The Red Tent - 20th Anniversary Edition: A Novel

The Red Tent - 20th Anniversary Edition: A Novel

by Anita Diamant

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback)

$8.99 $9.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Red Tent - 20th Anniversary Edition: A Novel 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 369 reviews.
nicjojen More than 1 year ago
As a counter-point to the reviewer who pointed out that this story does not follow the Bible version, might I remind the readers out there that the Bible was written by men. This is an historical fiction story imagined from the perspective of a woman who would not have had much of a voice in that time period. If you are looking for the word-for-word version of Dinah's story from the Bible...read the Bible. If you are looking for a gorgeously written saga from a female perspective that will hold your attention from beginning to end (and leave you wishing for a sequel) you must read this lovely book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a beautifully told story of the many aspects of womanhood.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have had this book for years and finally read it. All I can say is WOW. I missed out on a book that has been on my shelf since its first publication. Dinah is the daughter of Jacob and his first wife Leah. Joseph is her half brother , they shared the same breast though. A story straight out of the Old Testament told in a modern fictionalized but biblically correct way. This story is also from the Torah. Known to christians as the five books of Moses. The story is incredible. And I wish more was out there that was so well written. Young and old alike will like this one. Even if you are not religious you would like this book. Five stars from me.
Chrissy_W More than 1 year ago
Interesting and brought great discussion and laughter to my book group! Did I enjoy this book: I really did enjoy this book. I read it every free chance I had. Much to my surprise, I couldn't put this book down. I found The Red Tent to be an interesting perspective of a well-known Bible story. I was fascinated by the story of Dinah and her mother/mother-aunts. I felt for the women and I found their history enthralling. Something you may never have imagined or thought of happening. Can you imagine your period being a time of rest and celebration? I cannot...but that's what it was to these women. They found that time to be empowering and a chance to share their histories and traditions with the next generation. This book brought a lot of great discussion, laughter, and thoughts at our book group! Would I recommend it: I would recommend this book...with one caveat - read it for what it is, FICTION! It may be based on a Bible story and a specific historical time period, but it is fiction...and good fiction at that! Will I read it again: I doubt it. But I wouldn't rule it out completely.
Jennifer Raikes More than 1 year ago
Anita wrote this as if she herself walked in the shoes of Dinah. Has a wonderfully Pagan feel to it and I, as well as my friends feel as if Anita and Dinah are our sisters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I stayed up way too late every night until I finished this book. Great story-telling and fantastic imagery made me feel like I was there. (I also think this red tent idea sounds fantastic!)
carnold More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read! Made the bible come alive! I actually want to go read part of genesis because of it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read! Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story.
levi111 More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best books I've red in a long while. Not many pages, yet full of wisdom and insight of your beginnings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Want to read and reread
abundantdoc More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderfully written book that has a great viewpoint of what could have taken place during the biblical times. The story is believeable because they take actual stories from the bible and use them, although they are not technically correct on some of the timelines. Overall, this is a fabulous book that gives a unique perspective on life as a woman in biblical times.
Granolabar More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book immensely. It is one of those books I would recommend to all women. If history and religion have something in common, it's that both have a tendency to overlook the lives of women. Who are usually only mentioned as the mother of this man, or the wife of that man. This book does a nice job of filling in the blanks with a fictional, yet realistic, story of the women behind one of the most famous stories in the Old Testament. An alternative version of events as seen through the eyes of Dinah. One of the most interesting aspects of this book, for me anyway, was how different this take on the story is from the one found in the Bible, though they describe the same events.
Lisa61 More than 1 year ago
My book club read this book last month. New to us, but out for awhile. We loved it. Very interesting perspective. Followed scripture for the most part, but author did use poetic license with most characters. Did not care for her portrayal of Joseph in Egypt. That depiction was one of the few that I found to conflict with scripture. Otherwise loved the book and have recommended it to friends.
Angie45 More than 1 year ago
This book is a wonderful spin on the women of biblical times. We read the bible, written by men, and it's mostly about the men. This book goes into the dwellings and shows us what the daily lives of the women of those times might have been. While it is written through the author's imagination, it is a very interesting and plausible reality. The book gives life to the women who held the families together. I absolutely loved it and was disappointed when it ended. I wanted more.
kathygKG More than 1 year ago
Clearly written and imaginative. The author's words worked as a kind of paintbrush that created clear and vibrant scenes, landscapes and personalities. So descriptive it was like being in the background of the Red Tent, eavedropping on personal experiences. Although fictional, it remains a possibility, and that is a thrilling idea. A must read for any woman who feels that female characters, although represented, didn't have a loud enough voice in the Bible. The book made me proud to be a woman and all the more curious as to who the woman of the Bible really were, what they felt, what the said and what they thought.
Nebraska_Girl1971 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Red Tent is a story about Jacob's only daughter, Dinah. Though she was only a footnote in the Bible, through this book, you had the opportunity to see what her life might have been, her relationships with her mother, father, aunts and brothers, and tradition and turmoils of ancient womanhood. I would hight recommend this book, especially those who know the story of Joseph and his coat of many colors.
debs4jc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This vivid tale loosely based on the story of Dinah, the daughter of Jacob from the bible is well told, but sensitive readers may take offense at the many liberties taken with the story and the graphic descriptions of sexual matters. The story is narrated by Dinah and covers her whole life, in fact she starts by telling the stories of her four mothers--Leah, Rachel, Bilhah, and Zilpah. Diamant captures all of the emotion inherent in this complex family, and the Biblical characters come alive as real flesh and blood people. It's hard not to get caught up in the drama of this age old story, despite the shocking nature of some of the ancient rituals and practices portrayed. This is a great book for discussion as it is certainly thought provoking. Fans of well told historical fiction who don't mind being shocked will savor this one.
jolerie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A look at women in the Old Testament world. A portrait of their lives and customs. Makes you relieved and disappointed at the same time that our world today is such a contrast.
maiadeb on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A story to treaure and re-member deep inside the sacredness of being female. A favorite
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No book has ever disgusted me as much as this one has.  It grieves me that there are so many positive reviews.  It is offensive, pornographic, and is a completely untrue and twisted version of biblical events.  I pray for the hearts and minds of the people who have read this and enjoyed it...  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reading the sample it look good. So I bought it. now I wish there is a way to return it.I feel my heavenly father would not want any of his children reading this book.and I had to put at least 1star to post . I give it no stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is NOT for younger readers.
Anonymous 16 days ago
Although women are viewed as lesser beings to men in the time this book takes place (and how little things have changed), they still manage to have their own ceremonies and equalities of a sort with the men. Dinah personally witnesses the mutual love and respect between her mother Leah and father Jacob -- they don't know she's watching -- and the reader is repeatedly shown that Jacob, far from being angry at being "forced" to marry the "undesirable" Leah first, was deeply attracted to her and quite happy in their lovemaking. That actually isn't surprising; there had to have been some heat between them to have produced eight children. But anyway, the surprise in the book is that Leah, Rachel, Zilpah and Bilhah were actually all half-sisters, each Laban's daughter by a different wife. The four of them don't have an idealized, lovey-dovey relationship: they have jealousies and rivalries like any sisters, heightened by them all sharing a husband. Jacob is good to his wives, and except for Zilpah, who has little use for men, his wives love him. As a father, he falls short -- he ignores his only daughter until she is allegedly "raped," but that's not unexpected. What is unexpected is his benign neglect of many of his sons, and his outright cruelty to his firstborn, gentle Reuben, refusing to forgive him after an admittedly big betrayal. Anyway, back to that "alleged rape" business. As Diamant tells it, there was no rape, there was passionate lovemaking between Dinah and a prince, resulting in Dinah fleeing to Egypt after her father orders her brothers to slaughter the prince and all the other males in the kingdom. Dinah gives birth to her only son in Egypt, only to see him appropriated by the prince's ice-fire mother, who sends him away to be a scribe before he's even ten. Dinah, basically forced to go along with the former queen's plans as a foreigner in a strange land, manages to eke out a living as a midwife, a skill she learned from her aunt Rachel. After the former queen dies, Dinah marries a carpenter and they are happy, though her son's traumatic birth apparently left her unable to have more children. She does get the chance to see her brothers again, when Jacob is dying (her mother and aunts have all predeceased him), but only a couple of them realize who she is, and no one remarks on it. Thus anonymous, she learns all the family history she missed while in Egypt from one of Rachel's granddaughters, including that while Reuben, her favorite brother, died estranged from Jacob, her meanest and nastiest brothers, Simon and Levi, got their just desserts. Dinah at last finds peace.