Worthy Fights: A Memoir of Leadership in War and Peace

Worthy Fights: A Memoir of Leadership in War and Peace

by Leon Panetta, Jim Newton

Hardcover

$32.40 $36.00 Save 10% Current price is $32.4, Original price is $36. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Worthy Fights: A Memoir of Leadership in War and Peace 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
ivhs72 More than 1 year ago
Top notch and very interesting from someone who saw through the Emperor's new clothes
Mik3MF More than 1 year ago
Clearly written memoir by a man worthy of admiration and trust. I read the book that Robert Gates wrote about this same period in our history. I enjoyed it and then I read Panetta's book which corroborates Gates with few nuances of difference. Both are men I trust. Both write clearly without Washington speak or governmental jargon...both are heroes to me. And both say essentially the same thing about Obama's White Hours, the man, his staff, and his strengths and weaknesses. His credibility is high...Panetta's.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is well written. It turned out to be a page-turner for me. It is as well crafted as his legislation.
PAYDIRT More than 1 year ago
Always am skeptical of these "after action reviews" when someone like Mr.Panetta writes a book after they finish their time in position. Before I even open the book I ask, "How come you didn't say/do/protest something while you had the job? There are a few moments in this book where that very question pops in your head and surprisingly gets answered by Panetta. He doesn't seem to shy away from stating his mind and in many cases disagreeing outright with the President. Politically though he is a Democrat and it comes across subtly. Overall I found the book a great insiders view of a man who had a front row seat to recent events. My biggest disappointment is in Barnes & Noble for not sending me an autographed copy as promised in their promotional email if I ordered "early enough."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
His blind eyes flicker around. He hears dariu's voice. Whos there? He asks
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While our political views may not be the same. After reading the book by Leon Panetta I believe the things that he has accomplished as the first generation of an immigrant is truly amazing and I enjoyed the book immensely.I now have a great deal of respect for a true patriot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TaffysDad More than 1 year ago
Interesting book about a modern figure who filled numerous high posts in our federal government. Many insights into important events in our recent past. But Mr. Panetta seems to paint a one-sided picture of many events and he always seems to be the one who found the right path. Maybe a little perspective on things that went wrong might have balanced his reminiscences.
jlbrun More than 1 year ago
Shows that He has a lot of good in his comments, despite some of the critical remarks made about his timing. I would rather know of the Administration shortcomings real time rather than just past History
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GJP48 More than 1 year ago
Although I ahve not finished reading Worthy Flights I find that this book seems to be written very honestly and gives a good insight into both the Clinton & Obama Administrations and Mr. Panetta's duties in both.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Didn't read the book, but have an oppinion. Shame on you Ms. or Mr. Idiot
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Its nice."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never did like people who kiss and tell.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very disappointed in Mr. Panetta. I thought he had more integrity. Was going to buy the book until I read the reviews. Sold out to the publishers for sales. Shame on you Mr. Panetta.