarding school make a promise to each other to keep a secret about something that happened to them at school. Secrets of course have consequences, and this one pops up to haunt them years later when they learn the school will be closed and torn down. Whether they can, or even should, continue to keep their promise becomes the crux of the story. Driscoll takes us back and forth in time, spinning out the story of their school years and telling the story from multiple points of view. It was a bit drawn out for me, and because it could've been tightened up a bit it would've been closer to a 3-star read than a 4-star for me - but I listened to much of this one and the audiobook was very good, so I'm giving a bit of extra credit for the audio version. My thanks to Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer for providing a copy for an unbiased review.
Smiley1219 9 months ago
Three girls held a deep, dark secret and they vowed to keep it forever. Someone is threatening their secret and the three must decide how far are they willing to go and their promise to one another. It's a psychological suspenseful novel, which is a new area for me and it kept it me wanting more, page after page after page. I try and visualize each of the three characters and see how these three are able to keep this promise, even under dire consequences. Delving and exploring the psyche of characters is tricky and tough, because you have to try and devoid your own psyche and tap into these three. Without giving away too much of the story, you slowly start to recognize the significant traumas, they experience and how they can keep their bond and strength with one another. Over the next decades, Beth and Sally remain close, but they haven't seen Carol, since Beth's 30th birthday. Beth's 40th birthday is fast approaching and Sally and Beth haven't heard or seen anything about Carol and a new twist starts to develop. The school is going to be demolished and their secret might be exposed. It is now a race against time to locate Carol and somehow keep their promise among only the three of them......................Read the book to find out what happens!!
GratefulGrandma 10 months ago
When three friends promise to take a secret to their grave, they had no idea what the future will hold. Thirty years later, that secret is going to come to light. Can Beth and Sally find Carol and convince her that they need to tell the truth? Who else knows the secret and is threatening Beth's family? This story is told from Beth's POV, but occasionally there is a chapter for one of the other main characters. There are also chapters from the past and the present, so the story hints at what happened that caused the girls to make this pact. I was not sure what the secret could possibly be, but I had my suspicions, they were wrong. This was a book that had me up late at night trying to finish it. There were some twists, some unexpected turns and the final reveal was so surprising. I liked that this book was about friendship and how there are trials that cause the best of friends to have a hiccup, but when it comes down to it, they are there for one another. There is some unhappiness, terrible situations and more secrets than just the one from their school days. This was a well-written and paced story that had me feeling for the characters, even knowing they had done something terrible. The supporting characters also play an important part in the story and were well developed considering the role they played. I enjoyed this book and will look for more by Teresa Driscoll. I listened to the audio book and really enjoyed the narration. With multiple narrators, the characters had very distinct voices that made the story come alive for me. The intonation and expression was right on. All the narrators did a wonderful job and this story was a delight to listen to.
Nanna51 More than 1 year ago
I loved this latest psychological thriller by Teresa Driscoll! She is absolutely a master of writing about crimes and those who hide from the truth! Beth, Sally and Carol became fast friends in boarding school and when a tragedy happens to Carol, the three girls make a promise never to reveal what happened to anyone. Now the convent where they went to school is being sold and their secret may be revealed, so Beth is desperate to find Carol and get her to come to talk to them about the secret and the promise. The characterization was wonderful, with believable dialogues between the girls as teens and later as adults. All suffer in different ways from holding in the secret. Sally is almost a recluse until the investigator hired to find Carol befriends her. Beth seems to be the leader of the girls and the one most determined to keep the secret hidden, but she needs Carol’s help. I enjoyed the flow of the story, from past to present and from one narrator to another. Usually such stories confuse me, but Ms. Driscoll handled this seamlessly. The chapters were short enough that they ran smoothly into each other, leading me to continue to read until the exciting and unexpected conclusion. Readers of psychological thrillers will definitely enjoy this book! And I highly recommend it to anyone who loves suspense as their go-to genre! Disclaimer Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, “Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Three young girls in a boarding school and a secret. A promise is made. This secret will haunt them throughout their lives. And then they receive news that the boarding school will be torn down. Will their secret be revealed? Will one of them break the promise? Teresa Driscoll does a wonderful job of sharing the lives of these three girls. I was not expecting the twist at the end. Thoroughly enjoyed this book!
Jolie More than 1 year ago
The plotline of The Promise did take some time getting going. Like I said in my WWW Wednesday post, I wasn’t a fan of the book at first. There was so much going on that I had an issue keeping storylines/characters straight. The author merged everything down to two main storylines. What happened to the girls at boarding school in the past and what was happening to them in the present. She was able to merge the two at the end of the book. My dislike of Beth didn’t turn to like immediately. But, she acknowledged that she needed help. She also knew that telling people about the secret would be a weight lifted off her shoulders. I didn’t like how she handled what Carol told her. I thought that she could have handled it better. But when push came to shove, she was there for Carol. Carol sideswiped me. I was with the majority of people in the book. I thought that Carol was being a snot. Talk about something that came out of left field. I also was taken aback by her confession to Beth in the hotel room. Again, out of left field. I liked Sally. The secret she had to keep affected her more than she let on. Her home life when she was younger was awful. The tidbits that she told Matthew and what I read in Beth’s flashback, she didn’t have it good. I did have a good cry about her news at the end of the book. All I have to say about that is that she deserved it. The Promise fit right in with the mystery/thriller/suspense genre. The author was a master at throwing out red herrings and false leads. I would have never of guessed at who was sending the messages to Beth and who ran Adam off the road. Never would have guessed at all. And what happened at the end of the book. That all came out of the blue for me. The end of The Promise was one of the more intense ones that I have read to date. The author had a couple of huge plot twists thrown in there that made me go “WTH.” Like I mentioned above, I didn’t see them coming. I also liked that the author was able to wrap up all the storylines. Everyone got what they deserved and then some. Loved it!!
Sunshine1006 More than 1 year ago
Three girls in boarding school together. Sally, Carol and Beth, closer than sisters. They share a deep, dark secret that promised to take what happened to the grave. Many years later, something is going to happen and they are afraid the secret will come and destroy all their lives. Sally and Beth have lost contact with Carol. They need to find her before the truth comes out. They hire Matthew, a former police officer to help find her so they can make a plan on what to do. In the meanwhile, there's someone who is out to make sure this secret is never found out. I really liked this book. The characters were interesting. There's more than one secret in this story and some intertwine with the others. Who is the villian in this story or is there more than one. It's a great psychological thriller. I recommend it. I received this book from Net Galley and Thomas and Mercer Publishing for a honest review. I voluntarily read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good mystery with a few real surprises but it was a very slow build to the end. I did not enjoy the flashback format. I also found the ending to wrap up too quickly and to be a bit on the unbelievable side.
readinggal609 More than 1 year ago
The Promise starts with us meeting Beth and Carol two women that have known each other since boarding school. When we are first introduced to them they are learning of the impending closure and demolition of said school for redevelopment. Which then cause them to try and locate and old classmate to see how she wants to proceed with things pertaining to some terrible thing that they did while attending school there. It's very vague on what actually happened and they have trouble getting in touch with her on there own so they hire a private investigator with issues of his own. When they finally reach Carol she behaves as if she wants nothing to do with them. Things really start to getting interesting after that and as we go back and fourth between the past and present we discover a lot about what happened to the girls at boarding school and the promise they made to keep it all a secret. It took me a little while to get into this with a slow start. When things really picked up I couldn't have predicted any of the twists that happened and I truly enjoyed reading this. After finishing I have already downloaded another of the the authors other teo thrillers and can't wait to pick because I am sure it will be great. Thank you to NetGalley and Thomas & Mercer for providing me with a digital ARC in exchange for an honest review.
SL22268 More than 1 year ago
Suspenseful Thank you to the publisher Thomas & Mercer and the author for an e-ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. Carol, Beth, and Sally are friends who meet at school. One night, they experience an unthinkable tragedy and it tears them apart. Flash forward and their secret is being threatened to be exposed. Told from each of the girls' POV over the span of the years when they were at school until current day, this book has a few twists and turns that you aren't expecting. Good for readers that love suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fans of Ruth Ware's "The Lying Game" rejoice! Although starting off a little slow, this book definitely ends with a punch! It has a familiar feel for those that may read a lot of thrillers, but was very enjoyable nonetheless.
Philomath_in_Phila More than 1 year ago
I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book so I could give an honest review. I was intrigued as soon as I read the opening of The Promise by Teresa Driscoll. The story has a few twists and turns but, based on the book's description and opening, I expected it to be much darker than it is. However, although I enjoyed the novel, I would not consider it to be dark. It is more of a slow building suspense novel then a physiological thriller.. Three girls, Beth, Sally, and Carol, were best friends at a boarding school and as close as sisters. Something happens and they make a promise to never tell the secret of what happened. Years later, all of them have been affected by the secret in different ways. Beth and Sally are still close friends but Carol has become estranged. When they find out the boarding school is to be sold and demolished, fearing their secret will be revealed, Beth and Sally attempt to find Carol.. Driscoll wanted to establish a intense connection between the girls but did not want to make them sisters. The setting helps you to understand why the girls would keep the secret. I have added Teresa Driscoll's I Am Watching You to my want to read list. Published on Philomathinphila.com on 2/28/19.
Scalene More than 1 year ago
This book was advertised as a psychological thriller, however it read more like a script for a Daytime soap opera. Unfortunately I am not a fan of the soaps and I found it to be middling reading fare. The premise held promise: three women who attended boarding school together made a vow to never admit to some deep dark secret they experienced while at school. The story follows the three women as adults as they navigate their tormented adult lives, as well as a tag-along token male in the guise of a Private Detective. From the beginning I had difficulty distinguishing two of the main characters, Beth and Sally, from each other. They had the same way of thinking and speaking, so I was constantly confused as to which woman was the mother, which was single, which was depressed and neurotic (both, actually!). Carol was more easily distinguished only because her point of view was written in italics, so there was an obvious difference. Matthew as the token male played such a weak role, we could have done without his individual PoV altogether. To be honest, I think the story would have been more readable if the female characters were fleshed out a little better, and had more distinct personalities. They felt like variations of the same person to me. Then there is the story line; As a script for a daytime drama it was perfect! Family troubles, a little romance, allusions to past trauma and secrets are all standard fare and I could picture the action as I read the story. As a psychological thriller I found myself less thrilled and more impatient to get to the end. From the first chapter we know there was likely a death at the school that the girls were complicit in, we just don't know the details until about 2/3 of the way through the novel. Once we reach that tipping point of the story, we get a whole host of more outlandish details and bombshells true to the soap opera style. I always feel badly giving a 3 star review to authors as I feel they have worked hard to put out an entertaining book that has simply failed to entertain me. From the other reviews I see that people love the story and the writing, so it must be enjoyable to someone.
WVBoo More than 1 year ago
Underwhelming? Anti-climatic? -- A big whopping yes to both. If you're looking for a psychological suspense, The Promise isn't the book for you. I'd say it's more of a domestic fiction. Mostly though, it's just dull. The book begins with some serious potential: "Three girls. One dead. She looks at the other girl -lips blue- and all of the blood, and she realizes the happiness on the beach was just a trick." These words made it appear we were sitting on the cusp of a deeply dark, deeply disturbing story. Unfortunately, we weren't. When, at around the 65% mark, the secret was revealed, I was less than thrilled. I thought to myself, "I was waiting for this? Really?" The final 10% of the book throws a few mild surprises at the readers (one of which was very easy to figure out), but honestly, at that point, I didn't really give a hoot one way or another. I was bored with the characters, bored with the story, and annoyed that "the promise" was so underwhelming. I loved the debut novel by Teresa Driscoll, I Am Watching You. Unfortunately, I was less inspired by book two, The Friend, and The Promise might be the worst yet. **Despite my lackluster review, I'd still like to thank NetGalley and Thomas & Mercer for the advanced reader's copy, in exchange for my honest review.
Lucii_Book-lover_Grubb More than 1 year ago
I've never written anything in my reviews that's been dishonest, and I'm not going to start now. I didn't enjoy this book and struggled to reach the end. But, I persevered. I can't say I'm glad I did because I was sorely disappointed in the "BIG REVEAL". 'The Promise' was made out to be something truly, truly bad. So when it came out what that promise was? I wasn't that surprised because of the lead up to it. It wasn't an 'OMG' moment, nor was it I 'grip the edge of your seat' moment. Yes, it was terrible but it wasn't what I expected. This whole story lacked the OOMPH factor that makes a psychological thriller; though maybe my standards of this genre is set quite high. Don't get me wrong, the characters were fab. They were interesting and great to read about and the author's writing style was good, but it wasn't amazing... it could have been a lot better. I loved Beth, though I found some of the things she said or did to be rather childish (especially for her adult age). Sally was sweet and kind, she was by the far the best character in this story, along with Matthew. My heart ached for him, that's for sure. I'm giving it a 3 star mainly because the ending (chapter before the epilogue) was great and I didn't see much of that happening and that was a lovely surprise, cause honestly? I was feeling a bit bummed about the whole thing. Good penmanship and characters but not a great story.
JReppy More than 1 year ago
The book revolves around a promise made by three teenage girls to keep secret a tragic criminal event that involved them burying something in the woods at their boarding school. It is years later and the convent who ran the boarding school is closing and much of the property is being sold. Beth and Sally are worried that with the property being sold and re-developed, their secret will come out, and Beth decides that Carol, the third girl who was involved in the events of years ago, must be found, so they can decide what to do. The story addresses the efforts to find and contact Carol, including hiring a private investigator (Matthew), whose presence becomes a big part of the story; flashbacks to the boarding school years; the lives of the three women; the stress for Beth of keeping the secret and having to lie to her husband; the turmoil for Beth and Sally as they try to decide what to do to protect the secret or whether it is still worth protecting; and threats from an unknown person that seem to relate to the secret. I have conflicted feelings about this book. The incident that the girls (now women) are continuing to hide is not as bad as some of the hints earlier in the book suggest, which was disappointing; however, it is still quite serious and would certainly have been traumatic for three teenagers to experience. About midway through the book, some of the characters, in particular Beth, become whiny and annoying. There were some side plots that I did not much like. If I had not obtained this book in exchange for leaving a review, I am not sure I would have finished it. However, I am glad I did, because the book improves in the final third. The author does a good job of drawing out the suspense and mystery. In fact, there are quite a few surprising twists in the final chapters -- some the reader might pick up on or suspect from some of the clues scattered throughout the story, but others that will probably be a complete surprise. While I am not sure I would recommend this book to others, there are enough promising (no pun intended) elements in the book that I would be willing to read another of the psychological thrillers by Ms. Driscoll. I read a copy of the e-book via NetGalley in exchange for a review.
CLynnT More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy a quick psychological thriller, and once again Teresa Driscoll comes to the rescue. If you have a long flight or just need a break from your day-to-day routine, this is an interesting but “not too much work” type of book. You’ll have a good idea what the bad memory for these three schoolgirls entails, but there are still some interesting twists and unforeseen revelations. And we always enjoy a secret, possibly a crime at an all-girls Catholic boarding school, now, don’t we? (I received an advance copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review. Thank you to Thomas & Mercer and NetGalley for making it available.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
#The Promise# NetGally# Teresa Driscoll I love the writing of Teresa Driscoll and without fail, this book did not disappoint. The Promise is about love, loyalty, friendships, memories and the faithfulness of a promise. Beth, Sally and Carol meet in boarding school at a young age and form an indivisible friendship. A shocking event causes them to make a promise that they will never reveal to anyone. As they grow up and have their own lives, they are made to remember their schooldays as they receive an invitation to attend a party commemorating the sale of the school. It brings many feelings to the forefront of each of the three friends, some happy, some sad and one horrid secret. Someone does not want these events brought up and goes to great lengths to make it not happen. The mystery of how it will all unfold, keeps the reader guessing at what these events were that caused the mystery. I thoroughly recommend this book to all who love a well put together novel. I rate it a solid five stars. Thank you to the publisher Thomas and Mercer and to NetGally for an advanced reading copy and a fair and honest review.
JennaBookish More than 1 year ago
My thanks to NetGalley and Thomas & Mercer for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and are not influenced by the publisher.  Teresa Driscoll first came onto my radar last year when I read I Am Watching You with my book club. While I wasn't a huge fan of the ending of that novel, I did find it an overall really enjoyable reading experience, so I was quick to request a copy of The Promise when I saw it on NetGalley. The basic premise of the story (three women with a deep, dark secret going back to their boarding school days) was super intriguing to me and was giving off some Ruth Ware vibes.  Unfortunately, I think some of that promise was lost in the execution. Part of what fell flat for me was the sheer number of separate perspectives that Driscoll is trying to juggle within this book. The reader will spend time in the heads of Beth, Sally, and Carol, as well as Matthew, a private investigator which fans may recognize from Driscoll's prior novel (I Am Watching You). I think limiting this to one or two perspectives may have made for a better reading experience. I'm not one to dislike multiple perspectives on principal, but I don't think it worked very well here.  My other main issue with this was that the pacing felt rather slow. Almost 70% of the book is spend leading up to a big reveal which becomes a bit too easy to guess before you actually get to it. (Interestingly, this was the opposite problem I had with Driscoll's last novel, which I thought dropped far too little foreshadowing and left me feeling a little cheated. This can be a really difficult balance to strike and may even vary from one reader to the next, so your mileage my vary.)  All that being said, there were some things that I really enjoyed about this novel. The relationships between the three women throughout the years were really fun to explore, and the story was atmospheric and full of suspense. The last quarter or so of the book picks up the pace in a huge way and made up for some of what I thought was lacking early in the story. This would be a good selection for a lot of fans of Ruth Ware, Liane Moriarty, and of course, Teresa Driscoll's past work.
Ms-Hurst More than 1 year ago
Beth, Carol, and Sally were the best of friends. It all seemed to change over night. The Promise is the story of how and why that happened. I found I was forcing myself through parts of this book. It was all very dramatic and often the decisions made by characters left me scratching my head. I felt as if I were reading a soap opera instead of a novel. The characters could somehow seem to be fantastically dramatic without seeming to really feel what was happening around them. There are a lot of hints to what is obvious when it is revealed. Just not for me.
Momma_Becky More than 1 year ago
The Promise has a good hook, but doesn't quite hold on like I hoped. In fact, it took me a while to finish this one with it's slow pace and many jumps between characters and time. We finally get the full reveal on what brought about this dark promise at about 65% into the book, and from there the story does pick up some. In the end, most of these characters have a secret of one kind or another, the darkest of which being what started it all. At the end of the day, this one had potential, and it does live up to some of that, but the first half of the book moves too slow for my tastes, and it just didn't hold my interest enough for me to connect with these characters.
LuvSnoop42 More than 1 year ago
I gave this a solid three. I'm a big fan of characters flashing back to things they did as teens, but this was just a tad slow for me. I skimmed over some parts. I was wanting more thrills, I guess. It was still a good read, just not a great one. Thank you, NetGalley for the ARC.
banslug More than 1 year ago
This book drew me in masterfully, nice and slowly with alternating chapters of time periods, making me curious and eager to hear WHAT'S GOING TO HAPPEN! And then when it starts to come out, I wanted it to slow down so I could enjoy it that much longer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At age 11, Beth, Carol, and Sally started boarding school at the Convent of St. Colman. They shared a room and became very close friends for their time at the school. Now years later, the area where the boarders were housed is being sold for redevelopment. Even when the girls were boarders, the Convent was old and filled with damp, so tearing it down is not unexpected. Beth and Sally have stayed good friends over the years but Carol moved to France and contacting her has been difficult, if not impossible. Beth is married to Adam and is the mother of two sons. Sally has not be able to carry a baby to term which has resulted in her divorcing her husband. Carol lives with Ned in the south of France. Beth and Sally feel they really need to contact Carol so they hire Matthew, a private investigator to find her. The girls share a deep, dark secret that remains at the Convent and if there is any digging done during the redevelopment, their secret could be revealed. It has tormented them all these years. So, they must do all they can to keep the secret quiet. This is a good thriller but would have been better has it not been so slow to get going. This is why I only gave it 4 stars. However, once it got there, it was stunning. I think readers will really like this story of true friendship. (Note: I am using the English, not the French, spelling of Carol in my review.) Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
LiteratureWithLylan More than 1 year ago
The Promise by Teresa Driscoll ⭐️⭐️⭐️ I always enjoy a psychological thriller and was really excited to be given the opportunity to read and review The Promise! Three schoolgirls bond at their Catholic boarding school… Someone is dead… A girl with blue lips… A promise is made. The promise of never speaking of the truth and take what happened to their graves. It will never be spoken of again. Decades later, the boarding school the three girls attended together is scheduled to be demolished. Sally and Beth are still friends and help each other through extremely tough times. When they receive news of the boarding school shutting down and become anxious their secret will be revealed. Even though it is a topic that was not to be discussed, they both know that it will never go away. Their secret will continue haunting them… They try so hard to push it aside and move on but they don’t know where the third former schoolgirl is, Carol. Their secret is so deep and dark to them that they can’t even say Carol’s name. But where is Carol? They need to find her. But How? Carol doesn't seem to want to be found. She seems to WANT to be disconnected from her two former friends... Is she hiding from her past? But why has she suddenly disappeared from their lives? She kept in contact after "it happened" for years. Sally and Beth seek the aid of a PI to help them track down Carol. I liked that the story is told, mainly by Beth, by providing pieces from the past and present along with tidbits from Carol. It helps set the scene and makes it feel multi-dimensional rather than just a one sided story. As a psychological thriller, I felt that this book was slow in the beginning. Although I did like that it was consistently building up to something, I feel like it was a slow pace and it took a while to get to the climax. The second half of the book picked up a lot. The last 30% of the book went by SO FAST. It was almost like the book was rushing to the finish line to make up for time lost in the beginning. But the last 30% of the book was just so packed with twists and so much happened! It was exciting and I do like how everything came together at the end. Thank you Netgalley and Thomas and Mercer for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest review!