Cirque du Freak Manga, Vol. 4: Vampire Mountain

Cirque du Freak Manga, Vol. 4: Vampire Mountain

by Darren Shan

Paperback

$13.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Vampire Mountain (Cirque Du Freak Series #4) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 245 reviews.
R-Orbitz More than 1 year ago
First off, this is the fourth book in the Cirque Du Freak series. So far from the five books I've read form this series, this is the most action-packed, and clever. It all starts when Darren and Mr. Creepsley prepare to partake on their horrific journey to Vampire Mountain. Darren was only 13 when he was turned into a half-vampire to become Mr.Creepsley, a full vampire's assistant. Hidden away in a snowy, barely accesible corner of the world stands Vampire Mountain, where vampires come to meet every 12 years. The council (as they call it) is controlled by Vampire Princes- who are obeyed by all vampires. Second in command are the Vampire Generals. Darren and Mr. Creepsley's long, pain staking, and dangerous journey there takes up about half the book, During that time, Darren learns of some terrifying news. When they arrive, Darren meets the princes and generals. There they decide Darren and Mr. Creepsley's fate, because Darren is far too young to have been blooded. They come to agreement to have Darren partake in three extremely difficult "vampire trials" to prove himself worthy. If he does not, then he will be sent to the Hall of Death and be killed. The plot is very twisted and will leave you wondering what is to happen next. If you enjoy adventure, alot of suspense, plot twsits, a quick-read, and you just like to read in general then I reccomend reading the Cirque Du Freak series and Cirque Du Freak: Vampire Mountain.
Zane-ride More than 1 year ago
This book feels like a 208 page transition. It is slower paced than the other 11 books, but still is a compelling read. Even with the slow pace, this book is worth the read. And the series only gets better after this. Bottom line: More blood and guts. More vampires. More Darren Shan.
ElizaJane on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This time around Darren and Mr. Crepsley journey to Vampire Mountain to attend the Vampire Council held every 75 years where Darren will be presented to the Vampire Generals and Vampire Princes for the first time. This is a ritual every new vampire must go through. This volume in the series was particularly interesting as we found out so much more about the vampire history and mythos. We also finally find out the what the "Little People" really are and Lefty becomes more of a main character. While the journey takes up most of the book and the plot is mostly a set up for the next book I really enjoyed learning more about the world of the vampires. Book 5, Here I come!
Darrol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This story shares the flaws of many recent vampire stories: No interaction with and around humans. It is this interaction that gives vampires their power. Without, it is just another fantasy.
Elphaba71 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm loving the Saga of Darren Shan. Slowly Darren is comming to admire & respect Mr Crepsley. Vampire Mountain tell of their journey to Darrens first Vampire council meeting, and as always there are Foe's and fears to face........ and a Great Cliffhanger ending! Anain another fab page turning read.
gsmattingly on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable and quick read. Looking forward to the next in the series.
smg626 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this saga of Darren Shan, I found this episode fun as the first half of the story is the venture to Vampire Mountain. The second half of the story details the secret life of vampires, the Council and the Halls of Vampire Mountain (much like a government). Many unknowns become revealed (e.g. exactly what little people are and that they can talk). Much like other stories in this series, Darren is light hearted and "okay" even though he speaks often of fear.
nm.fall07.k.coffin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book it was pretty good. It has alot of twists and turns during the course of the story. This story is about a half vampire boy who is on his way to a mountain inhabited by vampires. He makes this journey with his fellow vampire.
CheriePie69 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another good quick read in the Darren Shan stories. Yes, the plot is somewhat simple in comparison to some of the other recent books I've read, but that's what makes this a young adult book, and a quick read too. But they're no less enjoyable for it. In this installment, Darren and Mr. Crepsley make their way to Vampire Mountain, accompanied by two of the Little People at Mr. Tiny's insistence, for a meeting of the Vampire Council, an event which takes place only once every 12 years. The journey is long and hard, and along the way, they run into a few dangers, including a mad bear who's recently snacked on an even madder Vampaneze. After the bear kills one of the Little People, the other, whom Darren previously referred to as Lefty but is really named Harkat, reveals that he can actually speak, and tells the others that Mr. Tiny has accorded him the task of delivering a very important message to the Vampire Princes: The night of the Vampaneze Lord is at hand.... (The Vampaneze are a race of Vampires who broke off from the Council hundreds of years ago, and don't follow any of the Vampire's rules of conduct, in particular, they have no qualms about the killing of humans.) Since Mr. Tiny is known for his predictions coming true, this message is of much interest to all the Vampires.The book ends with Darren being presented to the Vampire Council and Mr. Crepsley being questioned about his decision to blood a Darren at such a young age, something that is hardly ever done. The Council decides that rather than punish Mr. Crepsley, they are going to put Darren to the ultimate test: The Trials of Initiation... To be continued in book 5, Trials of Death.I'm also looking forward to find out what happens with the Vampaneze....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The books I've read in this series are good. The only problems I have with them is they explain words which are larger then 3 syllables, which annoys me, and the books are short.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eeeeekkkkkkk i want u guys to read it. I loved it a lot!!! I like kundra smult he is really really cute but i like gaviner pirl more!!!! If i had a boyfriend he would be very dissapointed in me but he waz the one that dumped me! :( stupid jerk.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great Want to know more about vampires
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Liking Harkat more and more and the growing friendship between him and Darren. One of my favorite aspects in the series. As the characters, pace etc. This one has Darren and co traveling to as the title suggests Vampire Mountain. Love the cliffhanger endings to these, really makes you want to read the next book right away. Well done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my very best friends got me interested in this series.this book wuz the last one of this seris that i red.4 some odd reasin,i just LOST MY INTEREST.some ppl call me crazy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love every single book. But i do admit that it ended pretty equick but still
Corbisaurus More than 1 year ago
Vampire Mountain is a book by Darren Shan, and the fourth book in the series Cirque Du Freak. The book is full of horror, action, and suspense, with vampires and animals that they meet up with on their journey that will make you shudder. The book is about Darren Shan (the main character) facing harsh and dangerous challenges on his bare feet and with the help of Mr.Crepsley and the little people, but still with all the help it does not protect them from the dangers on the journey to vampire mountain. There are vampeneze people who will kill you if they see you and there is a wild bear that almost kills Darren and kills one of the little people and they go through all of this just to get to Vampire Mountain. Vampire Mountain is a place where they meet the vampire princes and generals and even Seba, the old teacher that taught Mr.Crepsley. At the end of the book it leaves you in shock that makes you want to read the fifth book of the Cirque Du Freak series. I would recommend this book to people between ages 12-18, just because of the gore, dialog and the language that they use in the story. This book is awesome, it can be a good book to anyone who likes action, horror, or suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book gives a whole new meaning to vampires and werewolves