The Woman Who Would Be King: Hatshepsut's Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt

The Woman Who Would Be King: Hatshepsut's Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt

by Kara Cooney

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Woman Who Would Be King: Hatshepsut's Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
vikingkim More than 1 year ago
I did enjoy this book. I have read about Egyptology, so I was familiar with Hatshepsut's life. I still learned more. I was careful to note when the author wrote a segment based on records and when there were a lot of "perhaps," "one can only imagine" and the like. It seems as complete as the surviving evidence allows it to be.
goode2shews_74 More than 1 year ago
The fascinating tale of a successful female pharoah during the 18th dynasty of Egypt. This brilliant woman manipulated the ancient Egyptian patriarchy to become first regent and then co-king, ruling alongside Thutmose III. Well-organized and easy to read. I would highly suggest this book to anyone who is interested in learning about powerful women in history. I received a copy of this book free through Library Thing Early Reviewers in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read.
AthenasKat More than 1 year ago
It is obvious that the author knows a great deal about her chosen field of study. There were many interesting facts and tidbits that I have not encountered in any other source. The writing style is easy-to-follow and not at all a chore to read. I really wanted to like this book more than I did. I think I would have loved this book if it was set in terms of the novel rather than a straight work of nonfiction. Ms Cooney does make a point in her introduction that much of this work is based on her own personal feelings and dare I say it imaginings. But in the end reading “ I think...” And other such preambles does get a little bit monotonous. If one is looking for an introduction to what the world of ancient Egypt would have been like for a woman of noble birth this is definitely worth reading. If Mrs. Cooney ever decides to create a historically based novel I will be very glad to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The repetitive text got to be a bit of a drag. Interesting book though....
BirdBrain More than 1 year ago
I have been to Egypt and have read many stories about Egypt. I thought this was to be a story based on the life of Hatshepsut but it is more like a college research essay with a story woven in here and there when details are not really know. It has not held my interest and I'm let down that it's not really the novel I thought it would be. I've got graduate degrees and it reminded me of reading journals for seminars, etc. Not what I want to do now, nor the way I want to read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
book4children More than 1 year ago
I first learned of Hatshepsut in college, during an Ancient Egyptian Art History class. Her story has fascinated me ever since, so when I saw this book, I knew I had to read it. There were a lot of things about this book that I loved, and a lot that I didn't. I'll start with the things I didn't like. Much of the text was repetitive, going over the same things again and again. It got sluggish in some places and I struggled with parts of the book. But the biggest downer for me was all the speculation. Many sentences started with phrases like "it's possible that" and "perhaps" and "we can imagine". After a while, I had a hard time discerning where the facts ended and the author's imagination took over. On the plus side, I loved the information that WAS fact. I loved reading about the way the government system was set up, the foreign campaigning, and the building. Hatshepsut was a brilliant woman that history tried to erase. But just like in life, she refused to be forgotten in death. I loved the excerpts from ancient documents and the photos of the sculptures and monuments included in the middle of the book. If you want to learn more about one of the most amazing women in history, this is a great book to read as long as you don't mind the speculative nature of it. It has enough interesting facts and information to make it worth the read. Content: Discussions of sexuality and the sexual nature of many religious responsibilities taken on by the God's Wife. Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher via the Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago