The Red Hunter: A Novel

The Red Hunter: A Novel

by Lisa Unger

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Red Hunter 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love all of Unger's books! The Red Hunter did not dissapoint!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a twiisty ride,, but executed well. Ggood read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I luv her books but this was really really good! You won’t be wasting your money if u purchase.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A lot of characters to keep up with but the book was so well written it was easy to keep going. Lots of plot twists to keep you guessing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Clever mystery I enjoyed reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read some of her books and they are good reading but this one was exceptional, loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was good to delve into the characters and try to understand their situation
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Caught me from the beginning and held on to the end!!
DebDiem More than 1 year ago
The Red Hunter by Lisa Unger is an awesome read. Ms. Unger has delivered a book that is well-written with lots of tangents. She weaves those tangents together in the most remarkable way. The characters in this book are phenomenal. There is lots of drama, action and suspense, with a little humor tossed in that lightens the read. This is a bit of a dark read, but once you start reading it, you won't want to put it down. I enjoyed reading The Red Hunter, but I have to admit, there toward the end, Ms. Unger had me on the edge of my seat once more. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger. I won a copy of this book from Goodreads.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story reads from several different points of view but blends very well togeather. From the first page you are interested , then suddenly you realize you you do not want to stop reading. Great storyline. The more you read the more everything comes togeather seamlessly to a satisfying conclusion . I highly recommend this book. I look forward to reading more of this author .
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
Told in two different viewpoints, this is a story of a house and its history. Once upon a time, a family lived in the house and they were content. One day, a gang broke into the house and demanded to know the secrets the homeowners were hiding. They were not backing down until someone told them what they wanted to know. But the problem was, no one claimed to know the secrets that these individuals were looking for. The gang started to eliminate the accused, still no one could reveal what these individuals wanted and in the end, the two suspects were killed. Did they die not wanting anyone to know the secrets or did they truly not know the answer? These secrets were important and the individuals who sought out this information believed that the house now held the answer. As a mother and her daughter move now into this house, they become a part of this mystery. The house still holds the key on the information that others want and these new residences don’t realize what they have walked into. I have always liked Lisa Unger’s novel and this one is no exception. It was a suspenseful and action-packed read and I couldn’t wait until the end when things would finally come together. I highly recommend this book or one of Lisa Unger’s other terrific novels.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
Two women, two crimes, one house, and they are strangely linked together. Claudia Bishop was happily married, when she was raped in her home. She tries to rise above the horrible crime that victimized her. She has a beautiful daughter, Raven. When her marriage falls apart, she moves to Hidden Valley, a small town outside New York. Her father had purchased the property with a house and barn years before and when he died, he left it to her. Zoey Drake witnessed the murder of her parents and was herself tortured inside that house ten years earlier. She did not try to rise above the crime, she became "The Red Hunter" with the goal of revenge. All three of the female characters are strong women, although sometimes doubt their decisions. The relationship between Raven and Claudia is amazing. They have their normal mother/daughter issues, but they are honest and share information with one another that perhaps should not have been shared. Claudia never wants to know if Raven was the result of the rape and raises her to believe that her father is her father. Raven grows in this story and learns to become a more self-confident person. Zoey, is small but mighty. She tries to help others find their strength and tries to protect those being hurt, but she has such anger inside that nothing seems to help. She and her Uncle Paul have a loving father/daughter relationship and she takes care of him as he has emphysema, but she is very much a wanderer and is searching for whatever can bring her peace, if anything can. This book is a mystery, who killed Zoey's parents as well as a psychological thriller. It kept me on the edge of my seat as I wanted to know what would happen next. This is not a neat and tidy story, there is some violence and still some mystery left at the end, but it is a good book that I recommend any thriller or mystery lover to read. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book to read, and I thank them as Lisa Unger is one author that I read all of her books.
Diane Keenoy More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars. I was lucky enough to get the ARC from the author and was very excited to get to read it before the publishing date. With one of Lisa Unger's books, you know that you are going to get a great fast moving read! The story goes between that of Claudia BIshop and Zoey Drake and the house that they have in common. Both women have had brutal assaults in their past and both have to figure out to move on. Claudia and her teenage daughter move into an old house that is falling apart. They are slowing fixing up the house and Claudia blogs about her progress. Zoey left this same house years ago after a brutal home invasion. She's trying to move forward by training in the martial arts. While they don't know each other, they both know the house and are on a collision course as the old secrets start coming to the surface. A great read!
SheTreadsSoftly More than 1 year ago
The Red Hunter by Lisa Unger is a very highly recommended thriller that begs the question "What is the difference between justice and revenge?" Two women have been through two violent events and unexpectedly have something in common. Claudia Bishop was violently attacked and raped in her own apartment. Her daughter Raven was born 9 months later and, eventually, her marriage fell apart. Claudia loves Raven, and her ex-husband, Ayers, considers Raven his daughter, but they don't know if her conception was a result of the rape or not. Claudia has been honest about the violent attack, her anxiety, and her strides toward healing on her blog. Claudia and Raven take a huge step when they move out to a house in the country that she inherited. Her father owned it as an investment and rented it out for years. Claudia is going to blog about their restoration of the old farmhouse as part of her healing and creating a new life for herself through the rape and divorce. Zoey Drake survived a horrific home invasion that left both of her parents dead. She was supposed to be a victim too, she and her mother were both tortured by the killers, but she miraculously survived. A decade after the attack, Zoey is a strong, tough woman who has been training in the martial arts for years, fueled by the inner rage she feels. She is looking for revenge. She is the watcher, the Red Hunter, and it's time for the men who murdered her parents and tried to kill her to pay for the pain they caused. Neither Claudia nor Zoey know each other, but the house ties them together. It is where Zoey's parents were murdered. It is also the fuel for rumors flying that there is a million dollars hide somewhere in the house and that is why Zoey's parents were murdered. Zoey has found one of the men, now an old man, and she has eliminated him. Now she is searching for the others. When handyman Josh Beckham is hired by Claudia to assist in some repairs, it sets into motion a collision between the past and present that will bring both women back to the house. The two narratives of this complex thriller/mystery are intricate and complex. Unger keeps the plot and the action fast-paced through both storylines until they converge with an explosion of action. The reveals of additional information are also perfectly planned. All the characters in this novel are complex and their stories are equally intriguing. The question of how to handle a violent attack should resonate with many. Like Claudia, do you try to overcome the anxiety and more on to create a positive life while facing full-on what happened to you? Or do you take Zoey's tactical plan and train for years until you know you can defend yourself and extract revenge on those who hurt you and those you loved? There are other interesting plot points to this complicated novel too. Would you want to know if you are your parent's biological child or the result of a rape? How do you handle a violent traumatic event in your life? What is your responsibility to a sibling? Lisa Unger has written a tense page-turner here that should engross most readers. Disclosure: My review copy was courtesy of Touchstone.
elliott37341 More than 1 year ago
I was sent an ARC by Lisa Unger in exchange for an honest review. That said, I'm going to do that, but not a recap of the story. I don't want to spoil it for others! What an amazing book though! Lisa always writes strong heroines and I love that about her writing. This is a story about justice, revenge, and redemption. It's a story about walking that fine line between right and wrong. I loved this book from the very first page. As soon as I started reading it I could tell it was going to be a juicy thriller, where I would be trying to figure out who the "big bad" was, (which I just love!), but I could also tell it was going to be one of those deep stories with a moral dilemma to figure out, and that is very smart writing in my humble opinion. When I recall the books that I've read in the past that stayed with me, it was the ones that were not just entertaining, but those that made me feel for the characters and what they were going through, especially on a personal level. It just so happens that I have something in common with one of these characters on a very personal level. It is obvious that Lisa did her research before she wrote this too. I appreciate that as well. In my honest opinion I believe this is her best work yet, and that is really saying a lot, because she knows her craft, and has finely tuned it over the years. It is apparent in The Red Hunter! She knows what it takes to bring her audience in. Avid readers tend to have certain authors on their favorites list, and they know that author is a sure thing, no matter what. Lisa is on the top of that list for me! I highly recommend this book with confidence to anyone who wants a smart thriller to read. This is my honest opinion! I want to thank Lisa Unger and Touchsone for allowing me the honor of getting to read this book early, and I hope I can review more in the future
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read Ink and Bone and liked the writing so much I wanted to read more Lisa Unger. The Red Hunter did not disappoint. She is a great storyteller! She really knows how to make the reader empathize with complex characters. I enjoy books that make you think, but also where you don't see the twist coming. Excellent suspense kept me turning the pages.
Jannybelle More than 1 year ago
Revenge? Or justice? I kept asking which as I read The Red Hunter. I wanted it to be justice but it actually leans more towards revenge. You can't help but root for Zoey, who at the tender age of fourteen witnessed her mother and father brutally murdered while she was left for dead. She also has to grapple with the question was her father a dirty cop? Claudia, also a victim of a violent crime, unwittingly moves into the same house where Zoey's parents were murdered. And from then on, the characters and stories all come together. It was a little confusing at first but eventually it all makes sense. I would recommend this book. Thank you Lisa Unger for another great book!
katharine merola More than 1 year ago
An Engaging Thriller with Two Great Female Lead Characters This novel was an easy read, though it does also skillfully address complex issues. I really liked how this story was told from more than one perspective, all the way from start to finish. It really very completely told two different stories of two wildly different characters. And because both of those female characters are represented dynamically, this book is refreshingly feminist in nature. I highly recommend this read! (For those who want to know, I would offer a *trigger warning* for sex abuse and sexual violence in this book)
DianeD54 More than 1 year ago
This is another superb thriller that holds on to you until the last page. If you like psychological thrillers, this will not disappoint you!
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
I love Lisa Unger books. I always know that I am going to get a great read whenever I pick up one of her books and this one did not fail one bit. Zoey was a little strange to begin with until I learned what made her strange. Then I was like "she's only that strange"? This girl had a very rough life and it started very early. Of course, Claudia was having a rough life of her own, but her's was only about to get a whole lot rougher. There are some really mean characters in this book. The author did a great job with the time lines, the plot twists, the "secret man" (small spoiler) and the overall secrets that all come out in the end. Secrets that started early in Zoey's life and that Claudia inadvertently shares with her decades later. Such a great read that I fully enjoyed. It's all there, mystery, suspense and . . . very well put together. Kudos Lisa on a great job! I have met Lisa. As a matter of fact, I have the marketing poster board for her book "Heartbroken" signed and framed hanging in my bedroom. (It has the colors that match - turquoise and teal). Thanks again Lisa! And yes, this review is unbiased, HA!!! Huge thanks to Touchstone for approving my request and to Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.
little-mouse More than 1 year ago
The house: where Zoey lost her parents and where she was tortured, shot and left for dead. The house: where Claudia moved with her daughter, Raven. Claudia wanted to start fresh, to get away from her tragic past. The house: where it is rumored that a massive amount of money is hidden. The house: where some evil doers are determined to search for that money. The house: where all these people will converge. I can't say enough about how I loved this story. It starts slowly but builds to a suspenseful, page-turning crescendo that will have you on the edge of your seat. While I never give away spoilers, this story is not to be missed!
Ratgirl24 More than 1 year ago
I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review. Thanks to Lisa Unger and Simon & Schuster for the ARC in return for an honest review. Justice or revenge; what’s the difference? Lisa Unger explores this question and the implications of both in her latest thriller, “The Red Hunter”. She tells the reader that justice is a concept, one agreed upon by a civilized society. It seeks balance. Revenge is wild and raw, it’s a balancing of the scales of the universe. Revenge seeks chaos. Thus, giving birth to “The Red Hunter”. We are also told that “when seeking revenge, dig two graves. One for yourself“. The two main characters, Claudia and Zoey, are both survivors of a horrific crime where each was left for dead. They have lots of other things in common as well. They were both at the wrong place at the wrong time. They both suffer frequently from “les penseées qui viennent dans le nuit” or “the thoughts that come in the night”. Both attempt to move on with their lives by learning to cope and protect themselves and their families. However while learning and practicing self-protection, they take different paths. Those paths cross when Claudia returns, with her daughter Raven, to an old, abandoned house that her father once owned. She plans to start over here by renovating the house and blogging about it. This house just happens to be the site of the crime involving Zoey. While sharing so many things, Claudia and Zoey do have one glaring difference. Whereas Claudia is very open about the crime and even blogs about it, Zoey does not want anyone to know what she has been through, who she is or to even be noticed. Raven and Zoey also share several things: they both live in the aftermath of what happened to their parents, struggle to fit in, have questions about their father (who he was/what was he hiding) and they have a supporting friend who happens to be a boy. They learn that where they have come from does not have to define them. I loved the quote, “Why do you think where you came from has anything to do with where you belong? I certainly don’t believe that. I can’t. I have to believe that we create our lives.” Wow! Where we have been does not matter… it’s where we are going. Such a powerful statement… and true! I adore Lisa Unger and her writing style. She writes engaging books and does not leave any strings “unpulled”. She always answers all the questions asked during the book. I gave this one five stars (4.5 rounded up). It was a great story with lots of surprises and interesting supporting characters. The reader learns about justice, revenge, friendship, corruption, betrayal, and letting go (as a parent and as one who has been wronged). We also learn a lot about relationships and love; true, parental and brotherly. “Some relationships are like pythons: they wrap around you, slowly squeezing until you can’t breathe” Boy, is that ever true! I like to think that in the end, some revenge is indeed justified!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this story!! Claudia Bishop and Zoey Drake are both strong women who were forced to live through horrific violence in their past. Good and evil, right and wrong, justice and revenge, acceptance and survival. Claudia was happily married, living the life she wanted when a man broke into her home. The man who was high on drugs beat and raped her, then left her for dead. She survived the brutal attack and 9 months later had Raven. The attack changed Claudia. She gets divorced. Eventually she takes Raven and moves to the country to restore an old home and blog about it. Zoey Drake was beaten, tortured and left for dead at a young age after witnessing the murders of her parents. The attackers were looking for money that they were sure her father had stolen and hide somewhere in the house that they were renting. She was taken in and lovingly raised by her Uncle Paul in the city. Zoey grew up, trained to fight and she wanted to avenge her parents deaths. The deaths occurred in the house Claudia inherited from her father. The house where Claudia was now living with Ravin. The house with secrets.
CrazyCat_Alex More than 1 year ago
What do you do when you watch your parents getting killed? You try your best to find out who’s responsible and avenge them, right? That is Zoe's goal in life and she’s making progress. Then Claudia and her daughter Raven are moving into the house where Zoe's parents got killed. Claudia doesn’t know anything about the crime from ten years ago, trying to build a new home for herself and Raven. But the bad guys from the past aren’t finished with the search after the money which is supposed to be hidden somewhere in the house. When the present and the past meets in the dark basement there will be lifes at stake and secrets coming out. This was a thrilling, suspenseful read. I was hooked from the start and the twist and turns had me guessing till the very end. I got really invested in all the characters and was very pleased with the ending. I highly recommend “The Red Hunter” to everyone loving a well written thriller. I chose to read this book and all opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased. Thanks to NetGalley and Touchstone!
blue33frog More than 1 year ago
My favorite book by Lisa Unger to date. There are very intricate story lines and great characters. The main characters are very believable and well written. My only problem with the book was the confusion I had at the beginning of the chapters. It would go 3-4 paragraphs before you knew which character they were talking about. Then I had to go back and start the chapter again, once I knew. It doesn’t distract from the storyline but broke up the flow of the book some. Other than that, I would highly recommend this book to any fan of Lisa, for sure, but anyone that enjoys suspense thrillers.