Waisted: A Novel

Waisted: A Novel

by Randy Susan Meyers

Hardcover

$24.30 $27.00 Save 10% Current price is $24.3, Original price is $27. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Waisted: A Novel 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Dianne57 5 months ago
Well, I managed to finish this book without throwing my copy against the wall. I truly hate having to give an ARC a bad review, but they do ask for honesty so here goes: I hated the characters... period! I hate how they viewed themselves, I hated their unrealistic thoughts, I hated their angst, I hated how Alice (half black/half white) and her mother (white/Jewish) were so bigoted/prejudiced, I hated that once I finished this book I couldn't even remember how it ended *scratches head* did they ever get satisfaction from posting their own video? And isn't it sad that this book left such a little imprint on me that I can't remember such an interesting part of the book...the ONLY interesting part I might add? I hated that this was such a verbose read. I don't know what kind of 'fat' this author is or was or what kinds of research she did, but out of all the fat women I know (and I'm included -as a matter of fact I've been on both sides of the scale, obese and then nearly anorexic via an undiscovered thyroid issue and then years at an average weight) not one of them are as self-absorbed and obsessed as these two are. I know that many of the early reviewers loved this book -so you may really want to try this book and give it a chance and not be colored with my little rant. *ARC supplied by the publisher.
dSouthernGal 5 months ago
As a women who has battled mind, body and soul with weight and image, I found "Waisted" a very profound read. The story of these women (though fictional) represent much of what women put themselves through in order to be accepted and loved, by society, friends, family and loved ones. I read what FAT means to various individuals, and society. I read the lies people tell themselves, (as coping mechanisms) and the technique marketers use to control them. The emotions that pore through these women are real. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Atria Books through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
Noire 5 months ago
I received an ARC of this book to read through NetGalley in exchange for a fair review. Waisted by Randy Susan Meyers is a woman’s fiction book that explores what it means to be fat to two women Alice and Daphne and what extremes would they be willing to go to lose the weight … to be thin. How does being fat affect our relationships and our lives and can we still love ourselves when we are considered obese are the questions that they ask them selves over the course of the story. It is not an easy book to read as there is a fair amount of fat shaming in the book. I liked how the book showed that the two women could be both powerful and fragile with out one necessarily negating the other, and while I was mostly satisfied at the end of the book there were a few loose ends that I would have liked to have been tidied up as this is fiction not real life and one can do that. Publishing Date May 21, 2019 #Waisted #NetGalley #AtriaBooks #RandySusanMeyers #WomensFiction
3900980 5 months ago
Alice is the head of a children's community center and she is overweight. She is obsessed with being overweight. But she can't help but be overweight. Since her childhood her mother has kept tabs on how much she eats. How unhealthy being overweight is and what not to eat. Now Alice only hears her mother's voice in her head when trying to make healthy food choices and it only does the opposite. So Alice continues to eat and continues to gain weight. Daphne, a make-up artist was very thin when she met her husband years ago. When she found herself pregnant they decided to marry. Since the birth of her daughter years ago she not only never lost the baby weight, but has continually added to it much to the chagrin of her husband and her mother. They are a tag team when it comes to what she puts in her mouth. Now she is beginning to worry about her young daughter and what her perception of the situation might do to her. She feels she needs to get her weight under control not only for herself but to save her marriage and make both her daughter and mother happy. Alice and Daphne meet at Waisted, a month long live-in mansion in Vermont where it is promised to members a safe, healthy weight loss with psychological assistance to help with their understanding as to why they eat. They soon discover that not only is this program not what it said it would be, but is actually being filmed to become a documentary which will be viewed by many. Not something an overweight person would really be comfortable with. The women all begin to realize they are being used not in a good way, but in a way in which the documentary will make them be perceived as desperate women who would do just about anything to lose weight quickly. The counselors are cruel and demeaning, depriving them of food and making them feel worthless, even more so than when they arrived. The must figure out a way to get out. This incredible novel delves into so many social issues seen in both young girls and women who begin to feel powerless and self-conscious at an early age. With problems such as body image, addiction, trying to hold a marriage and family together to being brave and honest and finally accepting who you are and loving that person, this book has it all. This is an inspiring story of women who decide to take back their power and use it for good.
crystallyn 5 months ago
Wow. What a range of feeling went through me as I read this novel! I imagine that this is probably typical for any woman reading the book--how could one not feel at times uncomfortable, enraged, motivated, and inspired by the characters in Waisted?. To me, that's a sign of a fantastic read, when the author can make you feel up and down that on the spectrum of human emotions and you ruminate (pun not intended but oddly appropriate!) about the novel long after you read that last word. Daphne and Alice are deeply unsatisfied with their bodies, and in an effort to find peace with themselves, end up enrolling in a weight loss documentary program that turns out to be a hardcore reality fat camp in disguise. The trainers and administrators of the program are the ultimate fat shamers, tearing the women down to their most vulnerable selves, taking the reader right there with them because it's not hard to imagine what those characters might be feeling. But when the women band together and decide to take matters into their own hands, that's the real feel-good heart of the novel, and that reward is sweeter than any sugary treat. Thanks, Randy Susan Meyers, for the riveting, rollicking, rollercoaster you give us in Waisted. And thanks Atria and Netgalley for the early read!
BettyTaylor 5 months ago
This is a story that any woman who has ever struggled with weight loss and body image can relate to. Seven women meet when they all enroll in an extreme weight loss program (think TV’s “The Biggest Loser”). They agree to be filmed throughout the process and will be featured in a documentary afterwards – “Waisted: The Documentary”. Our primary protagonists are Daphne and Alice. They are both successful working mothers with children, both obsessed with losing weight. Daphne’s mother has always badgered Daphne about her weight. After struggling through a painful relationship break-up, Alice lost a lot weight. It is while at her lowest weight ever that she meets her husband-to-be. Now she is married and putting on the weight again. Alice is now afraid she will lose her husband if she continues to gain weight. Thus, Daphne and Alice become part of the extreme weight loss program. WAISTED lays bare the struggles women have with the cultural norms regarding their bodies and their self-worth. “How far would you go to lose weight?” Some women would do anything to fit society’s norms. Meyers creates characters that are relatable and deserving of our compassion. I was horrified by the humiliation they endured until enough was enough. Bonding together these women learned to love themselves. Overall I enjoyed the book but did think the second half of the book just seemed too drawn out. The book does give the reader a lot to think about – cultural attitudes toward the obese, self-shaming, obsession with food and the number on the scale, what we are teaching our children about body image.
Anattorneywrites 5 months ago
“Waisted” is the latest novel by Randy Susan Meyers. I have been a fan of the author since I first read “The Comfort of Lies” several years ago, and fans who appreciate Meyer’s perspective on the human condition will certainly not disappointed with her recent effort. Daphne and Alice, like many women, wish they were thinner. Daphne’s mother has pressured Daphne to lose weight since she was young. Though her husband claims he is attracted to her because of who she is, even as an adult, Daphne still wants to make her mother happy. Meanwhile, Alice met her husband, Clancy, when she was sliver thin and feels as if she cannot return to the woman he fell in love with, she’ll lose him for good. While attending what Daphne and Alice believe to be a weight loss retreat, they agree to be followed by a camera crew for what they believe to be a serious documentary. Instead, the purpose of the documentary is to focus on how far women would be willing to go to (including being humiliated, starved, and forced to exercise for hours at a time) lose weight. Daphne, Alice, and their roommate, Hania, struggle to maintain sanity while figuring out a way to escape. This is not a novel about women trying to lose weight and then discovering that what matters is more than skin deep or other similar clichés. Instead, this novel is about a group of friends who seek revenge for documentary makers’ heinous actions while learning to adapt to their thinner bodies. Some of the scenes of what the women had to go through at the clinic are shocking, but what makes the novel sing is the friendship between Alice, Daphne, and Hania. Meyers also did an excellent job in developing the secondary characters of Alice and Daphne’s husbands, parents, and children. Meyers brings a fresh perspective to the weight loss issue by creating memorable characters and moving the plot along at an engaging pace. Thanks so much to NetGalley, the author and Atria Books for the opportunity to review this novel,.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Reading a novel that tells the truth of the experience of women and their relationships with their bodies is rare; rarer still is the depth that Meyers achieves (with humor!) when portraying Alice, Daphne and the five women who join them at a lock-down weight loss program. The pages flew.
sjillis 5 months ago
Alice met her husband, Clancy, when she was at her thinnest. But over the years, particularly since she had their daughter, the pounds have crept back on. Worried that Clancy finds her less attractive (a:concern he does nothing to dispel), Alice has resorted to purging after she binges on food. In contrast, Daphne’s husband gives her no reason to think he finds her voluptuous figure problematic. Rather, it is her mother, Sunny, who constantly makes snide, berating remarks. Both women decide to participate in a reality show-type weight loss resort. There they diet and extreme exercise while enduring insults and humiliation at the hands of the film crew/leaders. When the pounds finally start to drop, Alice, Daphne, and others suspect they are being given speed. The author tackles the evergreen issue of body image, throwing in a reality TV aspect to give it more currency. WAISTED is impossible to put down, and Alice and Daphne will work thei way into your hearts. Meyers conveys some brutal truths in an entertaining vehicle. While the characters grow in their self-perception, the novel proves there are no easy fixes. True confession: I am a size 4, but always think I’m just a few cookies from obesity. WAISTED really resonated with me.
TheBookBag 7 days ago
I have to admit that, at first, I really didn't care for this book. Maybe it's because I've struggled with my weight most of my life. Maybe it was because I empathized with these women and didn't like the way they saw themselves and how other people treated them. And then to witness the humiliation and abuse that they went through at the weight loss program—it was just too much. But I powered on because I love Randy's stories and I have read them all. I knew she wouldn't let me down. As the women work through the program and come out the other side—one way or another—it was uplifting to see what strong women who feel good about themselves can accomplish. This should be a life lesson for all of us, don't you think? While I'll have to be honest and say that this is not my favorite book by this author, it is definitely one that all of us should read, if for no other reason than to learn to be more accepting and understanding of those who are different from us. And that you are good enough, just the way you are.
Anonymous 18 days ago
Fat shaming and eating disorders seem rampant among women in the USA (and maybe around the world?!?). Waisted really dealt with the deep conditioning we all feel about how we aren't acceptable if we aren't thin. Such an endless struggle for so many young women (and old) today. So I was delighted that one of my favorite novelists was tackling this topic. It's scary what these women go through and the message ultimately is about self-empowerment. A great read (couldn't put it down), and a wonderful gift for young women who are struggling with these issues. I just bought two copies to send to teenagers I know who think they are fat and ugly when they are truly beautiful human beings...and hope the book will help them grow in acceptance of who they are. Thank you Randy S. Meyers!!!
AnnieMcDonnell 21 days ago
I love a book where the women come together to make things happen, let alone a good old revenge story! Daphne & Alice go off to a place of solitude to lose weight, after they’ve both gained weight for various reasons in their own lives. There they meet five other women, and find out that everything they do is being recorded for a documentary. But, no one there is being kind to them. From the Dietitians to the filmmakers , It was as if they are in a war against these “others”, Until the ladies take matters into their own hands. Being overweight myself, I found it a bit disturbing at times, I was cringing! I was definitely rooting for Daphne, Alice and the rest of the women until the very end! You will too!
Anonymous 26 days ago
I have been on a diet many times and could identity with the ladies in the story. I never went to those extremes, but understood where they were coming from. If you've ever dieted you will too. It was a good read and quite a page turner for me. I received a review copy from Atria Books. Thank you
Jenny_Brown 3 months ago
This novel about the lengths women will go to in order to lose weight gave me so much to think about in terms of how I think about weight and how I can let it control my life. The idea that a number on a scale can actually change my mood is ridiculous and yet dead-on. In this novel, Alice and Daphne go to a weight-loss retreat that is really a documentary experiment in disguise. They are shamed, put through devastating workouts on little food, and plied with pills. As difficult as it was for me to watch them go through this, I had to think, "Yeah, I might do the same." Meyers does such a great job capturing the mindset of these women and how society views them. There's so much more to this novel--how race plays into body expectations; the examples we do or do not provide for our own children; family dynamics--and I'll be thinking about it for a good long time. I think this is novel looks at some important topics but disguises them in this amazingly readable and engaging novel. I had to see how it would end! This would be an excellent book club novel as there is so much great stuff in here to discuss!
INpurplereader 3 months ago
Aren'the most overweight women dying to be thin? Waisted by Randy Susan Meyers is an upsetting novel that examines the lengths some people may choose to go in their path to carving out the body they desire. An ad for a luxury resort where a person can examine how to eat nutritiously, exercise well, unearth the reasons for being overweight, and find their new normal. That is the promise behind a documentary film maker who sets out to get women to sign on to his project, and because our society values deprivation, he has no problem finding ingredients enough women for his film. There are some catches in the contract though: all electronics are confiscated, no outside contacts, monitored meals and exercise at their discretion, and tactics that are just inhumane. The first day, first meeting: "Coleen leapt on her back. 'Get up. Walk.' Alice stumbling under Coleen's weight tried to stand. Finally, after tensing her stomach muscles to protect herself, she rose and then took a halting step. 'Giddysp!' Coleen yelled straight and loud into her ear. She dug her hands into Alice's shoulders and wrapped her legs around her waist" (78). That is just the start of the humiliation the women suffer. Alice and Daphne are both quite successful working mothers, but they both feel 'less than' due to their weight. Neither could have imagined the true purpose of the documentary: To determine how much humiliation and deprivation a woman was willing to experience to try to meet the societal expectations of a strong, thin woman as the only path to true beauty. The book is most likely more upsetting to women who have suffered or questioned their worth based on what they weigh any one day. If you have more than two sizes in your closet, if you have ever fasted to lose weight, if you have ever done a drastic weight loss program, this book will probably fascinate and repel you. I rate it a 4 out of 5, and I recommend it as a good summer read.
wvteddy 4 months ago
This is the story of seven diverse women, unhappy with their bodies, who agree to go to a "fat camp" and be filmed for a show somewhat like The Biggest Loser. The brochures made Waisted, a mansion in remote Vermont, sound like a spa where they would learn to eat right and exercise. In reality it was more of a prison with the women cut off from the outside and pitted against each other. They were split into competing teams, fed 800 calories and they exercised almost every waking minute. As a woman of a certain size I could so totally relate to these women and their struggles. I starved with them, hurt with them, cried with them, got mad with them, shared their humiliation, and cheered them on to the end. This book is a very timely social commentary that deals with race, culture and the obsession we have with our looks and our bodies. It emphasizes the need for honesty, the value of friendship, and the importance of making peace with the body we have. When the women discover that this was not a reality show about weight loss but a documentary about how far women would go for their looks and how much humiliation they can tolerate, it also becomes a novel of revenge. And revenge is sweet! I received an advance copy of this book from Netgalley and the publisher and was happy to review it.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Seven years ago, I read and quite enjoyed Meyers' debut novel and her other novels since have all ended up on my ever-growing TBR. But this book, a fictional book revolving around a weight-loss documentary piqued my interest as soon as I heard about it. The premise itself didn't sound terribly original - over the years, I have seen a sub-set of women's fiction that all seem to include a weight-loss transformation (with various happily ever afters, and methods for said weight-loss), but the documentary angle sounded like this would have a more modern approach to the topic. And this film-making angle does breathe fresh life into this - and it's also interesting that the seven women participating are overweight, but not in the "My 600-lb Life" way, but in a more "normal" or common range of obesity. The two narrators, Alice and Daphne, each feel realistically drawn. And I think that there are plenty of moments of honesty here about body image that everyone will be able to identify with. But, the beginning of the book does venture into a bit of repetition and some contradictions that make me very curious to see what the ultimate message Meyers will leave readers with. The last third of the book is the strongest part - though there are a few things missing from expected consequences that I would have wanted to see...Still, the two main characters' arcs are both believable and inspiring in different ways. The final message is just as hopeful and less contradictory than what I started to fear about halfway through. I do like the feminist angle that is present but never gets too political to spoil anything. The male characters, though not the focus, do have some dimension to them as well. It is an interesting and engaging read that. I am sure will do very well with book clubs and inciting plenty of lively discussion amongst its readers!
Anonymous 4 months ago
I have mixed feelings about this book. It started slow, with a *lot* of secondary characters who weren't well developed. Then it picked up, and became quite engaging and very relatable. Then towards the end, it became a bit unbelievable, over the top and preachy. However, throughout the roll coaster that this book was for me, I found I couldn't put it down and it made me think about weight and fat shaming. I also enjoyed the relationships formed by the women who attended the "fat camp". Thanks to NetGalley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
Honolulubelle 4 months ago
Favorite Quotes: She, along with six other substantial women, stood in the parking lot avoiding each other, as though their abundance of flesh might transfer from body to body. “I’m in shock at the number.” Daphne refused to state the actual number. “Shock without any baseline of knowledge. I don’t know what I should weigh. Last night, watching those men and women being weighed like heifers at market, I wanted to cry.” Mirrors engulfed them, mirrors sharper and brighter than Daphne imagined existed… Mirrors courtesy of Satan. “Alive is a story— decades old, but true— of plane crash survivors in the Andes Mountains,” Daphne explained. “The passengers who lived survived by eating the flesh of the dead.” A week ago, Hania would have groaned in disgust. Now she looked as though she understood cannibalism. Fat women looked more naked than normal-weighted women. Clothes made the woman. Naked made the shame. When they learned that Susannah worked as a nursery school teacher, Daphne imagined toddlers climbing up onto her giant lap as though scaling the Matterhorn. Daphne snuck up on the scale as if approaching it slowly would trick the machine… Like the smuggest of men, the scale mocked her. My Review: Oh what wickedly clever insights Randy Susan Meyers skewered me with, it was as if she has been spying from my pantry. I could have easily been a character in this book. I was blessed (overly so) with a curvaceous body shape and am a life-long expert dieter (yoyo) and as one who counts vacuuming as strenuous exercise (begrudgingly done), I saw my crazy on several pages of this revealing tale and had a fleeting worrisome thought of whether I should possibly check my home for hidden cameras. I will confess to having fervently thrown myself into countless fad diets and “lifestyle programs” as well as begged a few (numerous) doctors for the latest magic pill being advertised, all while keeping fingers crossed it will be as promised - the last one I’ll ever need. I know I’m not unique, and imagine 90% of women have suffered from similar concerns at least once in their lives. Ms. Meyers’ narrative raised several interesting points and provided thoughtful if not a bit painfully reflective entertainment as to the extreme measures (including soul-shattering humiliation, deprivation, and degradation) that women would willingly allow being perpetrated upon them for the goal of quick weight loss. She had me there. While the plot and storylines were relevant and topical, I also deeply appreciated how this perceptive author craftily navigated the nuances and complications of racial and cultural quirks toward these issues with the use of clever wry humor and insightful observations. While many of the characters’ revelations and inner musings were markedly profound, my favorite combination of all the words used in this book was a notation of “the secret obese of France,” snort, you know there has to be at least a few hidden away.
BeautyBubbe 4 months ago
Alice and Daphne are obsessed with their weight and decide to do something about it. Daphne has mother issues and Alice risks losing her marriage if she keeps gaining weight. The two women meet at Waisted. Located in a Vermont mansion, the program promises fast, dramatic weight loss, and Alice, Daphne, and five other women are desperate enough to leave behind their families for this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. But then they find out they need to be on camera; and the world will see Waisted: The Documentary. This book was slow reading in the beginning but picks up as the ladies find themselves in total humiliation at the hands of the owners running Waisted. They are trying to find out just how far women would go to lose weight, so they are pushed to their limits. It does bring out some great points about how we judge people by their looks and weight and what it means to those who are overweight. None of them had self-worth and toward the end of their 4 weeks they realize that it is not worth it and decide to get some revenge and expose this group. There are good and bad in both thin people and fat people; it is how you feel about yourself that brings these things to a surface. And if the rest of the world doesn’t see your worth…..well, too bad! This book was received from NetGalley for an honest review. It is not due out until 5/1/19 so put it on your TBR list.
GailHollingsworth 5 months ago
I was intrigued by the description of this novel and curious as well. I knew I had to try it. I read it all and had some positive and negative thoughts. I enjoyed the different cultures, religions and races involved in the telling. It gave the story several different perspectives. Seven women embarked on a one month journey to lose weight. But the brochure they were given describing the experience was filled with falsehoods. It reminded me in a small way of the TV show The Biggest Loser in that the women were put through tough exercise regimens, but that’s where the similarity ended. The two main characters had background information given as to why they decided to join Waisted. One had a husband that didn’t like her fat and the other had a controlling mother that shamed her about her weight. The humiliation, embarrassment and suffering they went through was shameful to the point that three of the seven took it upon themselves to try and expose the crew that were doing the “documentary”. They took some chances that added to the intrigue factor. The retrospective that each of the women talked about was a positive addition to the conclusion. My negatives had to do with some of the language used and many words that had to be looked up for me to understand the context otherwise it was an interesting way to spend an afternoon. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through Netgalley but was not required to write a review.
Bookwormish-Me 5 months ago
There is an old Yiddish proverb, “You can never be too rich or too thin.” Well, maybe not a Yiddish proverb, but find me a Jewish mother of a certain era, and I guarantee her daughter will tell you she heard this at least once or twice. This is the premise behind Waisted, a novel about the lengths women will go to to adhere to society’s expectations. Alice is a mixed race mom married to a white documentary film maker. At the time she met Clancy, she had endured a bitter breakup and was the thinnest she could ever imagine being. Clancy didn’t know that this was not the norm for Alice, so his expectations were that she’d always be rail thin. Alice had a Jewish mother, but her Jewish mother didn’t espouse the “too rich or thin” mantra. In fact the opposite. Her mother went out of her way to make Alice embrace her “blackness” by accepting her curves. Daphne is a white Jewish middle class mom from the burbs who grew up with the quintessential Jewish mother, always watching every crumb that Daphne consumed. Daphne married Sam, the most gentle, kind man one could imagine. Sam would love Daphne if she shaved her head and tattooed every inch of her body, so there are no expectations in their marriage that Daphne should be thin. But as most of us know, a mother’s words can play tapes on repeat in your head. Daphne is forever striving for her mother’s approval. When a flier for casting for a documentary film ends up in both these women’s hands, they jump at the opportunity to participate. The documentary is going to cover the weight loss adventures of seven women. The caveat is that you must relinquish any contact with the outside world for one month. One month that the filmmakers will cover your salary for missed work. In this brochure they promise all sorts of wonderful things such as quick weight loss in a healthy setting, but the reality is anything but. I found this novel a fabulous tale of finding your voice and your true self in a world where the “norms” are not always achievable. I grew up with a mother like Daphne’s so I really identified with how she felt growing up and still hearing those voices as an adult. I think that each one of the women has a quality that most of us can identify with. Fitting into society’s molds is what a lot of parents expect from their kids. I think that is the moral of this story. You don’t have to fit a mold to make a difference, or be a great mom, or love yourself. Myers has crafted a story of women bonding and finding friendship in spite of their differences. Also, about acceptance, which is something I believe our culture struggles to find. I would recommend this one to all my female friends. Review originally posted at BookwormishMe.com
Renwarsreads 5 months ago
I really connected with the characters in this book because they way that they felt a different times, I know I have felt before. It is a good story for anyone who has has dealt with issues of not feeling thin enough, good enough, etc. I believe all of us at one time or the other has had the feeling that they don't fit and it's nice to read their story, how they deal with these feelings and how they learn to live and love themselves.
LawladyCase 5 months ago
What would you be willing to do/give up/incur to lose weight? Several women are chosen to attend a weight loss resort in rural Vermont. Privation is touted as the program which teaches how to lose weight in a supportive, balancing, motivational, and sustainable manner. From the beginning, the women experience quite the opposite. This is a book about wanting something so bad that you are willing to ignore warning signs and abuse that in other circumstances they would immediately call foul. As I read it, I reflected on the many times I have lost weight only to gain it back. I also examined times when I remained quiet when I should have spoken up for others. It is a book about losing weight but more about what goals will allow others to make for us and what we will do to reach the societal expectation. I cannot express how much I liked this book. It was unique in its telling while still being truthful in the way in which we see ourselves. So many people (particularly women) are obsessed with size and weight while ignoring other traits and behaviors that are more important to happiness and love. Alice, Daphne and Hania may have different reasons for wanting to be thin than I do but we get to the desperation of feeling fat just the same. Whether you have ever been in a weight battle or not, this is an excellent fictional story about giving up our willingness (or not) to give up our dignity to be what society tells up we should be. I love the main characters; each have both flaws and exceeding goodness that makes us want to cheer their accomplishments and cry during their sadness. The instructors occasionally have a humane spot but are good villains. Family members are basically good people with major flaws they can’t seem to keep to themselves. The writing is seamless. It will invoke laughing and crying but mostly awe. I urge you to run out and buy Waisted. Start reading it now or put it at the top of your To Be Read list. You won’t be sorry. Another success, Ms. Meyers. I received an ARC from Atria Books through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affects my opinion or rating of this book.
GinnyD 5 months ago
This book is a must read for any woman who has ever worried about her weight or body image. And is there a woman out there who hasn't? Meyers develops characters like no other writer. We become immersed in their world of immediate and extended families. But most of all she lets us into their most private, hidden thoughts about their struggles (and obsessions) with food, weight and love. These are accomplished women, smart women, caring women - and still in their secret selves -- none of that matters quite as much as the number on the scale. They are not proud of this. This story also examines the pressure women feel to be thin, as if being overweight (a lot or a little) is a public shame. This is a compelling read, hard to put down and insightful. I loved this book!!!