There Was an Old Gator Who Swallowed a Moth

There Was an Old Gator Who Swallowed a Moth

Hardcover

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 10

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

There Was an Old Gator Who Swallowed a Moth 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
NanetteHeffernan 5 days ago
A delightful story about Florida wildlife! On a first read I was a bit confused. How could an alligator encounter all of these animals in the same habitat? A moth and a pelican, sure, but a ray? Then, by the end, I realized it’s true. My daughter and I learned so much about the array of animals in Florida. Not to mention, it was such a fun read-aloud!
TinaMShepardson More than 1 year ago
This is such a clever story written by the talented poet, B. J. Lee, taking us on a wonderfully written and illustrated journey of a familiar children's story, yet with all the elements of the Florida habitat. Children, families and educators will have a ball reading this outloud, listening to the poetic rhyme and eyeing enthusiastically David Opie's humorous, sweet, and colorful illustrations. This is a definite must have picture book for ages 0-101!
NatC More than 1 year ago
Full of Florida animals and clever rhymes, There Was an Old Gator Who Swallowed a Moth is a fun regional take on the well-known cumulative song There Was An Old Woman Who Swallowed a Fly. David Opie’s animals are hilariously expressive. The book provides ample opportunity for classroom tie-ins - check the author’s site for a free teacher guide.
ChristineNE More than 1 year ago
My kids loved this new twist on "There was an old lady who swallowed a fly". B.J Lee's book is perfect for reading aloud and the lively illustrations will entertain a crowd while learning about Florida's wildlife.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The language is wonderful. The story and illustrations are great fun. And while readers are giggling about all the things the silly old Gator has managed to ingest, they will also be getting an introduction to the animals of Florida.
JoleneG More than 1 year ago
This book is such a fun version of the "There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly" story! It's a great way to share rhythm and rhyming with kids, but even more importantly, it's a wonderful way to introduce your young readers to the animals of a Florida lagoon. With a funny resolution that--spoiler alert--results in all animals surviving, young readers will want to read this book again and again.
GayleCKrause2WriteandRead More than 1 year ago
There was an old story that is written anew. I loved reading it aloud, and so will you! Lee’s choice of subject and her delightful rhyming word choices make this parody of a children’s favorite cumulative tale unique. Filled with wonderful alliteration and perfect rhythm, Lee’s writing helps the reader glide right through the verses as easily as the gator slips through the swamp. And Opie’s humorous graphic illustrations just add to the fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My children and I enjoyed this rendition of "There was old lady who swallowed a fly." My children appreciated the expressive illustrations and the deluge of the alligators contents! As a teacher, I can see this book being a useful addition to classroom libraries for all the learning opportunities that arose during and after reading.