The Society

The Society

by Jodie Andrefski

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Society 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Put-downs are painful... and how you cope can be equally painful. Fast paced story about choices from the perspective of a bullied girl. Bingaux
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BuriedUnderBooks More than 1 year ago
Teen bullying has become more widely talked about in the last few years than ever before, rightfully so, and many young adult novels have focused on the topic. This is a good thing because it helps shine a light on a serious problem but making such novels fresh and different has come to be more difficult as time goes by. It's similar to some other book themes that seem to lose their punch as too many authors and publishers jump on the bandwagon, Sam has suffered at the hands of a former friend, Jessica, and Jessica's treatment of Sam can't be justified in any way even though the reason behind it is understandable. Sam's eventual decision to take revenge, on Jessica and on the school's higher society, is at the core of the problem for me because, to my mind, Sam becomes every bit as mean-spirited and unlikeable as Jessica. The Society is well-written, don't get me wrong, but I had trouble empathizing with Sam once she set out on this path to get even although I fully understand the realities of human nature and the desire to get back at the people who've hurt us. Although I think this is a good book, I just didn't quite connect with Sam or her story but I think many other readers will.
ShawnaSurvey More than 1 year ago
So I’ll be completely honest when I initially read the synopsis and seen the cover I was more than confident the story was going to take a quite different turn.Truthfully I lead myself to believe the Society was going to be a Pretty Little Liars meet Person of Interest, but it was more so along the lines of Revenge. Despite my preconception I enjoyed the world Jodie created. As far as the characters ehhh, they brought emotions out of me so I guess that was a positive thing. Samantha Evans like most young teenagers life is great and so are her friends, this girl was on a personable high. Like most highs at some point you have to come down and it almost happened overnight. She lost her best friend and her father was sent to jail with the assistance of that said friend. On top of all that her mother abandoned her and her ex best friend, Jessica started to humiliate and degrade her every moment she had. At some point Samantha had enough and decided to seek some revenge. On paper the plan sounded fair and just. It didn’t take long for the plan to take over her life and that’s when her obsession to make horrible choices began to set in. Hooking up with a strange boy she didn’t know.I wanted to scream do you know how do you know this kid? Is he safe? Things just started to take a downward spiral. Grades started to failed. Even risked losing her only friend Jeremy. As things began to progress her attitude became more whining and she developed more excuses to justify her reason for getting other people involved with her psychological brawl with Jessica. The Society is told solely from Samantha’s POV which is normally not my fave, but Jodie’s writing style made it all things bearable. The events take took place seem quite realistic and made me appreciate that I’m no longer in high school. The ending didn’t feel quite complete I felt like Sam and Jessica needed a face to face to resolve their issues with each other. Overall, a nice read.
Wicked_Reads More than 1 year ago
As an adult reading The Society, I'd give it 4 solid stars. Thinking back to my reading tastes as a young adult, The Society would have hit all of my favorite notes: thrilling pacing, mild romantic triangle to keep me turning the pages, & friendship troubles. I believe most young adults would give the novel 5 stars. I was hooked on page one with the introduction 3 years in the past as a 13-year-old girl deals with her father's trial, the loss of her best friend turned enemy, & the abandonment of her mother. This gave me the feels, & had me flipping the pages into the present time. This was a very moral novel beneath the surface, showing both why good people do good & bad acts, & why bad people do both good & bad acts, & how there is a very thin line separating the two. Even justified in your actions, the results may be more than you bargained for, more for everyone involved. Frustrating was the core feeling I had for Sam/Samantha while reading The Society. After not only losing her best friend, she has to suffer at the hands of the person who should have had her back after her life incinerated. Jessica not only bullied Sam, she turned the entire school away from her. In reality, this is realistic. Fed up, Sam seeks not vengeance but revenge, & there is a difference. I won't give out details, as I feel that would do a disservice to readers. But there were a few points in the book that I would have liked addressed. The moral of the story was incredible, taking responsibility for your actions without using projection. (So & so did it too, but they didn't get in trouble so I shouldn't either. Yes, you should. But actions should be taken so the rest take responsibility as well.) BUT after three years of bullying, I would have liked to see some justice for Sam, some closure dealing with her father/Jessica/Trinity. Everyone failed Sam, including the school, Jeremy, & the aunt, with no one stepping in to STOP the bullying that was so prevalent. In fact, her bully was made out to be the victim. I understand taking responsibility for your actions, & not allowing someone to lower you to act as they do. Sam went from ignored victim to criminal, where all the victimizers were labeled & shown as innocent victims, all of whom had a major hand in changing who Sam was at her core. Everyone knew it was happening, saw it was happening, but just told Sam to deal with it & wait to get to college. I would have liked to see some outrage in Sam toward those who were meant to protect her. The only life ever ruined on the pages of The Society was Sam, from start to finish, with only Sam ever taking responsibility for her actions. Even the BFF/love interest was cowardly by never telling Sam how he felt, leaving it to Sam to figure it out, while he flirted with others. To be fair, there was Ransom, but there would have never been a Ransom if Jeremy would have spoken up. Such as taking her to a party, where both were excited to be with one another again, only to leave her the entire night after going to get her a drink (he never did bring her that drink), completely forgetting about Sam. It was written Sam was Jeremy's focus, yet he lost focus too often for me to buy the epilogue. Kudos to the author for showing Sam's empowerment even when at the lowest of the lows. I just wish someone in the cast of characters would have shown similar growth/responsibility/redemption/courage/protection/non-judgmental attitude/Self-reflection. Full review @ goo.gl/Ew0Bw4
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
A quick read about the damage that holding grudges and seeking revenge can do to yourself and others. Sam wasn't always a sympathetic character--there were times that I did feel very badly for her, with her horrible family situation and the extreme bullying she has to endure at school from her ex-best friend, but then at other times she began to take things a bit too far and didn't know when to say when. Her moral compass definitely went off kilter, and I just wanted to give her a good shake to snap her out of it. Fortunately, she pulls herself back away from the edge at the end and definitely learns a valuable lesson...and the Society is defunct at last. Or is it...? Jeremy was a great best friend to her throughout and tried to be the voice of reason, though he didn't always have much success. He added much to the story, though, not the least of which was a sweet friends-to-maybe-lovers subplot, with only a few minor detours. We are left with a few loose-ish ends at the novel's conclusion--does Jessica ever accept Sam's apology? Does Sam reconcile with her dad? Is Aunt Loretta's medical issue finally cured?--that I was fairly content with imagining happy outcomes for, because that's what I do :) I really liked the variety of quotes that the author started each chapter with--it was a fun touch, and really set the scene for the upcoming section. Overall I enjoyed the time I spent reading this one. It wasn't without its problems, but Ms. Andrefski's heart is definitely in the right place in regards to the message she is trying to convey through it. Rating: 4 stars / B I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.
VoluptuousBDiva More than 1 year ago
I couldn't be more happier that I was afforded the opportunity to read an eARC of The Society via NetGalley & Entangled Teen as this was not only a wonderful read but this book also touched on the very real issue of bullying. Sam had always lead a happy life full of friends and a loving family until her father was sent to prison. Once that happened her mother abandoned her at her aunt Lor's house and her best friend dropped her like white on rice. That would have been simple to get used to but her former best friend became her biggest tormentor at the private school they both attended. Now, she isn't just a misfit but also fair game to be bullied. The other constant in her life is Jeremy until he discovers that Sam is preparing to get revenge on those who hate her and so then the story really kicks into high gear. The author quickly ensnares you in the story line which is well written and fast paced and the characters are life like. I applaud how the author gives the reader the opportunity to live through Sam's character as you get to experience the bullying and see it through this young girl's life. I highly recommend this read as you will experience a varying range of emotions. This is definitely a five star read.
Rhondaz More than 1 year ago
The Society by Jodie Andrefski...This was a good read, the author does a great job with the characters...very believable. Sam is being bullied by Jessica, Sam does get annoying at times, but does deserve it. If you are looking for a good YA book to read them this is it. I received a complimentary book from publisher via NetGalley for an honest review.