Werewolf Upstairs

Werewolf Upstairs

by Ashlyn Chase

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Werewolf Upstairs 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 233 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book based on it having almost 5 stars from other reviewers. After getting about 50 pages into it I started wondering if these other people actually read the same book I was reading. This book is terrible! I just cant get into a book when the main female character meets the main male love interest and in the first five minutes they are holding hands and kissing and by the 2nd day they are sleeping together and telling people they are and i quote "boyfriend and girlfriend". I honestly cannot recall the last time I read something this cheesy. Also half the time the book contradicts itself and doesnt make any sense. I almost never wright reviews on a bad book but I had to have the chance to forwarn others. Do not buy this book!!!!!
LASR_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Attorney Roz Wells has made a move to be a public defender in Boston. She's bored with her job and her life, and more than a little concerned about her best friend. Merry recently got married, and Roz has moved into her old apartment, hoping to surprise her friend when she returns from her honeymoon trip. Her concern stems from the admission that Merry made to her, that she was marrying a shape-shifter. This gives Roz cause for worry, thus the big move. When she meets her upstairs neighbor, Konrad Wolfensen, the attraction is almost instantaneous on both their parts. What Roz doesn't know is that she has just moved into the strangest apartment building in Boston. From the psychic witches on the third floor, to the vampire in the basement and all the residents in between, life is never boring. When Konrad gets arrested, she is assigned as his public defender, and she proves he couldn't have done what was claimed, getting the charges dropped. And Konrad has a suspicion that Roz is his one true mate, an idea proved correct when they discover they can mind speak. But will his secret be too much for Roz to accept? With a vengeful ghost out to frame Konrad, can she find a way to clear him? Can Roz accept that life just got much more interesting, and stay with Konrad? Ashlyn Chase has written a fun and sexy follow up to her book Strange Neighbors. The Werewolf Upstairs brings the reader back to the Boston apartment building filled with paranormal characters of every strain. The romance between Roz and Konrad is the focal point, but there are several side issues here as well. I enjoyed watching Roz and Konrad as they ventured into untried territory in their search for new careers, and laughed with them as each failure just inspired them on. I liked Roz. She is smart, and sassy, and still just on the insecure side. Her attraction to Konrad has her hesitant, fearing she isn't the typical slim and sexy type. I loved watching Konrad bring her out of her shell and convince her she is beautiful and vibrant and just what he wants. I also loved watching her open-minded personality, willing to accept things at face value and learn to accept what was once unbelievable to her. Konrad is just delicious, sexy and sweet and caring. He is smart, and talented, and tends to be impulsive at times. He refuses to let Roz feel bad about herself. But it gets harder to hide his alternate personality from her, and he shows his vulnerable side more than once in this story. I enjoyed watching him come to terms with his feelings for Roz, and his concern for her was evident in everything he did. There are several threads running through this, from the vengeful ghost at the museum who frames Konrad, to the feud between the witches that keeps popping up. All of the characters from the first book are here, including the annoying and very normal apartment manager and busybody, Dottie. I love how Ms. Chase continues to keep Dottie in the dark as to the nature of the supernatural beings that reside in the building, including Dottie's own husband. I look forward to the future stories of the other residents of this decidedly different Boston apartment building and all of its many denizens. Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews
passionreader More than 1 year ago
I've read bad reviews and good review on this book, but I read the first book so I decided to give it a shot and I'm happy I did. It flowed wonderfuly with the first "Strange Neighbors" whch I loved now I'm going to read the next book "The Vampire Next Door." But I must warn anyone that wants to read this you need to read the first book or you'll be lost.This series is a fun read if you want a romantic comedy with steamy love with a splash of supernatural mayhem then get 1#Strange Neighbors, first then read 2#The werewolf Upstairs!
kherbrand More than 1 year ago
This is the second book by Ashlyn Chase involving the residents of a Boston apartment building inhabited by mostly paranormals. I first met them in Strange Neighbors. In this book, Roz Wells (cute pun), a lawyer, moves into the building to be close to her best friend Merry. She knows that Merry's husband is a shapeshifter, but doesn't know about the other residents. She meets Konrad Wolfensen waiting for her moving truck and sparks fly. Before long Konrad and Roz are an item, but Konrad has yet to confess to Roz that he is a werewolf. He knows that Roz is supposed to be his mate, as they have a weird telepathic link, but doesn't know how she will react to his true identity. Together they decide that they both would like new careers, so they set off to try to find their "bliss" in a new job. They share some hilarious as well as harrowing mishaps together on this journey. Morgaine, one of their neighbors, trying to pump up her income as well, has accepted a job with the police department, trying to get information out of a ghost at a local museum that had a theft 20 years earlier. She has the ability to communicate with ghosts. Konrad goes along as a witness and for some reason the ghost takes a dislike to him. He tries to set Konrad up for the theft. Will Roz be able to prove him innocent? Or will he have to figure out a way to "change" while in jail? This was another humorous book and while you don't have to read Strange Neighbors first, I found it helpful to know some of the other characters before reading this one. Warning though - there are some pretty explicit sex scenes.
AAR More than 1 year ago
THE WEREWOLF UPSTAIRS by Ashlyn Chase is a delightful paranormal romance set in presence day Boston. This is the sequel to" Strange Neighbors",but can be read as a stand alone.It is well written with detail,depth,turns and twists. It has romance,love,witches,werewolves,mystery,suspense,humorous,sensuality,ghost,spicy sex scenes,a vengeful ghost,a feud between witches and werewolves.The romance,and passion between Roz and Konrad is electric,fantastic and will leave you wanting more.If you enjoy a good paranormal romp with sexy adventure and mystery this is the one for you.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and can be found at Sourcebooks Casablanca,an imprint of Sourcebooks and My Book Addiction and More.
meggerfly More than 1 year ago
The Werewolf Upstairs is the second book in Ashlyn Chase's Strange Neighbors series and is an awesome addition to the PNR genre. In this book we get a closer look at Roz Wells (get it? LOL!) Roz is Merry's (Strange Neighbors) best friend. She has moved into Merry's recently vacated apartment because she's worried that Merry has made a mistake by marrying Jason. What Roz didn't realize was that by moving into the building she was putting herself right smack dab in the middle of all the supernatural stuff that went on in the place. Especially when she gets involved with Konrad - the werewolf upstairs. What I liked about this book: ~The many pop-culture references. I was singing Love Shack for days. ~The humor in this book was great! Ashlyn not only has a way with words but also knows how to get her readers to laugh ~The cover of this book is fantastic! It embodies the story perfectly. Very rarely do you get a cover that so accurately fits the story. A+ to the cover people! ~Gwyneth's and Morgaine's bickering. Gwyneth is a pip! ~The steamy sex scenes. Talk about hot!! ~I identified with Roz quite easily. What I didn't like about this book:  ~Roz totally threw me for a loop in this. In Strange Neighbors she was really supportive of Merry. In this book it becomes apparent that though Roz is an awesome friend and supports her girl Merry she also suspects that Merry might be cuckoo for Cocoa Puffs.  Roz moved into the apartment not only to be close to her friend but also so she could watch over her like she was a babysitter or something. Not cool IMO considering how Merry was so psyched to be on her own in Strange Neighbors. Ashlyn Chase is now one of my auto buy authors. I just love her light style. I read as an escape and she definitely provides one. I encourage you to give her a try.
tigerlilly_liz More than 1 year ago
I read the first book ¿Strange Neighbors¿ and enjoyed it, so I thought why not read the next "Werewolf Upstairs". I was disappointed! The female and male lead characters meet and are kissing and holding hands in the first 5min saying we are ¿boyfriend and girlfriend¿. The story felt like it did not flow and was missing many key components that might have helped bring the story along better.
Kendall Jordan More than 1 year ago
I read Strange Neighbors and wasn't disappointed with Roz and Konrad's story. Yeah, it's a little far fetched but c'mon, it's a PARANORMAL FICTION novel. It was a quiet, wonderful reprieve from my every day life and I can't wait to continue this series with book 3. Thank you, Mrs. Chase.
momsince1996 More than 1 year ago
I LOVE this series. Ashlyn Chase has got a great thing going with this one! The characters are well written and extremely entertaining. I would recommend buying this book and the books that come before it.
SheilaDeeth More than 1 year ago
I've read some other Werewolf romances published by Sourcebooks, Casablanca, so I was quite eager to try this author as well. The Werewolf Upstairs continues the stories of characters first met in Strange Neighbors, but the author does a great job of bringing readers up to speed; I wouldn't have been sure there was a first book if I hadn't looked it up. Attorney Roz Wells (the author loves to play with names) has just moved into her best friend's old apartment. Now she's meeting the neighbors, including hunky, and slightly wild, Konrad Wolfensen. Roz's friend claims to have met, and married, a shapeshifter while living here, and Roz just wants to keep an eye on her, make sure she's not gone totally round the bend. Pretty soon though, Roz's eyes are settling fairly permanently on Konrad's glorious physique. The lovers spend a lot of time in the bedroom, fairly imaginatively and lengthily enjoying each others' anatomy. But somehow Konrad's kind nature ends up with him accused of a twenty-year-old crime and his new attorney has to defend him. It's hard to defend a lover when you know he's lied to you, but maybe Roz will find out what he is and forgive him in the end. There's a ghost with a most annoying laugh, a gothic witch who wonders why people always seem nervous around her, and a host of other strange neighbors rounding out the tale. And there's history-isn't there always-behind the lover's reticence. Plus there's a future, rather nicely introduced as the story closes, with possibilities of sequels in or out of the Boston apartment house. The plot's fun, the job-hunt zany, and the humor and dialog are great; but I'm feeling old. Bedroom and ghost may be written for readers with fewer hangups and gray hairs, but I still enjoyed the book. Definitely plenty of supernatural mayhem and fun to go round. Disclosure: I got lucky and won an advanced reading copy after reading a review on a blog tour.
BookAddictPatti More than 1 year ago
I love these covers! I'm not normally a fan of cartoony covers, but these are adorable. I hope they stick with them throughout the series. Now, on to the story: Roz Wells (say it out loud - you'll get it) is an attorney who's not happy with her chosen profession. She's a public defender but wants to do something different. She's moved into her best friend's recently-vacated apartment, and the first person she meets is uber-hunky Konrad Wolfensen. Konrad works for a security company in a less-than-typical capacity. After he's arrested for breaking and entering, he decides he wants to do something else with his life. Together they decide to figure out what they want to do instead of their chosen careers. The mishaps they experience are unbelievable! As they're working their way through career choices, they decide to help another resident of the apartment building. Konrad is falsley accused of a crime and Roz must delve into a past Konrad has tried to forget. Roz and Konrad are adorable. Konrad is a little boneheaded at times but he's got a good heart :) I really enjoyed reading their adventures - they did stuff I'd actually enjoy doing with my own husband! Ms. Chase writes a great combination of Contemporary and Paranormal romance - upbeat and fun with just the right amount of weird. I am loving getting to know the quirky residents of this apartment building and I can't wait to see who's story is next!
Smurf97 More than 1 year ago
For me this book contained everything I like.........romance, crime, drama, and laughter. Hope this author continues the story with the other tenants in the building (Sly, Nathan or the 2 witches).
xenarox14 More than 1 year ago
Getting past the lack of relationship development between Roz and Konrad, there is way more that this book lacks. There is no real conflict, the main character is whiny and self-concious if I had to read another word about Roz's flab... The book is accurately priced it is certainly no Hamilton.
karen roy More than 1 year ago
Do not waste your time or money on the cliche' riddled novel.
karyanca on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a slight improvement over the previous book, Strange Neighbors. There's something about both books that I really *want* to like, some promise of potential for a good story, but it never reaches the level of an enjoyable or thought provoking read for me.The two main characters, Konrad and Roz, are slightly more likeable than Jason and Merry. Konrad has more of a backbone than Jason, yet is still a victim over and over again. Roz is less inconsistent than Merry, yet still accepts certain paranormal elements easily while inexplicably reacting negatively to others (for the convenience of the plot).The author still seems to throw in information completely irrelevant to the story just out of personal interest. There are also too many side stories floating about waiting for their own book yet contributing little to this one.In fairness, I admit to skimming over the (many) sex scenes because I usually find these as boring as plumbing repair instructions.
reading_crystal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was excited for this and I was not let down. Ashlyn Chase writes a wonderful fun, light and funny romance and I am learning that this is a type I really enjoy and I really need from time-to-time. And the timing was perfect. I was just getting over bronchitis and being home with sick kids and here was this nice light romance and a perfect pick-me-up.First there are the characters. I love Ms. Chase's characters. The women are self-assured but really not. Roz has self-image issues about her weight (and what woman doesn't) so it was very easy to relate to Roz. Roz also can't believe that the hunky upstairs neighbor Konrad would be attracted to her and she reacts in all the typical ways. Sarcastic remarks about her weight when he compliments her and other ways that are very typical of a curvy woman. Konrad takes this all in stride and teaches her that he loves the way she looks. Roz also is looking for a career change. She is not satisfied with being a lawyer and wants something new. Konrad, who leads a life of crime is also in the market for a new career and the parts of the book where they go on the career search together are hysterical.Konrad is a self-assured alpha male but he's a lovable one. He truly appreciates Roz and cares for her without taking over for her. He seems to know exactly what her boundaries are. The only problem for this really hot relationship? Konrad has a secret and it's a biggie and he's really not sure how Roz will handle the fact that he is a werewolf. So he hides it from her, but she knows something is up. And that is the big if in the book, will this secret keep them apart?The romance in the book is hot with a capital H, so be prepared. I enjoyed Roz and Konrad's banter and the romance. It was a lot of fun to watch. More development of the neighbors occurs in this book as well and I love the neighbors - they always provide great antics but they also care for each other and that is a wonderful thing to read.A very easy and enjoyable read, from the first page to the last. I can't wait to see who moves in next and what antics the neighbors will be up to next as well. Because with an apartment full of vampires, shape-shifters, witches, a ghost and a few normal humans, you never know what to expect next.
mesmericrevelation on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another great book from Ashlyn Chase. This series is really good. I didn't enjoy this one as much as the first book but I still couldn't put it down. The only reason I didn't like it as much as the first is because of the main characters, Roz and Konrad. I don't know what it is about them but I didn't like them as much as Merry and Jason.The Werewolf upstairs is funny, romantic and well written. And again, I thought chad was great. I can't get enough of these characters. I want more.
blodeuedd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Yes this is book 2, but all the characters are introduced again so one can jump right in. Roz is not sure what to believe either since her friend Merry did say she married a shape shifter. But when she does get that this is a not a normal house she takes it with ease. She was a nice woman, but insecure since she was not model thin. Konrad is one sweet wolf, and he tells her that she is perfect like she is. Gotta love that.This was romance and lust from the first moment. Yes they fell fast, and knew it fast too. They were really comfortable around each other too. So lots of romance and passion.The drama comes from him being caught for burglary, and then when one of the witches upstairs tries to solve this big case. The funnier parts are when they are dating. They are not happy with the jobs they have so they try new things, not with much success.I think I preferred book 1, I can't say, I would have to re-read it. But sometimes I just felt something lacking, I think it was in the way they talked, some of those lines could have been better. Something was missing.Recommendation and final thoughts:The house is amusing, I will give you that. A bunch of quirky characters, and I found myself wondering about the shifter Nathan, I think he could have a good book. If you enjoyed book 1 then you will surely like this one too.
LadyDragonRider23 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much. I could not put it down. The twists and turns of the storyline were well done. I loved all the characters and how they get a long in the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It takes a lot for me not to stomach finishing a book, but this one and the others in this series are awful! Dumbed down writing and characters impossible to care about. Really wish i could get my money back.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago