Zen in the Martial Arts

Zen in the Martial Arts

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Zen in the Martial Arts 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
loadersgirl More than 1 year ago
I am taking Martial Arts and our Instructor reads a story out of Zen in the Martial Arts once a week at the end of class. I wanted to buy the book for myself so that I could highlight what is important to me and make my own kind of notes on thoughts that have come to me when reading it. I feel it is a book that you can apply to your everday life. It can be used not just for Martial Arts, but anytime, so the examples in it can be utilized by any profession. I would suggest anybody to buy this book and read it, and see what they can pull out of it to apply to their lives.
James0627 More than 1 year ago
Well as a high schooler i actually though this was pretty good. Being in martial arts really helped with all of his analogies. This is a must read for anyone in martial arts or seeking some sort of daily living tips.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have heard criticism of this book citing the fact that Mr. Hyams is not a very accomplished martial artist (He never claims to be in this book.). and that the depth of his understanding of zen is open to question (as would be my own). For me neither of these criticisms bother me in the least and shouldn't dissuade anyone from placing this little gem on their bookshelf. Here we have a book about a man who trained with many of the best martial arts practitioners available in the West in his time ( Parker, Lee, Han etc. )and while he may not have drank as deeply from the cup as some (who am I to judge?)he was able to sample what there was to offer from far more sources than many of us ever will. He also was able to learn many lessons which he was able to apply with significance to his life outside the dojo. Hitting a special chord within me was his recounting how, during a very dramatic medical emergency, he was able to slow down his breathing by using the breathing exercises he had learned in his aikido class and avert having a heart attack. A clear example of the benefits of training extending beyond the the narrow confines of martial technique. This book really is one man's odyssey through various martial paths and their significance to him, but they are written so well and in such an engaging way that I feel that I have learned these lessons along with him. I felt that this book was one of the more significant books on the subject that has actual appeal even to the less serious practitioner or the non-practitioner of the martial arts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's amazing that just by reading the personal experience of a martial artist can put your mind in the same state as his. There's a saying that said ' Experience teaches experience ! ' This book is base on experience and you will gain so much more experience for yourself by reading it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I teach myself the martial arts and without proper guidance I was getting confused about Zen. With this book, I came to realize the obvious, martial arts are much more than fighting arts, they are the bridge between our spirits and physical selfs. I thank you Joe!
catalogthis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not something I would have picked up on my own (I know nothing of the martial arts beyond the Karate Kid movies), this came highly recommended by a friend. For a tiny book, it is packed full of insightful -- and deceptively simple -- observations about how to live.
bibliosk8er on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Short but sweet. Great stories and wisdom from various martial artists including Bruce Lee.
michellegarrette on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a book that I read very quickly, as it is possible to do. However, I am keeping it in my karate bag and I will go back to it often. I feel like many of the lessons in the book, although sometimes very blantantly spelled out, are integral to martial arts and to life in general. This is one book of mine that will be highlighted, underlined, margin-noted, and dog eared. I highly recommend this book to serious martial arts practitioners of all levels, especially black belts. The only drawback is that I'm afraid it may be discouraging to beginners or non-practitioners because the author is always talking about how little he knows and how long it takes to understand. I hope that everyone comes to those conclusions often in their training, but maybe not till they have been doing it a little while; I wouldn't want beginners to get too discouraged!
GreyGhost on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite 'short reads'. Joe Hyams has a tendency to 'name-drop,' which is probably due to his background as an LA screenwriter, but he manages to pack a fair bit of interesting reading into this little book. For example, the "empty your cup" metaphor is often see in zen, but is illustrated very nicely in one of the early chapters.
SiLLySaNdMaN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"One afternoon I was training with Bruce" was no more than an opening sentence. You totally missed the purpose of these examples; each one has a meaning and involves a tip to make your life that much better. Think outside the box............
Bingobuddy More than 1 year ago
This is a very well written, easy to understand book. It should be read by martial artist of all styles. The only thing I wish is that it is longer with more stories in it. The stories are a great deal part of the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Smiles
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Found that I keep it close as I research other books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's a good book -- short and easy to read. We bought it because the information is applicable to tennis. Very useful for the tennis mindset.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TEST NOOKUSER More than 1 year ago
Required reading for every martial arts enthusiast
Anonymous More than 1 year ago