The Town Square (Dare Valley)

The Town Square (Dare Valley)

by Ava Miles

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Town Square 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was such a warm love story of a grandpa telling his grown children how he met his now deceased sweetheart and married her. It's a beautiful story about family struggles and a town standing by their own. A very good heartwarming read. I have read all of her books and they're all great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the story of how Grandpa Hale started his newspaper, and how his family began. You feel right at home in the town, and want the series to go on and on. Maybe one day in the future Ava will bring them all back and update us with right is going on in everyone's life. Was sorry to see the series end. They all become a part of you. Thank you Ava for a wonderful series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great story of Arthur & Harriet and how it all began in the 60s. Has some history of events that brought back memories for me. Some twists and turns that you don't see coming. Interesting story. Another one that I couldn't put down. What Emmits told Arthur when talking about marriage was great! I highly recommend this book and the series to anyone looking for a good romance and family story. This book and The Holiday Serenade are now in one book....Daring Declartions for $4.99. cmj
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
Once again, Ava Miles has taken me “home” to Dare Valley, straight to the heart and soul of the Hale family as Grandpa Hale relives his life and the story of his greatest love. Young Arthur Hale was determined to create a newspaper in Dare Valley that would become a voice to be trusted and heard throughout the West. His ambition and integrity to “get it right” was his obsession and his passion. When he hired the beautiful and intelligent Harriet “Jenkins” as his secretary, he sensed something special and different about this efficient, yet mysterious woman, but he had no idea what she would become to him or how deeply he would fall in love with her. Harriet was a woman on a mission to discredit the journalist who ruined her father, but how could she know the monster she was hunting would turn out to be the man she wanted in her life forever? With a touch of humor, faith, and trust in each other, Arthur and Harriet’s story begins the legacy of love for the Hale family that will triumph over time and transcend death. The Town Square by Ava Miles is nothing short of a true tale of romance and love, filled with the pitfalls of simply being human and learning to listen to your heart in spite of all else. Ms. Miles has given life to Arthur as a young man, and faithfully shown the promise of the man he would become, a mentor, the backbone of his town and his family, filled with that special spark that only a man who knew love and contentment could have! Harriet is portrayed as a woman ahead of her time, with determination and an inner strength to stand by and even stand up to the presence that is Arthur Hale. I laughed, I smiled, I got a little teary, because I "knew" their future and the legacy they began! Ms. Miles words melted into each page until the world receded around me and I was in Dare Valley, circa 1960, and I was part of the mine disaster, part of the momentous gathering at the town square and even the sounds and smells of the bowling alley felt right! Her strength as a writer and love for her work shine once again in The Town Square as she paints a portrait of a man whose love and support knows no bounds!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heartwarming back story of the Hale family. Nikki
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love all of Ava's books I love how they have a continuing Family theme through them and one lead seamlessly into the other.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been looking forward to this story since the middle of Nora Roberts Land. Ms. Miles has an amazing ability to tie the title into the story line. Loved this book. Might just be my favorite in the series.
Nanbar More than 1 year ago
Arthur and Harriet a love for all times! Another story of love, secrets, trust and the love of family. Enjoyed this book and learning what made Arthur the character he is in all the Dare Valley books. Thank you Ava Miles!!
Emsy-VanWyck More than 1 year ago
****1/2 Love the 60s era? Travel back in time to Dare's The Town Sqaure Ava Miles channeled Doctor Who for a bit of time travel back to the 1960s for her fifth book, The Town Square, telling the story of Merry and Jill’s grandfather, Arthur, and his true love, Harriet.  I’m always a bit nervous when authors revisit characters in the past as sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t - at all. This was a time when the time travel worked - and worked wonderfully. The back story of Arthur and Harriet is a must-read - and fits beautifully in the series where placed. Truly at the time when readers needed and wanted to know more about this grandfather of ethical journalism.  For Miles it’s a fairly short book (about 160 pages), but that’s because it’s so tightly written. There’s a bit of suspense and don’t forget those Kleenex’s as you’ll need them as well. If you love the era of Mad Men and Sean Connery as 007, you’ll definitely delight in the journey back in time to The Town Square.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ArizonaJo More than 1 year ago
Although I am late to read this series, I am so glad that I found this book on NetGalley. I grew up in the sixties in a small town; and reading this book brought back so many memories - both sweet and sad. Ava Miles had created a typical small town with all of the colorful characters and attitudes of small towns throughout America. Arthur Hale was a strong young man who believed that the American people of the west should have a voice that could be heard throughout America. He wanted to share not only his own voice but theirs so that the "big" industries and policitians on the east coast would know how all people feel about politics and international affairs. Harriet was beautiful, smart and efficient. She captured Arthur from their first meeting. Their story was filled with twists and turns that all great love stories need for the two main characters to grow. The supporting cast was so perfect in this small town in the sixties. Arthur's family and the others that I got to meet as Arthur and Harriet's story progressed were all people that I would love to meet. It was a unique love story because of the circumstances that brought Harriet to Dare Valley;but it was complete with the HEA that I want in each of the romances that I read. I am looking forward to the next book in this series by Ava Miles. Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally the Patriarch’s Turn for Love! Ava Miles shows the grandfatherly character in her Dare Valley series, Arthur Hale, as not only a force to be reckoned with, but one with a huge heart and eyes for only one woman. You will thoroughly enjoy this old time romance, showing the endless love that we all can hope to have in our own lives!
Dfav More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book.  To read about how the Hale family began  puts everything together just right.  Love it!  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago