The Thing about Jane Spring

The Thing about Jane Spring

by Sharon Krum

Paperback(Reprint)

$22.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Thing about Jane Spring 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Kace on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This I think will become a guilty favorite. The writing isn't bad, there's nothing technically wrong with it, and its amusing if not laugh out loud funny. My love for the book comes from the girl in me that watched the Doris Day movies and longed to be so effortlessly a lady. Though the plot is implausible, and the characters turn around and realizations happen at break neck speeds, it is so reminiscent of a Doris Day Technicolor movie, it doesn't seem that off.I'm more than halfway through this book, of a hard no nonsense District attorney raised by a colonel (well, more like trained, much in a way the colonel trained in the military) becoming Doris Day to catch "the one" that will stay forever.Not only has it become a guilty favorite already, its made me plan a Doris Day marathon of all those great movies of hers that I began watching in 7th grade. Soon.Just finished reading it...I couldn't stop myself from finishing it. It really was a fun read, but I suppose that in large part, the fun comes from having been obsessed with the Doris films in my youth. I also, though, liked the character of Jane on her own. I don't think a person would enjoy the story if they started reading it from a highbrow perspective. It's campy fun, well worth the read, if you can let go and believe with a 60's kind of idealism =) best quote "This meant taking time with her hair and make-up as well as changing the polish on her nails. Jane had never realized how much time women took getting ready until she'd decided to impersonate one."
raizel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Doris Day, or more accurately her character in Lover Come Back, That Touch of Mink and Pillow Talk, is a mentor ala Elijah in folklore who models how to be feminine. Like Tootsie or any other character who pretends to be someone else, she realizes that her new persona can solve formerly difficult problems.Jane was raised by her Army father, who was disappointed that she was born a girl. When Jane loses a case and realizes that she will never have a relationship lasting longer than one date, she decides to live her life and prosecute her cases as Doris Day. Fortunately she has the magical objects to do this: her Grandmother's trunk of the right kind of outfits. With these new clothes, she becomes kind and in control of her temper. And people around her change for the better as well.There seems to be an implication that kindness is feminine; painfully straight-forward honesty is masculine. I disagree. I also think she could have bought shoes and bras that fit her and still maintained the Doris Day image.
ethel55 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If Sue Sylvester wasn't so busy trying to crush a certain show choir in Ohio, she would make a great "before" Jane Spring. As a cutthroat Ass't District Attorney in NYC, Jane takes no prisoners in the courtroom or in her personal life. She decides to take action and with the help of her grandmother's old trunk, revamps her look to mimic Doris Day. This is a cute, light story that will have you reaching for the TCM listings to see if Pillow Talk or Touch of Mink are on anytime soon. Que sera sera!
risadabomb on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book start out with promise, a standoffish, ice queen lawyer who tries to reinvent herself into a man magnet. However, it is the reinvention process that the author loses me. It is a fanciful piece of work which is rather enjoyable but not at all credible and lots of loose ends.
emigre on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If this book could be marketed in a more cliche way, I don't know. The pink cover, the illustration, the SHOES, sigh, all covering up a pretty good book. The writing is above-average for chick lit, with a heroine that's actually not very likable, at least at first. I could totally see her as someone obnoxious I've met, but that's before her Doris Day makeover changed my mind and I started rooting for her. I still don't know why I don't love it, maybe because none of the characters feel real? Another annoying thing is its constant switching of POVs, which threw me off sometimes. Overall, a good commuting read.
thelonereader More than 1 year ago
I have to be in a certain kind of mood to read this specific adult romance genre aimed toward an older audience - the writing is usually a bit more bland than with YA/NA and even most adult contemporary romances. I was in the right mood, but unfortunately I didn't love this, especially since it offended my feminist self a bit. The story was fun-ish, but I'd rather read a book about a kickass, brutal woman lawyer than one who has turned herself into stereotypically feminine, antique clothes-wearing rubbish just to catch a man. No offense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
omg this book totally reminds me of me. i shared it with my bff and we had to laugh becuase most of the things she did i would totally do its a must read.
Amanda1984 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much. It had a very good story line.
Tl44 More than 1 year ago
It was definitely not the greatest book I've ever read. The story moved along at a turtle's pace and the constant use of everyone's whole name, such as Jane Spring, drove me crazy. She's the main character; I know who she is. I found it difficult to keep reading, but did because I kept hoping it would get better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, but it seemed like the character went a bit TOO far to be like Doris Day, even down to the twin bed! Anyway, was a cute book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The premise of the book is captivating but the book itself wasn't a page turner. I expected the storyline to get more interesting after every chapter but that lacked throughout the book. The ending though is very sweet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After having an awful week in Court, little sleep, late nights of writing and re-writing briefs, I finally managed to get away to the beach. I came across this book not sure what to expect. What a delight! As a fan of old Doris Day movies, I couldn't stop laughing as I imagined trying a few of Jane's techniques in the Courtroom.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have read in a long time! Enjoy
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is great light reading. As a (former) longtime member of the Manhattan singles scene, I could identify with Jane's crisis: what the heck do these people want? Her decision to morph her look and personality from frumpy, rigid military woman to Doris Day, a 1960s movie star, is a bit of a stretch, but Krum actually makes it believable. Jane also grows as a person, learning that her new, more womanly personality is not only enjoyable in its own right, but helps her get what she wants, and not only on the relationship front. Highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first started reading this book, I thought it was terrible. The characters were flat and I didn't care about any of them, especially Jane. This changed, however, when Jane transformed herself into Doris Day. It cracked me up and from that point on, I could not put the book down. I laughed through the whole book. It reads like a Doris Day movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed The Thing About Jane Spring. Sharon Krum develops her characters well and makes you understand all sides of their personalities. The thing about Jane Spring is that she didn't have a clue to her own personality and how she was hurting her chances at finding love until she assumed the persona of Doris Day and became a more loving person. Following her actions, escapades and choices, and how they all worked out is what makes this book so much fun to read. I recommend it highly especially if you're feeling down or depressed. It's a great picker-upper. I also can see it as a movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved Jane Spring. She is super-funny because she is wound improbably tight from her 'military brat' upbringing. But Jane is real enough that you feel bad for her when she is misunderstood and glad for her when she transforms herself a la Doris Day. This book reads like a movie - you can really see each scene unfold and the humor pulled me along so fast I finished the book in two days. Good, fun reading for summer or - like Jane - in the depths of a New York snow storm.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Thing about Jane Spring was entertaining and delightful. It's not so much about a single woman's quest for romance as an introspective and humorous look at how we relate to others. I read the book on my vacation and didn't want to put it down. I laughed out loud so often, my family was intrigued by what I was reading! Buy one for yourself and another for your friend - it's a great read.