The Wind through the Keyhole (Dark Tower Series)

The Wind through the Keyhole (Dark Tower Series)

by Stephen King

Paperback

$16.00 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Wind Through the Keyhole: A Dark Tower Novel 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
W.G. Atherton More than 1 year ago
I would have to give this book a strong five star rating just from what I have read thus far. I have a rather large library of Mr. King's books and must say that I have yet to find one that I found easy to put down.
Anonymous 27 days ago
great+read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Totally loving the Dark Tower series!
sturlington on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Although it says right on the cover that The Wind Through the Keyhole is a Dark Tower novel, it is really only set in the Dark Tower universe, rather than an integral part of the series. Of course, Dark Tower fans will want to read it and spend a little more time with their favorite characters (very little, as it turns out). But even if you haven't read any of the books in the series, you will have no trouble following the events in The Wind Through the Keyhole. Its flavor is more reminiscent of King's young adult fantasy The Eyes of the Dragon than any of his horror novels.The structure is a story within a story within a story, like a set of nesting dolls. Roland and his ka-tet from the Dark Tower books appear only at the very beginning and end, as they hunker down during a sudden storm and Roland tells them a story around the campfire. Their only purpose is to listen to the two stories and provide a context in which the stories take place.The first story is from Roland's life as a young gunslinger, before he set out on the quest for the Dark Tower. It occurs immediately after he is tricked into murdering his mother, and a large part of the sub-text is Roland struggling to forgive himself for that act. (This is not a spoiler, by the way; King supplies this information in the introduction for readers who may not have read the Dark Tower novel that relates Roland's back story, Wizard and Glass.) Roland's father sends him and another gunslinger, Jaimie deCurry, to a remote village to deal with a shapeshifter (or "skin-changer") who has been savagely murdering people. The story illustrates another function of the gunslingers, as law enforcement and white knights whose main mission was to aid the innocent.In the course of investigating the murders, Roland takes the only witness into custody, a young boy. While keeping him company, Roland tells him a story: a fairy tale that his mother told him when he was sma'. This story takes up the bulk of the book. It is about a boy whose father was killed and who goes on a quest for magic to help his mother after she is savagely beaten. In the mix of fantasy and science fiction that characterizes the Dark Tower universe, he encounters fairies, dragons, mutants, long-abandoned technology and even the wizard Maerlyn. He also runs into the Man in Black, which will please Dark Tower fans.This novel is readable and entertaining, as King's books usually are. However, I found it to be fairly light reading, not nearly as enjoyable or meaty as King's last novel, 11/22/63. Because of the story within a story within a story conceit, the book reads more as a series of short stories than a novel, and the fairy tale section was a bit juvenile, which was jarring contrasted with the more horrific shape-shifter story. I enjoyed re-entering Roland's strange world, though, and I certainly would like to go back there again, if King has more Dark Tower stories in him. I have a feeling he does.
StephenBarkley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
They're back¿almost.Sure, Stephen King manages to insert his Dark Tower oriented multiverse into most of the novels he writes, but this one's different. In the introduction, King suggests shelving it between Wizard and Glass and Wolves of the Calla. This is Dark Tower 4.5.The structure of this book is interesting. It's a story within a story within a story with connections (beyond the obvious) between the narrative levels. The framing narrative is a violent storm that traps Roland and his crew for a while. During the storm, Roland told a story about his younger days. In those younger days, Roland told a story which forms the heart of the book.The central story is the best. It's a coming of age tale about a boy who bests a familiar enemy. The middle story is feels too contrived and predictable. The outside narrative is just there to make this an official Dark Tower volume.I enjoyed the story. Anyone who has read the 7 Dark Tower volumes will want to pick this one up. It just feels like a bit of a let-down that Roland's current ka-tet wasn't called into action.
shabacus on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As a fan of the Dark Tower series, I approached this book without any objectivity whatsoever. I love the universe of this series, and its characters, but was quite frustrated by the direction the series took in its last two books. (In case you're wondering, I'm not referring to the ending, but the metafictional aspects.)The Wind Through The Keyhole offered pretty much everything I like out of this series with nothing I didn't. All three stories were engaging, although I got rather less of the ka-tet than I might have liked. My only complaint is that the structure stole power from the flashback story, since it was broken in the middle. I wonder how differently the book might have read under a different structure?But all in all, it was a small complaint in a book that I enjoyed very much. If you haven't read any other volumes in the series, I wouldn't start here. But for the faithful, it doesn't disappoint.
klarsenmd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I so love Roland and his ka-tet! What a pleasant little surprise this was for me. Long after the final dark tower book was released, we are gifted with this tale within a tale within a tale. Roland and the gang are riding out a vicious storm when he begins to tell them about his time tracking a skin-walker. Embedded in this tale is the true meat of the book, a fable from his childhood about Tim Stoutheart. It is beautifully written and crafted in mid-world, but a story of bravery anyone could appreciate. I think I enjoyed this so much because I love the stories of Roland as a boy (my favorite being of course the Wizard and Glass). We are given the chance to see what shaped him into the gunslinger he is today. This was short by King's standards-- only 300 pages. Despite this, it transported me into the beloved world of the Ka-tet. Great for lovers of the series, but I am sure it would stand on it's own prettty darn well and for that I say Thankyee sai.
puttocklibrary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What a joy to read another story set in the mid-world of the Dark Tower!Stephen King re-visits Roland's ka-tet as they journey towards the Calla (between Wizard & Glass, and Wolves of the Calla), and are forced to seek shelter from a violent and rare storm. While they wait for it to pass, Roland tells a story of his younger years, and within that true tale, a bed-time story his mother used to tell, a story which taught him how to recognize the coming of the storm they are now waiting out...
irisdovie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is a story within a story within a story. The gunslinger and his ka-tet are holed up in a sturdy building waiting for a storm to pass, and the gunslinger tells a story of when he was young and had to find a shapeshifter who was killing people. Young Roland tells a story to a young man, of a boy who ventures into a dark forest to save his mother's eyesight.
mumfie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
So, episode 4.5. On the one hand I would like an eternity of Dark Tower books, filling in all details and fleshing out stories. On the other hand, it's never worth over doing a story line.This is a stand alone story in its own right. As ever, if you're a DT aficionado you will pick up references to the bigger stories, if you're not you won't. It's a story within a tale within the journey to the dark tower, although that does little more than set the scene for the tale.The story is Mid-World's equivalent of a Grimm fairy tale. Only as it's Mid-World it's nastier and scarier. A boy faces up to challenges beyond his years, showing the strength that will ultimately turn him into a gunslinger.The tale is one of Roland's youth, of inexperienced gunslingers being sent to deal with an unusual problem.It's a joy to read a new tale of the DT, but this is a bonus to the main story, offering no additional depth to the quest for the DT. That aside, it's an enjoyable addition to the collection. Not SK's best but good enough.
eleanor_eader on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
With a dangerous storm about to roll over them, Roland and his Ka-tet seek shelter to wait it out. While they wait, Roland tells them two stories, one nested inside the other; of his second assignment as a Gunslinger, and the fairy tale he told a scared young boy while he was waiting for that investigation to progress; one that his own mother, so recently dead by his own hand, had read to him as a boy.Being a late insert, The Wind Through the Keyhole doesn¿t add an enormous amount to the primary storyline and is very much about getting a deeper glimpse into Roland¿s past through a flashback story, and a diverting fairy-tale which, given the magic and strange tech in Roland¿s where and when, reads rather less like a fiction of his world, than an actual recounted story, and adds a beautifully rich layer itself. I was pleased to find that I didn¿t find this absence of Dark-Tower focus frustrating, and was able to enjoy the sidelining for what it was¿ a little extra helping of Mid-World and the role of the Gunslinger. As an added extra, the fairy tale has some bumblers in it... any time King wants to write a book about Billy Bumblers, I¿ll be happy to read it. That said, without the quest being the highlight, the book lacks some of the intensity of its brethren volumes, even Wizard and Glass which it most resembles in style. Still, within the constraints of being sandwiched between four books on one side and three on the other, The Wind Through the Keyhole delivers a self-contained fireside tale that fits snugly and roams far at the same time. What a nice thing it is to have a Dark Tower novel that I¿ve only read once. I will certainly enjoy revisiting and savouring it all over again, although I don¿t think it will yield as many re-reads as the main set. Thank you for indulging your DT fans, Mr. King.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
King always delivers,!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very captivating!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
3 great dark tower stories woven into one. A very nice complement to the series - which I found to be more enjoyable than the average Dark Tower volume.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AngelinaAB More than 1 year ago
I have ALWAYS loved the Dark Tower series. ever since my co-worker introduced me to the story in the early 90"s and have been hooked. I actually cried with happiness to read of them together again. I am so thrilled to know that there will be a T.V. series or Movie not sure which hopefully T.V. the story is to long for a Movie it would be told better as a mini series just like The Stand. Thank you Stephen for giving me my friends back at least for alittle while. ;)
KirkusMacGowan More than 1 year ago
Of the original seven books in the Dark Tower series, book four, The Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass, was my favorite. This surprised me even at the time I read it because it read like a western rather than a sci-fi fantasy like the rest of the books in the series. I've never had much interest in the western book genre. When I heard TWTK (The Wind Through the Keyhole) brought back young Roland soon after he became a gunslinger, I was ecstatic. I couldn't wait to get my hands on the next book in the Dark Tower Series. Almost Gave it Four Stars About halfway through the book, I felt I'd been had, that I was tricked into buying this book I thought involved young Roland. He is involved, but only for ten to fifteen percent of the book at most. We start with Roland Deschaine as an adult, traveling with Eddie, Susannah, Jake, and Oy. Expected since that's who Roland had with him at this point in the series. I assumed he'd tell a story about his younger days as a gunslinger, and he did. But this is the part when I became a little upset. Young Roland goes on to tell a story of his own. We end up three levels deep in this story. The storyteller tells of a storyteller telling a story! It was easy to follow, so that wasn't an issue, but I bought TWTK to read about young Roland Deschaine, Gunslinger of Gilead. I've been a Stephen King fan for years so I stuck it out and I'm glad I did. The story young Roland tells is in fact, a great story. After I got past my little whine fest, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. There are lessons to be learned, magical elements, a new race of "muties," and as always, the beam. We learn the story of a young man (eleven years old, I believe) whose father was recently killed by a dragon of some sort. He and his mother fight for survival in a harsh world. Just when they believe they've found their savior, King throws a twist in there to mess everything up. The young man's journey to save his mother, and himself, take us on a wild adventure filled with magic, terror, and suspense. Even with my previous complaint, TWTK is one of the better Stephen King novels I've read. I still wish we'd seen more of young Roland. Who knows? Maybe King will add yet another book to the Dark Tower Series one day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i think that this 1 very very good i loved it i got so deep in the story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was instantly transported to the eerie, mystical Mid-World for a story that reads like a well loved fairy tale. Full of discovery and adventure but with an undertone of emotional reactions and richly drawn characters that feel totally authentic. We discover surprising events of Roland's youth and come to admire his stregnth as well as his vunerabilities. A wide array of people are well met on the journey, drawing the reader into a complex and ultimately satisfying story. I was sad for it to end so soon. This is the best kind of tale, taking us on a wild, wonderful ride into a magically different world complete with culture, customs and language all its own. It was almost like a pilgrimmage visiting Roland's world again. And, as the author says in the forward, It was a gift to discover my old friends again, years after I thought their stories were told.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
drakevaughn More than 1 year ago
Stephen King has been on a roll recently (particularly with the awesome 11/22/63), but The Wind Through the Keyhole is an exception. Unlike the previous gunslinger novels, the main characters are completely absent from the plot, except as storytellers for the tale-within-a-tale. But missing our favorite friends aside, the story itself was a drag. And just as the dull tale kept meandering around, another story was shoved right inside that one. Just way too much storytelling and not enough action to keep me captivated. The end did pick up a little, but by that point I just wanted it to end quickly. Sorry, but this attempt to revitalize the gunslinger series was a swing and a miss