The Vacationers

The Vacationers

by Emma Straub

Hardcover

$26.95 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Vacationers: A Novel 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Butterflies74 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The characters seem realistic to me, they are quirky and amusing in dramatic situations. I think my favorite charater was Larry, but Franny was a close second. This is not a literary genius type book, but it was enjoyable nonetheless. If you liked Where'd You Go, Bernadette? you'll like The Vacationers as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Family and friends share a house for a two-week vacation, with all variety of dramatic complications and gourmet feasts. Well-drawn characters and excellent sense of place (island vacationland off Spain) made this a fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it in a day! Great writing style, very now. She writes like she has experienced and knows how all of these characters feel and all of these characters are going through a lot of turmoil. I look fwd to her next delicious book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy read... Liked the characters and the story. Funny too! Great summer read
anonomas More than 1 year ago
This is a good summer read. Enjoyable without being too deep.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
T had highly anticipated reading this book because it was on the NY Times Best Seller list, as well as reviewed in numerous magazines. Didn't hate it, but didn't love it either. Reads easily enough; the best sections are those with descriptions of the area; can't really find many characters I would want to vacation with. Everyone seems selfish and self absorbed. Find something else to read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I finished this book in 2 days. It started off fast right out of the gate. This book had a good beginning, middle and ending. Great summer reading material.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Decent, no thought required, beach read.
MamaHendo 7 months ago
The Posts are heading on vacation. A home in Mallorca for two weeks seemed like the perfect destination for Jim, Franny, their daughter Sylvia, their son Bobby, his girlfriend Carmen, Franny's lifelong friend Charlie and his husband Lawrence...until Jim decided to cheat on Franny with someone almost as young as their college bound daughter. Unwilling to cancel their trip, this unlikely crew find themselves tripping over secrets, building walls and experiencing humiliations beyond the imagination. Each chapter is a new day in their 14 day trip and bounces from the perspective of each character. With spring break almost upon us, "The Vacationers" seemed like the perfect book to get me in the mindset - I was sorely mistaken. There isn't a destination on Earth I would like to visit with any of these people. This book is disguised as a light-hearted beach read when in reality its a depressing lesson on who not to get involved with. Cheating, debt, age shaming, subtle racism, more cheating, even more cheating; these characters should be sent far away from each other not on a vacation together. Sadly, this one was a let down for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BookBaristasNM More than 1 year ago
I reallllyy enjoyed this book. Reading about this family taking a two week vacation to the island, Mallorca, felt like I was going on vacation with them. Straub's writing was incredibly descriptive and I was surprised to have enjoyed reading this in third person (it's not usually my thing!) The family (and friends) stayed for two weeks in a gorgeous house that I would very much like to move into, ASAP! All of the characters have some sort of secret that they don't want to burden everyone else with, but ultimately truths are revealed and you realize just how real their problems are. Overall, I loved the fact that this story could make me feel sad, uplifted, and enlightened all at the same time. I will definitely be checking out more by this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was unable to get excited about reading this book. There was no real charachter development and the majority of them are unlikeable. There was nothing to look forward to that kept me wanting to turn the pages. I would not recommend it, its not worth the time spent to read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great summer read!
Hairy1 More than 1 year ago
very good
llw38 More than 1 year ago
Not quite as good as "Where did you go Bernadette" but if you liked that, this is similar enough!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
avidreader090 More than 1 year ago
If you are interested in a light read on the beach, this is for you. Don't expect deep character development or eloquent writing style. You relive your worst nightmare of a vacation with the family in this book. The worst part is you never really know why the characters do what they do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago