You'll Think of Me

You'll Think of Me

by Robin Lee Hatcher

Paperback

$11.69 $12.99 Save 10% Current price is $11.69, Original price is $12.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

You'll Think of Me 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
THersh27 More than 1 year ago
Brooklyn Myers never intended to return to her hometown of Thunder Creek, Idaho, but God seemed to have different plans. When her husband whom she has been separated from dies and leaves his family home and property to her and her daughter, she sees it as the perfect opportunity to give her daughter a better life. However, Derek Johnson, who was her estranged husband's best friend since childhood, is not exactly thrilled with the idea of Brooklyn and her daughter coming back to live next door, especially since it means he may not be able to buy the land he wanted so bad. As their paths continue to cross, and they get to know each other better, an attraction builds, but they both have some obstacles to overcome, and Brooklyn must get over her past and learn to trust again.   This was a beautifully written, captivating story; I didn't want to put the book down. You'll fall in love with the characters and be rooting for them each step of the way. Rooting for Brooklyn to stand up for herself, to learn to trust men again, and to give Derek a chance. If you love a good romance, this is one you should read! **I received this book free from the publisher through the Fiction Guild program in exchange for review. I was not required to write a positive review, and all thoughts and opinions are my own.
Freddikb More than 1 year ago
Brooklyn Myers has had more heartache than a person should have; and then her husband dies. A husband who left her and their child. She learns he has left them with a house and land, something that definitely surprises her. Brooklyn sees this as a second chance. Derek Johnson is not happy. Not only did Brooklyn steal his best friend from him but she is now also the owner of the land he has been planning and saving to buy. Can each of them let go of the past and give themselves another chance at friendship? Maybe even love? I started reading the book but was unable to finish it. As hard as I tried I could not get myself into the story. The characters were difficult for me to connect with and the story felt dragging to me. *I received this book free from Thomas Nelson and the Fiction Guild in exchange for my honest review. What I have expressed are my own thoughts and I have not been compensated financially in any way.*
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
The author the characters so real in this book, I felt I was watching a movie, or looking at real life. My heart broke for the young Brooklyn, all that happened to her, and then she raises a wonderful daughter, really correcting all the wrong parenting that happened to her. We find the difference is that she has become a Christian, and she really lives her faith. A childhood friend, or acquaintance, comes to her rescue as she returns to Thunder Creek, Idaho, and you can see how he, Derek, is disappointed and yet happy to see her. We see how he didn’t like her as a child or young teen with his best friend becoming closer to Brooklyn, he was loosing his friend, and then when he again looses his hopeful land. Oh dear! Brooklyn’s daughter Alycia is delightful, and at ten going on twenty, she is a child and yet she has a lot of compassion, and is there for others. This story has so much going for it, and I hated to see it end, but there is another book coming, a stand alone, but set right here in Thunder Creek! You don’t want to miss this sweet read, a real enjoyment!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An enjoyable read. Brooklyn never intended to return to her hometown but when her estranged husband dies and leaves her and their daughter his homeplace she decides to move there so Alycia will have a home. Will Brooklyn be able to move back home and move past her bad memories? Will her neighbor be able to accept her living there and carry out what his best friends and Brooklyn's deceased husband asks of him? A good read with a few twists.
LucyMR1 More than 1 year ago
This is such a beautiful story filled with the angst of rejection and being a single mother. Past hurts shape us and our preconceived notions that put others in the same box without giving them a chance. This story shows how letting go and letting God work in our lives for His perfect plan can be so much better. I loved the character development and the tenderness of the story. We all need people like Ruth Johnson in our lives when we are hurting. These characters and setting keep you engaged and wanting more. Have a few tissues as you empathize with young Alycia, as she struggles with wanting a father figure in her life. Emotional read that stays with you, as Robin Lee Hatcher draws you in and you don't want to leave. I received a complimentary copy from Thomas Nelson & Zondervan Fiction Guild. The honest review and opinions are my own and were not required.
BookReviewerTG More than 1 year ago
After reading a few suspense novels and Amish stories, I was ready for a lighter read. And You'll think of Me came as a nice surprise. It's been awhile since I've read a story by Robin Lee Hatcher. But I embarked on a reading journey of love, forgiveness and redemption. Poor Brooklyn Myers has had quite a life of disappointments and not many closures. When her estranged husband, Chad Hallston, dies and leaves her and their daughter the family home in Idaho Brooklyn knows that she and her daughter, Alycia, must go home. But as all things are in life it isn't easy going back. For one thing, Derek Johnson, her estranged husband's good friend, is not happy to see her return. He blames her for leading his good friend down a "bad path." However, as life would have it, Derek and Brooklyn do meet up and must come to terms with life. Life is full of choices and sometimes one choice is to either live with bitterness or enjoy forgiveness. *This book was provided by the Fiction Guild*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My mom and aunt read this book they said it was really good now im going to read it
candicervaldez More than 1 year ago
This was an ok read. I never felt truly connected to the characters. There were a lot of explanations of day to day events that didn't seem to enhance or help the story along. The romance felt forced and I never felt that they really like each other. By the end, I was skimming through it so I could be done with it. I received a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.
SouthernGalLovestoRead More than 1 year ago
Robin Lee Hatcher's You'll Think of Me is a moving love story, but it is also so much more. Brooklyn and Derek each have many challenges from their past to overcome. Brooklyn must learn to trust, not an easy thing for her after a history of multiple rejections. She is primarily focused on providing a better life for her young daughter, mostly in her own strength, leaving little room in her future for any romantic involvement. Derek has to overcome some past perceptions and present disappointments that threaten his plans for the future before opening himself to the possibility of a serious relationship. Robin has created characters with real-life issues that many readers can identify with. Loss, rejection, and emptiness are dealt with through kindness, love, and faith to make a beautiful story that was a joy to read. At the end of the book, the author adds a note and an excerpt from a paper she wrote a few years ago relative to one of the important themes of the story -- "daddyless daughters." Her personal story and informative message add an element that takes your thinking past just the pleasure of another good story. I highly recommend this story to anyone interested in a heartwarming story of what can be when love is given a chance. Thanks to BookLook Bloggers for providing a copy of You'll Think of Me. I was delighted to express my own thoughts through this review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking for a new author and had high hopes for this book. The description did not mention that this was a Christian book. Nothing against it but not my thing. It was a waste of nine dollars for me.
Jaquelyn More than 1 year ago
I had a lot of fun reading this book. Whenever I pick up a book by Robin Lee Hatcher I know I am in for a treat. You'll Think of Me was one of those books. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and find myself hoping I'll get to visit them again soon. It was interesting seeing a female character with an imperfect family. I also liked that Brooklyn didn't let her past keep her down. This book follows Brooklyn and Derek as they get to know each other and find out that what they thought they knew might not be true. Brooklyn hasn't had an easy life. Knowing that what she went through gave her Alycia, she wouldn't change it for anything. That being said, she wouldn't mind better relationships now, if that's possible. The kindness of the people in town take her off guard, and she begins to wonder if her hometown is not as bad as she remembers. Derek her next door neighbor is one of those who seem different than what she thought. Brooklyn isn't afraid of hard work, and seeing her strength impresses Derek. Can they get to know each other as friends and start fresh? Or will the past disrupt what could have been? I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Contemporary Fiction. My interest was kept the whole time, and I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen. I am excited to see what Hatcher comes up with next. I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest opinion. All opinions expressed are my own.
CafinatedReads2009 More than 1 year ago
My Thoughts: I love Ms. Hatcher's writing style. She is one that will pull you in from the very first page. She'll grip you, captivate you and keep you in the center of the story and not let you go until you've turned the last page. Sitting there reflecting on what you've just read. Her writing never bores the reader and keeps them highly entertained and filled with lots of emotions! I loved sweet Brooklyn. Bless her, she is broken and doesn't know who to trust or how. My heart wept for her on more than one occasion! Seeing her with her daughter and what she's trying to do really pulled at me. When she learned of what her estranged husband did, it was a whirlwind of ups and downs as I followed Brooklyn to Thunder Creek. Derek's character is one I'm not sure whether I love or hate. Maybe a little of both. He was put off with Brooklyn in the beginning and I wanted to throttle him more than once! But, Ms. Hatcher redeemed Derek's character for me when promises were revealed and by the end of the story I was in love! If you want a story filled with heartache, redemption, and characters that are true to life, then please, look no further! Ms. Hatcher's You'll Think Of Me will captivate you like no other. This is definitely a 5 star book that is going in my top 5 reads for 2017! Bravo to you, Ms. Hatcher! *I received a complimentary copy of this book from Booklook Blogger Program and was under no obligation to post a review, positive or negative.*
DaphSelf More than 1 year ago
This was an easy, laid back read. The setting is set in a slower pace Idahoan small town where everyone knows everyone. While I really could not connect with the characters and there were a few pet peeves peppered throughout the book, I did find it to be an enjoyable story. Happy ever after is what one would expect and it doesn't disappoint. The faith thread is strong. The writing is sound. The one problem to me is the rags-to-riches style of story in this book. I would have preferred that the characters stayed more down to earth. But.... it was a good story that held many positive points and would be sure to delight many readers.
JLYoung More than 1 year ago
What a well written beautiful story! There are layers and layers of real life in this story. Abandonment, abuse, betrayal and loss, but love, respect, kindness, and most of all redemption. This is a story of lives redeemed and love lavished. Once I started reading I couldn't stop. It's a story you stay up way too late at night to just keep reading! I couldn't put it down. I had a feeling I knew how it would end but was pleasantly surprised by some twists and turns. I was hoping there would be a little bit of conflict and I wasn't disappointed. A story can't be all flowers and sunshine after all! Characters were developed well and plot was woven beautifully. I would love to read more about these characters!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Robin Lee Hatcher has been a "go-to" author for me for a LOT of years. (We won't mention how many...) She never, ever disappoints. You'll Think of Me is the latest example of this. Anytime a book sucks me in and keeps me reading - barely stopping for sleep - it has to be pretty exceptional. I started this book yesterday afternoon, snatched 5 hours of sleep, and finished it this morning. Brooklyn Myers has spent her life feeling abandoned and unloved. Her mom walked out and left her with an abusive father, the husband she chose abandoned her as soon as he learned he was going to be a father, and even the friend she made who led her to the Lord is being taken from her by cancer. She is stunned to receive the news that her husband has died. In his death he has finally stepped up, acknowledged his fatherhood and left 10 acres plus a house in Thunder Creek, Idaho to his wife. Derek Johnson has a dream to expand his three acre organic to a self-sustaining organic farm. To do that he needs his friend Chad Hallston to make good on his promise to sell his family's 10 acres to him. When Chad dies instead and leaves the land to his "wife", Derek's disappointment knows no bounds. Chad's final letter to Derek explains some of his reasoning and asks his best friend for one last favor: be the father figure to my daughter that I never was. Can Derek put aside his dislike for Brooklyn and focus on her daughter? The more Brooklyn compares Derek to Chad, the more she sees Derek's honor. As the two spend time working on her house, they both start to see that their past may not have been exactly like they remember it. Can she really make a home for her daughter in a place where she always felt like an unloved outsider? Can he see that the woman he thought he knew is NOT the same Brooklyn who left Thunder Creek all those years ago? I loved that Brooklyn was willing to do anything she could to give her daughter a better life than she'd had. Her confrontations with her father were gut-wrenching but necessary to her heart's healing. I also loved how obvious it was from the beginning of the book that God had stepped into her life and called her His own. Her faith wavers periodically. Whose wouldn't faced with her trials? I also loved how strong and secure Alycia is. She has no fear, a trait her mother could have easily passed on. Pick this one up if you love Christian romance.
BrittanyMc More than 1 year ago
You’ll Think of Me was packed with emotion! I loved the two main characters, Brooklyn and Derek, as well as Brooklyn’s daughter, Alycia. The author really captured the feelings of these individuals and wove a story that I could hardly set down. I simply couldn’t stop turning the pages to find out what would happen next! I liked that Brooklyn and Derek had a past, although not a romantic one. They knew each other from their teenage years. I felt for both of them as they began to get to know each other as adults and neighbors. Brooklyn really struggled with trusting men. Based on the events in her life, it was completely understandable. I thought that she was a strong and resilient woman and a great mom. I found her very likable. Derek was also a great character. I appreciated that he, at first, struggled with frustration over the situation that he found himself in. Then, I loved watching as his heart was changed about so many things. I also loved the small town setting! This was a truly wonderful contemporary romance from the first page to the last. I received a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are my own.
SusanSnodgrassBookworm More than 1 year ago
I have been reading Robin Hatcher's books for a very, very long time and I've never been disappointed in one. Not a one. My all time favorite of hers and one that has been read more than once is The Shepherd's Voice. This one, set in Idaho, is another wonderful addition to her impressive arsenal of books. Hatcher always writes with a great depth of emotion and stirring spiritual elements and lessons for the reader to take away. This one included how believers deal with fear and rejection. Fear is something I struggle with and it ministered to me. I was in tears during one scene. I truly enjoyed this book. When I see Robin Lee Hatcher has a new book, I'm always looking forward to reading it. *I was given a preview copy of this book from the publisher via Net Galley. My opinions are my own and honest.
tiggeruoSO More than 1 year ago
Brooklyn's the girl that never fit in and always wanted more, more friends more family more love. When she finds herself heading back to her home town she wonders if this is the right choice. Will she ever learn to trust men or will they continue to let her down? Derek was promised something from his best friend but it seems his friend had other promises he would have Derek keep in his death. Derek has his own thoughts and feelings of Brooklyn but when she shows up in town he is torn he knows he needs to help her because thats the way he was raised but he also wants to avoid her for his own reasons as well. Will he be able to continue to focus on his farm and his job and keep as far away or will he keep Chad's promise? I Loved this book. I loved the fun characters of this story and how enjoyable and relatable they were. I also enjoyed the small town life how everyone knows everyone and will help no matter what and will always welcome newcomers. I also loved how the story flowed and it draws you in and keeps you going through out. I will say that I did find two parts very predictable but still very enjoyable. I loved how the author used real tough situations in the story that really got to you and got you thinking. This book is amazing and so worth the read and could not put it down.
CarolJo More than 1 year ago
You'll Think of Me is such a tender story! This story tells the importance fathers play in their daughter's lives and the hole that is left without a father's love. I have enjoyed all of Robin Hatcher's books but this may be my favorite! I received my e-book through Net Galley. This is my honest opinion.
horsefeather More than 1 year ago
Once again, Robin Lee Hatcher delivers above and beyond our high expectations as she hits social problems head-on. Her characters, Brooklyn and Derek, have depth, flaws we can identify with, and a wounded hope that made me cheer for them to get together. I’m loving the feel of Idaho country and Thunder Creek. This is a great read! Don’t miss it.