The Scorpion Rules (Prisoners of Peace Series #1)

The Scorpion Rules (Prisoners of Peace Series #1)

by Erin Bow

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, June 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Scorpion Rules 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
ReedsReadsReviews More than 1 year ago
This book was brilliant. There were moments that made me laugh, moments that made me tremble in my chair, moments that made me cry, moments that melted my heart, and moments that made me want to rip my hair out at the roots. This book has it all, and it delivers it through a cold but much needed message. Full Review: http://reedsreadsreview.com/2015/09/24/the-scorpion-rules/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heck, yeah! Bisexuality! I suppose it could also be pansexuality... The main character is gay and a badass and not at allvperfeft and I love her, okay? Read this book. That is all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this even though sci fi isn't usually my thing. I was totally delighted by the unexpected bisexual love triangle and by how that turned out, and I found the premise ethical dilemmas faced by Greta totally fascinating, and I totally cried at the end.
pooled_ink More than 1 year ago
pooled ink Reviews: So first and foremost one cannot deny that Erin Bow has presented us with quite the intriguing concept. I love it. Oh yes I really do. Is it harsh? Is it cruel? Is it far-fetched? Is it quite near? That I will leave up to you to decide for yourself but in my humble opinion I daresay it’s at least in the seat next to chastisingly brilliant and worth a ponder. The calmest thriller one may ever read weaving terror with utter composed dignity at a regally appropriate stomach-churning pace. Royalty, Artificial Intelligence, hostages, order, two-steps forward, one-step back, and a world-saving villain that will give you a double-take conflicted between nodding and despising his no nonsense tactics. Read it and weep at its alarming possibility, then look down and realize you’ve run off the edge of a cliff suspended only so long as you don’t look down so be sure to catch the little bauble of hope floating by before you fall. P.S. You might have to warm up to it, or you might have to read in the right mindset, but you won't regret it. Read my FULL review here: https://pooledink.com/2015/11/20/the-scorpion-rules/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was wonderful!!
terferj More than 1 year ago
Even though I got lost a few times reading this, I enjoyed it. It was a very interesting book and kept my attention. I liked that it was our Earth but with after all the wars and the robots/AI's brought in; that it became a world where the most precious becomes a hostage. I really liked that idea even though I wouldn't really want it to happen, it was still a cool factor to the story. Even though I liked Greta, at times I felt she could have been more. In example: her feelings for the romantic prospects. The romance comes off as a love triangle but not? There was two people that had feelings for her but I didn't know it was going there until BAM all the sudden it happens; it wasn't a bad thing, but I wished beforehand there was an inkling of it. Besides that, I loved the diversity of the characters in it. My favorite would probably have to be Talis. I know, I know he's the supposed bad guy in the story, but I felt there was more to him and I liked his interactions with everyone. So yeah, if you want a book that has robots, romance not as a main focal point, death, torture, and some funny moments with goats then this is the book. *I received this through NetGalley*
Katie_breathofbooks More than 1 year ago
I have mixed feelings on this book as a whole. There were things that I liked about it, and other parts of it that I had more trouble getting into. I think part of this was because this isn't really my type of genre. I was more invested in the parts with Elian, Xie, and Greta, and the relationships with them. I especially loved the relationship between Xie and Greta. And I basically loved Elian as a character from the first scene that he stepped onto the page. So overall, I wanted to like it more, but I certainly wouldn't say I disliked it. There were times when I felt the pacing was a bit slow, and I wanted to put it down, and other times, I couldn't put it down because I was so invested.
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
3 star Posted on: Brandi Breathes Books Blog Disclaimer: I received this book as an ARC (advanced review copy) for free. I am not paid for this review, and my opinions in this review are mine, and are not effected by the book being free. I was glad to get this in the mail because the idea of holding royalty/leadership's kids hostage to prevent war is a pretty compelling premise. I wanted to find out the general of how a society could end up there, and how this group of up and coming leaders bonded, but also were always on the brink of death. I liked Greta, the main character. She is a good blend of smart, cautious, funny, sympathetic and tough. She's accepted the way of life, caring for animals and basically farm work along with lessons, all controlled by robots/AI (artificial intelligence). She has bonded with the group of royalty that is at the school/Precepture with her, but she's never gotten too close or involved with the guys. But when spirited, defiant, and different Elian shows up, things begin to change, and she begins listening and pondering some of the issues he talks about and how he bucks the authority of the AI even when it causes him physical harm. I was so immersed in the story. Even though it dealt a lot with politics which usually goes right over my head, it mostly was a lot of character development. Greta realized so much about herself and the others she grew up with. She has really hard choices to make as well, dealing with the AI, the things she knows, and whether to help and protect Elian. I was shocked more than once at the plot twists. There was one thing that I didn't really see coming, and I am not sure how I feel about it. Things were wrapped up with the immediate plot but I hope that there is another one, because I am not sure what the choices mean for the future, and for her as a person who meant so much to the others. The things that I have read though indicate it is a stand alone so that takes my rating down because I was left confused about a few things, like the layers, as well as what peace might exist or not. The romance also surprised me, I thought that it was going one way but went another, so it wasn't precisely a triangle, it just wasn't going with the obvious at first option at least to me. There were some humorous moments, and I liked the theme of loyalty, friendship and duty. Talis, the writer of the prologue and the one who set up the current political situation with the hostages, actually amused me rather than feeling villianesque. I understand why could be hated, but its an AI, and he accomplished his purpose. Bottom Line: Liked the characters and friendship the ending wasn't the best for me though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent. For mature readers.
Cherylkochbooks More than 1 year ago
This is another book that when I saw it I was thrilled to pick up a copy and start reading it. While I did find the concept of this book very engaging, that was not the case then I actually opened the book and started reading it I got have way into the book and put it down. I kept reading this far because I liked the world but I really did not find either Greta or Elian to share a strong connection with me. Greta came off annoying some with her naïve attitude. Then there is Elian, who I felt was too much of a know it all. I was so turned off by them both that I could barely remember details of what happened in the first half of the book.
Shelly_Z More than 1 year ago
Oh man. This book. I’m not even sure how to write a coherent review. I don’t read a lot of sci-fi but I’m so happy I read this one. The Scorpion Rules was just a phenomenal books that I will definitely push onto any and all readers. 400 years ago, Earth was dying and water was going scarce. Countless wars were being held and the UN turned to their Artificial Intelligence, Talis, for answers. And Talis surprised them all, by blowing up cities until humans listened to him. Now, Talis is still leading and has all the world’s leaders prized possessions hostage, their children. When a country declares war, their children are taking to the grey room. And they never come out. Greta is the Crown Princess of the Pan Polar Confederacy and is only 16 months from being free. That all goes haywire when Elian, grandson of an opposing leader, arrives. Soon, the two countries are at war and Greta has to figure out what she’s willing to put at stake to protect those she cares about. Greta was an amazing protagonist. She felt so real and dynamic. I loved how she not only wanted to understand more about her world and how she learned more about herself. The world-building was also equally amazing. Despite its sci-fi aspects, it felt so real and natural. It was definitely planned out and it really shows. The plot was equally thrilling and I really enjoyed it. It was definitely fast-paced and I enjoyed it so much. The romance was freakin’ amazing. Based on the synopsis, it seems that Elian and Greta would be together. But that isn’t the case. While Greta learns to care about Elian, she also learns about the difference between platonic and romantic love. But who is the other person that Greta learns to care for? None other than her roommate Xie, one of her best friends and an overall amazing person. I just loved the romance so much. Not only is it about Greta discovering her romantic feelings, it’s about her learning about the different types of love. I enjoyed it so much. Overall, The Scorpion Rules was an amazing diverse sci-fi novel that I highly recommend to everyone. Just go read it, seriously, you won’t regret it.
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
Talis's first rule of stopping wars is to make it personal. Charged with saving humanity from itself, the powerful artificial intelligence swiftly establishes a series of rules and initiatives to keep humanity at peace. Oh, and he also takes over the world. Four hundred years later, Talis's every word is recorded in the Utterances and some cultures believe he is a god. They might be right. To ensure that the world's leaders know the exact cost of any declaration of war, Talis takes hostages. The Children of Peace are the heirs to thrones and ruling positions around the world. They are hostages living under the constant threat of execution. If war is declared the lives of both nation's hostages are immediately forfeit. Greta Gustafson Stuart, Duchess of Halifax and Crown Princess of the Pan Polar Confederation, is a seventh generation hostage at Precepture Four in Saskatchewan where she has lived most of her life. She embodies the ideals of the Children of Peace and knows to follow the rules even with her country on the brink of war. Elián Palnik is a new hostage who arrives at Precepture Four with none of the dignity ingrained in the other hostages. Instead he refuses to accept any of the tenets of the Children of Peace, forcing Greta to question everything she believes as she struggles to save Elián from Talis, the Precepture and even himself in The Scorpion Rules (2015) by Erin Bow. I'm hesitant to say I enjoyed The Scorpion Rules, or even that it's a favorite, simply because parts of it are so harrowing and so difficult to process. But I can say this: Bow delivers a knock-out dystopian that I devoured with my heart in my mouth. Greta is a pragmatic and analytical narrator with a wry sense of humor even in the worst situations. Goats also help bring levity to the otherwise weighty narrative in countless ways. Masterful, electric prose and wit make even the hardest moments bearable as Greta and her friends endure countless hardships with grace and aplomb befitting the world's future leaders in this powerful story. The Scorpion Rules is further strengthened by a diverse, memorable cast of characters with realistically complicated relationships (both romantic and platonic), brilliant plotting and shocking twists.The minute readers get a handle on the story, Bow turns everything upside down and moves the novel in a new direction. A gripping story about rebirth, transformation and choice. The Scorpion Rules weaves together science, ethics and humor in this story that delves deep into the human condition and questions the nature of choice and what must be sacrificed for the sake of the greater good. Guaranteed to have high appeal on many levels. Highly Recommended.
MorrisMorgan More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved “The Scorpion Rules”. It’s a wonderful addition to the YA dystopian genre. The first thing that made me love it is the diversity. Racial diversity is merely the beginning. There is cultural diversity and religious diversity, including a Jewish protagonist, which is something rarely seen. And to take things to an entirely different level, there is sexual diversity, including a female bisexual main character. I don’t think I have ever read that in a young adult dystopian novel, and I was quite literally bouncing with the excitement of it. Absolutely none of it felt forced or gratuitous. Well done. Then we have the villain. I think he may be my favorite villain ever. He’s hilarious while being really, truly evil. This is not someone (something?) you would want as your enemy. I also enjoyed the other characters and their development. Some of them may seem flat at first, but their traits unfold slowly and organically. Greta is an unreliable narrator on the level of Katniss, and it is fun to go along with her on her journey of awareness. Elian, well, I’ll let you find out about him for yourself. Finally, the book brings up some incredible points about the nature of humans, society, wars, and the climate. It is quite heavy on the philosophy, and yet it is also hilarious. Some parts had me laughing so hard it was difficult to catch my breath. The author has a good sense of comedic timing. Overall, I recommend “The Scorpion Rules” for anyone eighth grade and up who loves a good dystopian novel. The flow and humor make it a good choice for the reluctant reader, as well. This review is based upon a complimentary copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
tpolen More than 1 year ago
I've seen some pretty impressive and highly complimentary reviews of this book, and that's part of the reason I wanted to read it but, unfortunately, it didn't resonate with me as much. Something I really liked was the unique concept of this YA dystopian novel. Holding hostage the sons and daughters of world leaders in order to maintain peace? Amazing. It's obvious the author put a lot of time and imagination into her world-building and I especially liked the idea of AIs making the rules and the humans acceptance of this. The diversity of the characters was refreshing and although there was a love triangle, it was between the MC, a man, and a woman, adding some interesting dynamics. A couple of things that just didn't work for me were the pacing and characterization. Despite the slow pace of this novel, where I learned far more about goats and farming than needed, I stuck with it because of the other reviews I've seen. Somewhere around page 100, it picked up a little, but not enough to hold my interest. The characters felt flat, with none really standing out, and I had difficulty connecting with any of them. I also couldn't buy into the fact that Greta was considered the leader among her cohorts. To me, Greta was who everyone expected her to be, following all the rules and never questioning them, so I felt as if I never knew the real Greta. When she finally stood up to someone, I was completely shocked, because it seemed so out of character based on her previous actions. Judging by so many rave reviews, I'm definitely in the minority on this one, but it just wasn't for me. If you're a dystopian fan, you should check into The Scorpion Rules and decide for yourself. This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher through NetGalley.
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books Publication Date: September 22, 2015 Rating: 1 star Source: ARC sent by the publisher Summary (from Goodreads): A world battered by climate shift and war turns to an ancient method of keeping peace: the exchange of hostages. The Children of Peace - sons and daughters of kings and presidents and generals - are raised together in small, isolated schools called Prefectures. There, they learn history and political theory, and are taught to gracefully accept what may well be their fate: to die if their countries declare war. Greta Gustafsen Stuart, Duchess of Halifax and Crown Princess of the Pan-Polar Confederation, is the pride of the North American Prefecture. Learned and disciplined, Greta is proud of her role in keeping the global peace — even though, with her country controlling two-thirds of the world’s most war-worthy resource — water — she has little chance of reaching adulthood alive. Enter Elián Palnik, the Prefecture’s newest hostage and biggest problem. Greta’s world begins to tilt the moment she sees Elián dragged into the school in chains. The Prefecture’s insidious surveillance, its small punishments and rewards, can make no dent in Elián, who is not interested in dignity and tradition, and doesn’t even accept the right of the UN to keep hostages. What will happen to Elián and Greta as their two nations inch closer to war? What I Liked: I think this might be a huge case of "it's not you, it's me". Or maybe it IS the book. I don't know. The ratings on Goodreads are very polarizing (at least, in my mutual friend group - but even outside of that group). To be honest, I wasn't really interested in this book. If the publisher hadn't sent an ARC, I wouldn't have read it. I don't make a habit of reading unsolicited review copies, but given the massive amount of flailing that people were/are doing over this book, I decided to give it a shot. Read on. What I Did Not Like: I gave this book a shot. It failed. Epically. And to be honest, there is no venom or sting in my one-star rating. I just couldn't think of a single thing I liked. I wasn't overly upset over this one, or disappointed. It was so meh and blah, and I couldn't recommend it to anyone (if you hadn't heard of it before, keep walking). I know some people liked the beginning but found the ending lacking. And some people loved the ending but found the beginning slow. For me, I found the entire book dry and boring, so there was no one part that I absolutely hated or absolutely loved. I will say, I had an easier time reading the beginning - the first one hundred pages. But keep in mind, this is largely due to the fact that I knew NOTHING about this book before reading it. So the first hundred pages were boring... but I still had hopes that maybe I was just tired, or it would pick up soon. It never picked up. And I got even more tired, even as I got more awake (I had started this book on a car ride around 8:30 am, but picked it back up around 2:00 pm). This book was draining me, and not because it was so exciting or action-packed or emotionally investing. No, I was bored. Read the rest of my review on my blog, The Eater of Books! - eaterofbooks DOT blogspot DOT com :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can some e lend rhis to meo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it!