The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life

by Mark Manson

Paperback(Large Print)

$22.49 $24.99 Save 10% Current price is $22.49, Original price is $24.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 82 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mark Manson has given us a lot to think about in this book. Although I am in no way close to being completely comfortabe with all things in life I have found that a lot of the concepts in this book give me ways of finding that comfort. I do feel after reading it a bit lighter and not so anxious about past failures. I think it also made me less likely to be judgmental of others. Thank you Mr. Manson for sharing your insight and wisdom with the rest of us. Only good will come from it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book, especially given my recent life changing events of. A. Returning to college at university. B. Divorce after nine years C. Failed business. D. Leaving the military after nine years. Was one of the books I happened to stumble upon and really truly cried at the end. I am better not perfect at really embracing what is truly a priority in life and what is not. What will be your legacy? Are your values lined up right? Or are poor values tripping you up? This book is a roller coaster of emotion, leaving you wanting more. 5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book came highly recommended by a friend of mine and is one of the best self-help books I've read. Mark Manson doesn't tell you how to make a vision board or what steps to take to make the universe give you a new car. Instead he gives practical and real advice for figuring out what you care about and what to do with yourself. For example, a lot of self-help books tell you that you need "strong boundaries", but Manson explains what this means and gives you a test to figure out whether your relationships have them. I learned a lot of helpful ways of thinking about my problems, like the difference between "fault" and "responsibility". Although I felt at times that he was too quick to bash kids these days, as though he perhaps confused "content warnings" with censorship, his general messages are spot on. Very good read, and helpful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The title of the book is clever, but also a marketing hook. I give the author kudos for being brave enough to say things that many other wouldn't, and that many more wouldn't care to hear. There are many sharp points in the book, and they are all delivered in such a way that keeps you wanting more. However, there ARE moments when the author contradicts himself, and I can't help but wonder if he was even aware of it. Also, the author clearly leans heavily towards Buddhist teachings and philosophy, and that tone is pervasive throughout the book. Unfortunately, even when the author is giving his best advice, or sharing some kernel of wisdom, it is not anything particularly new. Almost any "holy book" from any religion touches on the basic ideas the author shares. Eschewing materialism, and devoting oneself to a more altruistic existence is not a new idea. It is no revelation that sincerity is a virtue, or that one benefits from having focus in life. This is generic, common sense you can find anywhere. So, maybe that is the true appeal of this book. The author is completely unafraid to say things that simply make sense. And in an age of hyper political correctness, that probably makes for a pretty compelling read. Overall, it's a decent read. But, the author really doesn't break any new ground. He's merely covering grounds less traveled.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read a lot of self help books and this was by far one of the best. It's balanced well with comedy and reality. It's addicting to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is brillitantly raw. I instantly fell in love with it and go to it when i need a refresher on how i should be living my life. Highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A remarkable book. A different angle on self analysis and a guide for living that isn't stuffy or overbearing. The author does not beat you with intellectual or clinical "findings". He draws a lot from his own life and reasoning. A very worthwhile read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What I like the most about this book is that my initial thought of Take 20% off coupons from 100promo.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a quick read. It has a few moments of self reflection that are asterisk worthy but nothing deeply philosophical. This is not a modern twist on responding to heavy philosophical questions, more like a blog about personal values that got too long. There isn't anything to really be learned here. No big "ah ha" conclusions that push the audience past comfortable and into action. The narrator's voice is pleasant, a bit pompous, and perhaps change was felt by the writer himself through creating this book, but there isn't enough meat to even justify the flashy title. I think the flashy curse words can't conceal that this is a casual chat from an average guy with a laptop. I wanted to be blown the f*ck out of my chair with a title like that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book, especially given my recent life changing events of. A. Returning to college at universit and Take a Barnes $10 Off coupons code from bookscoupons.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As an avid reader with a crude sense of humor I had high hopes for this book but it was pretty lackluster. There was nothing moving or insightful about this for me. It read like a drunken man in the throes of his midlife crisis ranting on his couch in a puff of smoke. It was repetitive in an irritating way, "feedback mechanism sounds fancy, I'll write that as many times as I can!' I also found it unnecessarily crude. I drop the f-bomb as well as anyone else, and often, but I just don't think it really added anything to the point of this book. Lines about "I'll just have to live with the fact I'll never get to feel Jennifer Aniston's ****", meh, it's just not humorous or pithy and just left me scratching my head as to what kind of person would really get something out of this book. It was a very quick read with not much substance other than, don't worry about everything so much, mostly common sense that I had figured out by at least 22 years old. I passed it off to my husband, the man who can make a sailor blush and reads a book a week for his enlightened opinion. He thought it was downright awful as well. I imagine the success of this book is due to a clever marketing team directed at people who don't read much. Really shocked that this was a NY Times best seller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was written well. It's message was clear. There is something for everyone written inside the pages of this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book a lot. Mark Manson says a number of interesting ideas. But I’m sure that most people will not be able to use his ideas in real life; they’re too philosophical. For me, this book works better together with “Secret Techniques for Controlling Sadness, Anger, Fear, Anxiety, and Other Emotions,” which is a very practical guide for mind state regulation. I highly recommend both these books.
chadbordes More than 1 year ago
Often times we feel that we need to be exceptional and great. We read self help books that tell us to attract positivity and love and money into our lives. We are taught that people should be more fair and caring and that everything is going to “be okay” Mark tends to push that envelope and say, life isn’t fair and that we have to choose the f*cks that we give and begin to accept that at some point we are all going to die. He gently reminds us that it's our ego impedes our ability to take chances and that by not committing to something, we are essentially being counterproductive. He lets us know as well as that it is okay to get your feelings hurt every so often. When we stop skirting around the issues, we can be liberated and free to live life and give the f*cks that need to be given. This is a wonderful read and a great gauge for where you stand in a modern world. I highly recommend this book to anyone and send a big thanks to Mark for giving a “f*ck” enough to share his brilliant insight.
Anonymous 23 days ago
Eye+opening+for+me.+This+book+helps+put+honest+living+in+perspective.+It+shows+how+to+make+reality+a+way+of+life.%0A+%0A
Anonymous 4 months ago
Perfect for this generation.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous 5 months ago
Real+Talk+about+Real+Things.+Nice+to+see+someone+just+put+things+out+there+for+the+way+that+they+truely+are%2C+for+once%2C+without+being+superficial+or+overly+dramatic+about+it.+Highly+recommend+this+one.+5+Stars%21+Excellent+job%2C+Mark+M.%21
literarybelle 6 months ago
Manson explores the idea of why you cannot care about everything, but to make sure you care about the important things. Many people live their life being positive all the time. Manson breaks through this idea to show you that it's not true. We are not happy or perfect all the time. No matter what social media would have you believe. This book is not for everyone. It will make some people uncomfortable and others pissed off. However, for those it does touch, it will come like a punch to the face and you'll wish you had heard it earlier. I enjoyed this book immensely, but as I said, it's not for everyone.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Mark Manson’s book offers a path forward to unlearning entitlement, and toward authentic living. I look forward to the sequel, and then hopefully additional books following that. Great job Mr. Manson!
Anonymous 9 months ago
Just+an+honest+book+with+advice+on+staying+true+to+yourself.+I+like+that.
Anonymous 10 months ago
This guy articulated so many of my thoughts and put definition and explanation to many of my own personal past experiences. I couldn’t put this book down and have recommended it to most everyone I give a f*uck about.
Anonymous 10 months ago
good+book%2C+well+put+together+and+very+insightful.+%0A
Anonymous 12 months ago
Loved the book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got this on audio and loved listening to it on my drive to and from work. It makes you stop and think about how you approach life and decisions. Love the authors bluntness.