The Wrath and the Dawn (Wrath and the Dawn Series #1)

The Wrath and the Dawn (Wrath and the Dawn Series #1)

by Renée Ahdieh

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.89 $10.99 Save 10% Current price is $9.89, Original price is $10.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Wrath and the Dawn 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
MeReaderAtHeart_ More than 1 year ago
This book is a tale of love, loss and loyalties, set in a historical Persian empire. It's captivating in showing Shazi, age 16, as a smart, strong, beautiful and blunt character who is fearless in her pursuit to stay alive and determination to get revenge against the caliph who murdered her best friend, who was the caliph's most recent wife. But as Shazi, who is his present wife, lives past many dawns including the one where she is nearly hanged. If not for the intervention of the caliph, her now husband, she would be died. It is through this intervention that she starts to see a form of humanity in him, even though he is labeled as the monster king throughout the land. I would recommend reading this book and can't wait for the next.
IceyBooks More than 1 year ago
Sensual, swoony, sentimental, THE WRATH AND THE DAWN is an exotic treat. But it didn’t start off that way for me. When my fellow blogging friends raved about Renée Ahdieh’s debut, I eagerly picked up the copy I received in late October. I read a chapter, then two, and I have to admit, it was very slow. I didn’t much feel like continuing. So after a month of leaving it on my nightstand, bright and beautiful pink cover staring at me every night, I picked it up again. And this time, it was different. By the time I hit page fifty (or so), the book I was reluctant to keep reading became the book I couldn’t stop reading. It was good. So utterly good. The writing is gorgeous. Poetic, embellished, exquisite. Shahrzad (on a side note, I find it odd her name is Persian when many of the other character names are Arabic) is fiery and outspoken, yet at the same time, wise. Maybe a little too wise for her age of sixteen, though I didn’t really mind. Khalid, our eighteen-year-old king, is the brooding type. Very quiet, very reserved. The other characters were a great bunch, too. Some of them adding the right touch of humor to the otherwise morose story. I particularly loved Despina and Jalal and might have laughed out loud more than once in my journey through Renée’s debut. But fleshed-out characters would be pointless without an equally great plot to go with it. Luckily for us, THE WRATH AND THE DAWN delivers. At it’s heart, THE WRATH AND THE DAWN is a love story. One that spins and spins and stabs and soothes. It’s a beautiful one, yet full of pain. The characters lead the story forward, and draw it to a close in the end, one that might leave you shattered, yet hopeful. Like I said before, once I really got into THE WRATH AND THE DAWN, I couldn’t stop reading it. I couldn’t stop envisioning the desert, the amazing food, the clothing, the characters. While I was enjoying the story from chapters before, it was once I had reached the souk scene, and then the alley scene (dreamy sigh), that I really, truly fell in love with the book. THE WRATH AND THE DAWN doesn’t take place in your typical fantasy setting, and while I’m not familiar with the classic Arabian Nights, I’m all the more excited to pick it up myself. I was more than curious to uncover the reason behind the king’s killings, and when the news finally slipped, I was more than pleased to have been kept waiting. There’s nothing worse than a build-up to a boring reveal! Renée dropped little tidbits that I can’t wait to see explained and used in the next book (hopefully). From a mysterious attack to a magical rug, and of course, a continuation in Shahrzad’s story, I am very, very excited for the sequel. I’ll end my review with this: I can’t do Renée Ahdieh’s debut, THE WRATH AND THE DAWN justice with a few paragraphs. It’s an incredible debut filled with gorgeous writing, and if you can get past the slow beginning, you will be greatly rewarded. Trust me. *Actual rating, 4.5 stars. This review was originally posted on IceyBooks*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was overall amazing. The beginning was slow, but honestly, most books take a few chapters for the reader to fall in love with the characters. The cliffhanger ending tore my heart out and shredded it to pieces, and knowing that I have to wait a year for the second book to come out is horrible. Enough about me- overall, the book was lovely, and the tales told in the story really made the whole book complete. Read it!
Fantastic_Book More than 1 year ago
This book was an unsuspected surprise. Anytime I read a book by an author that I’ve never read before, I have to get a feel for the writing style and the voice. I will say that it took me a chapter or two to really get into the story but once I got the hang of it, I did not let go. I fell in love with the imagery which was magical in itself.  I could see the world that Renee created perfectly. It was so mesmerizing and I enjoyed every detail. I can’t say enough about the characters – they embody what I love in fantasy. Kazi is fierce and I loved that she could hold her own. I fell in love with Khalid through Kazi - these two are perfect for each other.  You know what I can’t wait for? I can’t wait to see what happens with the other characters in this book like Tariq – he’s intriguing and a force within his own right. I love when books in this genre have kick-ass action and I feel like I got a small taste and it left me wanting more.  I‘m hopeful that there will be more sword-wielding action in the next book. I’m just ready for a major showdown to see whose left standing when the dust settles.    
thereadingchick 9 days ago
You know when you have a name that is on the tip of your tongue but you can’t recall the word? The story of Shahrzad was that tale that I knew I had heard before and as I started listening to the audio book I immediately searched for it. The re-telling of that story stays pretty close to the original. However, instead of a husband who has each wife killed as the sun rises to save himself from infidelity, our hero Khalid’s reason is a mystery for most of the book. Don’t worry, I’m not going to give it away here in my review. It is not because he is trying to save himself from the hurt infidelity brings, it’s a more “honorable” reason. If you can call having hundreds of women killed, honorable. When our heroine, Shahrzad volunteers to be the kings next wife, she surprises everyone. Why would you volunteer to die? That reason is what is at the heart of this story, and she and Khalid’s budding relationship is what kept me listening. Not only is Shahrzad a great storyteller, keeping Khalid hanging on the plot each night, she is the type of heroine that I enjoy reading about. She is strong, willful, smart, and emotional. Shazi’s original intent for volunteering is soon betrayed by her feelings. How can someone fall in love with a man who has had so many women killed? Her internal struggle was riveting. Taking place in Persia when women were seen behind screens and through wispy bits of fabric, Renee Ahdieh modernized this version allowing Shazi to be bold and adventurous. Her King, Khalid, seemed to actually be more reserved and traditional than she, but as we get to know his reasons for his actions, we see why she would be attracted to him. That reserve was self protecting. I couldn’t really see how this novel could have a happy ending, and just as in one of Shahrzad’s own tales, I was left wanting more. The narrator for this story, Ariana Delawari, took a more traditional route for her storytelling. She did a straight read, delivering emotion well, but not really changing her voice for the different characters. Once I got used to her style I found that this really fit the pace of the novel. This isn’t a story that you rip through. You need to enjoy the flavors, sights and smells of Persia through this authors words without any special effects to detract from them. I really enjoyed listening to it and will also listen to the sequel too. ❤️❤️❤️❤️
pooled_ink 8 months ago
pooled ink Reviews: 3.75 Stars THE WRATH & THE DAWN is a tale ancient and retold, spun with fire and desire amongst monsters and vengeance, all twined together with a power none expected but one that survives the dawn. This book is inspired by the famous Scheherazade or Shahrazad, the storyteller in One Thousand and One Nights (if you somehow don't know what that is then perhaps you're familiar with the story of Aladdin? Disney made a couple movies?) and I was really excited about reading Ahdieh's retelling of this ancient tale. If you love romance, middle-eastern tales of love and war, feisty females and stubborn males, then this just might be the book for you. Shazi was easy to love, Khalid was the perfect monster with a secret, Despina was the bold friend Shazi needed, and Jalal was the joker who kept Khalid from fading. Oh, and there's Tariq, the handsome knight on a white horse who also happens to be an annoying rock in one's shoe. There were some things I loved and some not so much, but overall this was a quick read for me and I really enjoyed it. **Read the full review on Wordpress: Pooled Ink
AbbyCat93 10 months ago
A new favorite! I LOVED this book and can't wait to get my hands on book 2!
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best portrayals of any intelligent woman I've ever read. Truly a triumph of wits and love over strength and darkness. Absolutely worth reading. It starts a bit slow, but after that, clear your schedule because you won't want to stop reading it.
Shawscribbles More than 1 year ago
Fractured fairytales are one of my favourite genres. I'm not sure if you consider The Arabian Nights a fairytale but I loved what Ahdieh did with the spark of the original to spin it into her own tale. This book falls into the category of not being able to put down. I loved it. The characters in this novel, completely won me over. Even Khalid, who seems evil by his actions, won my heart almost immediately. Combine these fantastic characters with an intriguing mystery and I couldn't stop turning the pages. Fast-paced and exciting, this is a must-read young adult novel that truly bring something unique and new to the table (even while it is entrenched in a ancient tale). Highly recommend!
MlleMScarbrough More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down! I literally read it in two days and then immediately went to buy the second book the same day I finished this one! I loved the development of the characters, the distinct descriptions that made you really feel like you were in the scene with the characters. It was a great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It took me a but to get into it and then i was hooked... I stayed up too late reading more than once this week!
ShannonAThompson More than 1 year ago
The Wrath and the Dawn is a gorgeous, gem-dripping romance inspired by A Thousand and One Nights. In a time where Khorasan’s caliph is murdering every woman he marries, Shahrzad—a girl who has lost her best friend due to the caliph—swears to get revenge. She will kill him. So, she volunteers to marry him, despite the murderous threat, and vows to get close enough to learn his weaknesses. Then she gets to know Khalid, and everything changes. If you’re looking for a romance, this one is for you, but if you were hoping for something with a little more action/plot, it might not entice you as much as you hoped. That being said, the prose is beautiful, the stories shared are intriguing, and many of the side characters are fun and lively. Like Despina. I really enjoyed the scenes she was in. That being said, I preferred the first half of this book to the second half. In the second half, I felt as if Khalid convinced Shahrzad a little too easily, and I never really understood why Khalid liked Shahrzad over all the others girls he met, who died, because…well. There are a few topics I wish I could talk about, but I don’t want to spoil the story. It’s rare when I prefer a heroine at the beginning of the story to the end, but this is the case here. And the ending left me a little…incomplete. (And I normally love cliffhangers.) Personally, though, this didn’t feel like a cliffhanger. It just felt like a hard stop. Will I read the second book? I don’t know. But if you enjoy romance, you will definitely love this book. It’s well worth the read. I will check out her upcoming release, Flame in the Mist, because her writing style is to die for. She is a masterful storyteller when it comes to language and enticing you to keep turning the pages. The voice is wonderfully seductive, and the cast is diverse and lively and interesting. I only wish I enjoyed romance more. That being said, I loved the setting and the language. I would highly recommend this to historical romance readers. ~SAT Recommended to: YA romance readers who want to read a historical romance set in Khorasan, a historical region once located near Iran and Afghanistan. Favorite Quote: For love, people consider the unthinkable…and often achieve the impossible. (pg. 77) Favorite Word: Exsanguinate: to drain of blood: It was a quiet taunt…a poisoned glass of wine, meant to intoxicate and exsanguinate. (pg. 73)
18876111 More than 1 year ago
There is nothing about this book that I didn't like, I loved everything about it. I loved how there were stories within the story, they were a unique addition. I loved Shahrzad's (Shazi's) Aladdin retelling. Speaking of Shazi, I loved her and how if she was afraid she didn't show it. I loved Khalid too, and in a way felt bad for him. I really loved how the relationship between Khalid and Shazi developed, it wasn't rushed or insta-love, it took time. I loved how I could see that Shazi and Khalid really grew to love and care for each other. The romance was deep and beautiful and I really loved it. The side characters in this book are amazing too, I especially loved Jalal and how he was witty but in a charming way. At first, I was suspicious about Despina, but I really grew to like her, and I loved the friendship she and Shazi developed. One thing that I can't get over is how beautiful this book is, and I can't wait to see how the story ends.
FayTannerr More than 1 year ago
4.4 stars! An amazing debut novel by author Renee Ahdieh. Filled with mesmerizing characters and a unique look at a different culture. An unpredictable and stunning plot with suspense and secrets at every turn is what made me enjoy this book. With intricate details from the beautiful clothing to the delicious food, this book will make readers feel like they are truly there and eager to read the sequel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a gorgeously written, diverse fantasy.
Cornreviewsbooks More than 1 year ago
All books are special this one more so than most. This is one of the best written books I have ever read everything is described in vivid detail I could picture every scene in my head I was completely absorbed in the story, Renee Ahdieh is now one of my absolute favorite authors. I had to keep myself from finishing this to quickly I didn’t want it to be over and I don’t know when I’ll be able to read the Rose and the Dagger and I could tell I would want it as soon as this one was over. img_4474-2One of the best things about this fantastic book is the characters Renee did a great job of introducing lots of characters and making each of them standout even the ones who were only in a few pages. As for the main characters, Shahrzad is fierce and I loved her from the beginning even if she is a bit of a brat all the best characters are flawed, my feelings for Khalid mirrored Shahrazad’s I distrusted him then I gradually came to love him I normally have at least one complaint about the romance but I’m very happy to say that I don’t have any with this one. I never once thought the romance was happening to quickly, I didn’t even mind the love triangle because it was well done. Shahrzad didn’t spend the whole book deciding which guy she liked more. I loved most everything about this but I felt like something was missing and there are a few things I wanted more of, more magic would have been wonderful I also would have liked more fight scenes. I’m hoping the next book will give me the things a felt this was lacking This review was originally posted on https://cornreviewsbooks.wordpress.com/2016/08/12/3007/
AvaJae More than 1 year ago
Welp, I guess I'm going to have to get the sequel now. :)
AReadingRedSox More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved Shazi, the main character. When I first read the synopsis of this one, I thought it was just going to be your typical "girl out for vengeance falls in love with the bad guy" story, but this one was so much more. Shazi was strong and sure of herself and continued to question everything, even as she found herself falling for the "bad guy," Khalid. The writing was fantastic, and it was just really excellent overall.
lrhubble More than 1 year ago
An Excellent Read Young Adult, Romance Each dawn brings heartache to a new family in a land that is ruled by a murderous boy-king. Khalid is a monster and he is also the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan. Each night he takes a new bride and each morning a silk cord is wrapped around her throat. Sixteen-year-old Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride when her dearest friend falls victim to Khalid. Shahrzad is determined to stay alive but to also end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all. Shahrzad beguiles Khalid night after night, weaving stories that enchant and ensures her survival though she is very aware each dawn could be her last. Something she never saw or expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’s imagined him to be. This particular monster is also a boy with a tormented heart. Shahrzad incredibly finds herself falling in love. It can’t be possible. It is an unforgivable betrayal. She is determined to uncover whatever secrets lurk in this palace of marble and stone and despite her love she is ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he has stolen. Is it possible for their love to survive this world of stories and secrets? This is a great story that takes the reader on a wonderful ride. It has some great twists and turns. It will also have readers wanting to and reaching for the sequel to this book. While it is inspired by A Thousand and One Nights this one makes it a story that stands on its own very well. The characters are complex and engrossing and make for a very rich complex story that will have readers falling in love with it.
Maggie Brister More than 1 year ago
What a beautiful world and a beautiful story! This is a book full of mysteries, power, and delicious food. Shahrzad is a fierce heroine ready to take on the world. The unraveling of her life and her plan is written in a way that makes you ache for more. Khalid is a man of steel, whose breakdown is a glorious sight. Thank goodness I bought the second book at the same time I bought this one! I recommend this to anyone who loves to see a romance bloom out of a wedding in the first few chapters.
Livlovesbooks More than 1 year ago
I will live to see tomorrow’s sunset. Make no mistake. I swear I will live to see as many sunsets as it takes. And I will kill you. With my own hands.’ ~ Shahrzad * And that's just one example of why I loved Shahrzad. What didn't I love about this enthralling tale? I was a quote and observation sharing fool on GoodReads as I read it. ★¸¸.•*¨*•★Random Book Info★¸¸.•*¨*•★ Writing style: 3rd person narrative * Cover and chapter design: I like the most recent cover with Shazi revealed instead of hidden behind the fancy design panels as she appears on the original cover. The cover model looks so beautiful, striking and bold. The chapter headings mirror the design patterns on the original cover, a cool tie-in. * I found it extremely helpful to note the different character names and something about their connection to the MCs, but they may be a tad spoilery. Lead Characters: Shahrzad al-Khayzuran (nickname Shazi), 16 years old Khalid Ibn al-Rashin, the Caliph of Khorasan, 18 years old * Supporting characters: Jahandar al-Khayzuran (Shahrzad’s father) Isra (Shahrzad’s 14-year old younger sister) Tariq (son of Nasir al-Ziyah, the emir of Khorasan) Rahim (nobleman and besties w/Tariq) Despina (Shahrzad’s handmaiden and a self-admitted spy with blue eyes) Vikram (the Rajput aka best swordsman in their region) Jalal (Khalid’s cousin and the captain of the Shahrband of Rey – Shahrzad’s city of birth) Reza (Tariq’s uncle, deceased Shiva’s father) General al-Khoury – (aka Shahrban of Rey) his role is to eliminate threats against the caliph aka King Musa Zaragosa – former tutor to Leila, Khalid’s mother; he has the gift like Shazi and her father do Yasmina el-Sharif – (aka Princess of Parthia) the daughter of Khalid’s uncle by marriage with whom he grew up; she loved him but he treats her with cold indifference since he dislikes her father who’d hated his mom * The opening epitaph by the Persian poet Jalal al-Din Rumi really resonated with me from the very beginning: ‘I once had a thousand desires, But in my one desire to know you, All else melted away.’ Its significance means even more now that I have finished reading this wonderful re-imagining of the Persian classic A Thousand Nights aka Arabian Nights. I’d never read it in school or on my own, so I was quite curious when book bloggers I follow started promoting it. I loved everything about it – the richly developed characters, the setting, the mysticism, the pacing, the suspense, the wisdom and of course, the young love that grew in spite of the dangerous circumstances the two protagonists faced. A favorite quote among many: ‘Shahrzad no longer believed the tales running through the streets of Rey. Khalid Ibn al-Rashin was not a madman from a line of murdering madmen, hell-bent on senseless brutality. He was a boy with secrets. Secrets Shahrzad had to know. It was no longer enough for her to stand at his side and play along with the dance of ice and stone. To watch him fade into the distance, barricaded in a room no one was permitted to enter. She was going to break down the door. And steal all of his secrets.’ * Coming up next for me in this series is the sequel The Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath & the Dawn, #2).
_TeenlyThings More than 1 year ago
Wow. Just wow. Shazi is such a powerful soul. She’s a kick-ass warrior queen who know what she wants. Until she meets Khalid. Khalid is the king. And a murderer. He murdered Shazi’s friend, so she should hate him, right? He marries over and over, and at the dawn of the next day, they always end up dead. But is it really his fault. Shazi’s on a mission: Kill the king. Survive. But its harder than she thought. He has compassion, but he hides it. He has depth, but he barries it. Behind all the prominent drama, Shazi’s childhood lover wants revenge. He wants Shazi for himself, and he wants the king dead, along with many other rivals. This book is so beautiful and intricately woven. The emotions behind the acts are powerful and tearjerking. It’s that feeling when you don’t know if you want to hurt something or kiss it. Definitely a 5 star book! So good I read it in 2 days. ~Teenly Things Book Blogger Brygitt teenlythings.net