12.21

12.21

by Dustin Thomason
3.8 55

Hardcover

$24.84 $27.00 Save 8% Current price is $24.84, Original price is $27. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

12.21 by Dustin Thomason

From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.
 
For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.
 
In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.
 
By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life’s work and to one of history’s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.
 
With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.
 
Advance praise for 12.21
 
“Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.”—Nelson DeMille

“The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.”—Vince Flynn

“A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.”—Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist

“Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.”—Publishers Weekly

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385341400
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/07/2012
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.40(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Dustin Thomason is co-author of The Rule of Four. He was the co-creator of the ABC television series The Evidence and an executive producer on Fox’s Lie to Me. He received his M.D. from Columbia University.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

12.21: A Novel 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
Ronrose More than 1 year ago
From the disease ravaged streets of a quarantined Los Angeles, to the sweltering heat and nearly impenetrable jungles of Guatemala, this book is full of nonstop suspense and action. It is a real page turner. The threat of a civilization ending disease is coupled with the ancient Mayan doomsday calender ticking down to 12/21/12. Many believe it is a date upon which the world as we know it will cease to exist. Dr. Gabriel Stanton and his staff try to find a cure for a mysterious brain disease that is rapidly spreading throughout Los Angeles. Dr Chel Manu, an expert on Mayan language and customs, risks her career by receiving and attempting to translate a rare Mayan codex smuggled into the U. S., which incidentally, might reveal clues for a cure for the deadly disease. As the source of both the disease and the codex converge in Guatemala, Stanton and Manu must decide together if there is any chance of finding a cure in the remote Mayan jungle. This book was provided for review by the well read folks of the Random House Publishing Group.
simple344 More than 1 year ago
There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of them. A great summer read.
Caseylondon More than 1 year ago
Prions, the CDC, a stolen Mayan codex, a race to stop an epidemic and the approaching date of 12/21/12 make for a heart-pounding novel and a fun summertime read. A cross between a Robin Cook/Michael Crichton medical/biological thriller and a Clive Cussler/James Rollins action/adventure novel, it combines the best of both in an intelligently written book that takes the reader on a journey from the lab to the museum to the jungle. From the land of the ancient Maya to present day Los Angeles there is little chance for boredom and a great chance that the reader will spend time worrying about the truth behind this original story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great book kept my interest the whole time a great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was good in details
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good storyline which is believable, good character development, and some intrigue and mystery. The slow reveal of the answer to their puzzle was good; it kept me wondering how it was going to be solved. It was much in the same style as "The Rule of Four" which I found to be a great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Rule of Four was a beautifully written thriller, so I was eager to read the first new book by one of these young authors. Well, we now know which one is the gifted writer. Not only is the writing in 12.21 pedestrian, the plot is completely silly. The nuanced characters of the first novel are nowhere to be found here. Finally, the discussion of prion disorders is completely inaccurate. Literary license is one thing, but the lack of accuracy here is unacceptable, particularly from a writer who is also a physician. Dr. Thomason, you should have consulted with a neurologist! Anyone know when we can expect a book from Ian Caldwell?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago