This Is How It Always Is: A Novel

This Is How It Always Is: A Novel

by Laurie Frankel

Hardcover

$25.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

This Is How It Always Is 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book should be shared in our school's, in our book clubs, in our political circles, in our religion institutions, though out society. This is a beautiful story of adjusting to a world that although we cannot understand why, we need to learn to accept as reality. Definitely a timely story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was the writing that hooked me, then the story owned me. What beautifully complex beings we are - we humans! I loved everything about this book...could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I guess we need to go to Amazon to read reviews that are real. I feel that nothing is ever done when a review is flagged or reported. Used to rely on the reviews here. I go elsewhere. I gave a 5 star for this book because it sounds good. I'll check Amazon to see what readers are saying and go from there. Glad someone else noticed this happening.
Artie999 More than 1 year ago
I loved "This is How It Always Is"! Any parent will be interested in the story of how a family raises a transgender child. It's funny, sad, touching, interesting and heartbreaking, all at the same time. It was a quick read, and because it is so beautifully written, I didn't want the story to end!
Anonymous 3 months ago
This+beautiful+novel+taught+me+so+much%21++Highly+Recommend+this+book.%0A%0A
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous 12 months ago
And you most certainly gave your all. Thank you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I appreciate the learning experience this book provided. It invites you in to the hearts and minds of the characters which helps me have a clearer understanding of being transgender. Thus, having more compassion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book. Very refreshing read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i gave this book 5 star rating it was that good and i couldn't stop reading it and i also was listening to this on audible and that was good to listen to as and reese witherspoon really pick a good book for her book club for this month and when i was reading the book in one of the chapters i was saw one of my favorite jersey boys and i am from new jersey and it was bruce springsteen the boss
EmmabBooks More than 1 year ago
Accepting Differences Rosie and Penn have 5 sons. When their youngest, Claude, is very young he decides he would be happier being a girl rather than a boy. His parents and brothers are accepting of his choice, but advise (because of his young age) that some things are best kept secret. How long can a secret stay a secret? And what about when Claude reaches adolescence? A wonderful story about a family supporting each other, coping with changes and making mistakes along the way. At times I wondered if such a wonderful family could really exist, but it was part of the enjoyment of the book that downtimes were acknowledged but the positive, and gentle, theme of the book was at all times maintained. I listened to the audio version and the narrator was great; she read the different voices well and was very clear. 5*s from me for a number of reasons. The main theme of how to support a child in Claude's position was very thought provoking, and the main characters really came alive as the story progressed. As an audio book it was easy to put down and pick up, without losing the thread. I've been talking about this uplifting book with so many people, which for me is a sign of a really good book! Suitable for all ages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KateUnger More than 1 year ago
This Is How It Always Is is a character-driven story about a family who’s youngest son starts identifying as a girl around age 5. I found the topic and emotions to be fascinating, but the details about every member of the family were too much for me. I like to get to know characters when reading a book, but I am always more interested in plot than character development. It felt necessary to examine both parents in this story, but it was sometimes too much, especially in regards to the mother’s career. I loved learning about Claude and his transformation into Poppy. I adored the father, Penn, and his story-telling with all of the kids. Rosie, the mom, kind of drove me crazy. It’s hard to know how I would handle their situation, but I couldn’t deal with the way she was handling it. This book would be a PERFECT book club book, and I was really wishing I’d read it with other people, so I could talk about it. There is a lot of thought provoking content. It would make for great discussion! I enjoyed listening to this book, but as much as I loved the content, I just couldn’t rate it more than 3 stars. It just dragged on too long, with too many extraneous details. http://opinionatedbooklover.com/review-this-is-how-it-always-is-by-laurie-frankel/
AmberK1120 More than 1 year ago
This was such a gripping, emotional, heartfelt book. Great storyline and authentic characters.
teachlz More than 1 year ago
WOW!! Kudos to Laurie Frankel, author or "This is How it Always Is". The genre of this book is Fiction, but in the author's notes she courageously writes that the motivation comes from her living with a family member with the same issues. Rosie and Penn have five children. Rosie is a Physician and Penn is a writer, and tells the children made up fairy tales. The baby of the family Claude is different. Claude loves to wear dresses, play with dolls, wears jewelry, Barrettes in his hair,and approaches life differently than his brothers.Claude is happiest when can do this.Rosie and Penn want to see their children happy. Claude draws himself with long hair and dresses.At first his parents feel that all children go through phases. This is a controversial topic that is spoken about currently, but I feel that many of these issues just have always existed but never were addressed as openly. Children(and adults) can be devastatingly cruel, be bullies, and do not accept whatever the "norm" should be. It is not often that we speak of transgender children, sometimes as young as three. Laurie Frankel gives me much to think about. Should answers be black and white, yes or no? Does a person have to make up their mind if they feel they are a girl/boy? Is it so simple? Should society force families to keep a "secret" if their feelings don't conform to what is supposedly expected? I love the way that Laurie Frankel writes about family, love, support and acceptance I also feel that the hardest job in life is to be a parent. Of course, we want to see our children happy, but can we admit that we have certain expectations that might be or not be in our children's best interest? I highly recommend this intriguing novel. It is so very different and unique, and Laurie Frankel's descriptions are amazing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A lovely, funny, thought-provoking story. Hard to say which character was my favorite. One of the best books I have ever read. Buy this - you won’t be able to help loving every page.