The Year Santa Lost His List

The Year Santa Lost His List

by Jill Vanderwood

Paperback

$15.00
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Year Santa Lost His List 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Kynlemoma10 More than 1 year ago
I am giving this four stars because I truly believe there could be more too this book in the beginning, I love how it shows our kids that we didn't have the electronics back then like we do now and maybe more information about this topic would have been good, the book starts out slow but it picks up and changes tones to explaining that the kids learned new talents and it all ended up working out swell, Its a good reminder to be thankful for what you receive, the illustrations are vivid and bright, Its a great change of pace from reading the night before Christmas and the elf on the shelf, I would add this to my holiday book list of recommendations,
Enigma More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. At first it seemed a bit slow but then I got better. The concept of Santa losing his list and what he does would be spot on. Worth getting and reading to your wee ones.
Ivy_B_inFL More than 1 year ago
I love the concept of this book. When Santa's list goes missing one year, he delivers presents to the wrong children. It appears the children are disappointed, but the story reveals, in the end, that the children were given a chance to build new skills around the presents they received. And the book ends happily. The story starts without much background, which is probably perfect for kids, but it doesn't really build up to strengthen the story. I didn't feel any connection with the characters or excitement over the story. I really did enjoy the concept, but a little more thought could have made the story much more exciting. I received this book free in exchange for my honest review. No other compensation was provided.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome!!! The illustrations were beautiful! My kids absolutely loved this book.
Kathie Crowther More than 1 year ago
I rarely get excited of a childrens book...my son has read and I have read to him hundreds of childrens books over the past few years....but I recently received a childrens book that I must say I absolutely fell in love with!!!! The title of the book is "The Year Santa Lost His List". The book tells a story of how Santa was delivering his gifts to childlren and suddenly a strong wind blew his list away...he had no idea what child went with what gift. He wound up giving random gifts or so he thought....to random children. The story shows how children received gifts from Santa that they didn't necessarily ask for....but as time goes on and they become older....you see how those gifts brought out gifts in the childrens lives. They were meant to get the gifts they received after all. Its shows children that sometimes an unexpected or a gift they hadn't necessarily asked for could make a real difference in their lives if they only give things a chance. My son LOVED this book....he has read it several times and has asked me to read it to him several times as well. The author Jill Ammon Vanderwood AKA Mrs Claus has outdone herself with the magic of Christmas as well as showing children that you don't always get what you want....but you do always get surprised in what you never thought you would like. This is a must read for the holidays.....and to make this even more special...the book was made right here in the USA!!!!! WE LOVE THAT!!!!! #theyearsantalosthislist If
Deanna Lynn More than 1 year ago
I gave this book to my younger nieces and nephews who love Christmas. They enjoyed the book and have probably read it 29 times already in one week. It is great for young readers with clear text and bright illustrations to keep their interest. The book has just the perfect amount of pages to read. This will definitely be a book that gets read by the entire family every year at Christmas holiday times. Check it out to see if Santa finds his list and can deliver the right presents to all of the children.
Sherri Adams More than 1 year ago
This is a cute book and a fun read. I read this to my daughter and she really enjoyed it. This is definitely a book you would want to have at Christmas time. The story helps give a better Outlet on gift giving for Christmas. It kind of gives some hope of giving gifts to those who you don't know what they like. Overall is a very cute book with a great story can't wait till Christmas time to continue reading it more. My daughter wants to actually take it to school at Christmas time to share with her class.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book a lot, especially because it was this author's first book! The illustrations were spot on, and it was a cute story with a good "lemonade out of lemons" type of lesson. I think it can also be a great conversation starter with young kids about what to do when you get a present you didn't ask for, and about trying new things.
manleyt More than 1 year ago
This book is wonderfully written, and is a great addition to any families christmas story collection, my four year old really enjoyed this book.
Mark Oglesby More than 1 year ago
This is a really cute Christmas story. My kids were really into it and it was so nice to have something to read other than the elf on the shelf book again. I would definitely recommend adding this to your Christmas rotation of books.
sequoiajo More than 1 year ago
I love this story. I read this book to my little ones they absolutely adore this book It was read over 10 times in a day over and over again. very entertaining . This was a great way to get into the holiday season .
RedRoadster More than 1 year ago
The printing quality and the pictures are excellent. The illustrations are high color and perfect for children. It is a cute story idea; one I have read before, but modernized to today’s age. However, I found the story line slow going for our children. It did not capture their attention. Overall this book could have used improvement. It would have been a good idea to try this out on an audience possibly. It needs more excitement.
GinaeSays More than 1 year ago
The full-color images are just beautiful and the children's faces are a nice array of sexes and races. The varied interests of the children are well-done too. Overall, it's just a nice package/book. The story is easy to follow and is written for our day and time. Ms. Vanderwood has a true passion for Christmas and Santa Claus, which shows. This is excellent for seasonal reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully wrote !! When I started reading I did not thought it to be this good. Very nicely narrated the stories and events. Even though it has some errors here and there but over all it well narrated and you can easily understand what it means. The story swiftly moves forward and will grip you till the end. Love the way things got messed up and how Santa did his job of gifting. Totally different concept of the story. This is perfect gift for holidays or to enjoy all year around. It can be enjoyed by both kids and parents as well. The quality of the paper used to print book is good and well made/finished, so no loose pages coming out of it soon. The font, colors and pictures all increases creativeness of the book.
Katthylynn1963 More than 1 year ago
The magic of Christmas is a big deal in our family and this book keeps that magic going. It shows that things aren't always what they seem. Even though Santa lost his list just before coming to the US and had to guess at what gifts to deliver where, new talents were discovered. I will be reading this book to my grandkids during this holiday season.
rlfranklin1974 More than 1 year ago
What an amazing book for your little ones. The artwork is amazing and the underlying moral of the story is perfect. The story is about Santa losing his list. Ya know back before everything went digital. He delivers the wrong packages to the children but, in a sense, it changes the kids lives for the better. The kids each learn a new talent that helps them to become all they can be.
PamelaKinniard More than 1 year ago
Do you love magical stories? I know our family does! This book is simply delightful. My kids were glued to their chairs as I read this cute store to them. When I read that Santa lost his list of the USA kids, such disappointment grew on my kids faces. At this point, I knew they were listening so closely. Once I kept reading and they found it he was going to make his best guess, such relief overcame them. They were so happy to discover that even though the list was gone, Santa was still moving forward and using his best guess to get the kids their gifts. What I love most is that, even though they may not have gotten the exact gift, they got the gift of self discovery. The gift of learning new things. The gift of appreciation. Also, Santa learned too....he is now up with the times and has a new electronic device for his list!! I love that Jill is AKA as Mrs. Claus. When I told the kids that, you should have seen their eyes! This is the authors second children's Christmas book. This is a brand new book and was published in October, 2016.
Ajsartwork-blogspot-com More than 1 year ago
This is such a cute book! I got it in the mail yesterday and it is a great story! I would defiantly add this one to your Christmas list this year!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such an amazing book!!! my daughter loves tthis