by David Garrett


$8.39 $13.99 Save 40% Current price is $8.39, Original price is $13.99. You Save 40%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, September 29 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.



German violinist David Garrett has had a good deal of success in his effort to extend the concept of the 19th century violin virtuoso, from Paganini on down, into modern times. To this end, he has performed the likes of Nirvana's "Smells Like Teen Spirit" in classical concerts. Fans of Garrett's who are potential buyers here should know that this recording contains none of his rock repertory. But they may find that they like it anyway. As the title suggests, what you have here is a recording made by Garrett when he was 14, in 1995. He had already recorded several albums for Deutsche Grammophon by that time, but, for reasons unexplained, this one was shelved by Deutsche Grammophon and never released. Garrett writes convincingly in the booklet that he can still "fully vouch for the result," even 20 years later. In fact, his confidence is justified. Prodigies have come and gone, but Garrett delivers unusually clear and enthusiastic versions of violinistic chestnuts here. He's perhaps a step ahead in purely virtuoso repertory than in more tuneful pieces like Fritz Kreisler's "Liebesleid," but in the likes of Paganini's "La campanella" his tone is startlingly clear. Accompanist Alexander Markovich realizes that job one is to stay out of Garrett's way, and in general this is an accomplishment of which Garrett can be rightfully proud, and that his fans will treasure.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/02/2013
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947909330
catalogNumber: 001819602
Rank: 64122


  1. Kol Nidrei, for cello & orchestra, Op. 47
  2. La capricieuse -- morceau de genre, for violin & piano, Op. 17
  3. Liebesleid (Love's Sorrow), for violin & piano
  4. Fantaisie brillante on themes from Gounod's "Faust," for violin & orchestra, Op. 20
  5. None but the lonely heart, song for voice & piano, Op. 6/6
  6. Praeludium and Allegro in the Style of Pugnani, for violin & piano
  7. Ellens Gesang III ("Ave Maria"), song for voice & piano, D. 839 (Op. 52/6)
  8. Humoresque No. 7 for piano in G flat major, B. 187/7 (Op. 101/7)
  9. Sonata for violin & continuo in G minor, B. g5 ("The Devil's Trill")
  10. Violin Concerto No. 2 in B minor ("La campanella"), Op. 7, MS 48: La campanella. Rondo

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews