The Return of the Fallen Angels Book Club

The Return of the Fallen Angels Book Club

by R. Franklin James


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 31

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Return of the Fallen Angels Book Club 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
VicG More than 1 year ago
R. Franklin James in her new book, “The Return Of The Fallen Angels Book Club” Book Three in the A Hollis Morgan Mystery series published by Camel Press brings us into the life of Hollis Morgan. From the back cover: Hollis Morgan is a survivor. She married young to flee an unloving family and ended up in prison, paying the price for her charming husband’s embezzlement. After finally obtaining a California judicial pardon, Hollis has climbed the ladder from paralegal to probate attorney at a respected law firm in the Bay Area. Unfortunately her first two cases are trials by fire. One involves a vicious family dispute over a disinheritance of family members who seem ready to stop at nothing to get their share. The other is the murder of her former parole officer, Jeffrey Wallace, whose will and family trust she is retained to file with the court. Too many people have motives and family mourners are few, so she resists processing the estate. Without Jeffrey, Hollis’ successful reentry into society would never have been possible. It was he who introduced her to the Fallen Angels–his other white-collar ex-parolees seeking a second chance. The book club they formed was a comfort and a distraction, until two murders forced them back under the scrutiny of the law. The group disbanded during the ensuing investigation. Now, realizing their debt to Jeffrey, they come together once more, determined to uncover the truth. Although Hollis has met a great guy–a police detective who knows about her past yet accepts her unconditionally–she is afraid to trust again. Naturally he doesn’t want to see her put her life in danger for the sake of a case, but he also knows she won’t stop until Jeffrey’s murderer is discovered. As both cases heat up, Hollis finds that probate law can bring out the worst in people and sometimes expose a killer. The Return of the Fallen Angels Book Club is book 3 in the Hollis Morgan mystery series, which began with The Fallen Angels Book Club and continued with Sticks & Stones. “The Return of the Fallen Angels Book Club” is very clever. Hollis Morgan has received a judicial pardon and is now a probate attorney. Someone murdered Jeffrey Wallace, her former parole officer, and Hollis wants to find out who did it. Plus she is handling a nasty disinheritance case. That signals the return of the fallen angels book club. All the members owe Jeffrey and want to see his killer brought to justice so they band together to help the police in their investigation. “The Return of the Fallen Angels Book Club” is a wonderful thriller, loaded with twists and turns and red herrings that will leave you guessing all the while you are flipping pages to find out what happens next. Ms. Franklin James has provided us with an action-filled drama which propels Hollis Morgan, and us, to the end in this exciting mystery that leaves you wanting more. I am already looking forward to the next book in this series from this very talented author. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Camel Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago