The Widow

The Widow

by Fiona Barton

NOOK Book(eBook)

$1.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Widow 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not a good story: it is redundant, predictable, and has unsettling content.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will keep you guessing and reading all night. I loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it as much as Gone Girl
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No real depth to the story. Very predictable. I kept waiting for the "oh my gosh" moment but it never came.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book hooked me from the beginning. Did the husband take the child? Was the passive wife innocent? Read the book in one day, could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sorry I spent the time to read it, disturbing content poor character building won't read this author again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a grandmother of a two year old blonde girl,l i found this disturbing and creepy, i guess this definjes mky bgounjdaries of murder novgels. yes i finished it, but wishing for a better outcome. Very naive of me,l know. If this kind of story doesn't bother you, i did enjoy the English tone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dark, sick and depressing. I truly disliked this book, and I read it because a friend asked me to. She wanted my opinion on it, and we both felt the same way. She told me that this book was really being, "talked up," and they were planning to make a movie from it. REALLY? Ugh! There is enough sadness in the world, without reading about sick-o people. This is not entertaining to me. The author is/was a reporter, herself. The only plus (if I truly search for one) is that the author made the reader hate reporters. They are like used car salesmen. Don't waste your time. It isn't worth the read....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's well written yet somehow tedious to read. I had to read this for book club or I never would have chosen a book about a pedophile. Not something I would want to read about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Very good character development. Wonder when she knew???
christiminty More than 1 year ago
Great read! Love the short chapters so it makes you want to read more. You will like if you liked Behind Closed Doors, Girl on a Train, Luckiest Girl Alive etc. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best "whodunit" books I've read in a while. Definitely recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honestly, I disliked this book immensely. I never felt the plot got into the chapter well enough to give you a decent feeling of the story before going to the next chapter and beginning with an entirely new person, maybe a new date in time. I found that the way the story wove between people and timelines seemed like I was constantly beginning a different book altogether. I just finished it and purchased it upon recommendation.. I was hoping it would meld together better as it went on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great start but i was hoping for a mote dramatic ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But, frankly, I was so disappointed with Jean. How horrible of her all along. This was a fascinating read going back and forth in time and moving the story along from several different characters.
marykuhl 5 months ago
The main suspect whom the courts release as innocent, in the disappearance of a toddler is killed by a bus. The police, the news reporter and everyone in the country is trying to get her talk. Did her husband kill Bella or not? What I didn't like was the timeline. It jumped around too much and I found myself going back to the beginning of the chapters to remember what month/year this chapter was currently in. I also didn't like the use of the main character's name. It seemed like all conversations with Jean had her name in every sentence. It seemed condescending to me. I did however like the other characters. Bob, the inspector, made this case personal and I felt for him. Kate, the news reporter, who followed the story from the abduction, by befriending the mother till the death of the suspect, and getting the scoop from the widow.
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was really well done. I have had this book for several years but never got around to reading for one reason or another. When I noticed that a copy of the audiobook was available and it featured a large cast of narrators, I decided it was time to see what this book was all about. I was hooked by the story right away and there were times that I didn't want to put it down. I really did enjoy this book in the end. This is a book that jumps around in time a bit with several different points of view. I think that the way the book was set up helped to add to the mystery. From the start of the book, I had an idea of where things might go but I was never quite sure. This is a rather sad book in a lot of ways largely because the story felt so realistic and a crime against a small child is at its core. How many little boys and girls go missing every year without a lot to go on? It happens all too often based on what I see on my local news. I wanted a happy ending in this book (don't I always?) but I got a more realistic one instead. Much of this story is told from Jean's point of view. We hear from her both during her marriage to Glen and after his death. I wasn't quite sure if she was hiding something or covering for her husband. Was she the clueless wife, was she involved, was he an innocent man? I can't really say that I really liked Jean but I did feel somewhat sympathetic to her at times. Then there's the reporter who was probably one of the more likable characters in the book. She wants the story but is pretty competent in her quest to find answers. The detective was determined to solve this case. It was the one that kept him up at night and he was willing to do what needed to be done to get some resolution. We do hear from Bella's mother and Glen and while those points of view are short they are powerful. There are quite a few narrators that lend their voices to this audiobook and I thought that they all did a great job with the story. The bulk of the work fell on just a few narrators since most of the story was told from their character's point of view. I found all of the narrators to be easy to listen to and I believe that their performances added to my enjoyment of the story. I would recommend this book to fans of mystery thrillers. I think that this story felt very authentic and the way the story was presented kept me guessing. I wouldn't hesitate to read more of this author's work in the future. I received a digital review copy of this book from Berkley Publishing Group via NetGalley and borrowed a copy of the audiobook from my local library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Astoundingly boring and mediocre. Flimsy plot, poor characterization, and sophomoric prose. How could this be considered a best seller? Many were duped. I was duped into buying this so-called "thriller."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I felt as if I were reading a daily journal, or a diary, of a very boring, trivial person. Definitely lacked excitement or interest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
None
MamaHendo More than 1 year ago
I'm a bit torn on this one. While the twists and turns of the story keep you reading to find out what really happened to two year old, Bella, the disturbing world the author brings you into makes it very difficult to stomach the content. Set in London in the early 2000's, Bella Elliott is abducted from her front garden while her mother steps inside for a few minutes. With not much evidence to direct them towards a suspect, Detective Bob Sparkes eventually sets his sights on Glen Taylor, a down on his luck delivery driver who was in the area at the time of Bella's disappearance. Now that Glen is dead his wife, Jeanie, is left to deal with the reporters and TV journalists that have shown back up at her front door hoping that she will give them an interview. Kate Waters is the lucky one that works her way into the Taylor house and begins to chip away at Jeanie's high walls. If you are a fan of thrillers this one does keep you guessing. I wasn't aware of this when I started the book but I would warn anyone that might be interested in reading this that the main plot of the book deals with the subject of child predators and pornography. The write-up on the back of the book doesn't give any indication of this part of the plot so reader beware if this would be a topic you would avoid. "The Widow" is a well written book but was a difficult one to get through due to subject matter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn’t put the book down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago