Warrior's Woman

Warrior's Woman

by Johanna Lindsey

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Warrior's Woman 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 133 reviews.
nancy1021 More than 1 year ago
I have read most of Johanna Lindsey book and this one is my favorite.
Pixxie More than 1 year ago
This was the first Johanna Lindsey Book I've ever read many many moons ago. She is also one of my favorit wrighters. I've read this book many times over the years and think it is the best out of the three that deals with this family. The plot is original and I love the blinding of the two culturs (barbaians and tech). Its a good read if you like both scifi and romance becouse the two don't generaly go together. If you like series book check out her Malory collection.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great book... one of my faviorts by Johanna Lindsey....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would like to start by saying that i read three to five books each week, most if which are romances, and this book is absolutely unreadble to me. The main character is supposed to be so strong but she comes across as stupid and weak. Her societys random 'its ok to legally rape woman if she doesnt take a lover on her own' law is completely at odds with their otherwise advanced society. Nothing about thi book make me want to keep reading. Save your money.
Buukie More than 1 year ago
I read this book decades ago and re-read it again recently. It is still a great read.
Sam_Holloway More than 1 year ago
Johanna Lindsey walks a fine line here between catering to patriarchal conventions and subverting them, and she pulls it off with a self-aware sense of humor. The sci-fi elements of the story also dance on an edge between cheesy and well-crafted, leaning heavily toward the cheese most of the time (but it's sweet, hearty, quality cheese, like Dubliner). "Warrior's Woman" is an enjoyable read chock full of snappy dialogue and great sex, and I recommend it to anyone looking for a clever, enjoyable escape.
WytchySteph More than 1 year ago
I read this book many years ago, but the story still remains in my mind and I was surprised at the futuristic twist that the author took when almost all of her other books had been historical romances. Such a Pleasant surprise and yet another well written romance with characters that you can believe.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is not only very different from other romance novels, it's VERY, VERY good. Tedra de Arr, a futuristic security guard, falls in love with the biggest chauvinist on the planet (Challen Lyn-San-Ter). That alone promises lots of conflicts and laughs. Challen is drop-dead gorgeous--a golden, 6'7' giant who is ruler of all he sees--except Tedra!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was ok I would not re-read the plot is too boring.
StacyLHanson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved the humor. This is not your typical romance. This couple has real passion. I also think she enjoyed being "punished". I know this is not pc but even as strong modern women we like a man to take us in hand and be in charge every once in a while(or at least I do). We are just to scared to admit that to ourselves or the world. If it was not true, we would not read these books. It's fantasy, don't take it so seriously. One of my top 5 JL books. I have re-read this several times.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Yeah it's romance but it was supposed to be historical romance and I wanted something to distract me from being ill dammit, not make me want to throw a book across the room or rip it into shreds.Now I've trudged through some bad fiction in my days. I've even (in a fit of curiousity during my college years) read 2 John Norman Gor books and watched the movie (oh yes there's a movie!) I've even kept going with some books well past my own impulse to bin the damned things (and very occasionally been very surprised) but I have to admit "Warrior's Woman" by Johanna Lindsey has defeated me. I got to a little over 100 pages and had to put it down before I did something drastic to the bookI hang my head in shame and then raise it in prideJohn Norman was/is a product of his time, a sexist mysogonist idiot who wrote a series of books starting in the 60's that were all about women being slaves, there are even communities devoted to his idea. DAW printed them for a long while until reality hit in the 80's and they were consined to the backwater of publishing.The offending book is one of the worst pieces of mysoginistic crap I've ever read or tried to read. It's billed as Historical Fiction, which it isn't, it's actually pseudo-SF, it's as if Johanna Lindsey sat down with some John Norman books while watching some Star Trek and decided to do a worst case scenario of both. The main character is Tedra, a woman who has devoted her life to the art of combat, who has been the head of security services on her world and when the bad guy woman-haters take over her world and decide that all women are the property of men and that they are supposed to be "breached" by the age of 18, and that all women suddently lose their jobs, does she set up a resistence movement, no, she runs away and finds herself in the arms of a man who defeats her and then insists that she strips naked because she shouldn't be wearing "mens clothes", while she's getting all fluttery about his rampant charms, GAH!The Back reads (and this was kinda mitigating on the tossing aside factor)"Resilient beauty Thedra has devoted her life to the art of combat, and no one, least of all a man, has ever been able to pierce through that rigid armor of single-minded purpose. When political upheaval forces her to flee her homeland, the stongly independent maiden finds that her only refuge is in the arms of a bronzed barbarian.In a brotherhood where warriors rule supreme, Challen is the fiercest and most feared. He quickly claims Thedra as tradition and his own desires demand, but though he sparks her yet unfulfilled passion, the proud fighter refuses to submit to any man's will. Challenging him to a physical battle, she also dares him to discover that she is a worthy opponent, partner and companion - and together they can conquer all realms."Spelling errors mine. I hope.I would have kicked him in the, er, stones a few times before submitting. And definitely would have had issues with my computer/companion who could have saved me from this by BEAMING me out.I'm so glad I had a historical mystery to wash it out but I still need brain floss to deal with the residual ick.I'm also glad that I bought it from Oxfam and the cash I spent on it isn't truly wasted, I'm regarding it as a donation. I'm sure that somebody will request it from me when I put it on Bookcrossing, or take it away next meetup.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this whole series! This is worth reading despite some of the negative reviews. This series does not disappoint!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
love this book couldn't put it down you can definitely be transported into a whole different world and feel the love and attraction between them
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my very first romance novel I read and I have re-read it so many times. The hero is very barbaric, but who doesn't love a big strong Sexy Man taking the reins. Tedra is a kickass woman with a heart of gold and is a very loveable character. This futuristic book has action, steamy sex, heartache and lots of love. It is one of my all time favorites of JL! I recommend you not only read this but buy the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago