Xenocide (Ender Quintet Series #3)

Xenocide (Ender Quintet Series #3)

by Orson Scott Card

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Revised)

$8.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Xenocide 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 416 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed 'Speaker', but 'Xenocide' left me sort of disappointed in the end. 350 pages of this sizeable novel are all philosophical rambling about the Descolada and things in general. It's not that some of it isn't clearly intriguing, but it gets tiring, and quite frankly, not a lot HAPPENS in this novel to pick it up. When something DOES happen, it can be really quite spectacular--Card crafts these moments extraordinarily well--and just for these moments 'Xenocide' may be worth the read, but be prepared think about alot more in reading this novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a good book. It picks up straight where "Speaker for the Dead" left off. I must stress, the book is rather confusing and meaningless if you haven't read the previous books. To be fair, it is a bit slow at times and may be confusing if you don't pay attention to the book and the concepts explained/proposed. Another thing is that you must keep an open mind to that which Card writes. He expresses philosophical concepts that may seem impossible and probably are. But that's okay, it's fiction. If you want science fiction that fits all of the perameters of known science you should give up searching for it. You will never find it. The point of science fiction is to surpass the limits of all known science and to stretch to the farthest corners of your imagination. Who cares if his fiction is unlikely? Was not Columbus's idea that the Earth was rounded rejected by many? -Demosthenes
PennameJW More than 1 year ago
This book is the third in a series of 4. But it is arguable that there are more and there are but here not the main 4. In the series there is Enders Game, Speaker for the dead (3000 years after the first one), Xenocide, Children of the mind. There ones only going to be three but the last one were too long and he has to split it into two. In no doubt in my mind that he is my favorite author. I loved it, although I do like all of the books in this is my favorite. It is my favorite because it has the most in-depth of them all. The reason it does it because it has the main climax of all the stories. So in this they haft to find out how to fix their main problems. How they do this is what makes it so great. How he can think of all this and make it believable is what makes him such an amazing. Even thought this book was written many years ago I think that it has such advance technology in it that it could be believable today. Not crap that would be pointless and stupid he puts things in his books that would make seams and would be applicable today. But I do haft to argue that people wouldn't like this because it is very confusing and it makes you think a lot and people just like simple books. That's what makes it so great in my opinion because it is a challenge to me and it gets me to use my imagination in ways that I never have before. So to cap it all I loved this book and I hope you will too after you read all the first books otherwise it will make no sense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It has taken me a long time to come up with my final review of this book for you guys. Finally though, I've got it. So here goes: This book shows not only useful life lessons, advanced knowledge, and an amazing story, but is constantly making the reader want- no, have- to keep going. But many books are like this, as you notice. This however, was in a different way. Oh yes, it keeps on your toes, wondering about what's to happen next, just like a normal book. But this entire series is going to stay with you all your life, i promise. And this book is where that really comes out. So if i and a majority of others were so fascinated by this wonderful book, does that mean its comepletely flawless? No. Never. This book was probably the slowest and most confusing and avanced book of the ender series. I am inclined to believe that the majority of this vocabulary is for college students. However, if you are willing enough to understand this book, and if you truly love it, you will make sure you get something from it, learn from it. So overall, this book is highly reccomended to readers of all ages... if you think you're up to it. ;) :DDDDDDD
grumpie68 More than 1 year ago
I have read Enders Game and Speaker for the Dead. Xenocide is the rest of speaker for the dead. It picks up right where Speaker left off and is so far I've enjoyed it equally as well as the prior. If the overview of this story makes you curious read Speaker for the dead first it will make a lot more sense. You don't HAVE to read Enders Game that one can stand alone. These two Speaker and Xenocide are part one and part two of a story...
RussR More than 1 year ago
It's certainly not as good as the first two books. The story is still cohesive, but it pales compared to the previous two books.  So, honestly, this rating only reflects it's value against the other books in the series, thus far.  It's not my favorite in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi, my pen name is Dipilodorkus and i love books. This is a series that i personaly read when i was a child and as to be expected i did not realy get some of the realy deep and detaild sections of this series but i was still thouroly entertaind by it. It wasnt until ten years later that i picked up these books again and truely READ them and realised how deep and wonderfull this series is. I recomend this book and the other three too any and all book lovers on this earth who enjoy a good story. May you live in peace. - Dipilodorkus
daaviddw More than 1 year ago
I actually really enjoyed this book. There are parts that don't live up to the typical "Ender's Game" standards, but the book makes up for that by for the first time really going in depth about the philosophical and moral issues presented by the series. Card also manages to keep alive his recurring theme of an off-world impending military assault closing in on Ender. Card knows how to keep me interested. At points I found myself staying up until 4 in the morning because I couldn't put the book down. I recommend this book, and this series for that matter, to anyone who can read. It's just that good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book but it gets really deep, if you can understand what I am saying. This is not a action packed story. Lots of into the character's minds along with the Queen and the piggies.
stormyknitter More than 1 year ago
Although the author says each book stands alone, I find it really helps to read the series in order. Xenocide is a natural follow-on to Ender's Game, but there are books in between. I found the book fascinating from an anthropological perspective, and certainly a good read.
LisaMaria_C on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's been years since I first read this--back when this was the most recent Ender novel. Since then I learned more than I ever wanted to know about Orson Scott Card's beliefs. That has affected my reread. I found with Ender's Game I was struck here and there with things I could see displaying his worldview, but the propulsive action of the story made me zip past and enjoy anyway. With the second book, Speaker for the Dead I was reading a lot of his philosophy into the novel and feeling it tainted with experience. Yet, with Xenocide I found it didn't matter anymore to me what Card believes. I love this book. I love his writing. Strange really, because my memory of my reaction the first time around was that Ender's Game was the strongest of the three. It certainly was the strongest in my memory--I remembered a lot of the incidents of the first book, and none of the next two, yet after a reread I found this as strong in its way as the first book.I love philosophical books, ones that make you think, yet by and large I hate polemic, feeling as if a book has an agenda. It can be a very hard line to toe in fiction--having something to say without feeling like the writer is preaching to the reader. Card does this beautiful job of creating thinking creatures that truly feel alien and are great foils for humans, and in creating characters and societies so integrated with the plot, it all feels so organic. Xenocide deals with some sophisticated concepts in physics, metaphysics, and theology but the dialogue never feels infodumpy or like a speech to me or the events like allegory, because it comes straight out the heart of the plot and characters, and their efforts to survive. Speaker of the Dead dealt with Lusitania, home of the only other known sentient species, the technologically primitive "piggies" where Ender has now resurrected a previously extinct sentient species known as the "buggers" with whom mankind had been at war. The Starways Congress is sending a weapon that will wipe out both sentient species--and stopping them means exposing yet another intelligence to destruction, Jane, who started as a computer program and seems to live in the spaces of a faster than light internet. The primary opponent of Lusitania, in service of Congress, is the plant "Path." Path is ethnically Chinese and devoted to Taoism and its people reveres the Gang of Four. The path is described as: "First the gods. Second the ancestors. Third the People. Fourth the rulers. Last the self." Without elaborating, I can tell you that's inimical to my own beliefs, so it amazed me how Card got me to feel sympathy for the culture, then twisting and reversing a lot of my expectations, both about the society and the characters--and certainly Han Qing-jao is one of the most tragic figures I've read in science fiction. One negative note on a technicality--my trade paperback 1991 edition was filled with typos, though it didn't keep me from enjoying the novel.I've found that since I first read this, there is a fourth novel, which is fitting when I consider how much is left unresolved at the end of this book--Children of the Mind. I'll certainly be looking it up.*SPOILERS AHEAD*Incidentally, I'm wondering if "Peter" is really as evil as Ender thinks at the end of this novel--especially given the hint of the sequel's title. After all, he was created out of what Ender wanted, even if subconsciously. Maybe he created Peter, because after all he knew there was a role only Peter could play in the work that still needed to be done--as Peter said, there was some shaking up in human government that needed doing, and Peter has the qualities to do it--maybe even qualities Ender doesn't admit to.Also, I have to add that I do end up rather despising Novinha--she raises all my hackles as someone raised Catholic against all in the religion I see wrong and inimical to human happiness. And that if Ender can't divorce her, I wish he could g
iisamu on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Once again Card delves into the question of what makes a sentient species worth communicating with. He paints a pretty good picture of the human psyche and how people with different backgrounds can view the same information yet arrive at radically different conclusions. Though most of this views on religious life tend to be negative, he still is careful to not paint anyone of his characters in a one dimensional light. All in all, I think this is a very insightful look into human nature, and though set in a Science Fiction background, I would say this is more of a moral tale. Another masterpiece by one of Science Fictions greatest authors.
CUViper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I didn't love Xenocide as much as the first two in the series. The conflict build-up is engaging, and there's some interesting philosophical dilemmas, but the ultimate resolution feels pretty heavy-handed. I still enjoyed the book overall, but unlike Ender's Game, I would be hesitant to recommend Xenocide to non-sci-fi readers.
janemarieprice on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This installment is fascinating for its study of the characters. Both of the alien species, the humans, and the computer become complex and real. Other worlds are developed to very good levels and it keeps you turning the pages.
TadAD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
That's it, I'm done. The series started with a bang and has reached a yawn. I won't bother to keep going.
melydia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The third book in the Ender Wiggin saga was not originally intended to involve Ender at all, and it kind of shows. Most of the story revolves around a couple "god-spoken" denizens of the Chinese-ish world of Path, who believe the gods tell them what to do in between demands for absurd and humiliating purification rituals. The characters are generally either uninteresting or unlikeable, but Card's writing is good enough that it isn't too tiresome. However, the metaphysical, philosophical, and religious discussions get old, and too often Card falls into the trap that ensnares so many male SF/F writers: making women self-righteous harpies in lieu of actually giving them personalities. Ella alone escapes this fate, though that may be due to her lack of romantic interests. While I enjoyed the more in-depth discussion of the descolada virus and Jane's origins, I could have done without Ender's unrealistic marital problems and the deus ex machina of "outside." (Those who have read the book will know what I mean.) I sincerely hope the next (and once last) book in the series, Children of the Mind, will bring some closure to the ridiculously tangled story going on here. Otherwise I'll probably wish I'd stopped after Speaker for the Dead.
aarondesk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A continuation of Ender Wiggin's adventures. The first half of the book keeps the tension up as the humans, piggies, and buggers try to save Lusitania. The last part of the book however just seems to pitter out to an almost anti-climactic finish.
nickelcopper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It took me awhile to get into this one. Card sets up three different scenarios and it seemed to take forever to get them to link. When they finally did, he developed a significant plot twist at the end of the book that was left unsolved. You have to read the next book for any type of absolution or closure.
KevlarRelic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Most of this book was spent with the characters exhaustively discussing viewpoints and ethics, with only one or two parts of real actions being made, and the ending was way too convenient with an easy solution to all their problems appearing all of a sudden, which made what came before almost pointless and unsatisfying.What I am trying to say is that Card used a lot of words to accomplish just very little in this book. Worth reading, though, just for the interesting ideas, and as a lead-in for the next and final book.
aethercowboy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Xenocide is the third Ender book by Orson Scott Card. It takes place shortly after the end of Speaker for the Dead. The ansible has been disconnected from Lusitania to protect it from the Starways Congress' anger, effectively hiding the planet from unwelcome guests.The Congress calls upon its smartest people, the citizens of Path, who are brilliant, but crippled by their genetically programmed OCD. The Han family works on the problem of finding out the disappearance of Lusitania.Jane, the AI living within the ansible network, is discovered to be the culprit, and the daughter Han suggests shutting down the network, effectively killing her.Meanwhile, the humans on Lusitania, as well as the Hive Queen, must find a way to survive the local virus that destroys all life other than the indigenous, and is responsible for enabling the indigenous life to continue.The father Han, disappointed by the actions of his daughter, helps the Lusitanians develop a replacement virus. The only problem is that this virus, while a solution to the problem, is an impossible thing to make.With the greatest stroke of luck, Jane discovers "the Outside", which is basically the chaos universe parallel to our ordered one, in which all live, theoretical or otherwise, exists, and in which spatial relativity is irrelevant. Merely envision it strongly enough, and it's yours.Call it deus ex machine or thinking outside the box, the ending was what it was. Card is able to write a book that people will read. It may not be the best prose ever, but just the same, it's worth a read.Though I enjoyed this book, as I have with the other Ender books, I must admit that it did drag at time. Some books do. But nevertheless, I read every page and was pleased with what I read. So much so that I acquired the next book in the series to be read at a future time.If you're a really big fan of the Ender books, you'll probably like this. If you're an elitist who likes to complain, you'll also enjoy this book, as it will give you something to complain about.
sedeara on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Admittedly, it would have been hard for anything to live up to "Speaker for the Dead" (which, despite the impression it made on me, I still gave a rather stingy four stars), and unfortunately, "Xenocide" didn't do it. Although it's the longest book in the Ender Wiggin saga, it's a book in which it doesn't feel as if a lot actually happens. The characters spend most of their time arguing ideas, albeit ideas that do relate to what's happening in the plot. Although one of the things I admire most about Orson Scott Card's writing is his character development, this book is so "talky" that it feels as if many of the characters are reduced to talking heads for certain opinions. Even the world of Path, which held my fascination initially because of the way its people revered those with OCD as "god-spoken," didn't feel as if it fully "clicked" with the rest of the story, but rather simply ran parallel to it. Characters seemed to over-react to some things (Novenha blaming Ender for things he couldn't really control), while they under-reacted to others (a major character's death seemed mere fodder for advancing the plot, and not a real loss to those who loved him; another character changed his opinion so drastically and quickly in the face of new information that it stretched the bounds of believability.) Still, the end of the book brought about some interesting developments that still make me eager to read the next installment.
gorgeousnerd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My favorite part of this story might not be the interactions between Ender and the people he's close to, although the ending of the book is fantastic. What keeps drawing me back to the book is the story of the people living on Path, their devotion to their gods, and how Jane unravels the mystery of it all. I sort of wish that subplot was a stand-alone story or part of its own series.
buffalogr on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ender's saga, 3000 years later. Good story and there are several parallels with current life, displaced by the mind of the author.
Valleyguy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not sure why this book doesn't get as good a rep as Speaker for the Dead or Ender's game. I didn't love the ending, but it sets up things for the next book, which gets you thinking more about those events in a deeper, connected sort of way. But Xenocide truly riveted me. This was an example of Card using philosophy and conflict at his highest level. So much going on in this book. If you like philosophy and conflict (and not in a boring way either) you will love this. If you don't, well, you're missing out.
jolerie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The ever travelling Ender has finally found his roots and settled on the colony planet of Lusitania. Humans are not the only sentient species on this world. For the first time in human history, we find humans trying to live in world where they are not the only intelligent species. Piggies and buggers make up the trio of Lusitania's population. Arguably, the Descolada can be named the fourth member of this family as throughout the book, the moral dilemma of the story is what each species is willing to do with the threat of extinction at their doorstep.Externally, you have the Starways Congress looming ever closer with the ability to blow the entire planet to kingdom come and internally the threat of Descolada threatens to genetically destroy everything in comes in contact with.Humans, Buggers and Piggies, must find a way to either work together to fight against both sources of death, or they will end up fighting one other to death.