Touch the Sun (Rakes & Rebels: The Beauvisage Family, Book 3)

Touch the Sun (Rakes & Rebels: The Beauvisage Family, Book 3)

by Cynthia Wright

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Touch the Sun 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
Angela-Kaye More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful, witty, most fun, and loving book I have read! The connection between the main characters just jump off the page at you! A great love story intertwined with the historical story was perfect. It is a must read for any fan of Cynthia's or historical romances! One of my favorite's of hers so far!!
NavyWave62 More than 1 year ago
Ms. Wright is a Wonderful Storyteller! Ms Wright has a way of making you feel you are apart of the story. The character's of Meagan and Lion are strong, and well written. Yes, I became very frustrated with Lion - more than once. But, when he explains how he was raised, I became somewhat more forgiving. The secondary character's are so richly written, as they are in all the author's novels. You will use all your emotions in this series, and at times I felt drained. I loved how the author weaved important historical figures into the story. Meagan was so full of life and you will love how strong of a character she is from the start. Yes, there is lovemaking, but well written, and not very suggestive. From the start sparks fly between our H/H and the romance builds until you can't wait to see how it ends. (ljb)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great romance set during the Revolutionary War. Can't wait to read another book by the author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great series of books. Hooked till the last one. I cant stop until i know what will happen to the families. A must read
Anonymous 7 months ago
OMW!!! I never thought there would be a day when a story was too long!!! Oh My Word!!! Cynthia Wright should have written different stories instead of incorporating all her ideas in this one. Lion was determined to marry to enhance his political aspirations. He set off to pick up his bride to be and then he met her maid. He kept after her, relentlessly, and she gave in. His ex-mustress conspires with his half brother to steal him away from Meagan and Priscilla. There is attemoted rape, dungeons, kudnapping, and masquarades. I skipped over a good portion of the book, because the detail on top od detail was boring and lent nothing to the story. I do not recommend this story!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I so enjoyed reading this book!! A really must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Moved along very nicely and characters were flawed in a very real way.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Love all the books from Cynthia, she is wonderful with all the romance novels, love the details on every book, I almost feel like I travel on time when she describe walls, furniture, etc. Thank you so much for clean writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
really+enjoyed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe+I%27ve+just+been+reading+too+many+romance+novels+lately%2C+but+the+behavior+in+this+book+just+set+my+teeth+on+edge.+Lion+takes+real+advantage+of+Meagan%2C+and+she+gets+mad...but+then+it%27s+all+%22ohh+can%27t+resist+your+kisses%2C+mm%2C+ahhh...%22+Just+no.+She+should+have+stood+up+for+himself+and+told+him+where+to+get+off.+%28i.e.+Not+near%2C+on%2C+or+in+her.%29%0A%0AAnd+one+scene+was+genuine+rape%2C+except+once+again+the+author+made+her+decide+she+wanted+him.+He+was+degrading+her%2C+ripped+her+clothes+off+without+permission%2C+and+forced+himself+on+her...but+because+she+decided+she+wanted+it+before+penetration%2C+that+was+okay%3F+Clearly%2C+this+is+not+a+good+guy%2C+and+no+motivation+behind+his+actions+will+excuse+that.%0A%0ASometimes%2C+I+wonder+if+men+are+actually+writing+these+books+and+just+pretending+to+be+women.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
awesome+story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting historical romance with lots of interesting history offered, not just a romance book set in another time period. The story and characters are well developed and the plot has plenty of twists and turns to keep the book interesting
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+loved+the+H+who+was+alpha+Male+and+the+female+was+courageous.++the+story+held+my+interest+although+I+realized+that+I+had+read+the+story+before+under+a+different+title%2C+I+think.++I+loved+info+on+the+founding+fathers%2C+getting+a+peek+into+their+personalities+and+the+starting+of+the+new+country%2C+The+United+States.++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun, witty, and keeps you reading. I will look for more of Ms. Wright’s books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing love story. Great characters. I felt like I was there.
HeyerF4n More than 1 year ago
I started this book sometime ago but struggled with how obnoxious the so called hero was. Found his rape of the heroine extremely disturbing and put the book to one side. As I cannot persuade myself that the story will improve I have given up on finishing it. Life’s too short to read a bad book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These days, many, myself included, have turned their eyes to the multitude of stories of the American Revolution and the time immediately following. TOUCH THE SUN takes the reader to that post-revolutionary era to tell the story of Meagan Sayers and Lion Hampshire. When Meagen is suddenly orphaned, despite being the daughter of Virginia high society, she recklessly decides to run away and pose as her neighbor Pricilla's lady's maid. Lion yearns to be a part of the young country's newly formed government, but knows that his past requires that he gain respectability and money through marriage. Meagen and Lion meet when he arranges for a marriage of convenience with Priscilla and they travel to Philadelphia. It doesn't take long for Lion to realize her doesn't like his fiancee very much, but is quite intrigued by her outspoken lady's maid. Set against the backdrop of Philadelphia in the late 1780s, Meagen and Lion's story is interspersed with history of the time and real-life secondary characters that help drive the story and provide context. I originally read TOUCH THE SUN over 25 years ago and re-read it numerous times, including now in 2017. Was a favorite then and has held up against the test of time. In these difficult times that we are now facing, it was fascinating to read about the pomp and circumstance of the first presidential inauguration, where the president-elect was reluctant, yet humble about serving and the multitudes were fully supportive. I love how Cynthia Wright blends her stories of romance and history so seamlessly and intertwines families and characters from her other books, so you get to revisit old friends. If you enjoyed this third book in her Rakes and Rebels series, be sure to check out her other titles.
Booktalk_with-Eileen More than 1 year ago
The more you read from the Rakes and Rebels series, the more you want to read! Author Cynthia Wright gets right down to the things which matter in life, then and now, through her exquisite characterization of this period of history in building a nation of independence from those who are learning how to govern themselves. Men, like Lion Hampshire, grew excited by the possibility of governing for the people and by the people. Wright brings the fervor of the times to the forefront. I can actually see the people in the streets rallying around George Washington as he humbly shows his presence. I enjoyed the meeting some shakers of the birth of this new nation: Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, John Adams and George Washington, William and Anne Bingham and John and Sally Jay—all play a part in this fascinating, historically accurate story. Never have I felt so close to our forefathers as I read this book. It was thrilling to see them in action, how they thought the first leader of these United States should be addressed, where the place of residence for their supreme leader be, etc.. Lion Hampshire wants to make a difference, but his past exploits, rather a rogue, didn’t have quite the right ring to it, to be considered as part of the elite—part of those who have the right to represent the people. Could he remedy the situation? Firstly, he needs a bride from a respectable family, someone who is able to host dinners, grace his arm, mingle easily with politically minded men and women. Certainly, the heart would not be allowed to make the choice for him. And so, he chooses a woman, also looking for an exciting time in a big city, perfectly formed, exquisite manners, one Virginian belle, Priscilla Wade. Meagan Sayers, a neighbor and friend of Priscilla, recently lost her parents through an accident, also her home and everything in it to the creditors. Her father had been overwhelmed in debt by their lavish lifestyle. Meagan is to be handed off to an old aunt in Boston, which she totally refuses to do. Therefore, she concocts with her friend Priscilla, to leave to Philadelphia as her lady’s maid. Priscilla is to stay in Philadelphia to spend the time to get to know her betrothed, Lion Hampshire, before their marriage. The situation gets hilarious since Meagan is a woman who spends much of her time in breeches, riding horses, saying whatever comes to mind. How to be a quiet lady’s maid? She didn’t have the skills, temperament (her zest for life literally shone from her eyes), nor manner to secret away who she is. And she had to, because she knew these political giants personally through her family. She must keep a low profile. But wouldn’t you know it? Lion is amused with her. (I was amused with her – what a character!) He enjoys the discussions they have, he becomes more and more attracted to her. She is NOT on his agenda. But, can one stop feelings when they begin to take hold? This story spoke to me on so many levels. I thrilled to the times. I took some time to go to Wright’s Pinterest page of pictures depicting what the people wore at the time, what their streets might look like, etc. I even saw the false teeth made for George Washington. Apparently, the man consumed lots of sweets! I loved the struggle Lion went through. He had to choose between moving in the political arena with respect, or follow that organ beating in his breast. Could Meagan, after pretending to be a maid, come out with it and tell Lion who she
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He didnt like the games women played with men altho he played games. He was a jerk until near the end then he was ok...got married and then abruptly ended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the story and how they fell in love. So glad it continues from the other books in the series.Couldn't put if down and looking forward to reading the rest of your books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Strong characters, romance, wit ... this was really a good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was ok I like meagan and lion very funny at time lost of history for the history people not one that I want to keep and reread
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was captivating from start to finish. So well researched. I love how she integrated so many historical figures and gave them life. I immediately purchased more of Cynthia Wright's books.