16 Men and a Chick Singer Swingin'

16 Men and a Chick Singer Swingin'

by Pratt Brothers Big Band


$18.65 $18.99 Save 2% Current price is $18.65, Original price is $18.99. You Save 2%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


16 Men and a Chick Singer Swingin'

Big bands may no longer regularly touring extensively across the U.S., but there are still musicians like brothers Dean Pratt (trumpet) and Michael Pratt (drums) who can put together an exciting band for a studio date. They devour Ernie Wilkins' swinging "Big Bad Basie" whole, offering a percolating take of Hank Mobley's "Old World New Imports" and a loping "Falling in Love with Love," another Wilkins arrangement. In addition to the leaders' outstanding solos, featured artists include pianist Ronnie Mathews, tenor saxophonist Willie Williams, and trumpeter Don Sickler (all veterans of T.S. Monk's band and occasionally leaders themselves), along with bassist Chip Jackson (Billy Taylor Trio) and trombonist Scott Whitfield (who has recorded several CDs of his own). Vocalist Roberta Gambarini's on-the-money vocals are added on several tracks, including a lush "Skylark," Michael Abene's inventive arrangement of "Cup of Life" (Tom McIntosh's gorgeous melody "The Cup Bearers" with lyrics by Meredith d'Ambrosio), and Kenny Dorham's little known ballad "Fair Weather." Highly recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/26/2012
Label: Cd Baby
UPC: 0630183098527
catalogNumber: 5637436288
Rank: 140413

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pratt Brothers Big Band   Primary Artist
Don Sickler   Trumpet,Soloist
Willie Williams   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Scott Whitfield   Trombone,Soloist
Danny Cahn   Trumpet
Alan Gauvin   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Chip Jackson   Bass,Soloist
Ross Konikoff   Trumpet
Ronnie Mathews   Piano,Soloist
Joe Mosello   Trumpet,Soloist
Dean Pratt   Trumpet,Leader,Muted Trumpet,Soloist
Rick Stepton   Trombone,Soloist
David Schumacher   Baritone Saxophone,Soloist
Wayne Coniglio   Bass Trombone,Soloist
Ben Rubin   Bass
Roberta Gambarini   Vocals
Michael Pratt   Drums,Leader,Soloist
Mike Karn   Tenor Saxophone
Marc Phaneuf   Alto Saxophone

Technical Credits

Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Meredith d'Ambrosio   Composer
Kenny Dorham   Composer
Hank Mobley   Composer
Michael Abene   Arranger
Ernie Wilkins   Arranger,Composer
Tom McIntosh   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Don Piestrup   Arranger
Dean Pratt   Liner Notes
Tom Swift   Engineer
Frank Wess   Composer
Brooks Bowman   Composer
Einar A. Swan   Composer
Rich Shemaria   Arranger
Wayne Coniglio   Arranger

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews