Unbroken (The Young Adult Adaptation): An Olympian's Journey from Airman to Castaway to Captive

Unbroken (The Young Adult Adaptation): An Olympian's Journey from Airman to Castaway to Captive

by Laura Hillenbrand

Hardcover

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Unbroken (The Young Adult Adaptation): An Olympian's Journey from Airman to Castaway to Captive 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book by Hillenbrand. I can't wait to see the movie. I hope the movie stays true to the events as they happened to Louie Zamperini. What a great book.
mpiel More than 1 year ago
Louie Zamperini is a very relate able charter since he trained for running in the Olympics. He is a very strong mentally all that he has endeavored. This book kept me reading all weekend. For me it was a very quick read and enjoyable. At times in the book it was gruesome when Louie or other P.O.W. were being tortured. It's very emotional at times of close death. The imagery in this book is very clear and can be understood with no problem. It doesn't go into depth about the war itself but it's does tell you in parts of the book the stages of the war and what it's like as a P.O.W. The book is much better than the movie version. Unbroken is one of my favorite books and I wish I had read it sooner to the release. This book will make you sad but you have a sense of pride once you finish it. I highly recommend it to any teen or adult. If you like WW2 or want to know more about WW2 then, you will love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story of survival and overcoming extreme hardship that leads to PTSD. Zamperini then finds the strenghth through faith and love to better his crumbling postwar war-hero life and put his traumatic experiences behind him, living an astonishing life. Inspirational and a must read!
jackauslen More than 1 year ago
Awesome The book Unbroken, written by Laura Hillenbrand, is about a man named Louis Zamperini and his amazing story. It begins with describing Louis as a kid and how he joins the track team and flourishes going on to run in college and in the Olympics. He is then drafted by the Air Force to fight in World War II where he is stationed in Hawaii and is a bombardier. On a mission he gets shot down and survives on an inflatable raft and is then captured by the Japanese and put in a POW camp for around two and half years. His camp is eventually liberated and he returns to the US struggling with PTSD but when he finds God, is cured of his sickness and troubles. The major themes in this book have to be perseverance and determination. Louis is tortured in a POW camp for over two and half years, being starved and worked like a slave. He showed that his perseverance and determination are the only reasons that he was able to survive when so few did. He also shows this in his track career where he shows that his determination to train and get better paid off in the big races. What I liked the most about this book is the fact that I can relate to Louis. Even though I’ve never been thrown into a POW camp or survived on an inflatable raft for forty days, my main claim about my personality and who I am is my tenacity. Louis obviously shows tenacity in everything that he does and this helped me become interested in his story and how he survived these terrible and trying situations. What I liked least about this book though is that the author tended to drag on about certain subjects. I think the reason that she did this was to add emphasis to the current situation but eventually, I got bored with all of the examples and explanations that she gave. This book is simply a must read. This book overall is extremely well written and engages the reader tremendously. I’m not usually a big reader, I find it hard to sit down with a book and read it for a couple hours but this book kept me entertained through the entire story. This book inspired me to be more tenacious in what I do but also put some perspective on my troubles. The most I have to deal with is when I get a lot of homework or have a hard practice at track, compared to the pain and suffering that all of these POW’s and their families went through, I’m thankful that I have hardly any worries in my life. I would give this book a five out of five stars easily and look forward to reading other books written by Laura Hillenbrand including Seabiscuit.
412604LB More than 1 year ago
Life is worth living. Long live Louie Zamparini.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great book for young adulty
tillieny More than 1 year ago
While I didn't realize that I was reading the Young Adult Adaptation until I was asked to do this review, this book was an incredibly interesting read about an experience during WWII. I had no idea these things happened....horrible. It was a great book about one persons amazing experience and how they persevered.
DramaDT More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent book! Being a veteran myself in the 80's I was very interested to read about the military from back then. But what was more interesting, was the details in his life from childhood to his return home from being POW. It gives you a new found respect for the veterans for every war that has gone on! Everyone should read this book! Our soldiers have really given their lives, and even if they return home this book will really explain what they have gone through.
matthewsullivan 9 days ago
Overall, this book was a very fascinating read. Louis’s overall determination and suffering really hits you while you are reading this book. Although this book is very gruesome, I think it is a fantastic read— especially if you like World War 2 or you want to learn more about it. The overall setting and genre really clashes together to create a humbling atmosphere that is really compatible with the theme of this book. The language that is used in this story is extremely easy to comprehend, so it should be in every reader’s library. This book really creates a theme of hope and determination throughout the whole story. Louis’s extreme trauma and suffrage really compels the reader into the story and makes the reader really wonder what is going to happen next. There are plenty of graphic and disturbing moments in this book, but these moments really contribute to the storytelling. The use of World War 2 and how Louis got to where he is is overly compelling for the author to incorporate into the story. This book has fresh ideas that I’ve never read about before. From the characters to the plot this story has a lot of work and details that make it what it is. To elaborate more on the setting, when louis is in the Atlantic Ocean or in Japan the setting is elaborated on immensely (as well as the characters). The author is very descriptive and creative when it comes to the events in her story. But these details really give you a real life feel of how Louis was feeling throughout this book. His struggles, victories, and emotions are all very important details that Laura Hillenbrand incorporates extremely well into the story. This book is extremely moving and emotional; there are certain parts that are worth tears and some parts that are worth screams. Throughout the book, Hillenbrand uses her knowledge of writing to really give the reader a feel for how the characters are feeling during the novel. She does this very professionally and smoothly. There are no boring moments in this story; this book is truly an emotional roller coaster. To sum up, Unbroken is a fantastic book that every reader should have in their libraries. It is great to humble and entrap you into the world that Louis Zamperini is sucked into. There are plenty of scenes that draw you in and won’t let you stop reading. Also, this is a great book to introduce young adults about World War 2. Nonetheless, I highly recommend this story to any reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Out of all of the books I have read, this book ranks in the top three. This book is about a man named Louie Zamperini who as a young boy is very turbulent and does voluminous pranks around his neighborhood. The book states, “He picked the lock at the town bakery, snatched pies, ate until he was full, and used the rest as ammunition for ambushes.” (Pg.8) His older brother Pete Zamperini wanted his brother to be more than a delinquent who robbed houses, so he started training him to become a track legend.The book states, “ From then on, Pete was all over Louie, herding him out to train and riding his bike behind him, whacking him with a stick.”(Pg.15) Louie had talent, but being forced to run made him more resistant. He would pack up his clothes, stormed for the door, and would hitchhike to Los Angeles with his friend. Louie would eventually become a champion in college and he even made it to the 1936 Olympics at only 19 years old. Five years later, he would join the U.S. Airforce and would be trained as a bombardier. Louie and his crew would fly a B-24 which they called Superman because it was noble and never failed them. One major event is when their plane crashes and three of the men survive on a raft including Louie. They are taken to a prisoner of war camp in Japan where a sergeant named Mutsuhiro Watanabe would terrorize Louie for two straight years. I liked the book more than I disliked the book because the book really talked about the struggle it was to be a prisoner of war for one of the most barbaric nations in that time. One of my favorite parts is when Louie is at the POW camp and he must keep the stick balanced on his head without dropping it. Mutsuhiro told the guard that if he dropped it he must shoot him on the spot. He suffered so much at the camp mainly because of the Bird which was Mutsuhiro’s nickname around the camp. Watanabe actually struck Louie in his temple with his golden belt buckle which knocked Louie unconscious. The Bird also starved many prisoners who almost lost about eighty pounds in weeks because of the lack of food they were receiving. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about a story about perseverance and redemption.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reading this book really opened up my eyes and showed me Louie's perspective on what he went through. In this book he gets into detail about how his life went from being in the Olympics to going into the military to being a castaway to POW Camps and everything else that has happened. Louie has proven to us that he is very strong willed, and doesn't give up no matter the situation. When the book ended it really showed you how dedicated he was to making it out alive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey ash
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it. The book changed my life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book left me speechless! Thank you Louie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read a lot of books but this was probably the best story I have ever read. I've read a lot of survival stories as well but how many people survive 4 things that would easily break and eventually kill our spirit and end our life? This is a book well written. The author does a great job telling this man's unbelievable true story. I seriously would read this book over and over again. This book is a page turner. I loved it so much that I went and saw the movie. Although the movie was not able to fit everything the book tells, it does give you more to the imagination of what he actually went through.