ISBN-10:
0941188701
ISBN-13:
9780941188708
Pub. Date:
10/01/1998
Publisher:
Wiese, Michael Productions
The Writer's Journey: Mythic Structure for Writers / Edition 2

The Writer's Journey: Mythic Structure for Writers / Edition 2

by Christopher Vogler
Current price is , Original price is $24.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

This item is available online through Marketplace sellers.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Writer's Journey 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Using paradigms explored in the works of Joseph Campbell (Hero With A Thousand Faces) Christopher Vogler delivers an immensely readable, illuminating explanation of why certain classic and successful stories and films resonate so strongly with their respective audiences. Breaking it down into a roadmap of events and character archetypes, Vogler teaches by example how every writer can turn a go-nowhere story idea into a journey that will captivate readers--and editors--alike. Don't miss this great book! (For a list of additional must-have writing books, visit the Resources page at WriteWayPro's website.)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love The Writer's Journey. And one thing that makes it particularly useful to me is the fact that the same basic principles (mythological approach of Joseph Campbell) used in the book are also used in the writer's story-development software program that I use (religiously): StoryCraft Software. In short, if you believe in the mythological approach as THE fundamental approach to story creation, then The Writer's Journey and StoryCraft Software should be your 'bibles.'
JamesinLA More than 1 year ago
If you're looking to write a story and you haven't read "The Writer's Journey," you need your head examined. I live and work in Los Angeles and everybody who's anybody, and anybody who ever thought they were anybody, has used this book as a resource and inspiration. My favorite thing about Chris Vogler's "The Writer's Journey" is this: Even if you're intimidated by the concepts he's talking about in the book; even if you're not the most well-read, or haven't seen a ton of movies; if you stay with the book to the end, you'll get it, even if you're worried that you didn't. Get this book and read it (even if you don't finish it) and talk about it, even if you're not the most informed about it. It's cool to develop your own philosophy. And finally (like I'm some authority), long after you put the book away, don't hesitate to take a peek at it every now and then. The one thing "The Writer's Journey" will always do, even at glance, is reinforce the good instincts you already have.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Initially, I thought this book would be just another 'hollywood template' for a script. However, since there was the promise of the use of Joseph Campbell's 'The Hero's Journey' as it's source, I decided to give it a try. Almost from the beginning, I found myself writing copious notes in the margins of this book. It related directly to my 'screenplay in progress' and gave me the paradigm I needed to structure the script. I found that what was being said resonated with me as truth about focusing one's writing. It didn't feel formulaic--just informative and thought provoking. My imagination was triggered into creating more relevant scenes for my characters because now I had a better understanding of who they are, where they are going and why. I will most likely re-read this book at the beginning of every screenplay I write and allow it to reflect on my story. As a bonus, I also found in it parallels to my own life's journey. Thus, the title. Let it take you there.
JoseS More than 1 year ago
Laurenbdavis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Perhaps better for screenwriters than novelists, there is still much to admire in this work, especially since I'm an admirer of Joseph Campbell's work, to which Vogler acknowledges a huge debt. It's thought-provoking, especially in terms of plot. As I say, perhaps not wonderful for the prose writer, since almost all examples are taken from film. I love the exploration of archetypes -- a great leaping off place for any writer.
gregorymose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is an extremely useful tool when trying to plot out a novel. It has to be taken with a grain of salt, but the author himself points out repeatedly that the idea is not to slavishly follow his outline of the standard mythic patterns made famous by Joseph Campbell, but to use them as a guide and inspiration. His examples rely heavily on movie scripts, but his observations apply very well to novel writing.
PointedPundit on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great stories contain common elements. Christopher Vogler at the beginning of The Writers Journey calls upon the psychological writings by Carl Jung and the myth making philosophy of Joseph Campbell to explain why certain scenarios sell. In doing so, he prepares a blueprint for creating mythic stories.Now in its Third edition, The Writer's Journey describes the models common in the hero's journey. In the book's first section, Vogler describes different kinds of characters who appear in stories. In the second, he discusses the stages of the journey through which the hero generally passes. The final, supplementary portion of the book explains how films like Titanic and The Full Monty follow these patterns.Vogler is thought-provoking and insightful. Combine the lessons in this book with those from Rust Hills¿ [[ASIN:0618082344 Writing in General and the Short Story in Particular]] and you have the literary foundation for penning saleable stories.Penned by the Pointed PunditFebruary 24, 20083:34:13 PM
JeaniaK on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I learned a new way of looking at stories and movies from this book. They say it is one of the fundamental texts for hollywood script writers and I believe the archetypes and journey stages are strong models to refer to for the fiction writer. One might best explain this book in applying one of its models - the journey stages - to a film many of us are familiar with. I tried it with Forrest Gump:1) Ordinary World: Begins life as a cripple, with odds stacked against him 2) His quest becomes Jenny, an early friend who treats him normally and represents normal life. She speaks the Call to Adventure: Run Forrest, run! 3) Reluctant Hero: Forest still gets beat up, still called stupid by most 4) Mentor = Momma, who believes in him and tells him he can do anything/ ¿Stupid is as stupid does.¿ 5) Crossing the First Threshold: Becoming a football hero (through running & confusion) 6) Tests: Nearly getting killed in war, Jenny rejecting him in a coffee house, fights with Jenny¿s boyfriend (they represent hippie counterculture when he is a Viet Nam military hero they protest), Jenny almost killing herself and taking his goal of gaining her as his true love from him. 7) Inmost cave: Forrest faces his first real failure in a long time as a shrimper, but Lt. Dan faces his fears of failure too and they both ride out a storm that ultimately is the saving grace for their shrimp boat business. Also, Lt. Dan invests their money making them financially secure for life. 8) Ordeal: Momma dies 9) Reward: Jenny comes back only to leave him the day after she has sex with him to prove she loves him. 10) Road Back: Forrest starts running again. People see him as a wise man and follow his lead. 11) Ressurection: Jenny contacts him, they come together, he learns he has a son! Who¿s smart! 12) Return With The Elixir: The family goes back to Alabama. Jenny dies, but little Forrest is an important legacy of big Forrest¿s original quest.
annaleeblysse on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
So far, this is the best book I've read when it comes to books meant to help writers. It was an easy and enjoyable read ... full of helpful examples. I read a lot of mythology so it was interesting to read this book and compare ideas I've had over the years. I've read Joseph Campbell, so the ideas weren't new to me. But, this book is more user friendly for a writer.
opinion8dsngr on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A very well done guide illustrating how Joseph Campbell's Hero's Journey mythology can be used to strengthen individual writer's stories. Besides analyzing the basic structure of the Journey and providing helpful questions for authors, the book also uses over 100 films as examples and provides a powerful testament to the power of writing fiction.
lisacronista on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have returned to this book many times over to refresh my understanding of the hero's journey. The best fiction follows this template closely, and I judge all books and movies accordingly.
jvalka on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Distillation of Joseph Campbell's hero's journey for novelists and screenwriters. In part one he discusses the archetypes of hero, mentor, threshold guardian, herald, shape shifter, shadow and trickster. In part two he explains each stage of the hero's journey.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mythology in story telling does parallel human history, since the earliest fire chats. The uses of mythology in oral Allegories and serial story telling was common in Ancients; Persian spread it east and west predating expansion of Their initial Empire. Before that Maggie's used it and expanded it with early theological foundations. Since, the written by products are now dusts, the story telling, snake charming are one way to look at some practices going back 6000-11000 BC. So everyone falls short on the historical full picture. It is great to see it utilized and studied after masterful presentations of Joseph Campbell. It still is a living multicultural organisms forming and cultivating story telling!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Christopher Vogler has succeeded, at a relatively tender age, in imparting to the rest of us the kind of wisdom and insights for the ages that would normally be expected to emanate only from a Solomon-like sage/visionary of the distant past. One is transformed having visited this modern oracle and coming away with the secrets of the great story tellers of the classics.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. Buy it and have the same experience.