1989: What Happens When A Killer Returns For Revenge

1989: What Happens When A Killer Returns For Revenge

by James E. Smith
1989: What Happens When A Killer Returns For Revenge

1989: What Happens When A Killer Returns For Revenge

by James E. Smith


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, December 13


For three years a serial killer known as the Penny Murderer terrified Monroe, Georgia. His signature was leaving a note on the body starting with "A penny for your thoughts." Detective Mike Allen and his team tracked down and arrested Samuel Johnson for twelve murders. Throughout the trial and even after his conviction Johnson always proclaimed his innocence. The controversial trial divided the city, and things exploded when he was found dead in his cell shortly afterward. A cover-up?

Old ghosts are awakened almost thirty years later when Allen's original partner on the Johnson case, Marcus Jones, is found dead. Attorney Nicole Jones, Marcus's wife, starts to be suspected of his murder, so she goes on a dark journey to find out who really killed her husband and why. She experiences a roller coaster of emotions upon learning that both he and former partner Mike Allen had kept many disturbing secrets from her.

Meanwhile, Allen's own investigation takes him in a different direction as he tries to solve who murdered Marcus, all while dealing with a new partner who not only questions his every move, but also the actions taken during the original investigation. Is this a new killer? Or did they get it wrong all those years ago and send an innocent man to jail...?

In this page-turning novel, complex characters and unexpected plot twists will keep you on the edge of your seat as you try to figure out what will happen next.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781649907035
Publisher: James Smith
Publication date: 12/25/2020
Pages: 392
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.81(d)

About the Author

James Smith grew up in a small town in Georgia with a love for creative writing and always dreamed of writing a book. He retired after twenty years in the military, getting his BA in Criminal Justice and an MA in Performance Improvement in the process. When he retired in 2018, he revived his dream of being an author. This is his debut novel. His goal was to create not only a great story, but a series that engages the reader, introducing them to characters they can love, hate, and sometimes both. James is married with two daughters, and they currently live in Georgia.

Customer Reviews