Treasure Island

Treasure Island

Other Format(Spiral Bound - Curriculum Unit)

$19.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Treasure island 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 476 reviews.
Sonja Bush More than 1 year ago
Seriously this is an amazing story. Do not listen to bad reviews this book will absolutely captivate you. It isn't like the pathetically uncerebral books written today. If you can't handle big words... stick to Twilight. If you want something that will stimulate your imagination, I highly recommend this.
swallow More than 1 year ago
I wish people would stop giving books bad reviews for the sole reason that they are hard to read. I mean, yeah it'll be hard to understand. This was back when average intelligence, or at least vocabulary, was way higher than it is now. The fact is this is a great book, that is why they call it a classic. I guess we've been so dumbed down that we resent anything that forces us to think a little harder than normal.
Julie Moses More than 1 year ago
i just got my nook and was browsing when i found this. i have read it before, and i loved it. if you want to read something good, here you go. its a wonderful classic.
Mark Beliveau More than 1 year ago
My brother got this book on his kindle and I am soooo glad to get it for free on my nook color. I have to say,it is a must read. Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The number of typos and "imperfections" was a distraction. And there were occasions where my enjoyment was diminished by trying to figure out what the word is. I recommend trying to get a "cleaner" version of this incredible story, it is worth the effort.
Eric Becker More than 1 year ago
ggreat book but not the best copy....lots of typos
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. It is a must read for book fanatics. There are a few errors/spelling mistakes but it doesn't make the book less enjoyable. This is the best book i have read so far. Got to love the classics. If you are looking for a book filled with pirates and exciting adventures than this is the book to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It costs $0.99 and whenever I try to read it a little sign pops up that says sorry can't open this book I'm going to delete it after I write this review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am on chapter 22 right now and so far, i love it! A lot of peeps die in this book in case you didn't read it yet. It's all about pirates and treasure and killing people(peeps are people!). ANYWAYS............I love this book. And I think you should read a book called The Call Of The Wild by Jack London. That is also one of my favorite books.
noodlenj More than 1 year ago
Compared to the real book this downlaod has way too many misspellings. Sometimes instead of ltters symbols are used! Loved the story though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is a reason this book is an all time classic. It started adventure with buried treasure and pirates. It is a difficult read because it was written at a time when English was almost a different language. When pirates had their own vocabulary. In all a great adventure story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I mean the book is okay but the movie is better. But who cares about the plot the adventur is better. It is more awe to it but anyway love the book ,but the movie is better it is how I rool. [Look if u single caal back]
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking for a book one summer, so my Dad took me to the library. I did not know what to read so he said let's look at the 'classics'. We asked the woman at the desk what some classics were and she said Treasure Island. We ll we found the book and a few others. Ipicked it up in the car on theway home and i was hooked. It starts with a young Jim Hawkins at his father's motel. One day a one-legged pirate came in and he was in awe. You have to read young Jim's story, you will be in awe. 5 stars at LEAST? Great book. I would recomend to anybody with craving for thrill.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got the "SURPERIOR FORMATTING PUBLISHER" Treasure Island, and the interactive table of content is broke, it does not do anything but a half second flash. Also, the page count is off, it scips 2-3 page numbers, but I don't think there are breaks in the reading, just bad counting.
Gantois on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This one is an all time favourite of mine, from when I was a boy till now. So much more than what a lot of people consider as a children's book.
Figgles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Rollicking adventure tale - great fun and now I know more about the allusions in Arthur Ransome's novels.
MissTeacher on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A nice adventure book...one I cannot believe I haven't read before!! Long John Silver was well developed and very well balanced, and I am a sucker for an antagonist with a heart!The characters, though not fleshed out or fully developed, are enticing and realistic. This is, by far, a pure adventure story, though the adventure is slow in rolling itself out. The simple suspense is delightful, and the justice dispensed to those of blacker hearts seems reasonable and natural. Long John Silver's disappearance at the end definitely leaves a wide window for future legends, ideas and adventures to form themselves.
Austin22 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A ship's crew go and head in to the ocean to find Treasure Island
superphoenix on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An all time favorite. it has everything in it that goes to make a good book - i think everyone should read this book
karenmerguerian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had heard it was one of the world's great adventures, but I always thought it would be a "little boys book." It turned out to be highly nuanced and can probably be enjoyed by all ages and genders because it works on many levels. The adventure itself is a great hook, and you don't want to stop reading at the end of each chapter, but it turns out that it's all really about loyalty and what that means, and about how to survive a journey with pirates and still keep one's honor. Long John Silver is one of the great complex villains/foils I've encountered in fiction, not a caricature like the brilliantly colorful villains in Dickens, and not so one-dimensional as the sadistic evildoers of other contemporary children's authors like Brian Jacques and Jerry Spinelli. He's as charming and compelling to the reader as he is to the hero-narrator. The illustrations in this edition are good, too.
5hrdrive on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Just about the perfect adventure story. Pirates, buried treasure, loyalty, double-crossing, murder, mayhem, mystery - it's got it all, and a terrific coming of age story as well. Literally, the book that launched a thousand ships in the form of other pirate adventures all the way up to the present day. And I have to admit that with twenty pages to go I still had very little idea how it was going to end.
Cygnus555 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Read this again for the first time! It's been many years and it was like reading it fresh again - ya gotta love getting old! A Classic and must-read; there are so many concepts, phrases and ideas that originated with this book. Very enjoyable. For a children's book, it is a bit rough by today's standards, but the moral lessons of loyalty are powerful - the moral ambiguity is a lesson.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was amazing! A story of a kid who went to go look for treasure island
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dont judge books by their cover-im sure plenty of you have heard that saying-if the author isnt a great artist, who cares? What matters is the quality of the story and other writing stuff. And also a note to people who like this book and are saying things mabye mean to haters on thus book, just know that everybody is uniqe, there is absolutely no same person.-unless clone machine were invented of course XD-Anyways, what im trying to say is that you have a very differant mindsett or thought than the book hater. I am done with this message now. Thx for reading.