Unveiled

Unveiled

by Courtney Milan

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Original)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Unveiled 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 87 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*Loved this story. What a magnificent hero.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great twist to the typical hero. Nice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun story to tead. The hero was kind, passionate, and more interested in otherd than himself. Easy to believe the interactions between the families.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading some of the reviews i was prepared not to care for Ash, the hero. But i have to say i was more than pleasantly surprised by hia character. He is the man who truly comes to rescue a damsel in distress. I dont want to give anything away...but I did internally sigh a few times wishing there were real men like that in the world. As far as the story goes...it was decent and a little slow moving. I was not riveted, but definitely wanted to finish the novel. The author also educates you in society edicts back then including women's attire and what is expected at social gatherings whether they be balls or fetes. This book does have graphic sex scenes, but not the most graphic that i have ever read. It is dedinitely not for junior readers.
epicrat More than 1 year ago
I don't think my heart has ever beat so hard while reading a romance - and certainly I haven't giggled with delight for quite some time at some of the mishaps that happen between the two main characters! Courtney Milan definitely has another heart-thumping winner with her latest release Unveiled! The great thing about Ms. Milan's romances, I think, is how flawed - and yet how adorably so! - her heroes are - and Ash is certainly cut from the same cloth! I admired his fierce loyalty for his younger brothers and his drive to provide them with everything he believed that they deserved after living an impoverished childhood, even stealing a dukedom through legal channels. He comes across as a powerfully built, fair, charming, and ruthlessly loyal man - but deep down, he is still with insecurities and shameful secrets that he cannot share with anyone, even his brothers. Margaret is a strong woman - another thing I like about Ms. Milan's romances - who certainly has a sturdy backbone to face the intimidating Ash who basically ruined her life. She too has a deep sense of family commitment - and it is this that prevents Ash and Margaret to embrace their passion for each other. She wants to protect her family, and he his - and at the heart of the matter lies the dukedom and who owns it. Unveiled was a romance that had great strength, unwavering loyalty, and exuberant romance at its backbone - and I definitely am itching for its sequel Unclaimed in the fall!
Anonymous 8 months ago
Loved the beginning became corny in the middle until the end Not as good as proof by seduction
Cailin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sometimes you just need a good love story! This was perfect for a snowy weekend!
ktleyed on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My first book by this author and nominated for the RITA, I had to see what it was all about. Unfortunately, I'm afraid I'm the odd one out in regard to it. I just didn't feel the love for Unveiled that everyone else has. Maybe it's because I'm not a huge fan of revenge themes nor of self-sacrificing types who are much too saintly - this book had both. I grew tired of it early on. Maybe it's me, but the lengthy deception of Margaret's, disguised as a nurse instead of the daughter of the dying duke seemed interminable. Ash's instant attraction to her was just so unbelievable and boring for me, despite the fact he is her adversary. Yes, yes there was a lot of inner turmoil and self-analysis and ultimate realization that "Gee, I guess I really don't have to be a martyr to find fulfillment!" But by that point, at the end I'd already grown bored with it all, for it was all too obvious what needed to be done on their parts. I just wanted the book to end already and have them admit their love and to hell with their family obligations! I found it more frustrating than anything else, although I liked Ash's brothers and am looking forward to their books.
doxiemomx2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A very good book with a plot and characters that stay with you. Ash was a fascinating hero, conflicted and caring. The story had a great lesson about life and making the right choices. It was quite difficult to imagine how the situation would resolve itself which made for good reading and keeping the interest up. I became very emotionally invested in this book (something that doesn't happen as often as it should).
bookworm2bookworm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I usually wait a few days to review the book I¿ve read. Sometimes I wait weeks. I always need time to process, to absorb the story. Weigh points that I liked against the ones I did not. Well, that was before I read this book. I was done with it two minutes ago, and I just had to sit and tell you how much I loved this story. I¿m still in kind of euphoria, sort of high. I¿m afraid I¿m just going to start gushing and gushing over the Hero, Ash Turner. Ms. Milan has introduced to us a character that will live with us for some time. I recall only a handful of such Heroes that sort of steal themselves into our hearts, and stay there for decades. Such as Johanna Lindsey¿s James Mallory, Diana Gabaldons¿ James Frazer, and recently Judith James¿ Gabriel St. Croix.Ash Turner is a flawed man, a man¿s man. He¿s not a tortured hero, like some reviewers described him. No, he¿s more of a man with a lot of regrets. They are the ones that keep him awake at night. He¿s also a man who loves his brothers to death and is not ashamed to show it. There is nothing he would not do for them. At fourteen, as the oldest, he had to leave his siblings with their mother while he went to India to make his fortune. That is something he seems to regret, yet at the same time he knows that there was no other alternative. It¿s just something he knows he has to live with, except it. It is hard to do that when you come back and find your family, your brothers on the streets. But, he¿s Ash, charming Ladies as well as servants is very easy to him. There is nothing fake about him. What he feels, we¿re made to feel. When he speaks, we listen, we absorb. We get him!And then we have Margaret. What a wonderful, poised, sweet, loyal, strong woman she is. We are made to love her slowly and gradually. How refreshing it is to read a book where two mature adults fall in love and the conflict they find each other in, straightens that love, gives it wings. This story will surprise you and take you on an unexpected journey. Don¿t hesitate to take it! We are made to fall in love with both of these people in such an easy way. As Ash shows Margaret that she matters, we as readers feel that Ms. Milan is giving us a gift of our own and is telling us that we matter.This story had everything a romance novel should have. All the characters were very vivid, extremely well-developed. In one scene, almost at the end of the book, we meet this butler, and even though we never meet him again, we SEE him, we KNOW him, and we GET the picture in our head. I¿m sorry, I¿m ahead of myself, and the only excuse I have is that I want to let you know that you just CAN NOT pass this read.Often times, we can tell much of the book by reading all those blurbs on the back of it. In this case, we get only a glimpse of the story. Ms. Milan has given us a conundrum by having Ash seek revenge, and by putting Margaret in such a place of choosing loyalty to her family, or loyalty to Ash?! What, how does one choose?! We are kept in suspense until the bitter end, and it is so good once you read that part!I understand that Mark¿s story ¿Unclaimed¿ is next, and I am itching for it!
Unreachableshelf on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I adore the hero and the heroine in this book, but mostly the hero. Anybody who thinks that historical romance is inhabited by nothing but brutal Alph-hole males needs to meet Ash. He may bear some superficial resemblance to the type thanks to the lengths to which he's willing to go to protect or to avenge the people he loves. But as a rule Ash builds people up, most of all Margaret. And Margaret is remarkable for her strength and endurance in the face of having lost the position that until recently has defined her life.As always, Milan is wonderful in her historical detail. Her characters are not historically typical, but they are historically believable. A strong cast of supporting characters rounds out the book. I eagerly await Mark's story in Unclaimed.
theepicrat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I don't think my heart has ever beat so hard while reading a romance - and certainly I haven't giggled with delight for quite some time at some of the mishaps that happen between the two main characters! Courtney Milan definitely has another heart-thumping winner with her latest release Unveiled!The great thing about Ms. Milan's romances, I think, is how flawed - and yet how adorably so! - her heroes are - and Ash is certainly cut from the same cloth! I admired his fierce loyalty for his younger brothers and his drive to provide them with everything he believed that they deserved after living an impoverished childhood, even stealing a dukedom through legal channels. He comes across as a powerfully built, fair, charming, and ruthlessly loyal man - but deep down, he is still with insecurities and shameful secrets that he cannot share with anyone, even his brothers.Margaret is a strong woman - another thing I like about Ms. Milan's romances - who certainly has a sturdy backbone to face the intimidating Ash who basically ruined her life. She too has a deep sense of family commitment - and it is this that prevents Ash and Margaret to embrace their passion for each other. She wants to protect her family, and he his - and at the heart of the matter lies the dukedom and who owns it.Unveiled was a romance that had great strength, unwavering loyalty, and exuberant romance at its backbone - and I definitely am itching for its sequel Unclaimed in the fall!
saltypepper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Courtney Milan has yet to write a book I didn't love and this is one of my favorites. There is nothing simple about the situation the characters find themselves in, and although I was sure of a HEA, I wasn't at all sure of how they were going to get there.I really, really hope that this is the first of a trilogy as Ash's brothers Mark and Smite are more than interesting enough to carry their own books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The twists and turns keep the pages turning
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, good characters, especially Ash, good storyline.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago