Touch of Darkness (Darkness Chosen Series #2)

Touch of Darkness (Darkness Chosen Series #2)

by Christina Dodd

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Touch of Darkness (Darkness Chosen Series #2) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 98 reviews.
amberia More than 1 year ago
Liked the characters and plot but HATED the writing. I really don't think this woman can write. Lots of grammar mistakes that made me reread the same sentence 3 or 4 times to understand what she was saying. I'd liked to read the others because the story was good but I just don't like the bad writing style.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great read!! I read the first book and had to read this one. This book is actually better than the first. Can't wait until she writes the next one to see what happens!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This new shape shifting series, Darkness Chosen seemed interesting. Each Wilder son transforms into a different predator. The books giving the impression that the Wilder siblings are different than their barbarian Varinski cousins based on upbringing. However the male leads are beyond dominate. I understand the female leads are infatuated with the male counterpart, but ¿no¿ should mean ¿no.¿ Rurik may be an archaeologist, but does he have to act like a guy from the same century as the artifacts his uncovering? The mother, Zorana, surely would not have approved of either of her sons, Jasha¿s or Rurik¿s behavior.
The_Book_Queen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As soon as I finished the first book in this series, Scent of Darkness, I immediately grabbed my copy of Touch of Darkness, eager to continue the spectacular story that Christina Dodd had weaved so intricately, so perfectly, making me obsessed from the start. I literally ran into my room to grab it off the shelf-- and in socks only, on a hardwood type floor, which means, what everyone?, yes, that's right, slipping and slidding. I swear, my cat was laughing at my when I grabbed wildly for my desk to keep from falling, if only because falling would slow me down, meaning it would be longer before I could get my hands on Rurik's story. I have to say that even though I loved Touch of Darkness, so far my favorite in the series was the first one, Scent of Darkness. I can't explain why, exactly, but I felt that it was written slightly better- but only slightly. How can you judge the two perfect, five star books, comparing them? Both are great, don't get me wrong, and I am confident that the last two books in the series will be just as wonderfully written. But I think I shall always hold the first one closer to my heart, even if it's only slightly closer than the rest. However, I will tell you if this top spot changes after I read book 3 and 4.Once again, Christina tells a story that grabs you from the start and pulls you head long into the book, never letting you go until the very end, and even then, you are reluctant to go. She writes witty and even touching conversations, unique, dangerous, and sexy experiences. Add to all of that, as if you could possibly want more out of a romance book, a slight touch of mystery, secrets, legends and history *Okay, so it's not true history, as far as I know, though wouldn't that be great, because if it was, then that would mean that Rurik and Jasha are really out there somewhere.... Oops, sorry, starting drooling there for a second, went off to daydream land, but I'm back. But a true fantasy/romance reader can still pretend, right?*. Combine all those elements together, add in a healthy dose of sexy alpha males who can shapeshifter and like to claim their mates *Not rape, that's left to the evil Varinkski cousins*, a love story that is anything but a fairytale *at least at first* but still fits Rurik and Tasya exactly and leaves you both hot and bothered and warm and fuzzy, and a passionate family that sticks together no matter what and you have the perfect story--Touch of Darkness.5/5 STARS! Christina has done it again! Don't miss this thrilling sequel to Scent of Darkness and don't forget to grab Into the Shadow, and, soon to be released, Into the Flame, Adrik and Firebird's stories, respectively.
NicoleReising on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Oh yeah, I loved this book. Absolutely fantastic. I really like how Christina blends a bit of humor with suspense. I have no problem connecting with the characters and loved the hero in this one. I can¿t wait to read the next story in this series.
JamesterCK on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My opinion: I liked this book quite a bit more than the first one. My biggest problem with the first book was how mousy Ann was, and the ridiculous way she tried to seduce Jasha at the beginning. But Tasya is completely different, very strong and sure of herself...and she seems to have a love/hate relationship with Rurik Wilder. After having spent an erotic night together, Tasya ran out on Rurik and they hadn't seen each other since. But when Rurik returns to his dig site, he finds Tasya there. Soon the Varinskis are on their trail and the two are on the run, both trying to find one of the four missing icons. Rurik knows she is the one that he is meant to be with, the one who has to find the icon, so he is determined to protect her at any cost. The Varinskis are after Rurik, but Tasya is hiding some crucial secrets in her past. She wants nothing more than to destroy all of the Varinski family...but what will happen when she finds out Rurik is one of them? As I said before, I really liked Tasya's character. She was a smart alec and didn't take crap from anyone, especially Rurik. And I found I liked Rurik a lot more than Jasha (from the first book) as well. I guess I was just able to connect with these two more and so I was able to enjoy the book more. As the story is progressing, I find myself so excited to get the next book to see what happens, if they find the rest of the icons to save Konstantine from eternal hell. Needless to say I'll probably be picking up the 3rd book in this series very soon!! My rating: 4/5 stars
phyllisd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Second serving in a four part series about a family trying to break a pact that has cursed their family for 1000 years. Very suspenseful and well-written. Rurik Wilder and Tasya Hunnicutt travel across Europe running from the Varinskis. I can't wait for the next book in the set.
romsfuulynn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I should know better with Dodd. She has interesting plots, but I stopped reading her historicals a long time ago, because the actions of the so-called hero would be so unacceptable that I'd be thrown out of the book. (And then throw it across the room.) It's a pity because she has interesting characters and plots. I started this paranormal series because her non-paranormal contemporaries have been interesting. This book though has a scene that absolutely turned my stomach, and made me see the male character as a disgusting rapist who would be better castrated and dead. In the relevant scene they are on a train, pursued by bad guys, and he locks the door, start by "oiling her all over" while she's sleeping, to help him accomplish the deed, she says no several times, attempts to escape(!). I'm sorry, but no number of orgasms at the end can overcome that for me. I also find one of the premises of the multi book story arc offensive. Now, I'm an agnostic/atheist, but the premise is that God will allow the Devil to take the men's father's soul, when he has done no wrong, because of some promise made by an ancestor 1000 years ago. So they are battling the Devil for their father's soul. I just can't see any remotely Christian view of God as buying into this and I find it offensive. Which brings me to my final peeve - the McGuffins that are being retrieved are "icons" and the ethnic background is Russian, but even beyond my objections above to the religious elements of the conflict, there is no visible use of the differences between the Orthodox Catholic Church and the Roman Catholic church beyond the icons. It's just religious wallpaper. As I say, it's a pity, because apart from the fact that he's a rapist, the hero and heroine are interesting and the plot has some revealing bits that I like.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book! I am ready to read the rest of this series !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hypnodoc650 More than 1 year ago
Darkness Chosen Series was a fascinating read. Be sure to start with book one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book. Love entire series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago