Web of Lies (Elemental Assassin Series #2)

Web of Lies (Elemental Assassin Series #2)

by Jennifer Estep

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, June 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Web of Lies (Elemental Assassin Series #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 278 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story line is decent, however, there is way too much review from the prior books in the series. And then more reviews of the reviews . Too much explicit sex. I want to read an adventure story, not a romance novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg, Gin is awesome. From her kick butt attitude to the silverstone knife sheathed in the small of her back, gin just REEKS cool and collected. One of the best assasian books i have read so far. A++++++++++++++++!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have absolutely LOVED this series and have a hard time putting the book down. This one could have done with less recapping but if you have read the first one you are ok. There's enough recapping in this for you to understand what happened. I'm not on the third one and hate it when I have to stop reading. Gin is awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story and Great characters. Love the sassy, kick ass woman. Gotta love a woman that can take care of herself. Love the auther and her writing and will read anything that she brings out. The whole series is good, and the reading just flows for a quick finish.
DebHoll More than 1 year ago
Gin Blanco is a feisty, fun, and very dangerous woman. This is the 2nd book in the Elemental Assassin series and continues Gin's story, proving retirement isn't as easy as it seems. I found this story to be entertaining and hard to put down. So often in action stories, the hero is a tough guy that can kick anyone's butt without so much as a scratch in return. Gin is very real in the sense that even though she's a tough woman, she's also just as vulnerable to danger, heartache, and guilt as any other woman. If you're looking for a fast, easy read with a fair amount of excitement and a bit of magic, then I would highly recommend this book and series. However, if you prefer deep thought and technical details, you might want to look elsewhere.
AngiGA More than 1 year ago
What can I say - Get it get it get it... well I can say... get them ALL!!!! This series is just great!!!!! I am on pins and needles waiting for the next!!!!
kitkat3ny More than 1 year ago
I strongly recommend you read the previous books in the series (Spider's Bite and check out three free short stories on the author's site under "excerpts & More": "Spider's Bargain" a prequel to Spider's Bite; "Web of Death" takes place after the events of Spider's Bite but before the beginning of Web of Lies; and "Web of Deceit" which takes place when Gin is a teenager. It's told from the point of view of Fletcher Lane, Gin's assassin mentor, and focuses on Gin's first solo job as the assassin ) prior to reading this installment. This was a fantastic read that just seemed to fly by. Retired assassin Gin has finally found a good way to put her deadly talents to good use; killing for the poor and downtrodden...... This was one of my most anticipated May releases and I wasn't disappointed. The story hit the ground running and never slowed down! The exciting action, spectacular magic and twisted hilarious humor just kept my attention completely glued to each page. Gin is the kind of heroine I love to read about, tough, smart and a force to be reckoned with. The author did a fantastic job of incorporating all the secondary characters and including a hottie who just makes you say Donovan Caine who? This installment was just about flawless and I can't wait to see what mischief Owen Grayson stirs up for Gin in the future. I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and I can't for the next book in the series Venom due out 9/28/10.
BookAddictDiary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, I wasn't quite paying attention when I picked this book up, so I didn't realize that it was the second book in a series until after I was a good ways in. Now, it definitely shows the author's skill when someone can pick up a book in the middle of a series and still be able to understand what's going on and be able to get into the characters, but now I definitely want to go back and read the first book.In Web of Lies, retired assassin Gin Blanco (yeah, gotta love that name), also known as The Spider, is attacked in her own restaurant, the aptly-named Pork Pit. But she soon finds out that she's not the one the assassin is after, but a young woman named Violet Fox. While trying to defend Violet, Gin becomes tangled up in a fascinating web including a sexy detective, wild cowboy gear and going undercover as a hooker to trap the bad guy. Filled with non-stop, high-octane excitement, Web of Lies stands up against the flood of urban paranormal novels out there and delivers wonderful, mindless fun.I think that's the best word to describe Web of Lies: mindless. I'm not saying that in a bad way. In fact, I enjoy a fun, easy read that's just great escapism and that's what this book is. It has a bad ass, exciting main character, is set in fascinating and engaging world, has fun, semi-cheesy dialog that left me chuckling, and of course, steamy sex scenes worthy of any paranormal romance.Perfect for fans of the genre, Web of Lies is one of the most pulse-pounding books I've read in a while.
babsji on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Well, she didn't hit a sophmore slump with this book. Gin still hits the ground running. And I for one, am glad she didn't get the guy. He was way to goody two shoes if the po-po was as corrupt as Gin states. My only question is, who gets the diamonds? If more than one person knows a secret, then it won't stay secret for long. Maybe that question will get answered in a future book.
ShelleyJax on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Synopsis: I'm Gin Blanco. You might know me as the Spider, the most feared assassin in the South. I¿m retired now, but trouble still has a way of finding me. Like the other day when two punks tried to rob my popular barbecue joint, the Pork Pit. Then there was the barrage of gunfire on the restaurant. Only, for once, those kill shots weren¿t aimed at me. They were meant for Violet Fox. Ever since I agreed to help Violet and her grandfather protect their property from an evil coalmining tycoon, I¿m beginning to wonder if I¿m really retired. So is Detective Donovan Caine. The only honest cop in Ashland is having a real hard time reconciling his attraction to me with his Boy Scout mentality. And I can barely keep my hands off his sexy body. What can I say? I¿m a Stone elemental with a little Ice magic thrown in, but my heart isn¿t made of solid rock. Luckily, Gin Blanco always gets her man . . . dead or alive. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- My thoughts: First, please, please, please read the first book before jumping into this one. Trust me you will not be disappointed. Second, Gin is one of those in my top 10 female heroines and I don't see that changing anytime soon. This is the second book in a series that has been extended to five books on October of 2011
allureofbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
So, even though Gin made some changes in her life at the end of the first book (I'm being vague to avoid spoilers), she still gets sucked into trouble very early on in this book. She ends up feeling obligated to help the friends of a friend out of a territory dispute with a very dangerous and powerful dwarf. As she does so, she finds out some things about her own magic that surprise her - and will definitely surprise you!We get more time with the side characters, JoJo and Sophia, who I absolutely love. Basically I love just about everyone in the series. The exception being Detective Donovan. Man...I hate that guy. Estep makes their chemistry jump off the pages, and there is definitely something between him and Gin...but that doesn't mean he isn't a complete moron. Still waiting for him to jump off that cliff...The good news is an addition to the party: Owen Grayson. Yes, please. I hope Gin takes a nice long look in his direction. He is a much better fit for her, and I really hope that relationship develops. A lot. And soon.Overall, this book is a great addition to the series, the action and character development don't lag at all!
krau0098 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the Elemental Assassin series by Jennifer Estep. Right now Estep is contracted for 5 books in this series; the third book Venom is due out Sept. 28th 2010 and the fourth book Tangled Threads is due out April 2011. This book was a great addition to this series. I enjoyed the fast pace and the great action scenes.Gin is trying to take retirement from the assassin trade seriously. She is back in college part-time and running the restaurant The Pork Pit, that Fletcher left her. Things won't be calm for long though. One of the son's of Ashland's top powers stops by to hold up Gin's restaurant and then someone tries to assassinate one of Gin's restaurant clients. Well this just pisses Gin off and pretty soon she is immersed in a plot to stop one of Ashland's mining companies from taking out the people who run an old general store on the mountain. Of course she runs into Donavan in the course of her investigations. So that complicates things too.Like the last book this book is full of non-stop action and a great plot the clips along at a fast pace. I didn't like this book quite as much as the last one because it seemed to be more of a transition book and the plot wasn't as tight. But it was a necessary book, Gin needs to get on with her life after Fletcher's death and this is how she does it. That didn't stop me from tearing through it at a breakneck pace though...I just couldn't put it down.Things heat up between Donavan and Gin again, but we see these characters having a lot of the same problems they did in the last book, Estep tries to resolve this and I think she did a good job with that. I am just hoping the Donavan/Gin issues are dealt with and don't drag on into the next book. We do see Gin changing as a character and she is growing in power; I am eager to see what happens as her power continues to grow and becomes more complex.I like Gin's sassy attitude and her snide humor. This book brought some more great characters into the mix with Eva and Violet, some young girls that get caught up in the robbery at Gin's restaurant. They add some additional fun and lightness to the story. I also found Owen Grayson intriguing; he is set up to be another potential love interest for Gin but also has his fingers in a lot of plots and intrigues which could prove interesting in the future books. The basic story dealing with the attempted assassination of Violet Fox is wrapped up neatly. The broader story about Gin's past, her younger sister, and how everything ties in with the city's deadliest fire elemental is deepening. Hopefully we will see these issues addressed more in the next book; they didn't really get a lot of page space here.Overall an excellent addition to this series. I love the characters and the world Estep has created. I am eagerly awaiting the next book Venom. Luckily I only have a few weeks to wait! Fans of Kate Daniels, Jane Yellowrock, Jaz Parks and other kick-butt female urban fantasies out there should really give this series a try.
C.Ibarra on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Gin Blanco is now a retired assassin, and running the Pork Pit full time since inheriting the BBQ restaurant from Fletcher. Yep, life is a little boring, but Fletcher had asked her to retire before his brutal murder. She feels like the least she can do is honor her dead handler¿s wishes. At least until things get a little monotonous, and Gin finds a girl who needs protecting. Still pondering the meaning behind the file Fletcher left her, Gin could use the distraction and the action.I liked this one so much more than the first. I¿m still not a Donovan Caine fan though. Gin, you can do better girl! This one was packed full of serious action. I love Gin, and have nothing but admiration for her tenacity. A few mysteries brought up in the first book are solved in this installment. Of course that means a few new ones also pop up. I¿m so excited to see where Gin¿s adventures take us next. Thanks to a few well timed flashbacks, we learn more about Gin¿s past. We also witness her attempt to digest what was in the file Fletcher left her. Retirement is turning out to be almost as exciting as when Gin was working as a paid assassin.I also enjoyed learning more about Gin¿s nontraditional family unit, the love they share, and how far they are willing to go to protect each other. Gin has come so far from the frightened orphan living on the streets. Definitely a character you can¿t help but to love (knives and all). This is a fantastic series brimming with the potential of more awesomeness to come. I loved it!
sandyg210 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved the first book in this series, Spider's Bite and was hoping that I wouldn't be disappointed in the sequel. I wasn't. I loved the second book as much as the first and am waiting impatiently for Venom to be released.
DijaK on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, but not as much as the first one. Not because of anything lacking in the plot, but simply because I hated how Caine acted, esp. towards the later half of the book. But it's a good thing there's a lot more to this series than romance, because the action was amazing and extremely engaging. The side characters are also very interesting and I love seeing the development in Gin's persona. And judging from the cliffhanger at the end of this book, the next book's sure to be as fascinating as its prequels.
FantasyDreamer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was pretty sure after I read Spider's Bite that Jennifer Estep would be an author to watch but Web of Lies has me putting her in my top 10 authors to read. I love the way her writing flows, how she drives the story in direction I just don't see coming and she crosses that line into the gray area of morality.Gin Blanco, an assassin and the heroine of this series, is flawed in a fabulously real way that makes her personality come alive for me and has me cheering for her every step on her path to finding herself. The supporting characters, the dwarven sisters Jo Jo and Sophia along with her surrogate brother Fin, have me feeling a companionship with them that makes the story even more personable.Then there's Donovan Caine, who is a straight-laced cop that likes to go by the book and whose also Gin's love interest. They are exact opposites but as they say, "Opposites attract." Because of their difference in morality, things are always high strung between the two, with Gin and Donovan wanting more but Donovan fighting it every step of the way. I have to say that there were a few times I wanted to open a can of whoop-ass on Caine, probably as much as Gin does herself at times.Ah, then there are the bad guys aka the villains. They are deliciously evil, making you believe the worst can happen and will happen.If you like your Urban Fantasy steeped in all things dark, gritty, sexy and full of excitement that's different from the traditional good versus evil then this book is for you. For myself, the darker and grittier the story is the more I like it and this one fits the bill.
livredeamour on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Okay, I loved the first book in the series. I really do like the world that Jennifer Estep has developed in this series. I really do adore Gin and her friends and the fact that this is a very different world we live in with a very shady set of morals. Which I'm fine with. There were some components that bothered me about this book. The love interest for Gin, really pissed me off Donovan Caine. I liked him in book one. This book he was a complete idiot towards her. In some ways the sex scenes were excellent. Yet what I didn't like about Donovan Caine was that he can't seem to make up his mind and what does he do at the end, he decides to leave because he doesn't want to end up shady. So I did like it when we got introduce to Owen. Owen I hope will be a much better love interest for Gin and not be all wishy-wash like Caine. I also felt like this book was kind of filler in some ways. This book I think is going to set up the next book in the series, Venom. (Hey I'm playing catch up with this series). I also like how the Author makes Mab Monroe seem more important, and I'm betting she will play a major role in book 3. The other thing that made me like Gin a lot more in this book that she is trying to help the Fox family in this book. I like that in some ways her helping the Foxes made her seem more real and try to be a better human being, and in some ways honoring her late guardian. I think this book was okay, but felt that there was something missing. I felt that even though it move forward a little and maybe this was my problem with it, was there seemed no progression of Gin's powers towards the end and her start to make an investigation to find her long lost sister, which I felt should have happened in the beginning. Oh Well maybe Venom will be better. I give this book a rating of 3 Hearts
crazybatcow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I didn't like it as much as the first one. It is very similar in some ways, but had a lot more "angst" between Gin and her completely unexpected, out-of-character and out-of-the-blue "love" for Caine. To the point that her continual harping on about him became annoying. At one point, near the end, she decides she's had enough of his cold shoulder and yet, a bit later in the story, she's all up in a twist over him again. They were never a couple, he never indicated he wanted to be one - sure he shagged her a couple times, but so what - and yet she gets all miffed because, gasp, he doesn't want to be in a relationship with her? It was just out of place.My other bother was the whole "trapped in the mine" scene that went on and on and on with nothing much happening... like it was a page quota filler. Oh, and I thought the whole Jake thing was kind of lame... an unexpected problem pops up and is cleared up as unexpectedly... and sorta unbelievably. If someone kicks your butt once, chances are she's going to be able to do it again next time, so don't go following her around and expect to live. Overall, I was disappointed in the story. I will read the next one and hope Gin stops being so sad-sack and gets on with her life.
tigerlilly_liz More than 1 year ago
“You could just run over him, I said. “He’s already dead, and it’s not like you haven’t done it before.”      “Yeah, but I don’t want bloody bits of dwarf stuck in my wheels for the next two weeks.” Finn sniffed “This is an Aston Martin, Gin. You don’t run over dead bodies in an Aston Martin.”      “Tell that to James Bond.”       Finn shot me a dirty look as he pulled out onto the street. ' - Pg 100 quote from Web of Lies Another suburb installment in the Elemental Assassins series. It’s packed full of suspense, action, snark, unforgettable characters, & mystery. Web of Lies packs a punch. Fletcher, her adaptive father, left her a parting gift when he passed away and this gift had some important and unexpected information on her family’s murder. Besides learning more about Gin and seeing her adoptive family we get to see Gin at work helping the little guy. Tobias Dawson was a nasty character and seeing Gin deal with that issue; just unforgettable. Gin I adore her. She’s a kick-ass women. We see so many different sides of her. I don’t always step into the heroine’s shoes, but with this series it’s not hard not to. Now the only thing I didn't care for and I saw this coming in book one, Spider’s Bite, was Detective Donovan Caine. He’s a douchebag. The only thing they had going was the scorching sexual chemistry. I couldn’t see any long term potential for them, so it was no surprise he left. I felt bad and sad for Blanco about the way she was treated and how it all blew up, but I'm glad Caine is gone. He wasn't right for Gin. Now I’m very intrigued with the introduction of Owen Grayson. Now, him I can't wait to see more of. There’s just something about him that makes go, oh ya! What can I say. After two extraordinary installments I think it’s safe to say that the Elemental Assassin series is a must read for Urban Fantasy fans. I’m hooked and I had a wonderful time reading Web of Lies and can’t wait to pick up the next book. Rated: 5 Stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed it. I look forward to the next one
LadiSteele More than 1 year ago
Love this entire series, have read everything she's written!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Forced at times
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow loved it read it in a day to 2 days hope the rest are this great