Time's Up, Afton (Afton Morrison, #4)

Time's Up, Afton (Afton Morrison, #4)

by Brent Jones

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Time's Up, Afton (Afton Morrison, #4) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
JBronder More than 1 year ago
Afton has come a long way from the librarian we first met in Go Home, Afton. She has made friends, gained family, learned how crazy her family really is, and taken her murdering desires in surprising directions. Now it’s time for the final confrontation with the man in the shadows. But first she has to deal with a meth dealer and his little cronies first. This has been a great series and I couldn’t wait to read the ending but at the same time I didn’t really want to leave Afton’s world. She starts to come full circle in this story getting closer to the man in the shadows and her crazy family. But there is so much more going on with the media coverage and the drug dealers causing problems. Of course Afton is embracing her inner killer as she starts to clean everything up. And I will say that the ending is going to blow you out of the water. I was NOT expecting that. But this is an amazing story and one that you need to check out. Just make sure to read the books in order or you will not get the full effect of them. I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The final part of the Afton Morrison Series is here and I couldn't be more satisfied. I absolutely LOVE how Afton accepts who she is and uses her "urges" for good. The humorous scenes keep on coming (anyone else laugh out loud at the bar scene?). And I love how the ending leaves room for me (please let there be more) but also nicely wraps up the questions I had about the plot throughout. 10/10 would recommend for those of use who love a bit of dark humor, strong female leads, and an action-packed story.
VWilliams More than 1 year ago
Afton has placed herself square under the watchful eyes of Wakefield's Police Chief Banks. Damned in the eyes of public opinion as well as those of her brother and cohorts, she appears left to her own devices to bring down her tormentor, the Man in Shadows. Her mother's last words tend to echo in her head, pleading with her to do good in the world, and she is determined to rid her town of the vermin and their drugs that has even shocked her own sensibilities. Animus is back pushing her to new heights of despotism. Afton follows her plan to clean up the meth gang as she continues her pursuit for Ray and struggles with herself and Animus over her violent and deadly tendencies. As the author delivers one twist after the other, digging ever deeper into a well-plotted but totally mind-blowing conclusion, Afton lays out a single-minded course to expose the drug gang while trying to deliver the credit to Banks. There is still much to be learned of the twin. It is a novel of hard-core graphically delivered suspense that raises additional issues each successive page. The characters are caught in the eternal battle of good vs evil, nature vs nurture, and leaves the reader to wonder if there can be any victory. There is a scandalous final twist that reveals much behind the psyche of Afton. Warning: As mentioned before, Jones delivers his unlikely protagonist in intense and raw street dialogue, sexual reference, and graphic violence. For those of you who have read books 1-3, reading book 4 will complete a horror journey begun in the first book you couldn't have imagined or expected from this generally sympathetic author. I was sent this ebook novel download by the author and greatly appreciated the opportunity to read and review. This series is recommended for any who look for a uniquely electrifying departure from your predictable genres that utilizes a dark plot, graphic situations, mystery, and suspense. 4.5/5
booklover- More than 1 year ago
This is Book 4 in a 4-book series featuring Afton Morrison. To introduce this unique character, the reader was told she's a female psychopathic vegetarian librarian who has a thirst for violence and craves the thought of taking a human life. She also has a pet goldfish. A lot has happened to Afton in the following books. She's tried so hard to overcome her thirst for killing and to follow her mother' s last wishes of doing good in her life. But, as usual, there are things that she just cannot control. This time around she's been connected to several deaths, but that's not the worst of her problems. A gang has infiltrated her town, selling impure drugs that are killing the kids taking these street drugs. Afton is offended at the thought of teenagers dying needlessly and she promises to take on the gang members .. one at a time .. until they no longer exist. That's her doing good. This has been a terrific series .... an extremely unique character struggling to overcome her thirst for killing, and leading a normal life ..whatever normal is. It's an action packed, page turning adventure for Afton, her family, her friends, the voice in her head. Many twists and turns along the way lead to an unpredictable, yet satisfying ending. As always, I highly recommend starting at the beginning ... you won't be sorry! Many thanks to the author for the digital copy of this crime thriller. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.