A Weekend with Mr. Darcy

A Weekend with Mr. Darcy

by Victoria Connelly

Paperback

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Weekend with Mr. Darcy 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 225 reviews.
LASR_Reviews More than 1 year ago
A book based on people obsessed with Jane Austen was what initially intrigued me about this story, and what ultimately keep me entertained from beginning to end. One aspect of this story that I really loved was that it followed two developing relationships. You have Katherine and Warwick, and Robyn and Dan. Both relationships were equally as important, and I was happy to see both being played out simultaneously. Katherine and Warwick's relationship begins in deceit no matter how well-meaning the lie, and once you start with deceit it is hard to really build a strong foundation. Robyn and Dan's relationship had one large complication: Jace, Robyn's boyfriend for years. Even if she has grown out of him, can she really leave the man who has been part of her life for so long to follow her heart? Robyn's dilemma is definitely a mind vs. heart, which many of us can relate too and sympathize with. I'll admit that I am not a huge Jane Austen fan. I think it is important to say this because, while I am not an Austen fan, I absolutely enjoyed this story. It helped me learn more about the famous author and actually intrigued me enough to make me want to read some of Jane Austen's stories. This story is a based in modern time, but it also has a historical feel to it since it is based around a Jane Austen conference. This was a great way to blend modern with historical in my opinion. I have read both modern and historical stories and some who have attempted to blend the two. I think that this story is one that others can use as a great example on how to accomplish this best. At moment, I felt as if I might have been reading a story that was 200 years old, yet it still felt extremely modern. This is a story I would recommend to anyone who loves a good romance novel. Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews
laura24 More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed it- a lot and will read more from this talented writer.
Marcie77 More than 1 year ago
A Weekend With Mr. Darcy by Victoria Connelly appealed to me because 1) the title. Who wouldn't want to spend a weekend with Mr. Darcy? 2)It's a Jane Austen variation. I'm a huge fan of all things Jane. I love reading about people who love her as much as I do. A Weekend With Mr. Darcy is set in modern day during a weekend with a bunch of Jane Austen addicts. There are two story-lines that mingle quite often. The first storyline centers around Dr. Katherine Roberts. She is unlucky in-love and has some trust issues. She's developed a pen-pal relationship/friendship with her favorite author, Lorna Warwick. However Katherine doesn't know that Lorna Warwick is really a man named Warwick Lawton. Warwick has fallen in love with Katherine's letter and decides to attend the Jane Austen weekend in order to finally meet her. The second story-line focuses on Robyn and Dan. Robyn's life is a routine of sorts. She's been with the same man since high school. Robyn doesn't love Jace and is trying to find the courage to break up with him. He follows her to Hampshire and makes a bit of a pest out of himself. Robyn's life gets even more complicated when she meets Dan. Dan is a breath of fresh air that makes Robyn begin to believe in happily ever after. This is a great book to read. I loved it from beginning to end. There are several laugh out loud moments. The characters are well developed and fun to read. The supporting characters are really great also. I loved reading both story-lines. I couldn't get enough. There is a perfect quote on the cover that fits this novel to a T. It says "The course of true love never does run smooth when Jane Austen makes the rules.." Victoria Connelly has a witty sense of humor that translates well onto paper. This book is a total win for me and if you love Jane Austen variations you should check it out. Other reasons to read this book include: 1. Undressing Mr. Darcy 2. Handsome men on horseback 3. Bennets and Bonnets I'm so glad I read this book and I am now Victoria Connelly's newest fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PAINFUL!!! Had to force myself to finish it. I buy and read a lot of books and I never write reviews, but I just thought I should give a warning. I love Jane Austen, I mean who doesn't? But the women in this book take it completely over the top. They speak of her as if she was God. Also, the romantic conflict is just utterly ridiculous. Save your money, find something else.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm writing this review for Christians or moms who watch out for what their daughters' read. If you're not one of those, you just won't understand. Even us "prudes" are allowed to have an opinion. That being said, I give this book a PG-13 rating. I am a happily married woman, who also loves Jane A's novels. This book was a fun, romantic read. About 1/2 way through a sex scene was introduced, which wasn't explicit, but did go into more detail than I'm comfortable with. I decided at that point to quit the book. :-( My curiousity did make me read the last few pages to see how the story ended. If you like to keep your mind pure, I would skip this one & stick to P&P (or "Mr. Darcy's Diary" which was very enjoyable!).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unless your life revolves around Austen, you'll want to smack the characters (and yourself for wasting any time on this book). I love the Austen books and movies, too, but these characters are ridiculous! I couldn't stand to keep reading after about 1/3 through.
Leah-books More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was great, it was hard to put down. I was able to finish it within one day. keeps you in suspense.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Fun read for an Austin devotee. A romance novel with an intellectual twist.
mt256 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A Weekend With Mr. Darcy by Victoria Connelly appealed to me because 1) the title. Who wouldn't want to spend a weekend with Mr. Darcy? 2)It's a Jane Austen variation. I'm a huge fan of all things Jane. I love reading about people who love her as much as I do.A Weekend With Mr. Darcy is set in modern day during a weekend with a bunch of Jane Austen addicts. There are two story-lines that mingle quite often. The first storyline centers around Dr. Katherine Roberts. She is unlucky in-love and has some trust issues. She's developed a pen-pal relationship/friendship with her favorite author, Lorna Warwick. However Katherine doesn't know that Lorna Warwick is really a man named Warwick Lawton. Warwick has fallen in love with Katherine's letter and decides to attend the Jane Austen weekend in order to finally meet her.The second story-line focuses on Robyn and Dan. Robyn's life is a routine of sorts. She's been with the same man since high school. Robyn doesn't love Jace and is trying to find the courage to break up with him. He follows her to Hampshire and makes a bit of a pest out of himself. Robyn's life gets even more complicated when she meets Dan. Dan is a breath of fresh air that makes Robyn begin to believe in happily ever after.This is a great book to read. I loved it from beginning to end. There are several laugh out loud moments. The characters are well developed and fun to read. The supporting characters are really great also. I loved reading both story-lines. I couldn't get enough. There is a perfect quote on the cover that fits this novel to a T. It says "The course of true love never does run smooth when Jane Austen makes the rules.." Victoria Connelly has a witty sense of humor that translates well onto paper. This book is a total win for me and if you love Jane Austen variations you should check it out. Other reasons to read this book include:1. Undressing Mr. Darcy2. Handsome men on horseback3. Bennets and BonnetsI'm so glad I read this book and I am now Victoria Connelly's newest fan.
auntangi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fun, quick read...although the abrupt ending seemed a bit unnatural. It is what it is...and I liked it.
RivkaBelle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Review originally published on my blog AWordsWorth.blogspot.comhe majority of the novel takes place at aweekend-long conference on Jane Austen, hosted by Dame Pamela at her extensive and gorgeous home Purley Hall. The conference is an annual event, with numerous regular attendees who jump at the chance to spend an entire weekend indulging their addiction to all things Austen (including, oh happiness, a costume ball!). With this romantic backdrop, our three main characters: Warwick, Katherine and Robyn find themselves pulled into their very own Jane-worthy romances. But will all end happily ever after, or is that only for the novel world?A Weekend with Mr. Darcy is told in alternating perspective from each of the main three characters, which gives us a unique look at the way their stories develop. Especially the growing relationship between Warwick and Katherine - Warwick has a secret, a BIG secret, that we know but Katherine does not. It makes their interactions very interesting, and leads to some awkward moments. Robyn has awkward moments of her own, as her need-to-break-up-with boyfriend crashes the conference. Multiple times. Even more awkward is that Robyn stands a very real danger of falling head-over-heels for Dame Pamela's younger brother.The best way to sum up this novel is: "the course of true love ne'er did run smooth" - all the right elements are there, but because our characters are human, they make mistakes. Sometimes big ones. Their journey to self-discovery, with the gracious assistance of Dame Pamela and the support of other Jane Austen addicts, is an engaging and entertaining tale. As their self-discovery leads them to new journeys and adventures, things fall into place in a way that even dear Jane would approve of. A fun, light read with just a hint of seriousness to give it flavor. Can't wait to see what the next two installments of the trilogy will be like!
Supera710 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm not a Janeite, but I do love Jane Austin and fan fiction about her novels. A Weekend With Mr Darcy is a light, easy beach read, where the girl gets her hero. I love happy endings!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you look forward to anything Austen-like, you will enjoy this book. It's an easy read that draws modern day parallels. Characters aren't completely developed but enough is there for you to enjoy the short journey. I thought this was the first in a series but I'm not sure where these characters could go from here. But again, an enjoyable quick read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed it. However, the Caroline Bingley wedding coincidence was a stretch. The interaction at the wedding was believable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago