The Unexpected Everything

The Unexpected Everything

by Morgan Matson

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Unexpected Everything 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! You could relate to the characters and the plot was never really dull. I would definitely recommend this book!
EllenRozek More than 1 year ago
I've been in the mood for love stories lately, and THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING has three great ones. The first is the love story between Andie and her father, a successful politician who has been more or less absent from Andie's life since her mother's death. Contemporary YA novels as a rule tend to feature parents who are great or terrible, and Andie's father is neither. He's a person who coped with a devastating loss in an unhealthy way, and his determination to repair his relationship with Andie quickly became one of my favorite story subplots. The second is the more traditional love story between Andie and Clark, the boy who's staying in Andie's hometown for the summer and who begins breaking down the walls that she's built around herself. I loved the romance between Clark and Andie, but I didn't love it as much as . . . The third love story of the book, which is between Andie and her best friends. I am such a fan of best friendships in books, and the connection between these four girls was so beautifully drawn. Their history shines through in every text-based conversation and summer tradition they have, which makes the eventual, inevitable conflicts they face that much more gut-wrenching. Honestly, if Morgan Matson wanted to write me a sequel than focuses exclusively on Andie and her friends, that would be fine with me. Otherwise, I'll just have to settle for reading the rest of the books she HAS published. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an awesome book! It was so fun, exciting, and sweet. Her books are always so great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SCHSReader1 More than 1 year ago
The Unexpected Everything Andie is a politician's daughter, her dad isn’t like other dads, they are distant.Her best friends are Palmer, Bri, and Toby. Her mom is dead from Ovarian Cancer. She lives with her dad in Connecticut. Alexandra in a good girl who gets good grades. The summer before her junior year of high school she was getting ready to attend the best pre-med program for high school students. The program put her in a good rack for college, that also means a great career track. When a huge scandal hits the press and her senator dad is involved. Plus when something goes wrong with the program, she has to rethink her summer. Have you ever been so into a book you just read and read until it’s over, then this is the book for you. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants a good read or a book just for fun. This boom is also great if you love adventures, emojis,dogs, friendships, and very heartwarming. Another great book by Morgan Matson is Since You’ve Been Gone, I have personally read this book and loved it. If you like The Unexpected Everything you will definitely like Since You’ve Been Gone.
BookPrincessBlog More than 1 year ago
The Unexpected Everything is about a girl named Andie. Her dad is a congressman whose campaign has just gotten under hot water for possible shady dealings, and Andie is more than ready to escape for the summer to her pre-med program far, far away from her absentee father. Until the floor - or should I say internship - is pulled out from underneath her and she's stuck at home for the summer with no summer job prospects (man, these kids were on top of it - I just sat at home and read in the safety of my living room). The only thing that is left is...dog walking, le gasp! But Andie is soon about to realize that this summer - while unexpected - might be giving her everything she didn't know she was missing. Okay, guys and gals, this story was adorable...and a lot realer than what I was expecting. It got me close to feeling like I might even shed a tear for it - which...okay, I can't even remember the last time I cried for a book. This book was laugh out loud funny at times, emotional, and heart-warming - everything a great contemporary should be. The characters were great. Can you tell you just how much I loved Andie's friend group? They were all individual, real characters, and it seemed like they were people I knew. There was a lot of people in this novel - much more than normal - but Matson paid special attention to making sure to make them all dynamic beings that I could pull out of a crowd. I definitely could see where all of these characters were coming from, and I loved especially Andie, Clark, Andie's dad, and Tom. I don't know why, but I found Tom hilarious. The romance was adorable as well. I loved Clark, and I loved how real he felt. It wasn't instalove - it took time and effort for both of them to get to where they got. It felt natural, and I definitely felt the feels for them. The only real issue that I had for this book was the amount of plots going on. There was a lot. I mean, a lot, a lot. You had the romance between Andie and Clark, the dog-walking situation, Andie and her dad, her dad's campaign problems, Andie and her mom issues, Toby and Wyatt, Wyatt and other issue, Clark and his writing block issues, do I really want to go into pre-med thoughts, Topher, and more. I mean, that's a lot going on for a contemporary - and it showed with over 400 pages. Don't get me wrong - I really enjoyed this book and these plots. But I might have enjoyed it a bit more if I had a few were cut down or the length of the novel. At some point, I just kept asking myself, when is this book going to be done? Again, it wasn't that I wasn't enjoying it, I just felt like it needed to end with what I know and feel about contemps. Other than that, this book was pretty much perfect. I enjoyed it immensely. I loved the romance, I loved the feels, I loved the depth and realness of the characters, I loved the emotions it brought, and I loved the storylines. It is a great read - and not just for summer. If you want a good contemp romance, look no further because this book is it. I just wish it had been a tad shorter - and it would have all the stars from me. Still, I definitely recommend you read it. This Book Princess is definitely glad she did. Check out more of my thoughts: https://bookprincessreviews.wordpress.com/
18876111 More than 1 year ago
I did not expect to like this book, but I loved it. It was out of my comfort zone, I've read contemporaries before, but not really much contemporary romance. At first, I found Andie annoying, and the book slow. However as the book progressed, it became more fast past and I found Andie to be more likable. I loved how the romance wasn't insta-love, loved how Andie and her father were able to build a stronger father/daughter relationship, and how the events that occurred strengthened the relationships/friendships of all the characters. I also loved how there were stories within the story.
BoundlessBookaholic More than 1 year ago
Another good Morgan book! Clark was super adorable! I loved that he wasn't some smooth talking, confident guy. It made me love him more. Hello new book boyfriend!! There were parts I didn't love though. The friendship was kind of iffy at times. The pace was a little slow in parts. And I kind of wanted to slap some people for being super dense. I also think it could have been a shorter book by a bit. But overall it was pretty good. 3.5 stars.
KateUnger More than 1 year ago
I love Morgan Matson, but sadly I didn't love this book. I just liked it. And I feel kind of bad about that. I know a lot of people loved it. I have put off posting my review for this book for 3 weeks because I wasn't sure what to say about it. I am going to break it down into the good and the bad I think instead of writing a more traditional review. WHAT I LIKED Clark Oh, my. This boy was amazing! He is a nerdy t-shirt wearing fantasy write at age 20 (right?). I mean, super adorable! I loved him, and I loved how having him as a character gave Morgan a chance to talk about the writing process. It was so interesting. He was just the perfect boyfriend. Serious crush material here. Congressman Walker Andie's dad plays a huge role in this book, which is always nice to see in YA. Other than one scene where he was a little over-the-top with trying to parent Andie, I really liked him character. He is still struggling with the loss of Andie's mom 5 years later, and now he's had a huge career set back. I love that he embraced that and gets more involved with Andie's life. Also, it was interesting to read about and think about how having a congressman for a father would affect Andie growing up. Summer Time I love summer stories. It makes the plot so much easier (and enjoyable) to not have to deal with characters being in school all day. Also, it time boxed the story, which is always nice. Friends Andie has a great group of friends. They have some serious drama, but it was fun to read about their crew and all of the craziness they got up to. Payton's boyfriend Tom and Clark were seriously cute together. I loved how easily Clark fitted into the group. And I loved the scavenger hunt and the crazy text chains and the challenge to have one girl only text using emojis all summer long. So fun! WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE Andie I gotta say it. Andie was so annoying! She was superficial and only interested in surface relationships. I know she suffered when her mom died, but I just couldn't like her. And she doesn't read...seriously?! No. Just no. Sorry. Pacing Ugh. This book was just way too long. The introduction took forever, and then even when the story got going, it dragged way too much. It could have been told in 300 pages instead of 500 pages. There was way too much detail about everything. Lack of Plot Nothing really interesting happened. I know Morgan Matson's books are all character-driven, but the others have had some overarching plot that held my interest. This book just kind of dragged on and on. I need more than just a love story to hold my attention. Dogs I am not a dog person at all, so that part of the plot didn't interest me. Although there were not as many dog bits as I'd been expecting based on other bloggers' review. So that was kind of good I guess. http://www.momsradius.com/2016/06/book-review-unexpected-everything-ya.html
Shawscribbles More than 1 year ago
I wasn’t sure what to think about this book at first. While the characters were great: believable, quirky and adorable; the plot line wasn’t exactly engaging. For the better part of the book, the reader is just following Andie around on her aimless summer, hanging out with her friends and walking dogs with her while she tries to figure out her feelings for Clark. In short nothing was happening. But then I realized that was the point. Matson was setting up the story so that the reader could really connect with Andie and her friends and feel almost as if you were one of the group. And they are a pretty amazing group of people. By the time she stumbles upon a secret Bri is keeping that threatens to destroy the tight knit group of friends and jeopardizes her relationship with Clark, as a reader you are so invested in the story that you can’t believe what is happening. In the end, I really enjoyed this book. It wasn’t one I raced through but one that slowly grew on me and hooked me in the long run.
BooksWonderland More than 1 year ago
ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITE READS! OMG, OMG, I LOVED THIS BOOK AND I REFUSED TO EVEN LOOK AWAY FOR A SECOND!
Take_Me_AwayPH More than 1 year ago
When I heard Morgan Matson had another book coming out, I knew I had to read it. After reading her last couple books, I've always said that Matson was the Queen of YA Realistic Fiction, And with this book she solidified it in my mind! Andi's summer was not going the way she had planned it. It started with her father getting it trouble and everything went downhill after that. But then, after the summer started going on, Andi sees that she really enjoyed "the unexpected." The main thing I loved about this book was the emojis. I know that's stupid and I know it my date the book later on, but still, I loved that they were there. It was a perfect way to mix technology and Andi's world. I also felt like it would be the perfect way to entice those of the technology age to read some if they were reluctant readers. It was a very cute idea Matson. Secondly, I LOVED all the details. Matson has a way of writing to make it seem as if you were there with them. She tells you what the food they're eating smells like and what it tastes like, and other little details about what the characters are doing. I admit, sometimes in 500+ page contemporary romance books I feel like too much fluff is a bad thing, but in this one that was not the case. I didn't even realize that there was so much fluff. It just seemed to flow and I loved it. I also LOVED Clark. He was so cute and adorable and his profession? OMG Let me love you! I've never read a book where the character held that kind of job, Especially around that age. I thought that was kind of cool. And then I loved his awkwardness and romantic nature. He was so cute and I loved him. And then put the two of them together and I just fell in love with the story. The romance was very cute and I loved seeing it. Last but certainly not least, I really enjoyed seeing the womance and their group of friends. They all were so close and Matson made them and their friendship seem so real. Everything they did and everything they laughed about was something that reminded me of my friends. I had half a mind to take their adventures to use with my friends. Also, going along with the other characters, it was pretty nice to see some of Matson's old characters and The Orchard included in this book! I was glad to see them and even more glad to see they were doing ok. This summery book will definitely make you want to re-read it as soon as you turn the last page!
Seoling More than 1 year ago
I was so so so excited to see that Morgan Matson had a book coming out this year. After binge-reading Since You've Been Gone, Second Chance Summer, and Amy and Roger's Epic Detour, I had nothing but high expectations in regards to this upcoming novel. What I love about Matson is that she writes standalone novels. There's no pressure to scream at her to get the next book. I can get the entire story in this one book and I can experience the typical wave of intense emotions in one sitting (or in the span of a day because I never take more than a day to read a book I'm really enjoying - life and work just happens to get in the way). I’ll say that this story was unique and had characters with different backgrounds that I have never really experienced. Matson is very well known for her down-to-earth contemporaries that are gripping in her storytelling and is always a bit of a nice break from the usual fantasy/adventure stories that I typically read. I will begin by saying that when I started reading, I was not as interested as I thought I was going to be when beginning the story. Let’s be honest, I really wanted to get to all the real romance that I love reading in Matson’s novels - but I knew I was going to have to work for it and read about Andie’s background story and her relationship with both her family and her network of friends (which I was super envious of because it’s been a long time since I’ve had a real ‘group’ of friends). I was not so interested in her relationship with her father, but knew that it was going to be a big deal for Andie’s character journey and the parent/child relationships Matson writes always makes me a little angsty so I was prepared to be taken aback and have an unadulterated longing to give my dad a hug and tell him that I love him. And I was right. However, I was pretty surprised at how quickly Andie’s relationship with her father was resolved. I kept looking at the progress of my book and thought, “it’s only halfway through”, but there had to be something that would falter the rebuilding of it all. I loved the outcome it all, though - that in little ways her father was able to connect with her once again and they would share little bits of each other about when Andie was younger and her mother was still with them. And low and behold, by the end of the novel, I was wishing that I could hug my dad. I’m not necessarily close with him and wish I could talk to him the way that Andie and her father talk, granted - it was instigated by the most heartbreaking altercation that I could never imagine going through with my dad. I was pretty satisfied with the meaning behind Andie’s friendships. To be honest, there were some interactions that really annoyed me and made me want to bypass, typically the moments where they would talk back and forth and I would get so confused with who was talking that I just wanted to flip the page as soon as I could. I chalk this reaction up to the fact that it was early in the book and by the time I got to a particular fallout between two of the characters, I was invested in wanting to know what would become of all of them. I love that Matson uses this opportunity to show that there may be friends that you keep forever, but there are also ones that you may lose along the way. THERE WERE JUST SO MANY coming-of-age elements that really surprised me.
nancy More than 1 year ago
excellent follow up to Since You've Been Gone
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
Andie and her father haven't been close since the death of her mother five years ago. Spending a summer in the same house as her father while he is not working is unthinkable. Unfortunately, when Andie's internship opportunity disappears thanks to her father's political scandal, a summer with her father is also a harsh reality. Andie has her best friends Bri, Toby, and Palmer (and even Palmer's long-time boyfriend) to keep her company during the summer. Which is great. But finding a way to her internship would be better. Instead, through a series of mishaps and surprises, Andie becomes a reluctant dogwalker and starts scoping out a cute boy named Clark as her potential summer romance. But with her first unplanned summer in a long time, Andie soon learns that you can't plan for the best things in life in The Unexpected Everything (2016) by Morgan Matson. The Unexpected Everything is Matson's standalone follow-up to Since You've Been Gone. (Set in the same Connecticut town, readers of Matson's earlier novel will also recognize a few character cameos.) Matson once again evokes the lazy and timeless feel of a summer adventure in her latest novel. Andie is a driven heroine with a singular focus on her future. Raised in her father's world of politics, it's hard for Andie to connect or foster genuine interactions--something that she has learned first-hand is quite simple to fake with the right cues. Over the course of this meandering novel, Matson explores Andie's character and her growth as she begins to understand that there is more to life than having a master plan. Andie is a very different character in a lot of ways. She's savvy and jaded. She's unapologetic about chasing superficial romances that seem easy and safe. Andie spends a lot of The Unexpected Everything keeping people (and readers) at a remove while she tries to protect herself from loss or heartbreak. While it's understandable when the loss of her mother is a physical presence for much of the story, it also makes it difficult to connect with Andie. It makes it even harder to be invested in her story as the book nears five hundred pages. A thin plot makes the novel feel even longer as do heavily broadcasted plot twists. Fans of Matson will be happy to return to her familiar and evocative writing. A sweet romance and solid female friendships make The Unexpected Everything a lengthy but mostly enjoyable read filled with summer fun and thoughtful characters. Possible Pairings: Never, Always, Sometimes by Adi Alsaid, The Best Night of Your Pathetic Life by Tara Altebrando, Dash and Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley, Reunited by Hilary Weisman Graham, An Abundance of Katherines by John Green, Love and Other Foreign Words by Erin McCahan, Tonight the Streets Are Ours by Leila Sales, Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith