The Thorn (Rose Trilogy Series #1)

The Thorn (Rose Trilogy Series #1)

by Beverly Lewis

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.49 $14.99 Save 30% Current price is $10.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 30%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Thorn (Rose Trilogy Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 228 reviews.
lipto96 More than 1 year ago
Bethany Publishers sent me an advanced reading copy of this book to review. I decided to read it right away, since it was an advanced reading copy and all -- just seemed like the right thing to do. :) The book is focused on two Amish sisters -- Rose Ann, who longs to be married and have a houseful of children of her own, and yet feels a duty to stay at home and take care of her mother, who had been involved in a terrible accident. As Rose Ann learns that it's okay to live her life, she finds herself torn between her best friend, Nick, and the man she feels she should love, Silas. The second sister is Hen. She left the Amish community and married and Englischer. Now she feels that her life is missing something and has returned to her Amish roots, completely against her husband's wishes. Now she must decide between the Amish community she misses so dearly and her marriage. When she comes back home to visit, she begins to worry about Rose Ann and what life she will choose. She doesn't want her sister to make the mistake she did of leaving her heritage behind. I actually really enjoyed this book. And of course, now I can't wait for Book 2! There is such a mix of English and Amish in this book that it really held my attention. As your reading this book, you will be torn between what you feel is best for each sister. I'm looking forward to reading this entire trilogy so that I can see what the resolution will be. I highly recommend this book. If you are unsure of whether you will enjoy a book centered around the Amish community, this will be a great book for you to start with. It will be available for you to purchase on September 10th. Visit the Bethany House website for more information and to find out where you can purchase this book.
cjv51 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this whole series of books. I enjoy learning about the Amish way of life. I have never been disappointed by this author.
kittycrochettwo More than 1 year ago
This story revolves around sisters Hannah (Hen) and Rose Ann Kauffman. Hen left the faith to marry Brandon, and Englisher, but after five years and a daughter she is longing for the life she left behind. She takes a job working in a fabric shop and soon starts wearing amish attire and making amish dresses for her daughter Mattie Sue, even though her husband is against it. When she decides to take a break from her marriage and move back home, will it be the end of her marriage, and how will the community accept her return? Rose Ann has always known she wanted to stay in the faith, even skipping her rumspringa to join the church at fifteen. Her days are spent as the primary caregiver for her mother Emma, who was injured in a buggy accident several years prior that left her confined to a wheelchair with continuous pain. Rose works one day a week as a housekeeper/cook for an English neighbor Mr. Browning. There has always been stories that Mr. Browning's house is haunted, so when Rosie starts hearing noises upstairs, a place Mr. Browning has forbidden her to go, she is determined to figure out what is going on. When Rose has a bit of free time she is fond of reading and spending time with her best friend Nick Franco, and her love life starts to look promising when Silas Good starts calling on her, but Silas doesn't like the friendship she has with Nick. She also has Hen warning her against Nick, what will Rose do? This story really moves along at a brisk pace, the author does a great job of giving us several different characters but presents them in such a way that you are drawn into each of their stories, giving us a glimpse of family structure, as well as the complexities of their daily life. While the main characters in the story are Rose and Hen, I found the secondary characters had rich stories of their own. The character of Nick, was compelling for me, plucked out of his English world to live among the amish had to be hard, and even though he had been with the community for years, he still longed for his English mother, although he was pretty good at hiding his feelings, Rose saw past his exterior and was the only friend he had. I felt like this book was a great beginning for the Rose Trilogy, and since there are many unanswered questions I am anxious to read the next book in the series titled "The Judgement" due out April 1st. I was provided a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review
LovenGod More than 1 year ago
Rose Kauffman is sure she will always be Amish, in fact she is so positive, she did not have a rumschpringe. She joined the church without having one. Will she regret doing that? She is positive that she will not regret it, she loves her life, and she loves being Amish. Rose is stretched a bit thin with all the things she has to do, taking care of her mother, and her regular chores. Plus working for Mr. Browning cooking and cleaning, time often is not a commodity that is plentiful for Rose, but she takes time to read, and takes time for her friend Nick. Nick is the bishop's adopted son, he has not joined the church, and seems rebellious.While he does seem unappreciative of the fact the bishop took him into his own family, Rose knows that he is really a good guy down deep. They spend alot of time together cleaning in the barn, working with the animals. They also like to go horseback riding together, but not everyone is seeing their friendship as a good thing. Hen, Rose's older sister left the community during her running around marrying an Englischer, but now she is looking back and missing her roots. She does not like the stuff her husband watches on tv, and lets little Mattie watch. However divorce is not something you hear about in Amish families, so when she and little Mattie shows up at her parent's home, they are worried. They push Hen and make sure that she knows her place is with her husband. A great story of friendship, regrets and life decisions, this is a great book. I know this will surprise alot of people, but this is the first Beverly Lewis book I have ever reviewed. I totally enjoyed the book and do look forward to book two of this triology which is due out in April. 344 pages US $14.99 5 stars. Thanks to Jim Hart at Bethany House, for providing this book for me to review!!
mmmorgan1089 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In ¿The Thorn¿, Lewis¿s most recently nominated title for the 2011 Christy Award, she returns to her beloved Lancaster County this time to tell the story of the Kauffman sisters as they struggle with their faith and their relationships with the men in their lives. Hen, the elder sister, is an impetuous woman who regrets her decision to leave her Old-Order Amish family to marry a worldly husband when she sees the negative effects of the modern world on her four-year-old daughter and her marriage. She returns to the family homestead but her parents and the bishop encourage her not to give up on her marriage. Hen tentatively reaches out to her husband, but wonders how successful her efforts can be given his outspoken disdain for the heritage he feels holds her captive.Hen¿s sister, Rose, has never for a moment considered leaving the Plain life. Equipped with seemingly endless supplies of patience and energy, she cares not only for her invalid mother but also keeps house for an English widower whose own life is riddled with emotional pain and family secrets. Rose is a very likeable young woman. Indeed she is an object of intense interest to two neighboring young men, one whose feet are firmly planted in Amish soil and the other, the bishop¿s foster son, whose restless heart is always roaming beyond the borders of Lancaster County. In her innocence and naiveté Rose is oblivious to the latter¿s attraction to her. It is only after he leaves under suspicion of murder that she begins to reconsider her feelings for him.Each sister stands at a crossroads and Lewis, with her usual finesse, leaves her readers longing for the next volume of the Rose Trilogy.
kittycrochettwo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This story revolves around sisters Hannah (Hen) and Rose Ann Kauffman. Hen left the faith to marry Brandon, and Englisher, but after five years and a daughter she is longing for the life she left behind. She takes a job working in a fabric shop and soon starts wearing amish attire and making amish dresses for her daughter Mattie Sue, even though her husband is against it. When she decides to take a break from her marriage and move back home, will it be the end of her marriage, and how will the community accept her return?Rose Ann has always known she wanted to stay in the faith, even skipping her rumspringa to join the church at fifteen. Her days are spent as the primary caregiver for her mother Emma, who was injured in a buggy accident several years prior that left her confined to a wheelchair with continuous pain. Rose works one day a week as a housekeeper/cook for an English neighbor Mr. Browning. There has always been stories that Mr. Browning's house is haunted, so when Rosie starts hearing noises upstairs, a place Mr. Browning has forbidden her to go, she is determined to figure out what is going on. When Rose has a bit of free time she is fond of reading and spending time with her best friend Nick Franco, and her love life starts to look promising when Silas Good starts calling on her, but Silas doesn't like the friendship she has with Nick. She also has Hen warning her against Nick, what will Rose do?This story really moves along at a brisk pace, the author does a great job of giving us several different characters but presents them in such a way that you are drawn into each of their stories, giving us a glimpse of family structure, as well as the complexities of their daily life. While the main characters in the story are Rose and Hen, I found the secondary characters had rich stories of their own. The character of Nick, was compelling for me, plucked out of his English world to live among the amish had to be hard, and even though he had been with the community for years, he still longed for his English mother, although he was pretty good at hiding his feelings, Rose saw past his exterior and was the only friend he had.I felt like this book was a great beginning for the Rose Trilogy, and since there are many unanswered questions I am anxious to read the next book in the series titled "The Judgement" due out April 1st.I was provided a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
SarahJo4110 More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mary17 More than 1 year ago
It awhile to get interesting but the book ended up being well written. Kept my attention.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I greatly enjoyed this book and look forward to the next one! esk 02/2016
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this to be such an endearing and engaging read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book's plot is very slow moving and in the end is unresolved. I also have theological issues with the author's outlook. She seems to be saying that being Amish is the only religion God okays. Because the Amish add works to what Christ accomplished for us on the Cross-that is our salvation comes from His death only-the Amish religion is a cult.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok read a bit slow moving
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book. A very enjoyable book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Engaging
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very simple story of the trials and tribulations of every day Amish way of life
Dizneyfreek More than 1 year ago
Boring & made no sense. I dumped this within the 2nd chapter. It wasn't woth my time and thank goodness it was free!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago