12 Gardens Live

12 Gardens Live

by Billy JoelBilly Joel


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


Culled from his record-breaking 12-show run at Madison Square Garden, 12 Gardens Live shows Billy Joel hasn't lost a step as one of music's more accomplished live performers. Everything you'd expect from a Billy Joel concert is here: boatloads of familiar hits, songs chock-a-block with references to New York City, and an inimitable and infectious piano style that's arguably rivaled only by Elton John. The set is peppered with long-loved favorites, like the '50s-influenced "Keeping the Faith," the strutting "Big Shot," and Joel's personal anthem, "Piano Man," complete with the crowd singing entire verses. And while only Joel knows whether his decision to personally curate his 2005 box set, My Lives, inspired him to insert more obscure fare into the set lists for this 2006 tour, the results reveal yet another side to this pop songsmith. The addition of clavinet on "She's Right On Time" hints at Joel's classical music aspirations, while "Zanzibar" has a Steely Dan-reminiscent combination of storytelling and jazz nuance. 12 Gardens Live is a must-have concert souvenir for Joel fans, whether they were lucky enough to be at the Garden shows or not.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/13/2006
Label: Sony
UPC: 0828768517628
catalogNumber: 685176
Rank: 65398


Disc 1

  1. Angry Young Man
  2. My Life
  3. Everybody Loves You Now
  4. The Ballad of Billy the Kid
  5. The Entertainer
  6. Vienna
  7. New York State of Mind
  8. The Night Is Still Young
  9. Zanzibar
  10. Miami 2017 (I've Seen the Lights Go out on Broadway)
  11. The Great Wall of China
  12. Allentown
  13. She's Right on Time
  14. Don't Ask Me Why
  15. Laura
  16. A Room of Our Own

Disc 2

  1. Goodnight Saigon
  2. Movin' Out (Anthony's Song)
  3. An Innocent Man
  4. The Downeaster "Alexa"
  5. She's Always a Woman
  6. Keeping the Faith
  7. The River of Dreams
  8. A Matter of Trust
  9. We Didn't Start the Fire
  10. Big Shot
  11. You May Be Right
  12. Only the Good Die Young
  13. Scenes from an Italian Restaurant
  14. Piano Man
  15. And So It Goes
  16. It's Still Rock & Roll To Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Billy Joel   Primary Artist,Keyboards,Vocals
Chuck Burgi   Drums
Tommy Byrnes   Guitar,Vocals
Richie Cannata   Saxophone
Mark Rivera   Flute,Guitar,Keyboards,Saxophone,Vocals
David Rosenthal   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals
Crystal Taliefero   Guitar,Percussion,Saxophone,Vocals
Carl Fischer   Trombone,Trumpet

Technical Credits

Billy Joel   Composer,Producer
Tommy Byrnes   Music Direction
Steve Lillywhite   Producer
Brian Ruggles   Engineer,Live Sound
Christopher Austopchuk   Art Direction
Jeff Chonis   Drum Technician
Craig Robertson   Live Sound
Nyle Wood   Live Sound
Dan Ichimoto   Art Direction
Steve Barri Cohen   Lighting Director
Joel Singer   Engineer

Customer Reviews