Virtue Falls: A Novel

Virtue Falls: A Novel

by Christina Dodd

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Virtue Falls 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 66 reviews.
gamom56 More than 1 year ago
VIRTUE FALLS is Christina Dodd's newest release. It is a different direction from her usual writing, but every bit as good. This novel is loaded with suspense, mystery and romance. It kept me guessing all the way to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love, murder, mystery, relationships lost then found and natural disasters, oh my!!  This is the recipe for a very good book.  Ms. Dodd combines it all and ends up with a story that I wanted to continue as I turned the last page.  One of my favorite aspects of the book was how she weaved Alzheimers into the main story line and did it poignantly and realistically.  It never became an overpowering theme, yet felt its presence throughout the book. It's a heartbreaking condition brought into the spotlight.  I felt that I was experiencing it right alongside Elizabeth.  I enjoyed Ms. Dodd's novel and look forward to the next installment of the series.  I would liked to have given the book 4.5 stars, but gave it 4 since it took me a little while to truly get into it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Christina Dodd has out done herself. The romance, suspense, drama, natural disaster with a touch of paranormal. It will keep you glued to the book. I just love how this book pulls you into the story and you feel you are living it with them. Want more info? GO BUY THE BOOK. You won't be disappointed. Tammy Cooper
debkayenm More than 1 year ago
As always, Christina Dodd NEVER fails to deliver!! I was so enthralled with this book that I couldn't put it down. This book hooks you from the very beginning to the last page which leaves you with great anticipation of the next book. I will be re-reading this book many, many, many times!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like the way the book is setup, where Christina Dodd uses the first few chapters, so that it is easier to follow along better as the story unfolds. The story captures your attention right from the beginning and holds your interest to the very end. I find the writing style to be somewhat different, yet still bears Christina Dodd stamp of attention to details and descriptions to paint vivid pictures in your head so you can be there right with the characters trying to find/hid the truth about the killer, than her other books that I have read in the past. You will enjoy reading this book and it will keep you guessing throughout it, right up to the ending. I look forward to reading the rest of her books in this series. Marisa Knecht
GGW More than 1 year ago
This book surprised me. I bought it because I have enjoyed Ms Dodd's recent works, but suspense isn't usually my thing. It is now -- at least as written by Christina Dodd.  The setting is spectacular, the secondary characters are well written, and I love the main characters. This is a definite "must read."
booksmom More than 1 year ago
I inhaled this book. Once I started I didn't want to put it down. I love that Elizabeth and Garik were able to open up to each other and repair their relationship. I am a sucker for a strong woman who is not afraid to stand up for herself. Can't wait to see what the next book brings them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!  Will be sure to read the next one.
amyloulawrence More than 1 year ago
Ms. Dodd takes you on an amazing journey in this book! Romance, suspense, intrigue & triumph - you get it all with this wonderfully crafted tale. Her characters have depth, and a uniqueness that is thought provoking! I have always loved a good mystery, especially involving an FBI agent - but this story also grabbed me because of the science/geology story line. Quite an adventure to read! You have to know a story is excellent when it makes you want more, and I can't wait until the next tale!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To be honest, when I heard Christina Dodd had decided to venture into a new genre, I was a little nervous. My first choice is usually a historical romance and I love hers! My next choice is contempary romance and I've been slightly let down in some recent books. When I'm in the mood for a mystery, it is usually along the lines of Mary Higgins Clark and I wondered if this could compare. Yes, it could! I am certainly glad that I decided to venture out, take a chance and read this. The book was smart and obviously written by an intellegent woman! It kept me guessing who the murderer was until the very end. It was never predictable. In places it was Intense and suspenseful. The characters where well written and I enjoyed their flaws. Oh, I hate when smart characters make bad but real decisions! I enjoyed the instances of comedy and the description of the town and earthquake. I cannot wait for the next one! Gqqfier15
Anonymous 9 months ago
great+read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First book I have read by this author. I would recommed. Can't wait to read more of her books.
thereadingchick More than 1 year ago
Twenty-three years ago Elizabeth Banner witnessed the murder of her mother, and her father was sent to jail for the crime. Now, Elizabeth is part of a geological team sent to Virtue Falls to continue the research her father had started while living in that area. While there, an earthquake strikes large enough to send a tsunami racing towards the town. Although injured from the quake, Elizabeth races to the cliffs to film the tsunami as it hits town. Garik Jacobsen, Elizabeth's ex husband and FBI Agent, races to Virtue Falls to make sure Elizabeth and his adopted mother are ok. Even though they are estranged, Elizabeth and Garik still have feelings for each other, and when someone begins to attack the citizens of Virtue Falls, they begin to investigate whether her father really killed her mother. This was a fantastic psychological exploration of both Elizabeth and Garik's feelings for each other and their relationships to all of the suspects in that town. Elizabeth was an interesting character. Very bright and totally blunt, she lacks the social skills that a woman with her looks would normally have. When she visits her father at the rest home he is interred at, she is shocked to find that none of the workers believe that he killed her mother. She still has the feelings of a little girl abandoned, and only with Garik's help does she start to open up and care for her father, seeing past the lable of murderer she'd always connected with him. Garik uses the emergency as a reason for living again, connecting with his ex and overcoming past behaviors that may have contributed to his current unhappiness. I did find his wanting of Elizabeth at times baffling. Yes, she's gorgeous, but her lack of common sense was kind of annoying. However, I loved the way the pair who were separated at the beginning of the book, came full circle, solving all of their problems, and all while tracking down a stalker-murderer no less. The mystery was great and the love story emotional. I enjoyed both of the main characters growth, with each other certainly, but most of all I loved how Elizabeth came to care for her father.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The ending will surprise you when the who dunit comes to light. There is quite bit of sex between Elizabeth and Garik, I felt like it would have been excellent book even if there is only one sex scene or none.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
acorley84 More than 1 year ago
I did read the Novella, The Listener, prior to reading Virtue Falls and must admit that it was a great little teaser to get you started and interested in Virtue Falls (stay tuned for a review of The Listener). I do have to admit that the length of this book is what kept me from jumping right to it, as I can get pre-book jitters, especially if it's a long title! I felt that there were great, solid characters in this book, but I did feel like the story was a little more drawn out than it had to be. The premise of the story is wonderful though, a father that supposedly killed his wife, a daughter that was there but can't remember the murder...I mean, you can't go wrong with that! Throw in a little bit of my ex is still madly in love with me and is going to win me back and you've got a winning combination! I just think that winning combination could have been achieved a little quicker! I must admit that the storyline wasn't that of your usual storyline. You have the quirky/nerdy Elizabeth, that lives for her work, who just isn't your every day, run of the mill, suspense character, and I think that was refreshing. She was studying earthquakes, which is another thing that you really don't read much about in mystery novels, so I think Christina Dodd is on to something in trying to keep with traditional mystery but with refreshing new details! I hate when it comes down to actually rating a book, because I do feel like 3 stars is too low, however, I do feel like 4 stars was a little too much. I would probably settle for like, 3.75 stars, if that were possible! I liked that this story was different, that these characters were unique and different, I just wish the story weren't so lengthy. I think there were some parts that were overly descriptive, that could have been left out and wouldn't have taken away from the story at all! With that being said, I will continue on with this series, as I'm interested to see where Dodd is going with it! I see that next in line, The Relative, is another novella, which is absolutely thrilling to me because I can breeze through those, so I look forward to seeing where this goes!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was drudgery. All those who wax on about how good this book is are obviously not reading the same book. I am a Christina Dodd fan and have her other books. This was boring and I was not invested in any of the characters.
Life_Long_Movie_Watcher More than 1 year ago
Virtue Falls just sadly reaffirmed why I quit reading Christina Dodd books. The book is over 500 pages in length and about 300 pages too long. This is sad because the story line has potential with good main characters, a mystery from 20 years past, and interesting side characters. But it just drags on. The ending was quite unsatisfactory -- not the ending to the main mystery, but a whole lot of things happen in a short period of time to the surrounding characters that never get resolved -- and they easily could have. I will stick with the older Christine Dodds that were better paced and wrapped up ALL the story lines: The Darkness Chosen series, Thigh High, Danger in a Red Dress, Trouble in High Heels
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book! Couldn't get enough. Diologue was true to life. Best book written by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a book! This has it all. Love, pain, forgiveness, redemption, and murder!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago