Thirteen Days to Midnight

Thirteen Days to Midnight

by Patrick Carman

Hardcover

$11.04 $16.99 Save 35% Current price is $11.04, Original price is $16.99. You Save 35%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Thirteen Days to Midnight 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 90 reviews.
ChelseaW More than 1 year ago
Jacob has a secret. A secret power, to be more specific. Moments before he and Mr. Fielding got into a car accident, his caretaker told him he was indestructible. Nothing can hurt him. He's never told anyone about it. Then the new girl Ophelia comes to town and suddenly he's told both her and his best friend Milo about it. The three of them set out to learn more about Jacob's power and the rules that govern it. But as time goes by, Jacob feels a sinister dark creeping in and Ophelia begins acting very strange. Soon it becomes very clear that Jacob is running out of time to help his friend, and he can't do it alone. The first thing I must say about this book is that is was completely unpredictable. Really. I have not read Patrick Carman's Atherton books (though I will!) so I had no idea what to expect from him. My weakness for super powers brought this book to my attention and it delivered quite the fresh take on a unique power. It was easy reading and emotional without being too heavy handed. The action pulled the story along, leaving out boring lulls. This book is definitely good reading for boys. Give it a try!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book, Thirteen Days to Midnight, was written by Patrick Carman, and was published on March 12, 2010. This book was a suspenseful, romantic, comedic, thriller that starts out with Jacob Fielding and his father getting into a car accident. Jacob's father died, but he didn't. He has been wondering how he did from the time that his father was killed and after Ophelia James shows up then he figures it out, and boy does he have a lot of questions. This book affected me a lot more than I thought possible for a fictional book of this kind. It had me wondering what a loss of that kind would feel like, and how I would I handle it. The thing that was important that really would allow me to recommend this to others is the fact that it was unpredictable, and very intense. The major themes in the story are the idea that his father left him with so much, but his father died unexpectedly and had no time to tell him. One of the situations that reveal this them is when Ophelia James comes and she is in an unexpected accident, but she survives without injury. The themes of this book are very new and original. The idea that this books themes were original is the reason that I enjoyed this book so much. I recommend this book for anyone that is looking for a new type of experience in fictional reading. This book is not what I expected, but in the good way. I am not the one to read a lot of books, but after reading the first chapter of this book, I could not stop reading it till I had to put it down. I could not stop thinking about this book when I wasn't reading it, and when I was reading it I was in my own little world. I loved it!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awsome thats all I can say
La_Femme_Readers More than 1 year ago
La Femme Readers Blog My Rating: 4.5 Thirteen Days to Midnight was a captivating, nail-biting thriller. The mystery throughout the novel was well developed and exciting. Jacob, the male protagonist, questioned what he should do with his new found invincibility. When the power was passed down to him with the simple words, of "you are indestructible," everything was altered. This dark entity rested inside his soul until the day he decided to pass it along to Ophelia. In a desperate need to save the girl he loved from an injury, he lost control over his secret. Now, Milo, Ophelia and Jacob set up a deal to use this power to do good even though they weren't aware of the deadly repercussions. Patrick's writing was easy to follow. His character development was perfect. I seemed to catch on to everyone's personalities rather quickly. I liked Jacob, but he annoyed me at times. He seemed to act like a little punk around Ophelia. But, in his defense, love can make you do stupid things sometimes. Ophelia on the other hand, was quite entertaining yet scary at the same time. Out of the group, she was the one mostly effected by the power. The only character who seemed normal was definitely Milo! His sense of humor and way of calming down a tense situation were qualities I admired. Now, the struggle within Jacob was intriguing, would he save the love of his life from this power or kill her? The decision weighed heavily in my mind as I read since it was such a crucial situation to fix. Overall, the plot and unique characters made this into an enjoyable read. Patrick's mind is very creative and I enjoyed Thirteen Days to Midnight and also his newest release Trackers.
DGoodman More than 1 year ago
"The Grim Reaper doesn't disappear....he catches up." At first glance of the tagline, I can already tell that I am in for a thrilling ride; an epic tale of intrigue, action and the involvement of life versus death, written by a Messiah of modern day writing, American-born author Patrick Carman. But first impressions are never the solid truth. 13 Days to Midnight is far more than what I expected. Quoted as a hybrid of Stephen King's "Carrie", Unbreakable, Flatliners, and Donnie Darko, Patrick Carman has delivered something that is truly spectacular. With 13 Days to Midnight, Patrick Carman has created an unpredictable examination of how far someone is willing to go to save someone they cherish. Like a double-edged sword, it shows the morality between the good and evil in everybody, and a force more powerful than even indestructibility: pure and unconditional love. ******** for the full review, go to http://www.patrickcarman.com/books/13-day-review-daniel-goodman/comment-page-1/#comment-2127
peaceloveandpat More than 1 year ago
Jacob Fielding has a very interesting superpower. All he got to do is say that word and it gets passed to the person he intends to give it to, the most awesome thing too was he can take it back. The downside was, he have this girlfriend, her name is Oh. She's smart, pretty, sexy and funny unfortunately she's also a female version of Johnny Knoxsville and his gang of Jackasses. That's always a positive on my book but there are limitations, and Oh definitely went beyond. As far as good intentions go, she was on the right track only she wen too far... Jacob can use his "gift" to save lives but was it that easy? Didn't Spiderman said that with great power comes great responsibility? They obviously never thought of that And this power; it seems too good to be true, not a good sign! when is the drawback coming in? I love Jacob Fielding, but Milo Coflyn is my favorite, he was a neutral character and the most hilarious of the three plus their family book store is a book addict's dream hang out. LOL. I have listed Thirteen Days to Midnight as one of my favorite reads in 2010. Jacob, Milo and Oh looks like your your typical teenager. They get into trouble in school for stupid stuff, they deal with school jerks, the hang out, they have friends and their fun. That... until Oh got her face planted on the ground, so hard that she could have died or comatose upon impact but no she stood up unscathed, so wth right? And so the adventure has begun... The initial part of their testings and "getting to know the power" stage was entertaining until Oh lost her mind. No she was not institutionalized but she developed a god like and hero like complex, she became obsess with saving people's lives, she even bought a police scanner and practically lives inside cyber space to stay up to date with latest disasters or catastrophes. It was cool at the beginning until the power evolved into something else... I knew that's going to happen you can't play god and not expect any consequences. Fast paced, action packed, with a little bit of romance, a load of mystery, engaging characters, laugh out loud dialogues, and a has a great moral story. A must read for 2010, perfect for the young and adults looking to read adventure-mystery with a touch of the supernatural.
ReplayGuy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In Patrick Carman's Thirteen Days to Midnight, Jacob Fielding has unknowingly inherited a supernatural power. With the help of two friends the mystery is unraveled and the power takes control of their lives. And when they discover that this special power can be passed back and forth, they begin to experiment. Jacob faces a new mystery as a series of unexplained events pits the three friends against each other. Early in the book Jacob ponders the question: "If you could have one super power what would it be?" Throughout Thirteen Days to Midnight, Jacob learns one he doesn't want. The question is do his friends agree? Carman's powerful story of life and death, good and evil and friends and enemies is worthy of four stars. You can't put it down until all thirteen days and midnight arrive.
IceyBooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"You are indestructible." Those are the last words Mr. Fielding says to his adopted son, Jacob, before they crash into a tree doing sixty. Mr. Fielding dies, and miraculously, Jacob leaves the scene without a scratch. A few weeks later, Jacob returns to Holy Cross, the decaying Catholic school he attends, where his best friend Milo greets him by saying there's a new girl in town. There are hardly ever any new enrollments at Holy Cross, just students leaving for the new South Ridge High, so this is a surprise for Jacob. An even bigger surprise is just how beautiful Ophelia James, nicknamed Oh - the new girl, is. It all begins when she asks him to sign her cast, on which he writes "You are Indestructible - J". Later on that day, Oh goes concrete surfing and trips, which should have killed her, but she gets up without a clue as to why there's no blood (or pain) on her whatsoever. Pretty soon, Jacob, Milo, and Oh discover that when said, those three words can actually make a person indestructible and avoid injury and even death. Oh suggests they use this power to save innocent lives. But is that possible? Can death be vanquished? Jacob Fielding finds out in a most horrifying way. You'll have to read Patrick Carman's first YA novel, Thirteen Days to Midnight to learn the truth about those three dangerous words... You are Indestructible.
dferb on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've read this year! Patrick Carman is a genius! What super power would you choose? After Jacob survives a horrific car accident that kills his foster father, he discovers that he is indestructible. At first it's exciting and when he discovers that he can share his gift, things get really interesting. Jacob shares the gift with Ophelia, a girl he wants to get to know better. As their relationship grows, complications arise.This book is non-stop action and mystery. What secrets was Jacob's foster father hiding? If you can share your indestructability to save lives, should you? and with whom? What if you actually have to kill someone to save them? It's a great story that will have you thinking about it for days afterward.
HiroshiSasaki on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Starts off with a good premise, a la Claire, the cheerleader from the TV show Heroes. Great quotable first page (after the preface):"If you could have only one superpower, what would it be? People get asked that question all the time, but hardly anyone I've asked has a logical answer. I'm surprised by how often people answer flying because when you really stop to think about it, flying is dangerous as hell. Just figuring out how to do it right would more than likely involve slamming into a building, so you'd probably be dead or badly injured in the first ten minutes. Best-case scenario you'd get some other power to go along with it--like turning into liquid if you hit a slab of pavement doing ninety. But then, adding something else into the mix is more than the question allows for." That's it; that's the best part of the book. Now you don't have to read the rest of this YA novel.
galleysmith on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not an entirely new concept for a book Carman has taken it, made it his own, and done so with heart and depth. In his version of being indestructible, of being superhuman, Carman sets an eery tone without inching into what could be the makings of a true horror story. Demonstrating the use of such power for primarily benevolent purpose (again not a new twist) as compared to personal gain is what made the story. I don¿t want to spoil the twists and turns but I will say that the battle between good and evil is prevalent in this story and it is written a muted but strong tone that I found added to the ambiance. It is creepy and dark but not overwhelmingly so.Indestructibility is strong in it¿s presence ¿ a character unto itself, which makes the story all the more compelling as it progresses. Further, I liked how Carman wrote the intricacies of how the power worked, what it¿s motivations were and how Jacob, Ohphelia and their friend Milo interacted with it.Speaking of which, Carman has built in Jacob a loving and tender boy whose goodness threads through each of his relationships to build the most solid foundation. As the owner of indestructibility he is also flawed and tortured, often times fighting with his own morality as he tries to do right by those closest to him. Most specifically he falls in love with the new girl in town Ophelia James, the same girl who encourages him to use his power of indestructibility to save strangers from death. This is where the majority of the conflict in the story stems from and it¿s very good as it relates to the individuality of Jacob¿s character, his relationships as well as the superpower he¿s entrusted with.I wouldn¿t say that this novel is a good first foray into young adult literature for the youngest of middle schoolers but certainly teen, young adult and adult audiences will enjoy it. I¿d also go out on a limb and say that fans of science fiction and fantasy might enjoy it as well. The glory of Thirteen Days to Midnight is that it has strength of character and story in addition to the other worldly element of indestructibility. It is that aspect that makes this book worthy of picking up.
TigerLMS on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Jacob's adoptive father was killed in a horrible car crash a little more than a week before Jacob meets beautiful Ophelia for the first time. It is with Ophelia that Jacob discovers an incredible power he didn't know he had, a power that he doesn't know quite what to do with. With the power, Jacob is indestructible. But he finds he can send the power to others to protect them, and Ophelia suggests they use the new-found superpower to help others in need. What they don't know, at least not at first, is that while they are saving lives, they are also cheating death-- and there is a big price to pay for that. The novel will appeal to middle and high school students, especially boys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book, me and my freinds checked it out in our school library and read it together and we all thought that it was an easy book to get into and you end up wanting more,i flipped out when my mom told me to stop reading and go to sleep lol!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Asome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That was the totally best book ever recomend age 11 and up no 10 and tiny sqeemish people but that was the best book ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly recommended specialy for teens
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was incredible I honestly love the book, it's one of the best and interesting books I've read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a really good book wiith good plot and cool characters.... i recomend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great concept and a solid story, however, whenever the oppoturnity presented itself to expand the story and build depth or more personality in the characters, the moment seemed to pass. Too bad, the potential for another teen franchise is built on stories with the potential this book possessed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lovee all his booka.. thia onw ia great..tottaly recomend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So far from the sample I read this book seems really intested. Looking forward to buying the book and finish what I started.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An absolute amazing thriller. There is never a dull moment. Your heart will literally race from the action in this book. Buy it. Read it. AND enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can you go??