Things That Matter: Three Decades of Passions, Pastimes and Politics

Things That Matter: Three Decades of Passions, Pastimes and Politics

by Charles Krauthammer

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Things That Matter: Three Decades of Passions, Pastimes, and Politics 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 167 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Clearly, Cheryl44CP knows nothing about Dr. Charles Krauthammer.  Even those who strongly disagree with him, acknowledge that he is a brilliant man.  Calling him names adds nothing to the forum...perhaps people should read the book with an open mind and comment on the content instead of showing their ignorance.  People of all political stripes should find it interesting and informative reading. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dr. Krauthammer is a brilliant man.  He is a Harvard-educated doctor as well as a Pulitzer Prize winner.  Even if you don't agree with his politics, his intelligence cannot be disputed.  I would love to be able to have him as a dinner guest. That said Cheyl44CP is obviously unable to accept anyone whose views do not match with hers and I suspect the only prize she has ever won is a Moon Pie at a tractor pull.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very intelligent Man
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Krauthammer is a brilliant and impressive man.  It's easy enough to simply be in awe of him purely because he refused to let his physical fate dictate the rest of his life.  He is truly a hero in that sense and everyone should be able to see that regardless of your politics.  What impresses me the most is his ability to think and to translate his thoughts into a product that is easy to clearly follow.  It's a great talent and he does it with style.  For those who oppose his political views it is clear to see they don't have anything of real substance to counter with so they simply resort to pettiness.  It's a bit pathetic and quite typical.  There is no real substance to the complaint.  I suspect the anger results more from the lack of their own ability to say anything meaningful.  After all, so few people are really able to think things through these days.  To respond to the specific comment that it would have been better to focus on events in the past 4-5 years…  that simply wasn't the focus of this book.  He clearly stated that in his foreword.  Studying psychology, historical politics and how it relates to present day is essential.  If you are unable to unravel and understand the past, you'll be doomed to repeat the same mistakes in the future.  Unfortunately, when a large majority of society is comfortable letting other people make decisions for them, we may very well be heading in that direction.       
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cheryl44CP must have stumbled on this site looking for free stuff... Her comment would indicate that the most intellectual thing she does is read the back of cereal boxes...
FHT2006 More than 1 year ago
While Mr. Krauthammer and I would disagree on many policy issues and how to best revitalize America's place in this competitive world; reading such a compendium of his writing on a wide range of topics was truly enjoyable and a wonderful reminder that while we live across a vast expanse of geography we are individuals with many shared interests. It would make a great Christmas gift for anyone on your list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Intelligent and truthful, best political commentary out there and just a brilliant man.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Charles Krauthammer is one of the most thoughtful and intelligent political analysts of our time.  When anything major hits the news, I am always looking for what Charles has to say about it.  This book is no exception ... Very well constructed perspectives informed by facts.
CasaDeColibris More than 1 year ago
Charles Krauthammer's "Things That Matter" is a retrospective ride through the headlines via the eyes of one who has observed the intricacies of life with an objective eye, acute observation skills, eloquent diagnostics into man and his place in the workings of society. All told with a voluminous, colorful vocabulary and often with tongue in cheek humor.
Noskcire More than 1 year ago
I knew this book was an accumulation of the author's columns but I really thought the content would be more current. Krauthammer's use of foreign phrases to describe an event is really meant for the New York City crowd, certainly not for me. I admire the author and respect what he is doing for conservatism but his musings on events of the past 4-5 years would be much more interesting.
Maswick More than 1 year ago
So much common sense in his articles. America needs to hear the conservative side of issues loud and clear to offset our mostly liberal media opinions. Well done, Charles!
corner More than 1 year ago
Excellent reading! Krauthammer is one of the most knowldgable and revered people of our times. It was wonderful to be able to learn more about what makes this super-intelligent and insightful man tick.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The final article in this book is the absolute best article I have ever read! It decimates liberal foriegn policy in a elegant and thorough way that asserts itself and has no counter arguement. A MUST READ
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a fun of Charles Krauthammer. I turn up the volume on my TV when it is his turn to speak on Fox Special Report . Very intelligent. always have interesting to say that Ilearn from him even at my age.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This author is a historian of political history. Exceedingly well-written, witty, and at times frightening in its revelations about current events, the essays kept me close to my dictionary and riveted to the pages from beginning to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would vote for Charles for President. Some intelligent common sense would do wonders for this country.
tarync More than 1 year ago
I absolutely adore Dr. Krauthammer! He is brilliant and articulate. This book should appeal to everyone, as it covers a wide variety of topics and many years of his writings. I received purchased it as a Christmas gift for my husband and imagine my surprise when I opened up a duplicate copy from my son! I passed it on to my dad and he also enjoyed it. Its a great coffee table book to pick up and read a chapter every day! Dr. Krauthammer is remarkable given his life circumstances and I look forward to hearing more from him in the future1
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The final chapter succinctly outlines the choices we face as a nation and contrasts our current path of apology and self deprication versus the possibilties we have as a nation, although sometimes flawed, but a nation that never ceases to provide relief to the world's disasters and has served as a balance for the world against the tyranous desires of countries like North Korea,Iran and perhaps in the future,China. As i read that last chapter I could help reflect on several books I read about our involvement, albeit late, in World War II. Our can do attitude at home mobilized our manufacturing capability to supply almost the entire allied effort and our GI's , numbering in the millions, sacrificed so much to save the world from the tyranny of Nazism. How sad a contrast that the determination and "pride in America" of that generation has neen replaced by the apologetic, self doubt that has become a hallmark of the current administration.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Charles Krauthammer has for the longest time been my favourite commentator. Therefore I had to read his book. I will not be able to say enough in his favour. Looking forward to his next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book could serve as a guide to critical thinking. Simply brilliant!
mwdv More than 1 year ago
Dr. Kraauthammer combines his clear, lucid thinking with beautifully written prose. The book covers topics from world and national politics to pastimes like baseball. Every essay sparkles.
Debborah More than 1 year ago
This man is brilliant, wise and in forward motion. His book reveals how he did not, would not, let his set back take him down. Instead, he went on the be one of the most amazing people of our time and anytime for that matter. This book deserves to be a best seller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read. As an "Independent," I find Krauthammer a "stand-alone" in his ability to add  rational, provocative, intelligent thought to current political narratives. Highly recommend. 
TedJBologna1 More than 1 year ago
What A good read! The uniformed wouldn't understand it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dr. Krauthammer is one of the most interesting, erudite people I've read or heard, and this book proves it. A discussion between him and Buckley would have been interesting.