The Silent Songbird

The Silent Songbird

by Melanie Dickerson

Hardcover

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, July 2

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Silent Songbird 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will admit I preordered this book and have her next book preordered as well. With that disclaimer out of the way let me say I loved the book and have read it twice already. The first time on the day it came out and once again about a week later to catch more of the details. An excellent clean book with a well developed plot and characters. Some of which are new and some from her other books, but don't worry this book stands alone if you haven't read any of the others. Again I loved it and hope you will too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing
inkwellreviews More than 1 year ago
Review from inkwellreviews.com Ah yes, another heart-warming fairy tale from Melanie Dickerson. I was so excited when I found out that her next book was going to be loosely based on The Little Mermaid. I love that story and couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. I do wish that she had kept more of the original story in it but that’s just my personal opinion. Now, if you’ve ever read Melanie Dickerson then you know what her writing style is. This book is no different. It is still a good book, but I knew what was going to happen before it did. I think Melanie Dickerson is a skilled writer, but I think she needs to change her stories up a bit. I must say, Evangeline, the main character, got on my nerves sometimes. Although she is very sweet and kind, she is also head strong and ignorant. Like I said before, this is all my personal opinion, as far as the quality of writing goes, it was good. This book was not confusing in any way and kept my attention throughout it. If you are familiar with Melanie Dickerson and her earlier books, The Merchants Daughter, then you will find this book endearing as Westley le Wyse’s (the main male character) parents were the main characters in that book. I would say that this book is geared towards teenage girls, but I would still tell you that anyone can read it. If you are wanting a different, feel-good book then this one is for you. The Silent Songbird wasn’t my favorite of Melanie Dickerson’s, but it did meet all my expectations and I am glad I read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a clean romsntic story perfect for ages 11 to 15 the mealine dicketson books do call for machure readers it is a christin book with achristin auther if you are uncertain about your child read the book read it first. I ashure you that you will be pleasd with the serries!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. This book has wonderful characters and a wonderful plot. I had a hard time putting this wonderful book down.
EpicFehlReader More than 1 year ago
What's this? A 14th century re-imagining of The Little Mermaid tale? Well, yes... a loose one anyway! Honestly, I was curious but maybe a tad trepidatious going into this one. That's likely my fault, I got too stuck on that Little Mermaid re-telling idea going in, so in the early chapters I was skeptical as to how one could successfully pull off writing a land-based mermaid. My mind moved into further skepticism as I worked through the early chapters and felt more of a Rapunzel vibe with the whole "ward of a king who lived alone in a tower, kept virtual prisoner" who had "read about wildflowers in a poem once" but unfamiliar with them in nature. To future readers, I recommend you don't follow my lead on that. Let go of the re-imagining focus because truthfully The Silent Songbird is only lightly inspired by the classic tale. Unique in execution, this novel is highly entertaining in its own right, endearing characters throughout. Westley's mother has a lovely combination of give-it-to-you-straight tough love combined with sometimes concealed tenderness. The friendship turned innocent romance between Westley and Eva is adorable and one to root for, in addition to Eva's friendships not only with Mildred but Nicola, another servant on the estate. Lastly, there's Eva's brave spirit -- not afraid to go after the life she truly wants... well, maybe more accurately, in the words of John Wayne, "afraid but saddling up anyway". A heartwarming tale in the old style where readers are left feeling cozy and reassured that truth and goodness prevail. FTC Disclaimer: TNZ Fiction Guild kindly provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. The opinions above are entirely my own.
KittyKat4 More than 1 year ago
*This book was received via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review* This was a really interesting read with intriguing characters and an enjoyable plot. I really enjoyed the pace of the book as well as the main character Evangeline; I especially liked reading the story from her point of view. Although I liked most of the characters, I didn't warm up to Westley; he seemed too perfect but also very gullible and because of this unrealistic. The world building was good however the ending felt quite rushed and too neat. Overall, this was an interesting read with some flaws.
MrsTina42MR More than 1 year ago
The Silent Songbird (#7 Hagenheim) by Melanie Dickerson In this delightful medieval “fairy tale” we travel back-in-time to the Berkhamsted Castle of 1384 Hertfordshire, England and then on to the quaint village of Glynval. Young, beautiful Evangeline, cousin and ward to King Richard II has just learned that she will be betrothed to his closest advisor, Lord Shiveley, a man twice her age. However, she longs to marry for love, so she does what any desperate ward of the king would do...runs away, of course. But she must keep her true identity a secret so as not to be found out. What better disguise than that of a servant...a mute servant? She joins a small band of servants on their way back to their home village of Glynval, lead by the handsome young Wesley le Wyse. Evangeline soon discovers that life outside the castle walls is far beyond anything she could have imagined, especially traveling as a servant. What a journey and challenges Evangeline...and Wesley for that matter...finds herself on in this charming medieval “fairy tale”. Evangeline turns out to be a feisty heroine and Wesley is a charming hero. The plot is intriguing and the descriptions are amazing giving the reader images that are so real I felt I was walking among the characters. There are humorous scenes that had me chuckling, tender moments that had me sighing, danger, intrigue and suspense had me turning the pages to see what was coming next, evil plots, deception—which made me think of the saying...”Oh! What a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive”...and consequences of those actions, forgiveness, love and faith—I enjoyed the spiritual elements woven within the story-line. A delightful story. ~I received a copy of this book from the author via the Fiction Guild (no monetary gain were exchanged), this is my honest review~
ARS8 More than 1 year ago
The Silent Songbird by Melanie Dickerson was a very interesting take on the classic tale of The Little Mermaid. I was quite curious to see where author Dickerson would take the tale without using magic, or without Evangeline being a mermaid. She did a very good job with the premise and I could see many Little Mermaid elements woven in, but by the time I got halfway through the story it took a life of its own and didn’t seem so much like a retelling anymore. The medieval setting was fascinating, and I could tell that the author had put a lot of research into what it was like back then. The characters were interesting in their own rights. Evangeline was a sweet, kind heroine, if a little naïve; and I believe the same could be said for Westley. They were perfect for each other, really. The other characters were nice, and I thought it was interesting to see how Dickerson wove her characters from The Merchant’s Daughter into this story. I received a complimentary copy of this book through the Fiction Guild. I was not required to post a positive review and the views and opinions expressed are my own.
bjdoureaux More than 1 year ago
After the death of her parents, Evangeline is left in the care of her cousin, King Richard II. When she learns that the king has promised her as a wife to his advisor, Lord Shiveley, Evangeline runs away. Knowing that they will come after her, and that she is known for her beautiful singing voice, she pretends to be mute and joins a group of servants who are journeying back to their village. Westley is leading the servants, and he takes the mute young maiden under his protection. They grow closer, finding ways to communicate other than speaking, but when the truth comes out it could tear them apart. As events unfold, Evangeline’s future, Westley’s life, and the fate of England hang in the balance. This novel is part of Melanie Dickerson’s Fairy Tale Romance series. It’s a retelling of The Little Mermaid, minus the mermaids and magic. It’s a light read that will keep the pages turning with action and romance. My only negative with this one was that the characters’ thoughts often summarized events that just occurred within the last few pages. It wasn’t necessary, as the action played out well, and this retelling took away from it. Other than that, it’s a good read for those who love a clean, action-filled romance. I received a copy of this book from BookLook in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Freddikb More than 1 year ago
Evangeline has been gifted with a beautiful voice. But now she is on the run, determined to not be forced to marry Lord Shiveley- a man twice her age and harboring sinister motives. She remains silent, afraid if anyone hears her they will recognize her and send her back. Can she trust the man who has offered to help her with her life? Perhaps even with her heart? This story had a way of easily taking me back to my teenage years, when I was about 14 or 15. The subtle fairy tale setting, the costumes, the characters…. in a way it was a breath of fresh air getting to experience that again for a little while. The cover image is captivating (although, I do need to point out that the model’s eye color is wrong. It does not match Evangeline’s eye color.) All in all this was a light, entertaining read. I already have a friend who wants to read it. *I received this book free from Thomas Nelson and Fiction Guild in exchange for my honest review. What I have expressed are entirely my own thoughts.*
Becky6 More than 1 year ago
Fairy tale retellings are popular right now. I love these retellings, especially those written by Melanie Dickerson. Most of us know the tale of The Little Mermaid, but you’ve never heard it told this way before. Oh and not to mention that this is a world that is all human and magic doesn’t exist set in Medieval Times. While this is the seventh book in the Hagenheim series, you don’t have to read them in order. I’ve only read The Golden Braid and this one so far. Each book is about a different character from a different fairy tale, but they all tie in so it’s probably more fun to read them in the order. In fact, I heard that the le Wyse family appear in another book, The Merchant’s Daughter. I’m definitely going to have to find that one because I loved that family so much! This time we find the setting to be partly in Berkhamsted Castle and Glynva in England. Not only is the cover gorgeous, Dickerson immediately drew me in the story from the very beginning. The pages just kept on flying until I found myself at the very end. Evangeline has her mind set not to marry the old disgusting King Shiveley so she runs away. She is bold, fierce, and brave. She believes that she needs a man or a friend to protect her but then realizes that she needs God to fill that role. She stands out from most a lot of female characters in young adult fiction because she is independent. She doesn’t need a man to protect her. In fact, she ends up saving a handsome young man’s life twice! She will do anything to protect those she cares about and perseveres through her tasks even when she finds that she is terrible at them. She is far from perfect, but that’s what I loved about this redhead. I loved seeing how real, vulnerable, and honest she was in her faith journey. Her role was refreshing. Then there’s Westley. Sigh. I’ve got a crush on him. He’s not a peasant, but he has no title. His father is the Lord of Glynval. He is kind to his servants, making sure they have fair wages and everything they need. He goes above and beyond. He’s the kind of guy that would literally give the shirt off his back if someone needed it. He will do anything to make sure those he loves are safe. He’s a wonderful and Godly man. The writing was wonderfully done. Dickerson draws you into her world where the characters become friends. It’s like you’re actually there. You can feel everything they’re feeling. You’ll laugh, cry, cheer, get angry, and all of the feels! It’s cheesy and some spots are quite predictable, but I really enjoyed this one. It’s a clean wholesome read where there’s romance and sword fighting. While the story is completely different, there are some nods to the original fairy tale. Dickerson also does not fail to point her characters and readers towards God in a non-preachy way. Highly recommended foranyone and everyone who enjoys a fun fairy tale retelling. Perfect for those seeking a fun and light read. Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.
Glorysong2 More than 1 year ago
This was a delightful book. The reader gets a glimpse of life in England during the 1300's. It was well written and kept my interested. I am ready to read more by the author. I received a free copy of this book.
Elisa More than 1 year ago
Count me in as another older reader enjoying teen fiction! In the 7th installment of the Fairy Tale Romance/Hagenheim series, the scene shifts to England during the reign of a young Richard II. Evangeline, a royal ward, escapes with her maid rather than marry Lord Shiveley, an advisor to the king. She pretends to be mute as part of her disguise. Arriving in the village of Glynval, Evangeline works as a maid and meets the son of the local lord, Westley le Wyse. Unfortunately Lord Shiveley is on Evangeline's trail, and it leads to a confrontation with the King. If you're familiar with British history, there are mentions of the Peasant's Revolt, which occurred 3 years prior to the story. I enjoyed reading the novel. It combines romance, faith, and political intrigue for an interesting story. If you've read "The Merchant's Daughter," Annabel and Ranulf have an appearance in the story.
Cynthia181 More than 1 year ago
I received this book for a honest review from The Fiction Guild. This is another wonderful retelling of a fairy tale with a bit of twist in it. I loved how a young woman born of royalty wanted what every other person in the world wanted. Love. She was kept at one of the kings castles because she was the daughter of the Kings uncle. He came to tell her to she was to marry a man who didn't want to and knew it would not be good. She had a beautiful singing voice and the only reason the Lord wanted to marry her because of her royal bloodline. She ran away to a different community and her lady's maid went with her and she acted like she couldn't talk and they acted as domestic help as a cover. But the Lord would not give up. She found shelter and a possibility of love and family. With Wesley help and his father and village they were able to save her friend and stop the king from harm.
EmilyAnneK17 More than 1 year ago
Growing up locked in a country palace would certainly make a girl long for freedom. So when Evangeline’s guardian arranges for her to marry a creepy older man, she takes the excuse and runs away with her closest servant-friend. Her disguise? Wearing peasant’s clothes and pretending to be mute, since one of her most recognizable features is her beautiful voice. Evangeline and her friend soon working at a noble’s manor, and she and the noble’s son Wesley feel the beginnings of attraction. But deception is never a good basis for a romance, and trouble seems to follow both of them. I didn’t catch it at the beginning, but The Silent Songbird is definitely a Little Mermaid retelling . . . minus the mermaid. It was a really sweet story, complete with the prince, mute princess, and deceptive witch. Relatively speaking, anyway. I loved the romance, though it was a little frustrating to watch them suffer because of the deception. Why can’t people tell the truth? Because they don’t know whether they can trust the other. But by the time they know they can trust the others enough to tell them, the others’ trust in the first is broken. Isn’t it the way it always goes in stories like these? In any case, I enjoyed this particular rendition of the tale. It followed the fairy tale pretty well, considering there is no magic, and added some great complications and twists. The historical background was fantastic, as always, and the characters were developed well. I enjoyed The Silent Songbird and look forward to the next novel by one of my favorite authors. I recommend it to fans of clean historical romance and fairy tale retellings. I received a copy of this book from NetGalley. All opinions are my own.
Ryebrynn More than 1 year ago
Meet Evangeline. She has the most beautiful singing voice and is privileged to be a ward and cousin of the great King Richard II, so she gets to live at Berkhamsted Castle. She would completely be satisfied with her comfortable life, right? Unfortunately, due to her royal blood (even if she was illegitimate) she has never been free to go and do whatever she wanted. The walls of Berkhamsted always seem to be her own personal dungeon and nothing changes when she hears that King Richard II has agreed to Lord Shiveley’s marriage proposal for her. Lord Shiveley is rich, twice her age and one of the king’s trusted advisors, but Evangeline longs to fall in love just like in the poems and songs she sings. With her impending wedding, Evangeline makes an impulsive decision to leave everything she knows and rely on the kindness of a stranger, Westley le Wyse. Though she has never lived as a peasant, she is determined that she would have more freedom to live and marry if she became a peasant. In order to disguise her identity, she tells her companion, Muriel, to say that she is mute. Her brilliant red hair and striking green eyes along with her substantial height already attract enough attention. When the travelers reach Glynval, Evangeline learns that Westley is actually the eldest son of Lord le Wyse and not just a peasant. She is disappointed but she tries her best to fit in as a servant. Obviously, antics ensue since she’s never worked a day in her life, but Westley’s kindness to her even in the face of her inadequacies stirs her heart toward him. How can she ever tell Westley the truth about who she is without completely having him hate her? Westley feels pity and compassion toward her because he thinks she lost her voice from being abused by her master. Will Evangeline ever be able to tell Westley the truth? Could they possibly find a way to be together despite Lord Shiveley’s frantic search for her? Is there more to what Lord Shiveley desires and can Evangeline discover this before it’s too late? Yay! The newest installment in the Hagenheim series! I am a HUGE fan of Melanie Dickerson. What women doesn’t love a good fairytale? I didn’t even realize it was a reimagining of The Little Mermaid until the very end. This book can stand alone but Westley’s parents are from The Merchant’s Daughter so it was nice to see them again. I really liked how Evangeline grows as a character. Every girl needs to know how to defend herself and believe that she is loved for who she is. As much as I enjoyed Westley’s character, he almost seemed too good to be true – he could have had more flaws to make him more real in my opinion. This historical romance is full of romance and vivid scenery that transports the reader into medieval times. I highly recommend this series and I can’t wait to read what’s next.
SweetPea_3 More than 1 year ago
I didn't see what this book had to do with The Little Mermaid other than Evangeline losing her voice, but I certainly still enjoyed it. Westley le Wyse is the son of Lord and Lady le Wyse, who of course were characters in an earlier book in this series of fairy tales and was one of my very favourites so it was nice to have them back in the story. This time our heroine is living in a castle, but not just any castle - she is the ward of the king of England. She's been treated very well living there, but now he wants to marry her off as a favour to one of his most trusted advisors. Lord Shiveley is twice her age and definitely not the man the king sees him to be. Taking a big risk, she and her maid run off with a band of peasants travelling back to their home town. As long as you don't read this as a definitive historical novel accurately detailing the times, it's pretty entertaining glimpse into the time period. Lords and ladies, servants and knights, oh my. It's a light read, it's clean and worth picking up. I received this book from the publisher. My opinions are entirely my own. Thank you Thomas Nelson.
Penmouse More than 1 year ago
The Silent Songbird by Melanie Dickerson is a truly lovely romance written for young adults. The story is clean in writing, no profanity at all, and the sweet romance is just right for readers of any age. I truly liked how the author managed to keep the story interesting and how she created enough tension that I wanted to keep turning the page. Recommend. Review written after downloading a galley from NetGalley.
amybooksy More than 1 year ago
The Silent Songbird is book seven from the Hagenheim series. This retelling of The Mermaid is so far my favorite by Melanie Dickerson. I just love Evangeline and Wesley. Highly recommended 5+ stars
SemmieWise More than 1 year ago
** “I need an all-powerful God who cares for me. I need you. … You’ll never leave me or forsake me, and I’ll always trust You. I know I’ll be safe with You in my heart. I’ll not fear the terror of the night, nor the arrow that flies by day.” ** Melanie Dickerson continues her medieval fairytales with a retelling of The Little Mermaid in “The Silent Songbird.” Set in 1384 England, Evangeline, who has the voice of an angel, is a ward of King Richard — she is his illegitimate cousin, the daughter of his uncle. And being his ward, Richard can control her fate, and insists Evangeline marry his closest advisor, the much-older Earl of Shiveley, a truly evil man with devious plans. Unfortunately the king is blind to the earl’s true intentions. Feeling trapped and literally fearing for her life, Evangeline runs away with her closest companion, Muriel, pretending to be mute and changing her name to Eva to hide her true identity. When Eva meets the kind, compassionate and handsome Westley le Wyse of Glynval, she begins to realize that she is indeed worthy of love, and choosing her own love. She also learns to protect herself, as well as seek protection — whether from man or God. (“She imagined God as the father she had never known, a perfect Father.”) Containing many references to The Little Mermaid, “The Silent Songbird” is a delightful little tale filled with romance, intrigue, danger, secrets and sacrifice. It tackles themes like freedom and independence, a feeling of not being one’s master of their own fate, bravery, feeling unworthy and like a pawn, kindness, mercy, compassion and God’s lovingkindness. Fun little fact: I don’t know if the author intended this or not, but toward the end of the book there’s even a brief little reference to “The Princess Bride” — “As you wish.” Dickerson does a great job, yet again, bringing commonly known fairytales to life in the medieval era. Five stars out of five. Thomas Nelson provided this complimentary copy for my honest, unbiased review.
BethErin More than 1 year ago
The Silent Songbird is everything I've come to expect from Dickerson's fairy tale romance series. My little inner girly girl squeals with delight at the prospect of a new spin on an old favorite and Songbird delivers! Evangeline and Westley's story is full of danger, secrets, and youthful attraction. This is a no-brainer for the teens and young adults in your life and I fully approve this book for the young at heart as well! I requested the opportunity to read and review this title through NetGalley. The opinions expressed are my own.
MeezCarrie More than 1 year ago
While you’re reading The Silent Songbird by Melanie Dickerson, you may find yourself humming the song “Part of Your World” from Disney’s The Little Mermaid movie. And a time or two, you may break into a reggae beat, imploring Westley to “Kiss the Girl” (woo woo). If a lobster/crab/whateverSebastianwas shows up to sing along, you might want to become concerned. Otherwise just embrace it. Because Melanie does a fabulous job of retelling The Little Mermaid (the Andersen version) and reshaping it to become Evangeline’s story. With her hilariously disastrous attempts to fit in as a servant, Evangeline truly was a “mermaid out of water”. (You may also find yourself wanting to call out “Have fun storming the castle!” because while The Little Mermaid is clearly the dominant fairy tale here, there are shades of The Princess Bride as well if you look closely enough.) Enter Westley. But before I talk about Westley, I need to gush about Westley’s father first. Lord le Wyse. Or as I like to call him, “yummy Lord Ranulf”. When I heard that The Silent Songbird would take us back to England, back to the universe of The Merchant’s Daughter (still my very favorite Dickerson book), I may have fangirl squealed in giddy excitement. (Ok… totally did.) And i must confess that my book-boyfriend-collecting heart did go pitterpatter when Ranulf first showed up in Songbird. Oh yeah, and it was nice to see Annabel too. lol. Ahem. Anyway… back to Evangeline and Westley. The Silent Songbird is a sweet story of falling in love (lots of tender and swoony moments!, finding your footing in your faith and finding your place in the world. (And now I’m singing Michael W. Smith’s song… clearly I need professional help.) Along the way, mixed throughout the tender and the swoony and the profound, are moments which will pull a giggle out of the grumpiest Grinch. Perhaps more than any of Melanie Dickerson’s other books, The Silent Songbird shows her great sense of humor. With lines like, “At least if she worked inside, she couldn’t nearly decapitate someone” and “Are you kissing in the Lord God’s chapel? There is no kissing in the chapel!” you are sure to smile nearly as often as you sigh blissfully. And sigh blissfully, you shall. Bottom Line: The Silent Songbird is warm and funny and sweet, with a dash of suspense and a cartload of adventure. Melanie Dickerson is in top form with this return to Glynval, but even if you’ve never read The Merchant’s Daughter you will feel right at home. Expertly taking a couple of the world’s most familiar and beloved tales and weaving them into a story of even truer love and gentle faith, Melanie Dickerson proves once again why she’s the queen of fairy tale retellings! (I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.)
MelissaF More than 1 year ago
I have loved every book in this series. Melanie knows how to take a classic fairy tale in turn it into a new story. This book is compared to "The Little Mermaid" but Evangeline is not a mermaid at all :) Immediately we are thrown into Evangeline's issues with marrying Lord Shiveley and as soon as we meet him we can clearly see that she shouldn't have to marry him. She makes her escape and happens to be with Westley, a handsome nobleman, not a peasant. She begins working for his father but she isn't cut out for it at all. One horrible thing after another happens to her and once her secret is revealed how will people react? Will the forgive her? Not only is this a great story but a message of faith is woven in beautifully. Evangeline worries so much about what others think, she worries about being selfish. Also, I clearly saw a message of forgiveness and mercy in this story. If you adore fairy tales but want the grown up kind then this is a must read. A copy of this book was given to me through the BookLook Bloggers program. All opinions are my own.