True Love (Nantucket Brides Trilogy #1)

True Love (Nantucket Brides Trilogy #1)

by Jude Deveraux

Hardcover

$21.60 $27.00 Save 20% Current price is $21.6, Original price is $27. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

True Love 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 151 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
True Love is a brilliantly developed tale! Basked in the history of the beautiful ghost ridden island of Nantucket, you can't help but fall in love with the island, characters and the story Jude Deveraux wove for us to enjoy. Drenched in family bonds, you have the feeling of homecoming as you turn the pages. Superb story of love, friends, happiness and home! Don't miss your chance to take a trip to Nantucket, you'll be glad you came! Alix is not too thrilled about spending one year in a beautiful old home in Nantucket--an arrangement in the will of a woman she hasn't seen since she was four years old--but since it came on the heels of a nasty breakup with her boyfriend and she's just graduated architectural school, she figures why not. World famous architect/womanizer Jared Montgomery Kingsley is temporarily staying in the guesthouse, waiting to inherit the mansion after Alix's year is up. Jared doesn't want to be a hero; he just wants to be "a guy." Let me add here that Jared doesn't know he's one of THOSE Montgomerys, and doesn't meet his extended family for the first time until halfway through the book. He's much more concerned with the Kingsley side of the family, which includes a ghost, a legacy, and a mystery. If you like this author, then you will like this book. It is a love story as well and it will touch your heart.Jude Deveraux is one of my favorite romance authors. Her characters are fun, intriguing, and usually get themselves into some kind of trouble.  The people in this trilogy come from all different backgrounds, and the Nantucket setting is the perfect backdrop for these stories. I'm anxiously awaiting to see which couple the next book focuses on.       
Traann More than 1 year ago
True Love by Jude Deveraux is the first book in her Nantucket Brides Trilogy.  It is set on the Island of Nantucket off of Massachusetts and after reading the book I think I need to visit Nantucket.  Jude paints such a vivid picture of the Island and its residents I feel as if I had been there and met all of it’s full time residents. The story revolves around Alix Madsen, an architectural student who has just finished school and is getting ready to take her certification tests, and Jared Montgomery Kingsley, a world renowned architect who is uncomfortable with Alix moving into his ancestral home and becoming his new neighbor for the next year.  He is torn between being attracted to her and not wanting another “fan” following him around, treating him like a superstar.  Alix and Jared finally come to an agreement and that allows the relationship to unfold. If you are a Jude Deveraux fan you will not be disappointed, in fact, you will be thrilled, excited, enchanted and grateful to be reading another of her books that centers around the next generation of the Montgomery and Taggert families.  True Love brings us right back into a story that involves a Montgomery cousin and a family ghost.  There is a mystery to solve, danger to overcome, secrets, tension between Alix and Jared and a wedding to plan. This book sets up the next book in the trilogy and I guessing it will be about Toby and Grayson, Crown Prince of Laconia, who meet at the end of the story.  You don’t have to read all the books in the series but the family history adds to the richness of the characters and excites you with looking for your favorites to show up and behave in a way you remember.  It is like attending a family reunion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It took me nearly a week to read this book. Normally, when I read a JD novel, I can't put it down. This time I felt the opposite. It was a chore to read this to its conclusion. There was no real chemistry to the main characters. I found myself more interested in the supporting characters.
suzie32 More than 1 year ago
Jude is Back!!! I could not put this book down. I was so excited to see her writing about the Montgomery family again. She won me over with the Velvet Series. All her books that had the Taggarts and the Montgomery were my favorite. It is visiting with family members when you read them. I look forward to more of this series. Thank you for going back to the stories that you made us all fall in love with.
ornerylibrarian More than 1 year ago
For over two hundred years a lonely spirit has waited to reunite with his lost love. Caleb was lost at sea when he tried to sail home to his lady. Now he haunts the Nantucket family home waiting for her return. Adelaide Kingsley was the owner of the home and in her will she left a stipulation that Alixandra Madsen (who visited the house as a child) be allowed to live there for one year and try to solve the mystery of Valentina Montgomery's disappearance (who was Caleb's love). Only then can the true heir, Jared Montgomery Kingsley, take possesion of the house. This lively tale has a host of characters that one assumes will be seen again in the next two books of this series, The Nantucket Brides. Alix and Jared's story has a lot of twists and turns with a pleasant surprise ending. Ms. Deveraux has done it again. This one is a winner and I look forward to the next two stories in the Bride series.
Dommo More than 1 year ago
I like this book fine but felt it didn't need to be as long as it is. Also I wasn't truly convinced that a character like Jared Montgomery would fall madly in love with Alix Madsen. I felt her character wasn't as developed as some of the others. I did like the relationship between Jared and his ghostly grandfather Caleb. I also like the vivid strokes Ms. Devereaux gives to the island of Nantucket. Overall, I do recommend the book and will read the 2nd in the series. The authored has piqued my interest in reading about Toby and her partnered groomsman (can't recall his name!).
arbjamesAJ More than 1 year ago
When Alix finds herself the resident of a haunted Nantucket mansion for a year after a nasty break-up, she has no idea how much her life is going to change.  Charged with solving a 200-year-old mystery, Alix is charmed by the island as well as the house's ghostly inhabitant.  Then there's the guy in the guest house, Jared, who just happens to be Alix's hero.  Why does the ghost of Captain Caleb still walk?  Can Alix solve the mystery of what happened to Caleb's beloved Valentina while at the same time opening her own heart to love with Jared?  Will true love truly conquer all? I had read some of Jude Deveraux's books many years ago but drifted away from that genre.  I was very pleasantly surprised at how quickly I got caught up in this story.  It has so many elements that I enjoy in a good read--romance, mystery, humor, and just enough paranormal happenings to spice things up.  I enjoyed all the descriptions of Nantucket, although I do think that too much time was spent describing all the meals they characters ate (it's a wonder they could still fit into their clothes with all that rich food they ate!).  All of the family connections were a bit hard to keep up with, but I imagine they will be expanded upon in future volumes.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was thrilled to get to read any story that has the Taggert & Montgomery family in it. I just didn't fall slap dab in love with these two as I have ALL the rest in the series. I'm taking about goin all the way back to The Dutchess & The Maiden! I was starved for it, I loved em so much. Still do. Do u remember Judith& Gavin?! Raine? Come on, we need that strong & pasionate of chariters back. I've loved Jude Deverax since 85! So I do exspect the BEST. Rhop
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book helped me escape from stress and become immersed in the lives of the characters within the book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very rarely have i ever been disappointed with Jude Deveraux's books!! This one was wonderful, was so glad to be reunited with the montgomerys and the taggerts can't wait for the next one!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always love the way she includes the older characters in her new books. The Montgomerys and the Taggarts go way back to the early books. I could hardly put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story started off okay but lost direction with too many characters across generations. I had to struggle to finish and did not really understand some of what happened at the end. Disappointing !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very intriguing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just love the Taggert and Montgomery family. What a wonderful intro to the Kingsley Cousins. Another beautifully written love story with both a strong female and male lead. Lots of wonderful and well developed family members. Jude has done it again. Can’t wait for Lexie and Toby’s story!!
Ninbear More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good. Highly recommend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Now fu.ck me"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love across the ages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago