Wild Thing

Wild Thing

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wild Thing 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Wild Thing Maggie Shayne, Marjorie M. Liu, Alyssa Day & Meljean Brooks Berkley, May 2007, $14.00 ISBN: 0425215164 --- 'Animal Magnetism' by Maggie Shayne. Veterinarian Macy McNamara can talk with the animals. When Detective Jay Harris brings in Cassie the dog, Macy acts like a pit bull towards the cop, but is gentle and caring towards the canine. As she works on the wounded animal, she learns from the dog¿s mouth that Cassie was an eye witness to a rape and was shot by the assailant when she tried to intervene. Macy is not sure what to tell Jay, but she finds herself attracted to him. --- 'Paradise' by Meljean Brooks. In the Northwest United States vampire Lucas Marsden meets Angelic Guardian Selah with each attracted to one another though their species would never condone a relationship between them. However, attraction aside, this unlikely pair team up to battle demons threatening humans. --- 'Hunter Kiss' by Marjorie M. Liu. While on a quest, demon ¿zombie¿ hunter Maxine Kiss meets former priest Grant Cooperon when his human aura stands out amidst their dark aura she saves his life but takes two bullets doing so yet does not die. They team up as the demons are increasingly coming across the divide. --- 'Wild Hearts in Atlantis' by Alyssa Day. In Atlantis as part of forging alliances in the war against the vampires, Poseidon's warrior Bastien is sent to negotiate a treaty with the shapeshifters as the big man once saved the life of one of them Kat. He can remember how she shook his world and still does. --- These are four excellent paranormal romances starring strong lead couples in realms that seem real in spite of the paranormal environs and the novella format. --- Harriet Klausner
maymay13 More than 1 year ago
liked most of the stories,would like more alyssa day wild hearts in atlantis was a joy to read! it was funny,with a number of unexpected turns
truly a page turner!reminded me of some of jane castles harmony series.
made the whole book worth buying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Always enjoy being introduced to new or previously unread authors. This is a very fun read. So far haven' been bored.
onyx95 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is an anthology that has four paranormal stories, I have only read one so far, but I will get to the rest. I bought the book for the prequel story by Marjorie M. Liu, so that is where I started.Hunter Kiss by Marjorie M. Liu*** An introduction to Maxine Kiss as a hunter of demons with the help of her own little friends Zee, Aaz, Raw, Dek and Mal. Meeting and finding why the demons want ex-priest Grant Cooperon dead, leaves Maxine questions she never thought to ask and doubts about herself she never thought she would have. *** A Prequel that is needed and I am still confused. This is a very fun and interesting story and concept, but the execution is still a bit vague, leaving loads of questions that the first full length book (The Iron Hunt) may be able to help clarifyAnimal Magnetism by Maggie ShayneParadise by Melijean BrookHearts in Atlantis by Alyssa Day
thewalkinggirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Animal Magnetism / Maggie Shayne (** 1/2) - Shayne writes well from a technical standpoint, but her stories never move me. This is probably the closest I've come to enjoying one of her stories. Veterinarian who psychically communicates with animals and shape-shifter cop team up to stop a serial rapist, but don't know about each other's special abilities.Paradise / Meljean Brook (*** 1/2) - The first time I read this, I could follow the story, but it didn't really do much for me. Now that I've read Demon Angel, it makes a lot more sense. Features Guardian Selah and vampire/theater director Lucas as they battle against a demon trying to open a gate to Hell in Oregon.Hunter Kiss / Marjorie M. Liu (****) - The short story that began the Hunter Kiss series. It does help to have read this to understand what's going on in later books, but as it is basically the set-up for the series, it leaves a lot of unanswered questions. In other words, those of you who want your short stories to be able to stand alone will likely be irritated by this one. Maxine Kiss is a demon-hybrid/demon-slayer, who acts as a sort of prison guard for the planet, to police any demons who have gotten loose here. She's joined by a personal guard of demon tattoos and by Grant, ex-priest and demon pied-piper. Very interesting, very complex story and world-building.Wild Hearts in Atlantis / Alyssa Day (****) - Bastien, a warrior of Atlantis, and Kat, a panther shifter who can't shift due to her half human parentage, work together to stop vampires from partnering with shape-shifters against the Atlanteans. The story's not terribly original, but it's a fun romp. It's not necessary to have read earlier books in the series.
itsamekatrina on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Only cared for one read out of the four in this anthology. Maggie Shayne's "Animal Magnetism" . It rated four stars in my rating system. Otherwise, the rest were a disappointment.
rocalisa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hunter Kiss - Marjorie M. Liu (8/10)Short story in "Wild Thing" anthology. I set out not wanting to like this - mostly because I can't afford to have another autobuy series. The budget just won't take it. The blurb - woman with living tattoos fights demons - and the fact it was writing present tense, which I don't really like, had me thinking I was probably safe. Wrong, wrong, wrong. Once again, Liu shows she can create a quite dark world and portray it in a compassionate and hopeful manner. The heroine, Maxine, is well drawn and likeable, the hero is pleasant with a suspicion of hidden depths and Maxine's "demons" are surprisingly compelling characters. I'm fairly sure I'll be reading the series after all.
magneto9 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really only read two of the stories in this anthology. The first one by Maggie Shayne, which was cute and the one by Marjorie M. Liu. The Liu story was wonderful. Very original and fortunately the beginning of a series. Unfortunately the second book won't be out until 2008.
Jenson_AKA_DL on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Four different tales of paranormal romances ranging from vampires to Atlantians. The first by Maggie Shayne was about a woman who can view the world through animal's eyes and falls for a detective working a rape case where the victim's dog is the only witness, Meljean Brook's tale apparently takes place between her novels Demon Angel and Demon Moon was probably my favorite, Marjorie M. Liu's tale was about a demon hunter and a former priest turned pied piper (seriously!) and Alyssa Day creats a short story based on her character of Bastien from Atlantis Rising which makes me even more anxious to read the book which is currently languishing in my TBR pile.I liked all the stories. I always find anthologies interesting even though the stories are really too short to have much depth. It is nice to get ideas on what authors you want to be reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago