The Triumph of Katie Byrne

The Triumph of Katie Byrne

by Barbara Taylor Bradford

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Triumph of Katie Byrne 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
melissiag on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
nothing too exciting, but is an easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book looked really interesting when I read the jacket cover and I was looking forward to settling down with it but was very disappointed when I did. It was slow AND boring.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bradford's book started out as captivating and suspensful but became very dull too quickly. Unenjoyable because the literary style seemed incredibly lacking as trite expressions that made it seem she was trying to hard were too common. It made everything seem artificial and you never find yourself in touch with the characters. Reminiscent of a Brady Bunch episode and has a mother with an annoying and seemingly fake Irish accent. Not worth your time reading it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first part of the book was intriguing and kept me coming back but it weathered slow in the middle. All in all it was not one of Ms. Taylor's best novels but interesting enough to bring you full circle to a happy conclusion. I would recommend it for a day at the beach.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first few chapters of this book were great, really suspenseful and interesting. However, it then flashes to ten years later without clarifying anything! It totally drops the first and most interesting storyline and goes on to a drab, rather boring look at the life of a non-believable actress. I found myself skipping to the end, and even that was disappointing and random. This book had great potential, but sort of dropped the ball as it went on.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was absouloutly amazing and I think you should also read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well written. Easy to understand. Rather lengthy and dull in the middle during her 'research' into the Bronté sisters. Insight into how a tragic event filters down into the lives of everyone around them not just the ones it happened to. Good story idea but where did the killer come from? I thought the killer was Katie's boyfriend but at the end all of a sudden a new name is introduced. That just didn't work for me. The Triumph of Katie Byrne had promise but I wouldn't call this one of her best efforts. Perhaps mystery/thrillers just isn't Bradford's genre.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading the description of the book I couldn't wait to for it to be released to read it. I was terribly disappointed. The book started out good but got extremely boring in the middle. Towards the end it picked up a little but the killer is pretty lame. I have read other books by Bradford and think that she needs to stick to that genre and stay away from mystery/thrillers. Sorry Barbara.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fans of Ms. Bradford's earlier works will be truly disappointed. The charaters and the plot was shallow. The story dragged and lacked direction. Even though the story appeared to be a mystery and the triumph over adversity, I came away without caring about any of the main charaters. I just kept waiting and hoping for the plot to develop, unfortunately this never happens.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An interesting and intriguing mystery novel that shows how a traumatic, tragic experience in one's past can impact current relationships. This mystery novel is well-written and easy to read with characters that you will think about for awhile after reading the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This new attempt at a mystery novel for Ms. Bradford begins on a rather fast tract and gains interest early but toward the second half of the book after a ten year time gap..it begins to lag..While there are some interesting developments of 'side characters' the main ingredients of a mystery novel particularly clear motivation for the crime are never fully approached. The ending was fairly predictable and therefore in my opinion the 'page turning' intensity of a good mystery novel was not present. It is a simple, enjoyable read although rather light...especially for a mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lame
harstan More than 1 year ago
Ten years ago in Malvern, Connecticut three teenage friends (Katie Byrne, Carly Smith, and Denise Matthews) dreamed of performing together on Broadway. However, the aspirations for two of them tragically ended in the nearby woods. Katie discovers the bloodied unconscious body of Carly while Katie¿s brother finds the raped and murdered corpse of Denise. Though having DNA evidence from the rape, Detective MacDonald never found the culprit.

Now Katie, a poised actress on the verge of stardom on Broadway, remains haunted and lives in fear that the killer will finish the malevolent task by murdering her. Her dread of being number three has impacted her confidence. Thus, in London, when Katie meets caterer Xenia Leyburn, she accepts the kind offer of solace at the latter¿s family home where Katie can learn more about her upcoming role as Emily Bronte. Will Katie succeed or will she always look over her shoulder?

THE first 150 pages of THE TRIUMPH OF KATIE BYRNE is some of the most eloquent and insightful descriptions of people coping with a sudden tragedy. The story line slows down a bit when Katie becomes more introspective in the latter half of the novel. Still, that segment displays how talented a writer Barbara Taylor Bradford is as the second half of the book is a well-written character study with touches of romance and police procedural events tied to the plot. Fans of the author will enjoy Ms. Bradford¿s latest triumph.

Harriet Klausner