West for the Black Hills

West for the Black Hills

by Peter Leavell

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

West for the Black Hills 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Jocelyn_Green More than 1 year ago
I don't naturally gravitate toward Westerns as a genre, but having read Peter Leavell's first book, Gideon's Call, I knew I'd like this, too. Turns out, that was understatement. I loved this one even more than his first. I read West for the Black Hills in two sittings. The main character is complex but completely likeable, flaws and all. The story moves at a great pace, with enough action scenes to keep the pages flying, and enough character development to make us really care about the outcomes. The dialogue is entertaining and realistic, and the vivid historical setting is accurately portrayed. Since my family has taken several camping trip to the Black Hills as I was growing up, I was especially interested in this novel. But having read it, I'm convinced that a previous fascination with Dakota Territory isn't necessary to enjoy this book. You'll be plenty fascinated by the last page--and chomping at the bit for the next book in the series! Both men and women who enjoy historicals will love this book. ~Jocelyn Green, author of Spy of Richmond
TCramer More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful read! It includes everything I enjoy -- History, horses, romance, politics, mystery, and awesome gunfights. Yes, it's packed full of action and adventure. I will warn you, if you don't care for swift justice being dealt out for evil men, you won't like this book. I happen to love that. I'm ready for the next book please. Very happy with this purchase.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A western that feels genuine. This story and it's hero, Philip Anderson, would be at home in the world of Louis L-Amour or Zane Gray. This was an excellent book, better even then his first novel - which was a very very good novel. (His first novel is "Gideon's Call." You should go buy it and read it if you haven't yet.) If you love westerns, you'll love this one too. It kept me up late into the night, on the edge of my seat. There is action, adventure, tragedy, love, redemption, faith -- all well written in a confident, authoritative voice. There are so many scenes that stick out to me long after I read them. If you like "old school" westerns like Zane Grey, Louis L'Amour, Max Brand, then this book fits right into that style and you will enjoy it too. This book has everything in it that I love in a western, including an amazing gun fight scene (at Deadwood, SD!). This is one of the best books I've read all year. I also like how the author has developed as a writer since his first book. Some of the plot elements from the first book that were weak (like the romance) seems much better, stronger and believable here. I love that the book feels "authentic", you know the author has done impeccable research for the story, and he is able to weave that history believably into the plot. You don't feel like it is just a history book with a weak story attached to it. The history helps enhance the story. And, as every good historical fiction ought to do, it has whet my appetite to learn more about the history of South Dakota! I can't wait for the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only problem with this book is it ends, I wanted more of the story. If you like westerns you will love this book. I have visited the black hills briefly so it made the story even more interesting for me.
NanceeMarchinowski More than 1 year ago
I hadn't read a good Western for many years, and having the opportunity to read this one just piqued my interest in reading more! Written in the first person, the protagonist's story is portrayed with depth of feeling and a rich history of the late 19th century Dakota Territory. I followed Philip throughout his journey, and grew to love him. A man of character and faith, Philip lived his life based on great moral principles and a strong conscience. The author's research is impeccable, reflecting the realities of the west, with beautiful detailing of the landscape. Characters were well represented through the author's descriptions, and the atmosphere of life in the late 1800s is told with honesty and integrity. Characters are numerous, and very well defined, good, bad and ugly. This novel is representative of life in its earthiest and basic forms, giving the reader a broad focus of the times and settings. I highly recommend this book, and look forward to more from this talented author! Disclaimer: I received this book as a gift, with no expectations for a positive review. All expressed opinions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First western I have read and makes me want to read more. Believable storyline and characters. Kept my interest from the first to the last page. Hard to put down.
CarmieJo More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. The characters are believable and the story kept me turning the pages. Faith is woven throughout in a natural way and is never preachy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
kitty36LD More than 1 year ago
A good book A very good book which I enjoyed reading.